Review Index:
Feedback

Intel SSD 335 Series 240GB Full Review - Intel's first 20nm SSD

Subject: Storage
Tagged: 335, Intel, ssd

Conclusion, Pricing, and Final Thoughts

Conclusion:

PROS:

  • Good performance
  • (Potentially) very low cost/GB

CONS:

  • 9.5mm housing may limit installation options
  • 3-year warranty (vs. 5)

View Full Size

Pricing and Availability (MSRP):

Intel SSD 335:

  • 240G @ $184 ($0.76 / GB)

These are intro MSRP numbers, not street prices. So long as the market can hold to the MSRP, we are likely to see an MLC SSD launching at sub-TLC pricing. Fingers crossed here!

Warranty:

The 335 Series will ship with a 3-Year warranty.

Final Thoughts:

Intel has flexed their flash fabrication muscle yet again with the launch of their SSD 335 Series. We have a consumer oriented drive yielding good performance at an excellent price point, which is sure to put Solid State into the hands of even more users. Our only reservation was Intel's choice to stick with the 9.5mm housing. With Ultrabooks and other razor thin mobile platforms requiring the 7mm form factor, this might limit some of the applications of this new series. That said, for budged conscious desktop users, the SSD 335 Series is the way to go.

View Full Size

Awarding Gold for the incredibly low cost/GB (provided it stays that way)

October 29, 2012 | 08:06 PM - Posted by Superj (not verified)

Looks like an Intel /Samsung battle...
Do any of the new wave consumer oriented drives have any power failure protection like super caps to commit writes on power loss?

October 31, 2012 | 11:07 PM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

Intel is putting the solid state caps in their enterprise products, not their consumer products.

October 30, 2012 | 04:33 PM - Posted by Emilio (not verified)

Great, thanks Allyn I am really interested in having 2 of these raid0 on a gamming pc. I wonder, is there a place where i can find the yapt benchmark, i am interested in running all this benchmarks on my box, see how it compares with the results here. Also the pc per file test is propierary? do you sell that one?

October 31, 2012 | 11:11 PM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

YAPT is one of our toys, but PCPer file copy can easily be replicated with a batch file copy.

October 30, 2012 | 06:21 PM - Posted by undermined

From what I've seen is that the Corsair Neutron GTX is the main drive to beat in RAID-0 paired with a z77 board and 11.6 drivers option rom so it can handle TRIM.

Now that Hynix bought Link-a-Media and Samsung is making their own drives too, I'd like Intel or Micron making the chipset and flash rather than Sandforce or Marvel so that firmware and reliability going forward stays at the top.

Personally I grabbed a 256GB Samsung 830 on sale because of how it handles GC versus the Intel drives and was cheaper and something about sandforce compressing the data and swapping from performance to reliability modes once they get kind of full didn't sit right with me.

Now we just need pci-e based solutions to become viable boot drives for cheap so raid controllers and SATA stop being a bottle neck .

November 1, 2012 | 01:53 PM - Posted by PowerHungry (not verified)

Tell us where we can get this at your review price seen here: 240G @ $184 ($0.76 / GB)

November 1, 2012 | 04:15 PM - Posted by Jeremy Hellstrom

That's the problem with MSRP, it is only a suggestion.  It is just over $300 on NewEgg and you probably won't see sales in the very near future but sooner or later I am sure there will be discounts.

November 1, 2012 | 09:45 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Must've been a mistake or something, I see it on Newegg for $209 at the moment...

November 2, 2012 | 02:04 PM - Posted by Jeremy Hellstrom

Ya, that should've been a 2 not a 3.

November 6, 2012 | 10:03 PM - Posted by mtrush (not verified)

i still don't see that 2012 update for decoder ring 0_o

April 11, 2013 | 04:44 PM - Posted by Dave (not verified)

will series 335 run on sata rev 1 mobo.

November 12, 2014 | 04:37 PM - Posted by Flirt Tips (not verified)

Amazing! This blog looks just like my old one! It's on a completely different topic but it has
pretty much the same page layout and design. Great choice of colors!

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.