Feedback

Richland Unveiled: AMD Releases the New A10-5750M

Author:
Subject: Processors
Manufacturer: AMD

AMD Exposes Richland

When we first heard about “Richland” last year, there was a little bit of excitement from people.  Not many were sure what to expect other than a faster “Trinity” based CPU with a couple extra goodies.  Today we finally get to see what Richland is.  While interesting, it is not necessarily exciting.  While an improvement, it will not take AMD over the top in the mobile market.  What it actually brings to the table is better competition and a software suite that could help to convince buyers to choose AMD instead of a competing Intel part.

From a design standpoint, it is nearly identical to the previous Trinity.  That being said, a modern processor is not exactly simple.  A lot of software optimizations can be applied to these products to increase performance and efficiency.  It seems that AMD has done exactly that.  We had heard rumors that the graphics portion was in fact changed, but it looks like it has stayed the same.  Process improvements have been made, but that is about the extent of actual hardware changes to the design.

View Full Size

The new Richland APUs are branded the A-5000 series of products.  The top end is the A10-5750M with HD-8650 integrated graphics.  This is still the VLIW-4 based graphics unit seen in the previous Trinity products, but enough changes have been made with software that I can enable Dual Graphics with the new Solar System based GPUs (GCN).  The speeds of these products have received a nice boost.  As compared to the previous top end A10-4600, the 5750 takes the base speed from 2.3 GHz to 2.5 GHz.  Boost goes from 3.2 GHz up to 3.5 GHz.  The graphics portion takes the base clock from 496 MHz up to 533 MHz, while turbo mode improves over the 4600 from 685 MHz to 720 MHz.  These are not staggering figures, but it all still fits within the 35 watt TDP of the previous product.

View Full Size

One other important improvement is the ability to utilize DDR-3 1866 memory.  Throughout the past year we have seen memory densities increase fairly dramatically without impacting power consumption.  This goes for speed as well.  While we would expect to see lower power DIMMs be used in the thin and light categories, expect to see faster DDR-3 1866 in the larger notebooks that will soon be heading our way.

Click here to read more about AMD's Richland APUs!

View Full Size

As mentioned before, the majority of the gains we see today are the work of low level software optimizations.  The original Trinity had a fairly complex scheme to keep clockspeeds high, balance out power needs, and to keep it all under 35 watts TDP when it comes to heat production.  The die has quite a few temperature sensors throughout the design, and these provide feedback as to what unit is heating up and what is idle.  The software that controls all this then determines what area needs to be clocked down, what can be clocked up, and how to maximize performance determined by workloads.

View Full Size

AMD has several improvements under differing operations that allows them to increase overall clockspeeds, enable turbo modes to last longer, and balance out CPU and GPU workloads more effectively.  They have increased the number of P states (clock vs. voltage) so it is more finely grained.  This should allow the processor to more adequately respond to performance needs, instead of making a larger jump to the next P state, it takes a smaller one from the previous state.  This again is aimed at maximizing power and clockspeed given a certain workload.  The algorithms dictating if the CPU or GPU gets more power and speed have been overhauled as well.  AMD claims that these new algorithms can more adequately adjust for corner cases where both units may be bottlenecked, but can correctly decipher which unit actually will show the greatest performance increase by loosening the performance bottleneck.

View Full Size

Finally we get to the operating system level software enhancements that AMD is introducing.  These are somewhat interesting, depending on the usage expected from these parts.  These are new programs that promise to allow more functionality and flexibility than previous notebook parts have provided.  The first is AMD Gesture Control.  This does exactly what one would think it would.  With a webcam enabled notebook the user can set it up to make gestures correspond to commands.  Things such as a hand wave can turn a page on an e-book.  The downside to this is if a person is jamming out to “Stop, In the Name of Love” and keeps interrupting the playback with their motions.  There is no colorful metaphor app as of yet from AMD.

View Full Size

Other enhancements in software bundle includes AMD Face Login, AMD Screen Mirror (sharing media at low latencies to a variety of playback options), AMD Quick Stream (media streaming that takes priority over networks so no hiccups will occur), AMD Steady Video (already available through Catalyst), and AMD Perfect Picture HD (de-interlacing, contrast enhancement, color saturation, and vibrancy).  At first glance these appear to be a bit underwhelming, but consider that they all will be bundled with the new Richland APUs.  Intel currently has no software bundle to compare it to.

View Full Size

Richland is not the second coming.  It still looks like a very interesting product.  AMD certainly is willing to shake things up a bit, and this refresh is coming hard and fast.  AMD expects mobile Richland processors to be available in end user products by next month.  Low voltage version for ultra-thins should be available before the end of 1H 2013.  AMD has no real choice but to release improved products on an aggressive schedule.  Make no mistake, Richland is an improvement over Trinity.  Now users just have to judge what is more important to them when it comes to usage and features.  AMD certainly has the edge in graphics and software, but Intel still has overall CPU performance and power consumption.

 

March 13, 2013 | 02:21 PM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

No, I do not have a hatred against AMD-make chips.

I absolutely LOVE the 1100T and the 980T, both of which were EXCELLENT chips.

But I do NOT appreciate ANYTHING BullDozer or PileDriver or hardcockdriver or whatever... because since I know the architecture sucks, I know the end result will also BE INFERIOR to competition. Period. End of story. And no amount of moronic and pointless words you throw at me is going to change that.

March 14, 2013 | 01:45 AM - Posted by JMccovery

I know I'm being drug into the troll trap, but I can't help it...

Kind sir, can you point out which words I used were 'pointless and moronic'?

Yes the CSA architecture present in Bulldozer and Piledriver are less efficient than the Stars architecture, but you must have forgotten that Stars started off being worse clock-for-clock than K8.

So, you hate Bulldozer and its derivatives, but why do you present your point in such a way?

AMD, unfortunately, can not just throw out CSA and start fresh, and it is entirely within the realm of possibility that Stars would've hit an efficiency wall.

March 14, 2013 | 07:51 PM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

K8? LOL. WTF do I care how some CPU performed 5-10 years ago?

I'm done here.

March 14, 2013 | 10:38 AM - Posted by Russell Abbott (not verified)

This John Doe guy is a real life representation of those 'Extreme Advertising' meme's. He's like some installation art piece.

March 14, 2013 | 07:52 PM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

When you spend at least 15-20 grand on PC hardware alone maybe you'll then understand my points.

March 16, 2013 | 12:14 AM - Posted by Kentucky1965 (not verified)

You spend between $15,000, and $20,000 on hardware? Wow, You really do show Your ignorance of 'Computers'. All of Your comments are filled with vitriol, and cussing, which in turn shows how low Your IQ is; please leave--'Intel employee troll' this site reviews Intel, as well as AMD. Remember, when ignorant people are unable to have a civil discussion (albeit about processors of all things) they resort to cussing and name calling because they want to argue with someone; please put down Your 24th bottle of Beer and go to rehab. Josh, i have been coming to this site for a long time, and watch, and/or listen to the podcasts, and enjoy them; YOU all talk about every brand pretty equally, keep up the good work.

March 16, 2013 | 05:57 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

The hardware I own is WAY beyond is little imagination.

'Intel employee troll' eh? I've owned BOTH Intel and AMD machines over the various years and am speaking ALL from personal first hand experience. And if you have a gram of brain to comprehend my posts (which you don't seem to), then you might actually understand my points.

I am the one that that talks about 'every brand equally'. Not that guy that goes on podcasts every once in a while. You're a fool. Those guys are ALL PAID to talk the way they do. Every single stream you watch on this site is a GIANT and OBVIOUS MARKETING attemp at SELLING PRODUCTS. But you are appereantly too ignorant or dumb to comprehend any of this.

Let me ask you just this, WHO makes money by writing these blog posts? Me, or the guy you believe so crounchly in?

It is that guy you swear after's JOB to write these articles. You're an idiot. I do nothing other than spending my time helping people out 7/24 on these stupid forums. You moron. Appreciate my knowledge and the help I regularry offer to people. It is, again, WAY and FAR beyond your little imaginary mind.

March 16, 2013 | 01:49 PM - Posted by Kentucky1965 (not verified)

You help people with 'IT' by cussing at them, and calling them names? Wow, very helpful, very helpful indeed. Also, review sites do need to take in some income, as there are expenses to be paid; 'Business 101'. Everything You have written so far in Your rant, has helped no one, except for Your deep-seeded need to be heard. I am now no longer responding to You, as it is pointless, just as when I am conducting a Deposition, and the Doctor and/or Nurse keep repeating the same answer, without actually answering the said question. Now ignoring john doe.

March 17, 2013 | 01:32 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

Please do because I do not give a single shit whether you take my word or not.

No shit that review sites need income. Re-read my previous replies you moron. That is exactly what I explained.

Glad that you are ignoring me. Time to crank some good shit.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GQ9y-cc0300

March 17, 2013 | 07:59 AM - Posted by renosablast (not verified)

Mr. John Doe also suffers from "I HAVE to have the last word" syndrome. Refer to my previous reply about those who insist on proving themselves to be a fool.

March 17, 2013 | 08:25 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

Oh and, if you happen to come across Les Tokar, please tell that fat fucker that I say "FUCK YOU" and I am NOT reviewing an SSD for him in a million years.

March 17, 2013 | 06:17 PM - Posted by renosablast (not verified)

Thanks ever so much for proving my point in spades.

March 17, 2013 | 07:39 PM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

Your welcome. :)

March 16, 2013 | 08:02 AM - Posted by Havor (not verified)

Is there any ETA for the desktop part of Richland?

As it looks more intresting then the current Trinity parts for HTPCs.

I am also interested in the Kabini SoC, thats gone replace Brazos 2.0, and hope its not neutered for HTPC use.

And if its not neutered, i think this will be the next main HTPC solution.

March 16, 2013 | 12:50 PM - Posted by Josh Walrath

I think around Computex is when desktop Richland will be put out.

Top TDP Kabini looks pretty interesting in a HTPC scenario.  Will see how that shakes out here in probably a month or so.

March 18, 2013 | 07:55 PM - Posted by inf64 (not verified)

Nice article Josh!
I saw your "discussion" with the Unknown guy(John Doe) and his ramblings on Piledriver being the same as Bulldozer.
Here it is, facts finally:
http://www.hardware.fr/articles/880-6/bulldozer-vs-piledriver-4-ghz.html

Hardware.fr tested both at fixed clock(4GHz),all other things being equal(board,memory,GPU,HDD). They have concluded that in applications(not games), PD has 7.7%(1.3% to 16.7) IPC improvement over BD,both at 4Ghz. In games, PD has even higher IPC advantage,a significant 13.5% (8.1% to 20.8%) ! Average comes down to 10.6% which is very significant IPC jump for a mere "quick fix". Couple this with higher average OC numbers Vishera can reach Vs Bulldozer and overall lower power draw when both are OCed and you get a "tock" in intel's terms ;).

So as all can see, facts are facts and fiction is fiction . John Doe obviously lives in dreamland where fiction is fact and vice versa.

March 19, 2013 | 03:25 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

That shitty site can't turn off Turbo you dumb fuck.

If you re-read my previous replies, maybe you can get a clue or two.

The TURBO is done inside the chip with AMD CPU's. You CAN NOT turn the Turbo off on AMD chips like you can with Intel.

More so, the fact that you don't know who I am just goes to show how fucking clueless you are.

Also, that site is a fucking piece of shit.

March 19, 2013 | 09:41 AM - Posted by Josh Walrath

Yes, you can turn Turbo off on AMD chips.  It really is the only way you can get the chips to go over 4.4 GHz anyway.

Seriously, ease up on the insults and language.

March 19, 2013 | 09:55 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

I will GTFO out of this site ASAP...

going over JonnyGuru like just about right nau.

This place is FULL of dumb ignorant suckers...

at least you're a nice guy, which is something... lol. Sigh.

March 19, 2013 | 04:23 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Best bit of Richland news is that the A10-5750m should be a drop-in replacement for the A10-4600m, which itself can replace the A6-4400m.

Now that's what I call an upgrade ! :)

March 19, 2013 | 05:39 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

Ditch that POS and get a 2500K with a USED P67 board.

Now that's what I call an "upgrade".

March 19, 2013 | 04:39 AM - Posted by inf64 (not verified)

You can turn off Turbo Johny boy. It's a fact. It can controlled by a BIOS,just as power management can be controlled by BIOS. Check AMD's BIOS and kernel guide for family 15h and all will be clear. Again facts are facts and fiction is fiction. Johny boy seems like a very very angry and unhappy person which I'm sad to see. Here is some candy for you to feel a bit better :)
http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-14IO-Aj_OC0/UGvzdMGgCMI/AAAAAAAAAfA/4O-RE6Z6gu...

March 19, 2013 | 05:41 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

"Johny boy" is throwing Ronnie Montrose solos. Johny boy is older than you. Johny boy is WAY over you.

Also, Johny boy doesn't eat garbage food.

Suck my 8 inch weasel.

March 19, 2013 | 05:59 AM - Posted by inf64 (not verified)

Johny boy is acting like a kid when proven wrong,is putting hands over ears and singing "lalalalala". Not surprised at all ;).

March 19, 2013 | 06:37 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

French homo fuckers can suck my weasel all the way in as far as I am concerned.

March 19, 2013 | 08:26 AM - Posted by inf64 (not verified)

You have "cock" too much on your mind man, very interesting.

March 19, 2013 | 09:23 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

Indeed.

I'm a stud in RL.

I'm not like the majority of geek fuckers you see on these sites.

March 19, 2013 | 09:26 AM - Posted by inf64 (not verified)

No I meant I sense a weird attraction to "cocks" in your case. In psychology it's called latent homosexual. Sorry man.

March 19, 2013 | 09:30 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

LOL.

Fuck you, fucking dumb French fucker.

Suck it all the way in.

March 19, 2013 | 11:27 AM - Posted by inf64 (not verified)

Yep that's what I thought. 100% latent homosexual.

PS I'm not French but that doesn't change your diagnosis.Sorry.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.