Review Index:
Feedback

Intel SSD 335 Series 240GB Full Review - Intel's first 20nm SSD

Subject: Storage
Tagged: 335, Intel, ssd

PCPer File Copy Test

Our custom PCPer-FC test does some fairly simple file creation and copy routines in order to test the storage system for speed.  The script creates a set of files of varying sizes, times the creation process, then copies the same files to another partition on the same hard drive and times the copy process as well.  There are four file patterns that we used to try and find any strong or weak points in the hardware: 10 files @ 1000 MB each, 100 files @ 100 MB each, 500 files @ 10 MB each and 1000 files at 1 MB each. 

View Full Size

View Full Size

Fine creation was marginally slower as compared to the 520 Series, however file copy times were nearly identical. This suggests some tuning differences between the 520 and 335 that cause focused writes to run a tad slower in that particular test.

October 29, 2012 | 08:06 PM - Posted by Superj (not verified)

Looks like an Intel /Samsung battle...
Do any of the new wave consumer oriented drives have any power failure protection like super caps to commit writes on power loss?

October 31, 2012 | 11:07 PM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

Intel is putting the solid state caps in their enterprise products, not their consumer products.

October 30, 2012 | 04:33 PM - Posted by Emilio (not verified)

Great, thanks Allyn I am really interested in having 2 of these raid0 on a gamming pc. I wonder, is there a place where i can find the yapt benchmark, i am interested in running all this benchmarks on my box, see how it compares with the results here. Also the pc per file test is propierary? do you sell that one?

October 31, 2012 | 11:11 PM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

YAPT is one of our toys, but PCPer file copy can easily be replicated with a batch file copy.

October 30, 2012 | 06:21 PM - Posted by undermined

From what I've seen is that the Corsair Neutron GTX is the main drive to beat in RAID-0 paired with a z77 board and 11.6 drivers option rom so it can handle TRIM.

Now that Hynix bought Link-a-Media and Samsung is making their own drives too, I'd like Intel or Micron making the chipset and flash rather than Sandforce or Marvel so that firmware and reliability going forward stays at the top.

Personally I grabbed a 256GB Samsung 830 on sale because of how it handles GC versus the Intel drives and was cheaper and something about sandforce compressing the data and swapping from performance to reliability modes once they get kind of full didn't sit right with me.

Now we just need pci-e based solutions to become viable boot drives for cheap so raid controllers and SATA stop being a bottle neck .

November 1, 2012 | 01:53 PM - Posted by PowerHungry (not verified)

Tell us where we can get this at your review price seen here: 240G @ $184 ($0.76 / GB)

November 1, 2012 | 04:15 PM - Posted by Jeremy Hellstrom

That's the problem with MSRP, it is only a suggestion.  It is just over $300 on NewEgg and you probably won't see sales in the very near future but sooner or later I am sure there will be discounts.

November 1, 2012 | 09:45 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Must've been a mistake or something, I see it on Newegg for $209 at the moment...

November 2, 2012 | 02:04 PM - Posted by Jeremy Hellstrom

Ya, that should've been a 2 not a 3.

November 6, 2012 | 10:03 PM - Posted by mtrush (not verified)

i still don't see that 2012 update for decoder ring 0_o

April 11, 2013 | 04:44 PM - Posted by Dave (not verified)

will series 335 run on sata rev 1 mobo.

November 12, 2014 | 04:37 PM - Posted by Flirt Tips (not verified)

Amazing! This blog looks just like my old one! It's on a completely different topic but it has
pretty much the same page layout and design. Great choice of colors!

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.