Review Index:
Feedback

Intel SSD 335 Series 240GB Full Review - Intel's first 20nm SSD

Subject: Storage
Tagged: 335, Intel, ssd

Introduction, Specifications and Packaging

Introduction

It's been a short while since we've seen a consumer SSD release from Intel, and with pressure coming from Samsung in the form of lower cost/GB 20nm flash, it was high time Intel followed suit. The Intel 335 Series launches today, and is essentially the same SandForce-driven product as their SSD 520 Series released earlier this year. The key change is this time around that controller will be driving Intel 20nm flash. This should bring a much needed price reduction to the SSD arena, as the 335 is not being marketed as a 'Pro' unit (like the Samsung's 840 Pro). So long as this new model performs similarly to the 520 Series, we should be in for a good, low cost SSD just in time for the Christmass shopping season.

View Full Size

Read on for the full review!

Given this drive is expected to be very similar to the 520 Series, let's dive right in.

Specifications:

  • Capacity:                240GB
  • Sequential Read:     500MB/sec
  • Sequential Write:     450 MB/sec
  • Random Read (4k): 42,000 IOPS
  • Random Write (4k): 52,000 IOPS

Packaging

View Full Size

The standard Intel packaging includes cloning software, a 2.5" to 3.5" mounting bracket, 'Speed Demon' sticker, and other goodies.

October 29, 2012 | 05:06 PM - Posted by Superj (not verified)

Looks like an Intel /Samsung battle...
Do any of the new wave consumer oriented drives have any power failure protection like super caps to commit writes on power loss?

October 31, 2012 | 08:07 PM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

Intel is putting the solid state caps in their enterprise products, not their consumer products.

October 30, 2012 | 01:33 PM - Posted by Emilio (not verified)

Great, thanks Allyn I am really interested in having 2 of these raid0 on a gamming pc. I wonder, is there a place where i can find the yapt benchmark, i am interested in running all this benchmarks on my box, see how it compares with the results here. Also the pc per file test is propierary? do you sell that one?

October 31, 2012 | 08:11 PM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

YAPT is one of our toys, but PCPer file copy can easily be replicated with a batch file copy.

October 30, 2012 | 03:21 PM - Posted by undermined

From what I've seen is that the Corsair Neutron GTX is the main drive to beat in RAID-0 paired with a z77 board and 11.6 drivers option rom so it can handle TRIM.

Now that Hynix bought Link-a-Media and Samsung is making their own drives too, I'd like Intel or Micron making the chipset and flash rather than Sandforce or Marvel so that firmware and reliability going forward stays at the top.

Personally I grabbed a 256GB Samsung 830 on sale because of how it handles GC versus the Intel drives and was cheaper and something about sandforce compressing the data and swapping from performance to reliability modes once they get kind of full didn't sit right with me.

Now we just need pci-e based solutions to become viable boot drives for cheap so raid controllers and SATA stop being a bottle neck .

November 1, 2012 | 10:53 AM - Posted by PowerHungry (not verified)

Tell us where we can get this at your review price seen here: 240G @ $184 ($0.76 / GB)

November 1, 2012 | 01:15 PM - Posted by Jeremy Hellstrom

That's the problem with MSRP, it is only a suggestion.  It is just over $300 on NewEgg and you probably won't see sales in the very near future but sooner or later I am sure there will be discounts.

November 1, 2012 | 06:45 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Must've been a mistake or something, I see it on Newegg for $209 at the moment...

November 2, 2012 | 11:04 AM - Posted by Jeremy Hellstrom

Ya, that should've been a 2 not a 3.

November 6, 2012 | 07:03 PM - Posted by mtrush (not verified)

i still don't see that 2012 update for decoder ring 0_o

April 11, 2013 | 01:44 PM - Posted by Dave (not verified)

will series 335 run on sata rev 1 mobo.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.