Feedback

Richland Unveiled: AMD Releases the New A10-5750M

Author:
Subject: Processors
Manufacturer: AMD

AMD Exposes Richland

When we first heard about “Richland” last year, there was a little bit of excitement from people.  Not many were sure what to expect other than a faster “Trinity” based CPU with a couple extra goodies.  Today we finally get to see what Richland is.  While interesting, it is not necessarily exciting.  While an improvement, it will not take AMD over the top in the mobile market.  What it actually brings to the table is better competition and a software suite that could help to convince buyers to choose AMD instead of a competing Intel part.

From a design standpoint, it is nearly identical to the previous Trinity.  That being said, a modern processor is not exactly simple.  A lot of software optimizations can be applied to these products to increase performance and efficiency.  It seems that AMD has done exactly that.  We had heard rumors that the graphics portion was in fact changed, but it looks like it has stayed the same.  Process improvements have been made, but that is about the extent of actual hardware changes to the design.

View Full Size

The new Richland APUs are branded the A-5000 series of products.  The top end is the A10-5750M with HD-8650 integrated graphics.  This is still the VLIW-4 based graphics unit seen in the previous Trinity products, but enough changes have been made with software that I can enable Dual Graphics with the new Solar System based GPUs (GCN).  The speeds of these products have received a nice boost.  As compared to the previous top end A10-4600, the 5750 takes the base speed from 2.3 GHz to 2.5 GHz.  Boost goes from 3.2 GHz up to 3.5 GHz.  The graphics portion takes the base clock from 496 MHz up to 533 MHz, while turbo mode improves over the 4600 from 685 MHz to 720 MHz.  These are not staggering figures, but it all still fits within the 35 watt TDP of the previous product.

View Full Size

One other important improvement is the ability to utilize DDR-3 1866 memory.  Throughout the past year we have seen memory densities increase fairly dramatically without impacting power consumption.  This goes for speed as well.  While we would expect to see lower power DIMMs be used in the thin and light categories, expect to see faster DDR-3 1866 in the larger notebooks that will soon be heading our way.

Click here to read more about AMD's Richland APUs!

View Full Size

As mentioned before, the majority of the gains we see today are the work of low level software optimizations.  The original Trinity had a fairly complex scheme to keep clockspeeds high, balance out power needs, and to keep it all under 35 watts TDP when it comes to heat production.  The die has quite a few temperature sensors throughout the design, and these provide feedback as to what unit is heating up and what is idle.  The software that controls all this then determines what area needs to be clocked down, what can be clocked up, and how to maximize performance determined by workloads.

View Full Size

AMD has several improvements under differing operations that allows them to increase overall clockspeeds, enable turbo modes to last longer, and balance out CPU and GPU workloads more effectively.  They have increased the number of P states (clock vs. voltage) so it is more finely grained.  This should allow the processor to more adequately respond to performance needs, instead of making a larger jump to the next P state, it takes a smaller one from the previous state.  This again is aimed at maximizing power and clockspeed given a certain workload.  The algorithms dictating if the CPU or GPU gets more power and speed have been overhauled as well.  AMD claims that these new algorithms can more adequately adjust for corner cases where both units may be bottlenecked, but can correctly decipher which unit actually will show the greatest performance increase by loosening the performance bottleneck.

View Full Size

Finally we get to the operating system level software enhancements that AMD is introducing.  These are somewhat interesting, depending on the usage expected from these parts.  These are new programs that promise to allow more functionality and flexibility than previous notebook parts have provided.  The first is AMD Gesture Control.  This does exactly what one would think it would.  With a webcam enabled notebook the user can set it up to make gestures correspond to commands.  Things such as a hand wave can turn a page on an e-book.  The downside to this is if a person is jamming out to “Stop, In the Name of Love” and keeps interrupting the playback with their motions.  There is no colorful metaphor app as of yet from AMD.

View Full Size

Other enhancements in software bundle includes AMD Face Login, AMD Screen Mirror (sharing media at low latencies to a variety of playback options), AMD Quick Stream (media streaming that takes priority over networks so no hiccups will occur), AMD Steady Video (already available through Catalyst), and AMD Perfect Picture HD (de-interlacing, contrast enhancement, color saturation, and vibrancy).  At first glance these appear to be a bit underwhelming, but consider that they all will be bundled with the new Richland APUs.  Intel currently has no software bundle to compare it to.

View Full Size

Richland is not the second coming.  It still looks like a very interesting product.  AMD certainly is willing to shake things up a bit, and this refresh is coming hard and fast.  AMD expects mobile Richland processors to be available in end user products by next month.  Low voltage version for ultra-thins should be available before the end of 1H 2013.  AMD has no real choice but to release improved products on an aggressive schedule.  Make no mistake, Richland is an improvement over Trinity.  Now users just have to judge what is more important to them when it comes to usage and features.  AMD certainly has the edge in graphics and software, but Intel still has overall CPU performance and power consumption.

 

March 12, 2013 | 09:29 AM - Posted by Guest (not verified)

Any improvement is better than none, The software bundle looks interesting AMD press release states that it will be available for download next month...does this mean that it can be used by the two previous generations of APU's Liano and Trinity? I am sure many of your readers would like to know!

March 14, 2013 | 04:18 AM - Posted by Phil (not verified)

The improvement is pretty good compared to the Trinity and bulldozer series. The AMD A8 5545M scored 200 more points than the A8-4555M processor in the PCMark 7 benchmark test

http://mobilityupdate.com/cpu-benchmark/amd-a10-5750m-benchmark/

March 12, 2013 | 09:54 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I'm a little disappointed because the integrated graphics did not come to the GCN, which means that the new serise of CPUs should be still called as APU 4000 series, although with a little improvement in the frequency and memory control. In addiation, I'm afraid that the desktop-type Richland CPUs will still use older VLIW-4 based graphics rather than GCN based ones. If it were true, I think these kinds of CPUs are not as good as expected before.

March 12, 2013 | 10:07 AM - Posted by dragosmp (not verified)

It looks nice, not the second coming as you well pointed out. Maybe the fine grain clock control and the faster/better feedback loop will allow them to turbo better on 25W CPUs, there the benefit might be more noticeable.

It's good that they can execute for a change; it's better to have yearly incremental improvements than years upon years of delays and revolutionary products that never happened.

Mind you, it's still a way to go before I'll run buying an AMD laptop mostly because they still lack mid/high end offers (decent screens, more than 4/6 cell batteries), but that day may come.

March 12, 2013 | 10:41 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

And it still has that mediocre single threaded performance of FailDozer... sigh.

Some old ass Dell Precision notebook off eBay with a QX9300 added in shits over any notebook AMD has ever created in terms of raw CPU speed... lol...

The battery on my Precision M6400 barely lasts with the GPU running at full blast though. That Quadro 8800 GTX sucks up the battery like it's nobodies business. Not that I care, since I mostly have it plugged in to the mains and with the Afterburner slider pulled all the way to the right and with the crap out of my CPU overclocked. :)

March 12, 2013 | 10:50 AM - Posted by tbone (not verified)

this is great...anybody who got an Amd A10-4600m can swap these new richland apus in their laptops.

BAM!

March 12, 2013 | 11:12 AM - Posted by Josh Walrath

Yeah... that might not work so well.  That laptop needs to have a pretty extensive BIOS update or you will not see anything more out of throwing a Richland APU in there.  The chances of that will be... slim to none.

March 12, 2013 | 06:10 PM - Posted by tbone (not verified)

i hope manufactures update their bios's for this

it would be nice

March 12, 2013 | 06:10 PM - Posted by tbone (not verified)

i hope manufactures update their bios's for this

it would be nice

March 12, 2013 | 10:58 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

And what gives? What do you get other than faster Turbo speeds and slighly better performance per Mhz?

It's a waste of money to swap an AMD quad with an another AMD quad.

I'd much rather buy some old ass notebook with a Core 2 Duo off eBay, swap it's CPU with a QX9300, and overclock it 4 Ghz. That'd EVEN beat a 2.5 Ghz Ivy chip.

March 12, 2013 | 11:00 AM - Posted by Daniel Meier (not verified)

AMD still has some improved desktop CPUs coming this year don't they?

March 12, 2013 | 11:05 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

Yes no. :D

Even if they do, they'll STILL be based on a rehashed BullDozer STILL with mediocre single threaded performance.

AMD is a dead investment. Intel is really the way to go.

March 12, 2013 | 11:10 AM - Posted by Josh Walrath

Steamroller actually looks pretty robust.  I think we will see a pretty hefty jump in single threaded performance, plus the dual decode units will allow each module to actually process 2 threads at a time.  All in all, a very big upgrade.  While I don't think that AMD will reach single threaded performance of current (and future) Intel parts, it does look to be a big upgrade.  Plus full HSA support with Kaveri (Steamroller + GCN) could be a big plus in gaming, especially with so much development for PS4... and XBox (whatever it will be called).

Kabini is also looking like a good win for AMD.  The Jaguar cores + GCN looks to be a great combination for those tdps, and I know quite a few tablet makers are going to use Temash.  AMD isn't dead yet, thankfully for consumers.

March 12, 2013 | 11:39 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

I digress.

The FX-8350 offers the exact SAME performance as the FX-8150 when you remove the Turbo boost and the rest of the crap out of the equitation. When you get DOWN to it, the FX-8350 is nothing more than FailDozer on roids.

I'm not buying those lies. The last time I bought them out was way back in 2010 when John Fruehe, JF-AMD, was spouting out bullshit in his AMD server room. Saying how much BullDozer WILL OWN and that it'll be %50 faster than a Nehalem i7 and that it will be the most efficient chip out there.

Enough with all that horse bollocks. It came, we saw, it failed.

The architecture is a piece of shit. I can beat a Bulldozer with that ancient QX9650 and that shitty 790i board... and that should tell you how much better Intel is.

March 12, 2013 | 11:48 AM - Posted by Prodeous (not verified)

There were tests on few sites where they direclty compared (clock-clock) and Piledriver was faster by few percent. And looking at same power enelope it gave more speed headroom.

I do remind you, that Intel had a successful CPu called Pentium 4.

There are issues in Bulldozer, I'm not blind. But for my task, 3D rendering, Piledriver (FX8350) is about same performance in 3D rendering as Intels I7 3770. For significantly less cash.

For Gamin, I agree and I awlays recommend intel to my friends. Single thread is better. But to me that is old news. As software becomes more threaded, things will reach similar levels. Issue is, developers are too lazy and no good tools for multi threaded systems :(

However based on your comment, I see you just want to rant. So please tell me how good was the Pentium 4 ;)

March 12, 2013 | 11:57 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

The only reason PileDriver is faster is because is has higher Turbo speeds and boosts higher.

When you pull PileDriver speeds down to BullDozer, and take off Turbo, it offers the EXACT same single thread performance of BullDozer.

I don't give a shit how fast a P4 is at this time and date as it's been AGES since I since used one in my primary machine.

PileDriver is inefficient period. I do not want and do NOT accept a room heater in my machine. I overclock as much as possible and want the higher efficiency per clock possible.

And no PileDriver or cock driver or whatever the shitty CPU AMD comes up with offers that to me. Not to mention their HORRIBLE PER THREAD performance. What the fuck do I care if it ONLY performs better in completely threaded apps? You DO realize, EVEN when things are COMPLETELY threaded, Bulldozer STILL gets spanked by Sandy Bridge, right?

Not to mention that it's crap price/performance and there are barely any 990FX boards that are worthwhile.

If I went ahead and compared EVEN some old P55 system to ANYTHING AMD, there WILL BE FAR MORE VALUE in an old eBay P55 system than some new PileDriver setup... so why the fuck should I buy one? There absolutely is no reason to go AMD unless you don't know what you're doing.

Save up $50 or whatever the fuck that requires you to add up to go Intel and shut your mouth till you know what you are talking about.

March 12, 2013 | 12:26 PM - Posted by Josh Walrath

You seem to be taking this really personally.  Did someone from AMD do something really bad to you or your family?  If so, I am very sorry about that incident.  I'm sure the rest of the people at AMD are really nice.

In the testing that I had done, Piledriver did show per clock improvements.  They were not much, but they were there.  You are correct in that most of the improvements come from better power consumption per clock, which allows these chips to stay in turbo modes longer.  Overall these chips did show some big power improvements overall, especially in terms of perf/watt.  Intel still is better with Sandy and Ivy, but AMD closed the gap some.

Steamroller is going to be interesting in that they will use the 28 nm HKMG bulk process.  An interesting point that some have missed is that Intel's trigate based 22 nm offers pitches up to 26 nm, which is much closer to 28 nm than some think.  It will be interesting to see relative die sizes of these products and resulting performance.  Intel will have a power advantage at certainly clock speeds, but those drop off once faster speeds are achieved.  Exploring these characteristics on 28 nm is going to be pretty fun.

March 12, 2013 | 01:06 PM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

Look at here:

http://www.anandtech.com/bench/CPU/344

By a rough metric, to get to the IPC, divide the score by the clock speed using Turbo speeds.

3770K = 0.000425

2600K = 0.00040

Now, since AMD chips do NOT have obvious Turbo's like Intel's do, we have to go via stock speeds.

FX-8350 = 0.000261

FX-8150 = 0.000261

FX-8350 is NOTHING more than a rehashed FX-8150 and it sucks and blows ass when it comes to single threaded performance.

AMD are laughing their way to the bank while you're defending their shitty chip.

March 12, 2013 | 01:14 PM - Posted by Josh Walrath

I don't think anyone at AMD is laughing, and certainly not going to the bank.  We did some testing with 8150 and 8350 locked at 4 GHz (Turbo disabled, power saving disabled, etc.).  Depending on the benchmarks we saw as little as 1% diff and as high as 3%.  The differences were not impressive, but they were there.  I'm not defending the chips, I'm just laying the data out as we found it.

Seriously, no need to curse all the time in here either.  I realize you are passionate about this, but it is only technology and products.  Don't get mad, just don't buy it.

March 12, 2013 | 01:09 PM - Posted by Russell Abbott (not verified)

This John Doe guy is nuts, has some deep seated resentment for AMD mixed with tourettes and an inability to maintain appropriate social interactions. If i was him, id focus more on fixing those issues and less on the minutiae of CPU architecture.

March 12, 2013 | 01:16 PM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

My issues is with the people who are making money over blinded, dumb masses such as yourself.

That is exactly what AMD does. They rename the CPU, Turbo it, burn it, twist and shape how you see it fit and wada! You have a new CPU!

I have no resentment for any company. Brand fanboyism is stupid. It's the product that matters, not the brand. I buy the most for my money, so why in the hell should I pay MORE for less? There is an adversitement right on this message box I'm writing. It says 'Featured Video Sponsored by AMD' and 'Never Settle for less' Never settle for less?

Let me tell you how you 'never settle for less'. You go eBay.com, do a search on '875K', buy the cheapest one. Then you go eVGA B-Stock, and get a beastly and monstrous P55 board on the cheap. Then you OC it to 4.5-5 Ghz, and leave and shitty AMD CPU on the dust. That's how you never settle for less.

Pure comedy gold.

March 12, 2013 | 01:32 PM - Posted by Josh Walrath

Well, let's twist that around some, shall we?  Intel brings out Ivy Bridge, charges more money for it, promises a much better experience... but as you mentioned, the 3770 is not all that much better than the 2600.  Plus the 2600/2700 will give you a much better overclocking experience than that 3770.  So you bought the 3770, and I am assuming you upgraded from a 2600?  So who exactly was left twisting in the wind, especially since you have a massive cooling system and you want to overclock... but your results are worse than before?

March 12, 2013 | 01:43 PM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

I wasn't expecting it to fuck up on me the way it did.

Yes, but this is a manufactoring defect more than anything else. That kind of argument has zero backing. Then 8 cores chips would have to be completely useless for anybody who looks to render since they do NOT overclock. But since they offer far more cores than AMD's do, they still provide useability for workstations.

That said, Intel at least tries. Unlike AMD, who does 'blind tests' to make people believe in that there is no significant difference between a BD architecture chip and an Intel one. They're making something out of nothing. That is exactly what 'cheap money' stands for.

And Intel? I almost got sad that I bought an Z77 Extreme9 when I saw all those Haswell boards a few days ago.

Intel is working and doing all the hard job. They have the largest manufactoring fab of all and can do their own material unlike any other company. It's NOTHING alike. AMD uses a fab and nowhere have as much resources as Intel. As such, they're left with old pussy tactics and blinding people to sell their product on, which is just sad from my standpoint.

March 12, 2013 | 02:00 PM - Posted by Josh Walrath

What about IBM?  They don't have the fab space, but their research is just as cutting edge as Intel.  IBM, GLOBALFOUNDRIES, and Samsung all participate in the Common Platform.  They have some pretty cool stuff.  3D FinFets are essentially the same as TriGate, but they utilize FD-SOI.  In fact, those Fabs will adopt FD-SOI before Intel does... and even Intel has said that they will eventually have to go to FD-SOI.  I would argue that IBM is doing a lot of the heavy lifting for the cutting edge research in atomic deposition, carbon nanotubes, advanced substrates, and transistor design as compared to Intel.  Intel spends billions, but their research is a lot more focused and utilizes other 3rd party results rather than doing the pure research themselves.

Don't get me wrong, Intel is the Fab leader, but they are not the only ones doing the hard work.  Other companies like ASML are actually designing and building the tools that Intel integrates into their Fabs.  Yes, Intel invests in ASML, but so do other companies.  The guys working on Extreme UV are not from Intel, but Intel and everyone else has invested heavily in that group.

BTW, why is it worse for AMD to have a mediocre product as compared to Intel continuing to sell a good product but with a manufacturing defect that they haven't fixed?  I'm thinking it is Intel that is laughing all the way to the bank.

Also, out of all the ads on the site I see... Corsair, Seasonic, OCZ, Galaxy, Asus, MSI... I only see one AMD ad.  It is for the graphics cards and the Never Settle Bundle 2.  Has nothing to do with CPUs.

March 12, 2013 | 03:06 PM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

IBM? Seriously? You're going completely off topic on things that have absolutely NOTHING to do with the products on the review, on your own review...

well I can appreciate IBM for using STEC Zeus SSD's in their servers and that they have THAT kind of money to afford. A single ZeusRAM costs about $3000 for 8GB... and IBM has LOADS of those drives on every one of their machines. I leave you the math.

That said, when I move to the PcPer 'Live' section, there are two ads that instantly BLOW right on my face going all like 'NEVER SETTLE FOR BLA! BUY AMD BLA! GET TOMB RAIDER 4 FREE BRO!!1'.

Anyway, this really has gone FAR off topic.

Let's end this nonsense.

March 18, 2013 | 02:47 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

you get ads?

March 18, 2013 | 04:30 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

With AdBlocker off, of course.

With it on, no.

LOL.

March 12, 2013 | 09:28 PM - Posted by ThorAxe

Poor PC Perspective. In one review they get accused of being pro-Nvidia and now they are being accused of being pro-AMD! It's almost hilarious if it wasn't so sad.

March 12, 2013 | 10:42 PM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

This site makes money by these things you moron, just like ANY other tech site.

What the hell else do you expect? How else do you think it stays open and pays the bandwidth bills?

Why do you think that guy goes on a podcast every once in a while? Is it that he is REVIEWING anything? No, he isn't. He IS SELLING PRODUCTS TO YOU. That guy you watch every once in a while is a fucking MARKETER. This site and everything you see is a money business. If you think review sites are there for you to let you know what you buy ONLY, then you are a giant fool and a moron to a degree. This is how these reviewers make money and have a life.

Review sites review hardware for free. This IS how the reviews fucking NEED to be done for them to stay online and to keep on feeding you.

You see, you're wearing ear muffs and have the most polarized pair of Oakley sunglasses on... I don't. I'm looking into this monitor correctly. You aren't.

March 13, 2013 | 06:12 AM - Posted by Vargis14 (not verified)

Grabs 30-06 rifle......i think its Doe season. John doe season err i mean deer season...awe screw it i am gonna poach a Doe:

March 13, 2013 | 06:36 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

30-06? What gives? So ancient.

You don't have a single chance against me with that.

All I need is a Five-Seven... :) Hell, even some ancient Colt is better than that... make it parabellum with a long barrel. Like the terminator version with laser sightning.

LOL, that pistol is actually crap in RL. It shoots very inaccurately... gotta love Hollywood.

They are very rare but can be found for a few hundred bucks.

March 13, 2013 | 09:02 AM - Posted by Josh Walrath

I think you have played too much CS.

March 13, 2013 | 10:24 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

I have excellent shooting skills.

There is one over a hunting shop I know of here. The Belgium quality on it is unmatched, it is shit expensive about $700-800 at least though it IS worth it.

If you are a good marksmen, you CAN, in REAL life, make use of a pistol like a rifle. It just depends on who you are talking to, and what kind of shooting capability he has.

A security post guard can shoot a target that stands still EASILY from 50 feet or so with a FN 5.7. It does NOT bullet spread at a significant amount till you hit 100 feet. If you know what you are doing, then you CAN use a pistol as good as you'd use a rifle.

Not everyone is taking their gun facts from games.

March 17, 2013 | 07:52 AM - Posted by renosablast (not verified)

Methinks that someone has completely forgotten about the concept of VALUE. For the price of an upper level Intel processor and correspondingly higher-priced motherboard, one can purchase a top-level AMD processor, the motherboard, the memory, an SSD, and more. If money is no object, and you insist on having the absolute bestest, fastest, yadda yadda, go grab the Intel stuff. If you are trying to get the most bang for your buck, AMD has some MUCH more affordable options for us masses that have to be realistic about how we spend our tech dollars.

And buying CPUs on e-Bay? Seriously? I think I will stick with reputable e-tailers for something as system-critical as the CPU.

The old saying that goes something like "Better to keep one's mouth shut and be thought a fool than to (repeatedly) open it and prove yourself a fool beyond all doubt" is lost on a certain John Doe. Keep right on flapping those keyboard gums, son!

March 17, 2013 | 09:15 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

System critical my butt. I would much rather go with an eBay Intel chip + eBay board rather than Amazon AMD board + Amazon AMD chip.

But apperently you are too dumb to see that since you own an extremely SHITTY and CRAP FX-8350.

Keyboard gums? I own a RealForce 87U Tenkeyless you moron. The last thing I would do is to slap a gum on a 275 dollar keyboard

April 18, 2013 | 11:11 PM - Posted by Jane Doe (not verified)

John, your hostility in a threaded discussion is abnormal. So at what point did you realize that having sex with your mother was wrong and taking out your frustrations anonymously behind a computer would help you cope? As we all know, people like you cower in public with your thoughts as they build up in your head because you lack the courage to speak out in person like you do online.

April 18, 2013 | 11:11 PM - Posted by Jane Doe (not verified)

John, your hostility in a threaded discussion is abnormal. So at what point did you realize that having sex with your mother was wrong and taking out your frustrations anonymously behind a computer would help you cope? As we all know, people like you cower in public with your thoughts as they build up in your head because you lack the courage to speak out in person like you do online.

March 12, 2013 | 11:57 AM - Posted by Daniel Meier (not verified)

See that's what i´m interested in, the gaming side of things. I don´t care that they suck at single threaded applications. But if they fix the performance on that part well that´s just an added bonus.

With next generation consoles like the PS4, giving developers the ability to use multiple cores. My i5 2500k looks like it will have a very hard time keeping up with upcoming game ports. Granted my 680 will probably have troubles before long too.

But if AMD can deliver equal, or very close performance to what intel currently have out. Well then i see my self skipping the whole Ivy Bridge upgrade, and will be going straight to Steamroller.

March 12, 2013 | 12:11 PM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

I own a 3770K and would honestly say, although a great chip, it is NOT worthwhile over a 2500K.

The shitty paste in the chip makes the CPU go whoa when you start OC'ing it. When my 3770K hits 4.8 Ghz, internal core temps go out of control and the chip completely loses it's mind due to the lack of a proper TIM inside the IHS and the chip.

3770K is a great chip but it IS NOT a good clocker. 2700K is still the way to go if you're going to OC the crap out of the chip. There's a guy that is selling a pair for $300 right now.

If you want to upgrade, get a 2700K. You can easily nail 5 Ghz just under a TRUE with it. And the 4 extra threads would help as well.

Though, the 2500K is still a VERY capable chip and you have absolutely no reason to ditch it.

March 12, 2013 | 12:16 PM - Posted by Daniel Meier (not verified)

Yeah thats pretty much why i haven´t upgraded it to a 3570k or a 3770k.

The performance gain i kept seeing in benchmarks where kind of minimal. Right now my 2500k runs at a 4.6Ghz, so its still keeping up with games today. The only downside is that it only has 4 cores.

March 12, 2013 | 12:28 PM - Posted by Josh Walrath

While the TIM has something to do with it, it is primarily the electrical characteristics of Intel's 22 nm Tri-Gate process.  It is extremely power efficient at sub 4 GHz speeds, but it does not scale well at all above that.  As you see, hitting 4.8 GHz makes it go crazy in terms of thermals and power consumption.  This again has more to do with the physical characteristics of the process technology and not the TIM/heatspreader.

March 12, 2013 | 12:36 PM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

Maybe but the TIM still plays a HUGE role.

I'm under a MagiCool Monsta Limited 420, a Kyros HF and a PMP-500 with some Nidec Ultra-Flo 6200 RPM's going over the Monsta... there's no way in hell I should be getting those kind of temps.

I don't have the balls to delid it though so my conclusion is that, 3770K is a great chip but a shitty clocker. Anybody who's looking to SERIOUSLY OC should NOT bother with it and just get a 2700K.

March 13, 2013 | 06:18 AM - Posted by Vargis14 (not verified)

I believe Ivys Tim plays a huge role on how ivy K cpus overclock.

Sandys IHS was soldered on. that is about 20 times better then TIM.

July 2, 2014 | 08:39 PM - Posted by forbrukslån (not verified)

I do trust all of the concepts you have offered in your post.
They are really convincing and can definitely work. Still, the posts are very quick for newbies.

Could you please prolong them a bit from next time? Thanks
for the post.

March 12, 2013 | 01:57 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Prodeous, what software are you useing for your rendering!
And do you Know of any websites that include any Blender benchmarking results?

March 12, 2013 | 03:30 PM - Posted by prodeous (not verified)

I primarily use Blender for rendering. As for benchmark results.

most common benchmark is Mike Pan's BMW benchmark
http://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?239480-2-61-Cycles-render...

Results can be found here.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0As2oZAgjSqDCdElkM3l6VTdRQjh...

i7 3770k vs FX 8150
http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu/display/core-i7-3770k-i5-3570k_7.html

FX8150 vs FX8350 in 3DS max.. better (i7 even better) but definitely improved in performace between Bull -> Pile. However 3DS is not as fully optimized as it should be :(
http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu/display/fx-8350-8320-6300-4300_7.ht...

March 12, 2013 | 04:37 PM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

Here is a test that, I personally think, would be more useful to most than some Blender benchmark some guy wrote in his bedroom...

http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.php?p=4203841&postcount=5

when overclocked, FailDozer pulls an insane amount of power and it LOSES to AMD's OWN 1100T.

Now let's go back when more in history, and look at some old ass HWC chart. I actually find this chart THE best chart ever since it's such a well put one that really has the kind of tests that shows the complete gaming power of a chip:

http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/charts/index.php?pid=61,63,69,73,76&tid=5

VALVe particle simulation benchmark. This is an old thing VALVe came up way back in HL2 days to show the capabilities of the Source Engine. It represents an extremely CPU heavy case in a Source mod.

Now, we are looking for the Phenom only since we know the Phenom has better IPC than BullDozer and Intel is easily better than that.

Now look at those results... the X4 955 does 91 Frames, while the Q6600 does 80 frames and a Q9550 does 107 frames... the Phenom chip is WORSE than EVEN a Core 2 Quad... and that i7 920 is pumping a good 130 frames even at a slow ass 2.66 Ghz...

Intel is THAT better.

March 12, 2013 | 05:05 PM - Posted by Foolsmasher (not verified)

The 8350 is more than keeping up lately as games are finally starting to utilize more cores. This trend will only continue in the future as AMD Jaguar Apu's are entrenched in the upcoming consoles.

Right now it isn't necessarily wise to recommend a 2500k over an 8350 if the person is interested in playing upcoming games.

Go look at some Crysis 3 benchmarks. An 8350 typically bests the i5's and runs slightly behind the i7's. The 8350 will lose to i5's in lightly threaded scenarios, but best in heavily threaded ones. All in all it's within a few FPS of the Intels at a cheaper price point.

Not too shabby.

March 13, 2013 | 03:39 AM - Posted by prodeous (not verified)

The Blender benchmarks are again, for multi-threading. I agree with you that for gaming it is slightly different.

But the benchmarks I posted were for a specific case that I use my computer primarily for. And the price/performance ratio can not be beet by Intel CPU especially in Poland.

Additionally you realize you are comparing FX 8150 not FX 8350 in your first benchmark? which again based on my link shows improvements.

Rest of the platform is identical (pure CPU swap)

And second benchmark is comparing old gen CPU's... again what is the purpose of this...?

Again, I agree that for GAMING, Intel has it. Single thread performance, no way to compete now. And when any of my friends mentions they want a GAMING system I tell them, get Intel.

However when you need something for Media Creation, Video Encoding, Rendering, etc, Intel and AMD are really close in performance.

And direct comparison between PII X6 1090T and FX 8350.

Rendering in Blender (again - production purpose) - Stock settings

PII X6 1090T - 5 minutes 40 seconds - 342 seconds
FX 8350 - 4 minutes 4 seconds - 244 seconds

You can do the math your self as to which one is faster.

March 13, 2013 | 05:07 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

Even THAT isn't really a fair comparison.

The FX-8350 has an insane Turbo on it and a very high stock clock against that old and poor 1090T.

If you're going to compare BD to Thuban, compare it to an OC'ed 1100T. Now that would be a far more fair comparison.

I would not be surprised if PileDriver gets spanked by a 1100T.

Compare a MAX OC'ed 1100T to a MAX OC'ed FX-8350. Then there won't ANYWHERE be as much difference.

And the sole reason I was comparing those (old CPU's) was to show how 'inferior' AMD is. Phenom has a better IPC than BullDozer and those chips lose to ancient Core 2 Quad's... now you tell me how plausible an AMD setup is.

EVEN for things like your usage, EVEN for completely threaded apps, Sandy Bridge STILL spanks PileDriver.

PileDriver is a waste of money. It is what it is. There are little to no proper boards for OC'ing it. It's inefficient, and has horrendous per-thread performance. Nobody in their right mind should go ahead and waste money on one when they can save up a bit and get Sandy Bridge. Intel is so much better you're getting far better hardware for your money. AMD is not even 'worth' bothering with.

March 13, 2013 | 09:15 AM - Posted by prodeous (not verified)

You forgot to take into consideration the Power requirements.

Clock is relevant of course, however for the same power envelope of 125W the 1090T or 1100T took, I have the FX8350 that is significantly faster in the tasks I need.

And before you dispute this, remember that the company you admire, Intel, used its monopoly to destroy AMD. Intel even agreed to pay 1,4 billion dollars to close a case they knew they would loose. So AMD without a budget came up with .. well not much. The Faildozer (I will agree with that), but the Piledriver is an improvement, within 10-15% they mentioned.

Still in the end it is all about the tasks you use and what you can afford. For what I need and what I can afford, AMD spanks Intels arse. For you in Gaming it is the opposite. So lets be happy that we both got what we want and need for our daily lives. :)

March 13, 2013 | 10:37 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

I'm not admiring any cash cow company.

Power envelope? Did you check that Guru3D link I posted? Here is what is says in it:

'Even it’s 95W FX-8120, when I OC over 4.3GHz, the power consumption bump up to over 380W.
FX-8120 temperature is also rise a lot.'

PileDriver sucks MORE power than an X6.

That 'power envelope' you talk about is called 'TDP'. It IS NOT how much power the chip pulls regularly. It's how much wattage is DISSIPATES.

Power consumption and TDP are two entirely DIFFERENT things.

March 12, 2013 | 05:27 PM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

Because the 8350 has a GIANT Turbo and completely relies on it's stock clocks and because Cry 3 scales very well over 4 cores.

It's a piece of shit CPU that is hidden under a number of tricks to sell. In %90 of the games a 2500K WILL blow the shit out of a 8350 out of the water, especially once you start OC'ing. It's much more efficient, better per-clock and thread, and doesn't require a beastly board to be pushed.

With a 8350 setup you have very LIMITED board choice. Most 990FX boards suck and blow shit and the only two worthwhile boards that are on top of my head right now are 990FX-GD80 and that Gigabyte board which has gotten an UEFI and MAYBE the Crosshair V. Beyond those though, 990FX boards are a hit and miss big time.

Single threaded performance of 8350 is just the same as FX-8150's. It's TERRIBLE. Right up there with an antic E6600...

It, no matter what kind of deal comes with, is NOT a worthwhile chip when a very simple, second hand 2500K with a cheap board blows it out of the water in every single way.

March 12, 2013 | 10:22 PM - Posted by mAxius

Now let the fun begin. Nice write up josh glad to see amd releasing new product at higher speeds. On to the antiamd trolls... you buy what you wish to buy. I buy what I wish to buy. Are you holding onto a grudge and going off the deep end cause a company released product. I do not see why sure it may not outperform Intel in some tasks but it will do every task your Intel chip does and some multithreaded tasks even better. Let's not even get to Intel's piss poor excuse of a gpu that can not hold a candle to amd`s. Amd has apu`s that can decimate intels in pure gpu performence and it is a single power saving package. On to a dose of reality trolls, amd`s IP is in the Nintendo, Sony and microsoft consoles. Intel and nvidia are not going to be in the next generation systems at all... games will be optimized for amd apu`s by default my proof just look at tomb raider for a glimpse of nvidias future muuhahaha

March 12, 2013 | 10:44 PM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

If you honestly think I am trolling or anything here then you are a giant, good old dumbass and nothing else.

The review SITE is trolling for AMD here, with you being the ultimate fool who can not even comprehend these simple lines of texts I am writing.

Oh and, talk about fanboyism? Right. The irony.

March 12, 2013 | 10:54 PM - Posted by mAxius

Damn this android tablet

March 12, 2013 | 10:53 PM - Posted by mAxius

I have a solution for your jaded viewpoint go else ware stop trolling pushing your antiamd agenda on everyone else. Tech news sites can't report on a new product from a company cause you dislike them... get a life

March 12, 2013 | 10:54 PM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

You're the MOST stupid person around in here.

That's all.

March 13, 2013 | 03:41 AM - Posted by prodeous (not verified)

Agreed. Well said

March 13, 2013 | 12:35 PM - Posted by JMccovery

This vitriol spewed by 'John Doe' makes me realize that he doesn't have much of an argument, because every response is laced with anger and foul language.

'John', we get that you have unhealthy hatred of anything CPU-wise AMD produces, but you don't have to act like the fanboy you are. All you have to say is: "For my usage scenario, Piledriver isn't much better than Bulldozer."

Anyways, on to Richland. I feel that it is a great improvement over Trinity, regarding AMD's financial/R&D situation, though I do wish GCN would've replaced TeraScale, but would leave Kaveri with a miniscule graphics performance improvement. Also, it is possible that issues came up with backporting GCN to GF's 32nm process.

No matter how small a step is taken, at least AMD is moving forward.

Bring on Kaveri, Kabini and Temash!

March 13, 2013 | 02:21 PM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

No, I do not have a hatred against AMD-make chips.

I absolutely LOVE the 1100T and the 980T, both of which were EXCELLENT chips.

But I do NOT appreciate ANYTHING BullDozer or PileDriver or hardcockdriver or whatever... because since I know the architecture sucks, I know the end result will also BE INFERIOR to competition. Period. End of story. And no amount of moronic and pointless words you throw at me is going to change that.

March 14, 2013 | 01:45 AM - Posted by JMccovery

I know I'm being drug into the troll trap, but I can't help it...

Kind sir, can you point out which words I used were 'pointless and moronic'?

Yes the CSA architecture present in Bulldozer and Piledriver are less efficient than the Stars architecture, but you must have forgotten that Stars started off being worse clock-for-clock than K8.

So, you hate Bulldozer and its derivatives, but why do you present your point in such a way?

AMD, unfortunately, can not just throw out CSA and start fresh, and it is entirely within the realm of possibility that Stars would've hit an efficiency wall.

March 14, 2013 | 07:51 PM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

K8? LOL. WTF do I care how some CPU performed 5-10 years ago?

I'm done here.

March 14, 2013 | 10:38 AM - Posted by Russell Abbott (not verified)

This John Doe guy is a real life representation of those 'Extreme Advertising' meme's. He's like some installation art piece.

March 14, 2013 | 07:52 PM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

When you spend at least 15-20 grand on PC hardware alone maybe you'll then understand my points.

March 16, 2013 | 12:14 AM - Posted by Kentucky1965 (not verified)

You spend between $15,000, and $20,000 on hardware? Wow, You really do show Your ignorance of 'Computers'. All of Your comments are filled with vitriol, and cussing, which in turn shows how low Your IQ is; please leave--'Intel employee troll' this site reviews Intel, as well as AMD. Remember, when ignorant people are unable to have a civil discussion (albeit about processors of all things) they resort to cussing and name calling because they want to argue with someone; please put down Your 24th bottle of Beer and go to rehab. Josh, i have been coming to this site for a long time, and watch, and/or listen to the podcasts, and enjoy them; YOU all talk about every brand pretty equally, keep up the good work.

March 16, 2013 | 05:57 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

The hardware I own is WAY beyond is little imagination.

'Intel employee troll' eh? I've owned BOTH Intel and AMD machines over the various years and am speaking ALL from personal first hand experience. And if you have a gram of brain to comprehend my posts (which you don't seem to), then you might actually understand my points.

I am the one that that talks about 'every brand equally'. Not that guy that goes on podcasts every once in a while. You're a fool. Those guys are ALL PAID to talk the way they do. Every single stream you watch on this site is a GIANT and OBVIOUS MARKETING attemp at SELLING PRODUCTS. But you are appereantly too ignorant or dumb to comprehend any of this.

Let me ask you just this, WHO makes money by writing these blog posts? Me, or the guy you believe so crounchly in?

It is that guy you swear after's JOB to write these articles. You're an idiot. I do nothing other than spending my time helping people out 7/24 on these stupid forums. You moron. Appreciate my knowledge and the help I regularry offer to people. It is, again, WAY and FAR beyond your little imaginary mind.

March 16, 2013 | 01:49 PM - Posted by Kentucky1965 (not verified)

You help people with 'IT' by cussing at them, and calling them names? Wow, very helpful, very helpful indeed. Also, review sites do need to take in some income, as there are expenses to be paid; 'Business 101'. Everything You have written so far in Your rant, has helped no one, except for Your deep-seeded need to be heard. I am now no longer responding to You, as it is pointless, just as when I am conducting a Deposition, and the Doctor and/or Nurse keep repeating the same answer, without actually answering the said question. Now ignoring john doe.

March 17, 2013 | 01:32 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

Please do because I do not give a single shit whether you take my word or not.

No shit that review sites need income. Re-read my previous replies you moron. That is exactly what I explained.

Glad that you are ignoring me. Time to crank some good shit.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GQ9y-cc0300

March 17, 2013 | 07:59 AM - Posted by renosablast (not verified)

Mr. John Doe also suffers from "I HAVE to have the last word" syndrome. Refer to my previous reply about those who insist on proving themselves to be a fool.

March 17, 2013 | 08:25 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

Oh and, if you happen to come across Les Tokar, please tell that fat fucker that I say "FUCK YOU" and I am NOT reviewing an SSD for him in a million years.

March 17, 2013 | 06:17 PM - Posted by renosablast (not verified)

Thanks ever so much for proving my point in spades.

March 17, 2013 | 07:39 PM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

Your welcome. :)

March 16, 2013 | 08:02 AM - Posted by Havor (not verified)

Is there any ETA for the desktop part of Richland?

As it looks more intresting then the current Trinity parts for HTPCs.

I am also interested in the Kabini SoC, thats gone replace Brazos 2.0, and hope its not neutered for HTPC use.

And if its not neutered, i think this will be the next main HTPC solution.

March 16, 2013 | 12:50 PM - Posted by Josh Walrath

I think around Computex is when desktop Richland will be put out.

Top TDP Kabini looks pretty interesting in a HTPC scenario.  Will see how that shakes out here in probably a month or so.

March 18, 2013 | 07:55 PM - Posted by inf64 (not verified)

Nice article Josh!
I saw your "discussion" with the Unknown guy(John Doe) and his ramblings on Piledriver being the same as Bulldozer.
Here it is, facts finally:
http://www.hardware.fr/articles/880-6/bulldozer-vs-piledriver-4-ghz.html

Hardware.fr tested both at fixed clock(4GHz),all other things being equal(board,memory,GPU,HDD). They have concluded that in applications(not games), PD has 7.7%(1.3% to 16.7) IPC improvement over BD,both at 4Ghz. In games, PD has even higher IPC advantage,a significant 13.5% (8.1% to 20.8%) ! Average comes down to 10.6% which is very significant IPC jump for a mere "quick fix". Couple this with higher average OC numbers Vishera can reach Vs Bulldozer and overall lower power draw when both are OCed and you get a "tock" in intel's terms ;).

So as all can see, facts are facts and fiction is fiction . John Doe obviously lives in dreamland where fiction is fact and vice versa.

March 19, 2013 | 03:25 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

That shitty site can't turn off Turbo you dumb fuck.

If you re-read my previous replies, maybe you can get a clue or two.

The TURBO is done inside the chip with AMD CPU's. You CAN NOT turn the Turbo off on AMD chips like you can with Intel.

More so, the fact that you don't know who I am just goes to show how fucking clueless you are.

Also, that site is a fucking piece of shit.

March 19, 2013 | 09:41 AM - Posted by Josh Walrath

Yes, you can turn Turbo off on AMD chips.  It really is the only way you can get the chips to go over 4.4 GHz anyway.

Seriously, ease up on the insults and language.

March 19, 2013 | 09:55 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

I will GTFO out of this site ASAP...

going over JonnyGuru like just about right nau.

This place is FULL of dumb ignorant suckers...

at least you're a nice guy, which is something... lol. Sigh.

March 19, 2013 | 04:23 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Best bit of Richland news is that the A10-5750m should be a drop-in replacement for the A10-4600m, which itself can replace the A6-4400m.

Now that's what I call an upgrade ! :)

March 19, 2013 | 05:39 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

Ditch that POS and get a 2500K with a USED P67 board.

Now that's what I call an "upgrade".

March 19, 2013 | 04:39 AM - Posted by inf64 (not verified)

You can turn off Turbo Johny boy. It's a fact. It can controlled by a BIOS,just as power management can be controlled by BIOS. Check AMD's BIOS and kernel guide for family 15h and all will be clear. Again facts are facts and fiction is fiction. Johny boy seems like a very very angry and unhappy person which I'm sad to see. Here is some candy for you to feel a bit better :)
http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-14IO-Aj_OC0/UGvzdMGgCMI/AAAAAAAAAfA/4O-RE6Z6gu...

March 19, 2013 | 05:41 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

"Johny boy" is throwing Ronnie Montrose solos. Johny boy is older than you. Johny boy is WAY over you.

Also, Johny boy doesn't eat garbage food.

Suck my 8 inch weasel.

March 19, 2013 | 05:59 AM - Posted by inf64 (not verified)

Johny boy is acting like a kid when proven wrong,is putting hands over ears and singing "lalalalala". Not surprised at all ;).

March 19, 2013 | 06:37 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

French homo fuckers can suck my weasel all the way in as far as I am concerned.

March 19, 2013 | 08:26 AM - Posted by inf64 (not verified)

You have "cock" too much on your mind man, very interesting.

March 19, 2013 | 09:23 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

Indeed.

I'm a stud in RL.

I'm not like the majority of geek fuckers you see on these sites.

March 19, 2013 | 09:26 AM - Posted by inf64 (not verified)

No I meant I sense a weird attraction to "cocks" in your case. In psychology it's called latent homosexual. Sorry man.

March 19, 2013 | 09:30 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

LOL.

Fuck you, fucking dumb French fucker.

Suck it all the way in.

March 19, 2013 | 11:27 AM - Posted by inf64 (not verified)

Yep that's what I thought. 100% latent homosexual.

PS I'm not French but that doesn't change your diagnosis.Sorry.

March 19, 2013 | 01:21 PM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

You really have absolutely no idea who I am.

Should I take a pic of myself?

I'll post it here.

March 19, 2013 | 01:37 PM - Posted by inf64 (not verified)

No need man, it's clear enough. So much anger cannot be good for ones health. Go outside a bit ,go to gym punch some bags. Let it out.

March 19, 2013 | 01:46 PM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

We're going to do this a bit different.

Post your pic and I'll post mine.

You want to play multi-muscle? Well I'm all for it.

March 19, 2013 | 02:23 PM - Posted by inf64 (not verified)

Hahahah I can't believe I'm reading this :D. It's awesome, like 4chan stuff only better!

March 19, 2013 | 02:57 PM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

I can take anybody from 4chan down single handedly...

March 19, 2013 | 06:07 PM - Posted by Josh Walrath

10 feet tall, genius, bulletproof, and the body of Adonis.  Pissing in peoples' Wheaties since dial-in BBS days!  You've seen my ugly mug, you should show yours!

March 19, 2013 | 09:22 PM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

I am having EXTREMELY hard time browsing the site since all my proxies are getting blocked one by one from you and your fucking pussy crew and I am banned from the chat as well.

I don't have your e-mail so I can't mail you.

Do you really want me to post my pic here?

March 20, 2013 | 05:51 AM - Posted by inf64 (not verified)

Hey Johny boy, have you considered that those blocks on IPs are coming for a reason? You are a hostile sociopath who cannot have a normal discussion on an internet forum. You are ignoring facts and constantly berating and attacking other posters. This is probably how you act in real life for which I'm really sorry. If you had stuck with normal tech discussion I can BET your IPs wouldn't get blocked. You had it coming and rightfully so.

March 20, 2013 | 08:01 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

Yes, because the site was losing sales over me.

I guess yours does as well.

I can feel the butt hurt from 5000 miles away.

April 18, 2013 | 11:14 PM - Posted by Jane Doe (not verified)

John, your hostility in a threaded discussion is abnormal. So at what point did you realize that having sex with your mother was wrong and taking out your frustrations anonymously behind a computer would help you cope? As we all know, people like you cower in public with your thoughts as they build up in your head because you lack the courage to speak out in person like you do online.

March 20, 2013 | 10:20 AM - Posted by inf64 (not verified)

Sales? Please just go away,you are making no sense at all.

March 20, 2013 | 11:33 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

Keeping on holding up buddy, eh?!

http://imageshack.us/a/img855/7099/93775794.jpg

I am already pretty much done actually.

Good luck at life.

April 18, 2013 | 12:17 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Kid, get a real life.

June 4, 2013 | 09:42 AM - Posted by Wilson (not verified)

It's remarkable to visit this web page and reading the views of all colleagues regarding this piece of writing, while I am also zealous of getting experience.

Also visit my homepage :: Nick Yates

April 2, 2013 | 04:26 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

is this guy for real? All this hate on AMD. All this trash talk. Let me inform you of something that you are too young and ignorant to know. AMD is Intel. Yes. Same company! Do not believe me? Look it up. If it wasn't for shady monopolistic business practices conducted by Intel in the early 1980s, AMD would never exist. AMD splintered off from Intel in the early 90s and within 6 years of being independent managed to shit all over Intel for almost a decade. K62, Athlon, Athlon XP, Athlon 64, Athlon 64x2. AMD Lead the way for 10 years with almost no resistance from Intel. AMD has pioneered technologies that Intel could only dream of. Multi core technology all started with AMD. 64 bit hardware, That was AMD. It was not until second generation C2duo products that Intel started to regain ground and there was a good reason for that. In 2006, AMD made a HUGE investment into a dying corporation. ATi. The goal of this investment was to create a high end main stream platform to usher in the HD revolution. You want to know why AMD does not have a high end CPU core lineup? It is because they spent millions on ATi and then had to invest millions more into research and development to turn ATi around and make the graphics product profitable. Then they had to take this new graphics product they tweaked and find a way to work it on die with cpu cores. APU technology is still a baby and AMD is YEARS ahead of Intel when it comes to it thanks to the acquisition of ATi. AMD is capable of making high end CPU parts, They just do not have the resources to invest into it. Just wait another 5 years. AMD Will be on the top of the food chain in both GPU and CPU technology and they will have a unified all in 1 package that will leave intel begging for Nvidia to reconsider there offer. I am guessing someone as young and ignorant as you do not even know that Intel tried to buy out Nvidia and got the middle finger. Intel has invested billions into research and has a high power cpu. I do not deny that. But that is not what AMD has been working on. I will continue to buy and support AMD because I know my money will go to something big that will revolutionize the industry. Investing in Intel does nothing but invest into advertisement and the dead Idea that raw single core performance in this day and age matters to anyone other than ignorant kids that want to raise room temperatures by another 20c.

April 2, 2013 | 04:41 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

And you talk all this trash about AMD laptops saying they are all crap, have no performance or anything. I am guessing you have not heard of the MSI GX70 on its way this summer. A10-57050m Paired with a Radeon HD8970. What the hell could Intel ever offer to compete with that? Last I checked Intel still does not have any type of stream computing platform much less any type of graphics core that can produce over 30 frames a second in Diablo 3 much less a real game. You have to use Nvidia as your crutch and even then all you are using is a gpu that is bound to go up in flames and burn out within a year of ownership. I am yet to see a high end nvidia laptop chip from the gtx series that did not over heat and die. I still have a MSI GT635 with AMD dual core and Radeon hd3850 that I have overclocked the hell out of without even using a notebook cooling pad and it runs fine. My Toshiba I am on right now is a first gen A6-3400m overclocked to 2.8ghz and stays 25-30c under the Tjmax of the chip and that is without a cooling pad also. I will admit early dual and quad core laptop offerings from AMD produced a lot of heat but they still never burned out. Intel fan boys are the most ignorant ever. They are all young and never known anything else. My first PC was a 286dx 25mhz with 2mb ram. It was an AMD chip ontop of that. AMD has been around longer than you child and they will be here long after you are gone. So keep hating and spending double the money I spend on my hardware to produce 10-15fps more even tho all my systems do what they are made to do with no issues.

September 27, 2013 | 02:53 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

lol ur a nub

May 1, 2013 | 06:24 PM - Posted by ssddrivei7 (not verified)

Good review, Josh, other than the kid's rude comments.

May 4, 2013 | 03:29 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Yeah thanks for the review.
I'm looking at getting an MSI GX60 with an A10-5750M paired with a 7970M.
Unfortunately I missed most of the comments because of that lunatic posting.

Shame.

July 11, 2013 | 08:22 PM - Posted by stiphen (not verified)

can u tell me is it better to go for 4600m or 5650m for gaming!!

October 4, 2013 | 12:44 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Im iterested in buying a laptop with an amd richland apu. My daily work consists of extended web browsing and downloading, with occasional movie viewing and linux security apps running. Which apu would you all reccomend and why?

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.