Feedback

Richland Unveiled: AMD Releases the New A10-5750M

Author:
Subject: Processors
Manufacturer: AMD

AMD Exposes Richland

When we first heard about “Richland” last year, there was a little bit of excitement from people.  Not many were sure what to expect other than a faster “Trinity” based CPU with a couple extra goodies.  Today we finally get to see what Richland is.  While interesting, it is not necessarily exciting.  While an improvement, it will not take AMD over the top in the mobile market.  What it actually brings to the table is better competition and a software suite that could help to convince buyers to choose AMD instead of a competing Intel part.

From a design standpoint, it is nearly identical to the previous Trinity.  That being said, a modern processor is not exactly simple.  A lot of software optimizations can be applied to these products to increase performance and efficiency.  It seems that AMD has done exactly that.  We had heard rumors that the graphics portion was in fact changed, but it looks like it has stayed the same.  Process improvements have been made, but that is about the extent of actual hardware changes to the design.

View Full Size

The new Richland APUs are branded the A-5000 series of products.  The top end is the A10-5750M with HD-8650 integrated graphics.  This is still the VLIW-4 based graphics unit seen in the previous Trinity products, but enough changes have been made with software that I can enable Dual Graphics with the new Solar System based GPUs (GCN).  The speeds of these products have received a nice boost.  As compared to the previous top end A10-4600, the 5750 takes the base speed from 2.3 GHz to 2.5 GHz.  Boost goes from 3.2 GHz up to 3.5 GHz.  The graphics portion takes the base clock from 496 MHz up to 533 MHz, while turbo mode improves over the 4600 from 685 MHz to 720 MHz.  These are not staggering figures, but it all still fits within the 35 watt TDP of the previous product.

View Full Size

One other important improvement is the ability to utilize DDR-3 1866 memory.  Throughout the past year we have seen memory densities increase fairly dramatically without impacting power consumption.  This goes for speed as well.  While we would expect to see lower power DIMMs be used in the thin and light categories, expect to see faster DDR-3 1866 in the larger notebooks that will soon be heading our way.

Click here to read more about AMD's Richland APUs!

View Full Size

As mentioned before, the majority of the gains we see today are the work of low level software optimizations.  The original Trinity had a fairly complex scheme to keep clockspeeds high, balance out power needs, and to keep it all under 35 watts TDP when it comes to heat production.  The die has quite a few temperature sensors throughout the design, and these provide feedback as to what unit is heating up and what is idle.  The software that controls all this then determines what area needs to be clocked down, what can be clocked up, and how to maximize performance determined by workloads.

View Full Size

AMD has several improvements under differing operations that allows them to increase overall clockspeeds, enable turbo modes to last longer, and balance out CPU and GPU workloads more effectively.  They have increased the number of P states (clock vs. voltage) so it is more finely grained.  This should allow the processor to more adequately respond to performance needs, instead of making a larger jump to the next P state, it takes a smaller one from the previous state.  This again is aimed at maximizing power and clockspeed given a certain workload.  The algorithms dictating if the CPU or GPU gets more power and speed have been overhauled as well.  AMD claims that these new algorithms can more adequately adjust for corner cases where both units may be bottlenecked, but can correctly decipher which unit actually will show the greatest performance increase by loosening the performance bottleneck.

View Full Size

Finally we get to the operating system level software enhancements that AMD is introducing.  These are somewhat interesting, depending on the usage expected from these parts.  These are new programs that promise to allow more functionality and flexibility than previous notebook parts have provided.  The first is AMD Gesture Control.  This does exactly what one would think it would.  With a webcam enabled notebook the user can set it up to make gestures correspond to commands.  Things such as a hand wave can turn a page on an e-book.  The downside to this is if a person is jamming out to “Stop, In the Name of Love” and keeps interrupting the playback with their motions.  There is no colorful metaphor app as of yet from AMD.

View Full Size

Other enhancements in software bundle includes AMD Face Login, AMD Screen Mirror (sharing media at low latencies to a variety of playback options), AMD Quick Stream (media streaming that takes priority over networks so no hiccups will occur), AMD Steady Video (already available through Catalyst), and AMD Perfect Picture HD (de-interlacing, contrast enhancement, color saturation, and vibrancy).  At first glance these appear to be a bit underwhelming, but consider that they all will be bundled with the new Richland APUs.  Intel currently has no software bundle to compare it to.

View Full Size

Richland is not the second coming.  It still looks like a very interesting product.  AMD certainly is willing to shake things up a bit, and this refresh is coming hard and fast.  AMD expects mobile Richland processors to be available in end user products by next month.  Low voltage version for ultra-thins should be available before the end of 1H 2013.  AMD has no real choice but to release improved products on an aggressive schedule.  Make no mistake, Richland is an improvement over Trinity.  Now users just have to judge what is more important to them when it comes to usage and features.  AMD certainly has the edge in graphics and software, but Intel still has overall CPU performance and power consumption.

 

March 12, 2013 | 06:29 AM - Posted by Guest (not verified)

Any improvement is better than none, The software bundle looks interesting AMD press release states that it will be available for download next month...does this mean that it can be used by the two previous generations of APU's Liano and Trinity? I am sure many of your readers would like to know!

March 14, 2013 | 01:18 AM - Posted by Phil (not verified)

The improvement is pretty good compared to the Trinity and bulldozer series. The AMD A8 5545M scored 200 more points than the A8-4555M processor in the PCMark 7 benchmark test

http://mobilityupdate.com/cpu-benchmark/amd-a10-5750m-benchmark/

March 12, 2013 | 06:54 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I'm a little disappointed because the integrated graphics did not come to the GCN, which means that the new serise of CPUs should be still called as APU 4000 series, although with a little improvement in the frequency and memory control. In addiation, I'm afraid that the desktop-type Richland CPUs will still use older VLIW-4 based graphics rather than GCN based ones. If it were true, I think these kinds of CPUs are not as good as expected before.

March 12, 2013 | 07:07 AM - Posted by dragosmp (not verified)

It looks nice, not the second coming as you well pointed out. Maybe the fine grain clock control and the faster/better feedback loop will allow them to turbo better on 25W CPUs, there the benefit might be more noticeable.

It's good that they can execute for a change; it's better to have yearly incremental improvements than years upon years of delays and revolutionary products that never happened.

Mind you, it's still a way to go before I'll run buying an AMD laptop mostly because they still lack mid/high end offers (decent screens, more than 4/6 cell batteries), but that day may come.

March 12, 2013 | 07:41 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

And it still has that mediocre single threaded performance of FailDozer... sigh.

Some old ass Dell Precision notebook off eBay with a QX9300 added in shits over any notebook AMD has ever created in terms of raw CPU speed... lol...

The battery on my Precision M6400 barely lasts with the GPU running at full blast though. That Quadro 8800 GTX sucks up the battery like it's nobodies business. Not that I care, since I mostly have it plugged in to the mains and with the Afterburner slider pulled all the way to the right and with the crap out of my CPU overclocked. :)

March 12, 2013 | 07:50 AM - Posted by tbone (not verified)

this is great...anybody who got an Amd A10-4600m can swap these new richland apus in their laptops.

BAM!

March 12, 2013 | 08:12 AM - Posted by Josh Walrath

Yeah... that might not work so well.  That laptop needs to have a pretty extensive BIOS update or you will not see anything more out of throwing a Richland APU in there.  The chances of that will be... slim to none.

March 12, 2013 | 03:10 PM - Posted by tbone (not verified)

i hope manufactures update their bios's for this

it would be nice

March 12, 2013 | 03:10 PM - Posted by tbone (not verified)

i hope manufactures update their bios's for this

it would be nice

March 12, 2013 | 07:58 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

And what gives? What do you get other than faster Turbo speeds and slighly better performance per Mhz?

It's a waste of money to swap an AMD quad with an another AMD quad.

I'd much rather buy some old ass notebook with a Core 2 Duo off eBay, swap it's CPU with a QX9300, and overclock it 4 Ghz. That'd EVEN beat a 2.5 Ghz Ivy chip.

March 12, 2013 | 08:00 AM - Posted by Daniel Meier (not verified)

AMD still has some improved desktop CPUs coming this year don't they?

March 12, 2013 | 08:05 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

Yes no. :D

Even if they do, they'll STILL be based on a rehashed BullDozer STILL with mediocre single threaded performance.

AMD is a dead investment. Intel is really the way to go.

March 12, 2013 | 08:10 AM - Posted by Josh Walrath

Steamroller actually looks pretty robust.  I think we will see a pretty hefty jump in single threaded performance, plus the dual decode units will allow each module to actually process 2 threads at a time.  All in all, a very big upgrade.  While I don't think that AMD will reach single threaded performance of current (and future) Intel parts, it does look to be a big upgrade.  Plus full HSA support with Kaveri (Steamroller + GCN) could be a big plus in gaming, especially with so much development for PS4... and XBox (whatever it will be called).

Kabini is also looking like a good win for AMD.  The Jaguar cores + GCN looks to be a great combination for those tdps, and I know quite a few tablet makers are going to use Temash.  AMD isn't dead yet, thankfully for consumers.

March 12, 2013 | 08:39 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

I digress.

The FX-8350 offers the exact SAME performance as the FX-8150 when you remove the Turbo boost and the rest of the crap out of the equitation. When you get DOWN to it, the FX-8350 is nothing more than FailDozer on roids.

I'm not buying those lies. The last time I bought them out was way back in 2010 when John Fruehe, JF-AMD, was spouting out bullshit in his AMD server room. Saying how much BullDozer WILL OWN and that it'll be %50 faster than a Nehalem i7 and that it will be the most efficient chip out there.

Enough with all that horse bollocks. It came, we saw, it failed.

The architecture is a piece of shit. I can beat a Bulldozer with that ancient QX9650 and that shitty 790i board... and that should tell you how much better Intel is.

March 12, 2013 | 08:48 AM - Posted by Prodeous (not verified)

There were tests on few sites where they direclty compared (clock-clock) and Piledriver was faster by few percent. And looking at same power enelope it gave more speed headroom.

I do remind you, that Intel had a successful CPu called Pentium 4.

There are issues in Bulldozer, I'm not blind. But for my task, 3D rendering, Piledriver (FX8350) is about same performance in 3D rendering as Intels I7 3770. For significantly less cash.

For Gamin, I agree and I awlays recommend intel to my friends. Single thread is better. But to me that is old news. As software becomes more threaded, things will reach similar levels. Issue is, developers are too lazy and no good tools for multi threaded systems :(

However based on your comment, I see you just want to rant. So please tell me how good was the Pentium 4 ;)

March 12, 2013 | 08:57 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

The only reason PileDriver is faster is because is has higher Turbo speeds and boosts higher.

When you pull PileDriver speeds down to BullDozer, and take off Turbo, it offers the EXACT same single thread performance of BullDozer.

I don't give a shit how fast a P4 is at this time and date as it's been AGES since I since used one in my primary machine.

PileDriver is inefficient period. I do not want and do NOT accept a room heater in my machine. I overclock as much as possible and want the higher efficiency per clock possible.

And no PileDriver or cock driver or whatever the shitty CPU AMD comes up with offers that to me. Not to mention their HORRIBLE PER THREAD performance. What the fuck do I care if it ONLY performs better in completely threaded apps? You DO realize, EVEN when things are COMPLETELY threaded, Bulldozer STILL gets spanked by Sandy Bridge, right?

Not to mention that it's crap price/performance and there are barely any 990FX boards that are worthwhile.

If I went ahead and compared EVEN some old P55 system to ANYTHING AMD, there WILL BE FAR MORE VALUE in an old eBay P55 system than some new PileDriver setup... so why the fuck should I buy one? There absolutely is no reason to go AMD unless you don't know what you're doing.

Save up $50 or whatever the fuck that requires you to add up to go Intel and shut your mouth till you know what you are talking about.

March 12, 2013 | 09:26 AM - Posted by Josh Walrath

You seem to be taking this really personally.  Did someone from AMD do something really bad to you or your family?  If so, I am very sorry about that incident.  I'm sure the rest of the people at AMD are really nice.

In the testing that I had done, Piledriver did show per clock improvements.  They were not much, but they were there.  You are correct in that most of the improvements come from better power consumption per clock, which allows these chips to stay in turbo modes longer.  Overall these chips did show some big power improvements overall, especially in terms of perf/watt.  Intel still is better with Sandy and Ivy, but AMD closed the gap some.

Steamroller is going to be interesting in that they will use the 28 nm HKMG bulk process.  An interesting point that some have missed is that Intel's trigate based 22 nm offers pitches up to 26 nm, which is much closer to 28 nm than some think.  It will be interesting to see relative die sizes of these products and resulting performance.  Intel will have a power advantage at certainly clock speeds, but those drop off once faster speeds are achieved.  Exploring these characteristics on 28 nm is going to be pretty fun.

March 12, 2013 | 10:06 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

Look at here:

http://www.anandtech.com/bench/CPU/344

By a rough metric, to get to the IPC, divide the score by the clock speed using Turbo speeds.

3770K = 0.000425

2600K = 0.00040

Now, since AMD chips do NOT have obvious Turbo's like Intel's do, we have to go via stock speeds.

FX-8350 = 0.000261

FX-8150 = 0.000261

FX-8350 is NOTHING more than a rehashed FX-8150 and it sucks and blows ass when it comes to single threaded performance.

AMD are laughing their way to the bank while you're defending their shitty chip.

March 12, 2013 | 10:14 AM - Posted by Josh Walrath

I don't think anyone at AMD is laughing, and certainly not going to the bank.  We did some testing with 8150 and 8350 locked at 4 GHz (Turbo disabled, power saving disabled, etc.).  Depending on the benchmarks we saw as little as 1% diff and as high as 3%.  The differences were not impressive, but they were there.  I'm not defending the chips, I'm just laying the data out as we found it.

Seriously, no need to curse all the time in here either.  I realize you are passionate about this, but it is only technology and products.  Don't get mad, just don't buy it.

March 12, 2013 | 10:09 AM - Posted by Russell Abbott (not verified)

This John Doe guy is nuts, has some deep seated resentment for AMD mixed with tourettes and an inability to maintain appropriate social interactions. If i was him, id focus more on fixing those issues and less on the minutiae of CPU architecture.

March 12, 2013 | 10:16 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

My issues is with the people who are making money over blinded, dumb masses such as yourself.

That is exactly what AMD does. They rename the CPU, Turbo it, burn it, twist and shape how you see it fit and wada! You have a new CPU!

I have no resentment for any company. Brand fanboyism is stupid. It's the product that matters, not the brand. I buy the most for my money, so why in the hell should I pay MORE for less? There is an adversitement right on this message box I'm writing. It says 'Featured Video Sponsored by AMD' and 'Never Settle for less' Never settle for less?

Let me tell you how you 'never settle for less'. You go eBay.com, do a search on '875K', buy the cheapest one. Then you go eVGA B-Stock, and get a beastly and monstrous P55 board on the cheap. Then you OC it to 4.5-5 Ghz, and leave and shitty AMD CPU on the dust. That's how you never settle for less.

Pure comedy gold.

March 12, 2013 | 10:32 AM - Posted by Josh Walrath

Well, let's twist that around some, shall we?  Intel brings out Ivy Bridge, charges more money for it, promises a much better experience... but as you mentioned, the 3770 is not all that much better than the 2600.  Plus the 2600/2700 will give you a much better overclocking experience than that 3770.  So you bought the 3770, and I am assuming you upgraded from a 2600?  So who exactly was left twisting in the wind, especially since you have a massive cooling system and you want to overclock... but your results are worse than before?

March 12, 2013 | 10:43 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

I wasn't expecting it to fuck up on me the way it did.

Yes, but this is a manufactoring defect more than anything else. That kind of argument has zero backing. Then 8 cores chips would have to be completely useless for anybody who looks to render since they do NOT overclock. But since they offer far more cores than AMD's do, they still provide useability for workstations.

That said, Intel at least tries. Unlike AMD, who does 'blind tests' to make people believe in that there is no significant difference between a BD architecture chip and an Intel one. They're making something out of nothing. That is exactly what 'cheap money' stands for.

And Intel? I almost got sad that I bought an Z77 Extreme9 when I saw all those Haswell boards a few days ago.

Intel is working and doing all the hard job. They have the largest manufactoring fab of all and can do their own material unlike any other company. It's NOTHING alike. AMD uses a fab and nowhere have as much resources as Intel. As such, they're left with old pussy tactics and blinding people to sell their product on, which is just sad from my standpoint.

March 12, 2013 | 11:00 AM - Posted by Josh Walrath

What about IBM?  They don't have the fab space, but their research is just as cutting edge as Intel.  IBM, GLOBALFOUNDRIES, and Samsung all participate in the Common Platform.  They have some pretty cool stuff.  3D FinFets are essentially the same as TriGate, but they utilize FD-SOI.  In fact, those Fabs will adopt FD-SOI before Intel does... and even Intel has said that they will eventually have to go to FD-SOI.  I would argue that IBM is doing a lot of the heavy lifting for the cutting edge research in atomic deposition, carbon nanotubes, advanced substrates, and transistor design as compared to Intel.  Intel spends billions, but their research is a lot more focused and utilizes other 3rd party results rather than doing the pure research themselves.

Don't get me wrong, Intel is the Fab leader, but they are not the only ones doing the hard work.  Other companies like ASML are actually designing and building the tools that Intel integrates into their Fabs.  Yes, Intel invests in ASML, but so do other companies.  The guys working on Extreme UV are not from Intel, but Intel and everyone else has invested heavily in that group.

BTW, why is it worse for AMD to have a mediocre product as compared to Intel continuing to sell a good product but with a manufacturing defect that they haven't fixed?  I'm thinking it is Intel that is laughing all the way to the bank.

Also, out of all the ads on the site I see... Corsair, Seasonic, OCZ, Galaxy, Asus, MSI... I only see one AMD ad.  It is for the graphics cards and the Never Settle Bundle 2.  Has nothing to do with CPUs.

March 12, 2013 | 12:06 PM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

IBM? Seriously? You're going completely off topic on things that have absolutely NOTHING to do with the products on the review, on your own review...

well I can appreciate IBM for using STEC Zeus SSD's in their servers and that they have THAT kind of money to afford. A single ZeusRAM costs about $3000 for 8GB... and IBM has LOADS of those drives on every one of their machines. I leave you the math.

That said, when I move to the PcPer 'Live' section, there are two ads that instantly BLOW right on my face going all like 'NEVER SETTLE FOR BLA! BUY AMD BLA! GET TOMB RAIDER 4 FREE BRO!!1'.

Anyway, this really has gone FAR off topic.

Let's end this nonsense.

March 17, 2013 | 11:47 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

you get ads?

March 18, 2013 | 01:30 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

With AdBlocker off, of course.

With it on, no.

LOL.

March 12, 2013 | 06:28 PM - Posted by ThorAxe

Poor PC Perspective. In one review they get accused of being pro-Nvidia and now they are being accused of being pro-AMD! It's almost hilarious if it wasn't so sad.

March 12, 2013 | 07:42 PM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

This site makes money by these things you moron, just like ANY other tech site.

What the hell else do you expect? How else do you think it stays open and pays the bandwidth bills?

Why do you think that guy goes on a podcast every once in a while? Is it that he is REVIEWING anything? No, he isn't. He IS SELLING PRODUCTS TO YOU. That guy you watch every once in a while is a fucking MARKETER. This site and everything you see is a money business. If you think review sites are there for you to let you know what you buy ONLY, then you are a giant fool and a moron to a degree. This is how these reviewers make money and have a life.

Review sites review hardware for free. This IS how the reviews fucking NEED to be done for them to stay online and to keep on feeding you.

You see, you're wearing ear muffs and have the most polarized pair of Oakley sunglasses on... I don't. I'm looking into this monitor correctly. You aren't.

March 13, 2013 | 03:12 AM - Posted by Vargis14 (not verified)

Grabs 30-06 rifle......i think its Doe season. John doe season err i mean deer season...awe screw it i am gonna poach a Doe:

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.