Review Index:
Feedback

Intel Core i7-3820 Processor Review - Quad-Core Sandy Bridge-E under $300

Author:
Subject: Processors
Manufacturer: Intel

A New Chip for a New Year

When Intel launched the Sandy Bridge-E platform in November, there were three processors listed on the specification sheet.  The Core i7-3960X is the flagship, 6-core processor with the ~$1000 price tag, the Core i7-3930K still had 6-cores but a much lower cost and similar clock speeds and the Core i7-3820 was the only quad-core option and was listed for a Q1 release.  We reviewed the Core i7-3930K in December and found that it offered nearly the same performance as the more expensive unit at about half the price. 

View Full Size

Today we are getting a preview of the Core i7-3820 that will be released likely in early February and will come with a much more reasonable price tag of $285 to fill out the LGA2011 socket.  The question that we must ask then is can the quad-core Core i7-3820 compete against the currently available quad-core Sandy Bridge parts that fit in the widely available LGA1155 socket?  We not only have to consider performance but also the features of each platform as well as the total cost. 

Same Feature Set, New Die

While most of the features of the Core i7-3820 are going to be identical to those of the previous SNB-E processors we have seen, there are some important differences with this chip.  Let's see what is familiar first.  The Core i7-3820 is based on the Sandy Bridge-E design that works on the LGA2011 socket and the X79 chipset and motherboards currently on the market.  It includes a quad-channel memory controller and 40 lanes of PCI Express that are actually capable of PCIe 3.0 speeds.  HyperThreading is still enabled so you are getting the benefit of being able to run twice as many threads as you have cores. 

View Full Size

There are some very important changes on this CPU as well though starting with a quad-core design.  This directly pits this Sandy Bridge-E part against the currently existing Sandy Bridge processors running on the Z68/P67 chipset and LGA1155 socket.  Also, the L3 cache on the Core i7-3820 is at 10MB, 5MB less than the Core i7-3960X and 2MB less than the Core i7-3930K.  We are basically talking about a processor that bridges the gap between the original SNB and newer SNB-E parts and it creates some interesting battles and comparisons. 

Continue reading our review of the Core i7-3820 Sandy Bridge-E CPU!!!

Interestingly, this quad-core SNB-E part is not simply a chip with more cores disabled but instead is a completely new die built on the same 32nm process.  While the Core i7-3960X and i7-3930K have a transistor count of 2.27 billion and a die size of about 435 mm2, the Core i7-3820 is based around 1.27 billion transistors and a 294 mm2 die - a significant reduction. 

Let's look at the relevant CPU specifications:

  • Core i7-3930K (SNB-E)
    • Cores: 6
    • Base: 3.2 GHz
    • Turbo: 3.8 GHz
    • Cache: 12MB
    • Memory: Quad channel
    • Price: $555
  • Core i7-3820 (SNB-E)
    • Cores: 4
    • Base: 3.6 GHz
    • Turbo: 3.9 GHz
    • Cache: 10MB
    • Memory: Quad channel
    • Price: $285
  • Core i7-2700K (SNB)
    • Cores: 4
    • Base: 3.5 GHz
    • Turbo: 3.9 GHz
    • Cache: 8MB
    • Memory: Dual channel
    • Price: $369
  • Core i7-2600K (SNB)
    • Cores: 4
    • Base: 3.4 GHz
    • Turbo: 3.8 GHz
    • Cache: 8MB
    • Memory: Dual channel
    • Price: $319

AT $285, the Core i7-3820 actually undercuts both the Core i7-2600K and the Core i7-2700K while offering more cache, higher base and turbo clock speeds as well as twice as many memory channels.  The downside is that your X79 motherboard is going to cost more - base X79 options start around $220 while you can get Z68 motherboards for just over $100, $150 for an "enthusiast-class" option. 

View Full Size

Original Sandy Bridge on the left, new Sandy Bridge-E on the right

Another interesting difference with the Core i7-3820 and the other three CPUs listed above is that it is NOT a fully unlocked processor.  Like other Turbo Boost enabled processors in Intel's Sandy Bridge processors the i7-3820 can be set to a multiplier that is four steps higher than the top Turbo frequency.  So, out of the box, the quad-core SNB-E part will be able to run at 4.3 GHz (single core active), 400 MHz higher than the 3.9 GHz top default Turbo frequency.  There are ways to get higher than this with the 3820 that we'll cover in our overclocking page a bit later. 

Our testing configuration for this testing was identical to that used in the previous Sandy Bridge-E review. 

View Full Size

Highest clock speed with all cores in use

View Full Size

Highest clock speed with a single core in use

  • Intel Core i7-3820 (Sandy Bridge-E)
  • Intel DX79SI X79 Motherboard
  • Intel water cooler
  • 4 x 2GB DDR-1866 Corsair Vengeance (running at DDR3-1333)
  • Intel X25-M G2 160 GB SSD
  • GeForce GTX 285 Graphics card
  • PC Power and Cooling 1200 watt PSU
  • Windows 7 SP1 64-bit

What are the key comparisons do we want to watch out for? 

  • Core i7-3930K vs Core i7-3820 - In the battle of the $285 and the $555 Sandy Bridge-E processors, we know who should win, but is it by enough to warrant the price difference?
  • Core i7-2600K vs Core i7-3820 - Does the updated architecture of Sandy Bridge-E make any performance differences thanks to the larger cache, additional memory channels and slightly higher clock speeds?  This will help us decide if users on a moderate budget would be better off with LGA2011 or LGA1155 platforms.
  • Core i7-3820 vs AMD FX-8150 - Okay, let's give the Bulldozer architecture yet another try here especially considering that they are so similarly priced!
January 4, 2012 | 10:30 AM - Posted by Jared (not verified)

Great Work PCPER.

January 4, 2012 | 11:12 AM - Posted by Prodeous (not verified)

Very nice review. I will admit makes me want to get it over the 2600K.

With regards to the review. I was wondering if there is a way to make the result charts more readable?

The main thing is better grouping of Intel and AMD cpus? I know this is more or less add the newest CPU at the top, but when I jump from page to page and try to compare it to other CPUs it makes it difficult to quickly compare between them.

Possible area of improvement is just colour code it. AMD green, Intel Blue, currently tested Red? Or any other colour scheme.

Beyond that I'm curious about the Blender benchmarks, especially with Blender 2.61 having better multithreading and new rendering engine called Cycles which is fully ray tracked engine unlike current.

What ever you guys do or not do I just want to say. You guys are doing an amazing job.

Polish Canuck - Prodeous.

January 4, 2012 | 01:10 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Prodeous, thanks for the comments. I think you are right on the graphs and it is something we have tried to figure out in the past but honestly, my Excel-foo is just too weak... We'll try again soon!

As for Blender, we are going to completely re-do our CPU test bed soon and I'm sure we'll update it then.

January 4, 2012 | 02:00 PM - Posted by Nebulis01

I think this will be a decent way to upgrade from my Q9650 :)

Thanks for the great review!

January 4, 2012 | 05:31 PM - Posted by hechacker1 (not verified)

Any thoughts on the continued support of LGA 1155 vs 2011? In the long term, I'd think the 2011 platform is a better choice. You get PCI-E 3.0 for next gen GPUs, and a socket that potentially carries you onto a Ivy-E chip with 8-cores? A lot of speculation I'm sure.

Care to comment? btw love the podcast.

January 4, 2012 | 06:07 PM - Posted by Dreadteir

As a enthusiast, I think I like what I see in the SNB-E.

For my build later this year I was looking at the 2600K with a water cooler, a $220 Motherboard and populating all 4 DIMM slots. This processor will likely have me reevaluating what I do with this system as the x79 platform is more robust than the Z68.

Perhaps I will change my mind again after I see what Ivy Bridge brings to the table though.

Excellent review Ryan, and I have to agree with Prodeous both about the charts and the continued excellence.

Cheers,

Dreadteir

January 4, 2012 | 08:58 PM - Posted by Anonymous Coward (not verified)

The high end SB-E processors are enough of a shitty value themselves, but this takes the cake. You'd have to be a grade A moron to buy this over something like a 2600K or 2700K. Either you have the money to blow on a 6core SB-E, or you don't. This in between bullshit gets you SB performance and SB-E prices.

January 4, 2012 | 09:58 PM - Posted by iczerjones (not verified)

...with twice the memory bandwidth and more PCIe. It definitely fills a specific niche, but I'm not sure I would heckle a potential buyer as a 'moron'.

February 10, 2012 | 04:10 PM - Posted by Kilobit (not verified)

Umm only an uneducated idiot would say that. On a 2600k 0r 2700k your pci-e lanes have limited frequencies due to the very mild on chip intergrated graphics. I'll explain this in layman's terms... If you want to run multiple video/graphics cards your pci-e multipliers are limited to 8x/8x or 16x/4x if you use the SB-E chips without intergrated graphics you will be able to run 2 video/graphics cards @16x each and a third card @8x.Plus the SB-E chips fully support Pci-e 3.0 although regular SB chips are able to run pci-e 3.0 they do not fully support pci-e 3.0 because 3.0 came out much later than the release of the SB chips therefore they were not designed to run it.

August 20, 2014 | 01:33 AM - Posted by Kennith (not verified)

{
{I have|I've} been {surfing|browsing} online more than {three|3|2|4} hours
today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours.
{It's|It is} pretty worth enough for me.
{In my opinion|Personally|In myy view}, if all {webmasters|site owners|website owners|web owners} and
bloggers mwde good content as you did, the {internet|net|web} will be {much more|a lot more} useful than ever before.|
I {couldn't|could not} {resist|refrain from} commenting. {Very well|Perfectly|Well|Exceptionally well} written!|
{I will|I'll} {right away|immediately} {take hold of|grab|clutch|grasp|seize|snatch} youyr {rss|rss feed} as I {can not|can't} {in finding|find|to
find} your {email|e-mail} subscription {link|hyperlink} orr {newsletter|e-newsletter} service.
Do {you have|you've} any? {Please|Kindly} {allow|permit|let} me {realize|recognize|understand|recognise|know} {so that|in order
that} I {may just|may|could} subscribe. Thanks.|
{It is|It's} {appropriate|perfect|the best} tikme tto make some plans for the future and {it is|it's} time too be happy.
{I have|I've} read this poist and if I could I {want to|wish
to|desire to} suggest you {few|some} interedsting things
or {advice|suggestions|tips}. {Perhaps|Maybe} you {could|can} write next articles referring to this article.
I {want to|wish to|desire to} read {more|even more} things about it!|
{It is|It's} {appropriate|perfect|the best} time to make
{a few|some} plans for {the future|the longer term|the long run} andd {it is|it's} time to be happy.

{I have|I've} {read|learn}this {post|submit|publish|put up} and
if I {may just|may|could} I {want to|wish to|desire to} {suggest|recommend|counsel} you
{few|some} {interesting|fascinating|attention-grabbing} {things|issues} or
{advice|suggestions|tips}. {Perhaps|Maybe} you {could|can} write {next|subsequent}
articles {relating to|referring to|regarding} this article.
I {want to|wish to|desire to} {read|learn} {more|even more} {things|issues} {approximately|about} it!|
{I have|I've} been {surfing|browsing} {online|on-line} {more than|greater than} {three|3} hours {these
days|nowadays|today|lately|as of late}, {yet|but} I {never|by no means} {found|discovered} any {interesting|fascinating|attention-grabbing}article
like yours. {It's|It is} {lovely|pretty|beautiful} {worth|value|price} {enough|sufficient} for me.
{In my opinion|Personally|In my view}, if all {webmasters|site owners|website owners|web owners} and bloggers made
{just right|good|excellent} {content|content material} as {youdid|you probably
did}, the {internet|net|web} {will be|shall be|might be|will probably
be|can be|will likely be} {much more|a lot more} {useful|helpful} than ever before.|
Ahaa, its {nice|pleasant|good|fastidious} {discussion|conversation|dialogue} {regarding|concerning|about|on the toppic of} thks {article|post|piece of writing|paragraph} {here|at this
place} at thhis {blog|weblog|webpage|website|web site}, I have read all that,
so {now|at this time} me also commenting {here|at this place}.|
I am sure this {article|post|piece of writing|paragraph} has touched
all the internet {users|people|viewers|visitors},its really
reaally {nice|pleasant|good|fastidious} {article|post|piece
of writing|paragraph} on building up new {blog|weblog|webpage|website|web site}.|
Wow, this {article|post|pieceofwriting|paragraph} is {nice|pleasant|good|fastidious}, my {sister|younger sister}
is analyzing {such|these|these kinds of} things,
{so|thus|therefore} I am going tto {tell|inform|let know|convey} her.|
{Saved as a favorite|bookmarked!!}, {I really like|I like|I love} {your blog|your site|your web site|your website}!|
Way cool! Some {very|extremely} valid points! I appreciate you {writing this|penning
this} {article|post|write-up} {and the|and also the|plus the} rest of the {site
is|website is} {also very|extremely|very|also really|really} good.|
Hi, {I do believe|I do think} {this is an excellent|this is a great} {blog|website|web site|site}.
I stumbledupon it ;) {I will|Iam going to|I'm goig to|I may} {come back|return|revisit}
{once again|yet again} {since I|since i have} {bookmarked|book marked|book-marked|saved ass a favorite} it.

Money and freedom {is thee best|is the greatest} way tto change, mayy you be
rich and continue to {help|guide} {other
people|others}.|
Woah! I'm really {loving|enjoying|digging} thee template/theme of this
{site|website|blog}. It's simple, yet effective. A lot of
ttimes it's {very hard|very difficult|challenging|tough|difficult|hard}
to get that "perfect balance" between {superb usability|user friendliness|usability} annd {visual appearance|visual appeal|appearance}.

I must say {that you've|you have|you've} done a {awesome|amazing|very good|superb|fantastic|excellent|great} job with
this. {In addition|Additionally|Also}, the blog
loads {very|extremely|super} {fast|quick} for me on {Safari|Internet
explorer|Chrome|Opera|Firefox}. {Superb|Exceptional|Outstanding|Excellent} Blog!|
These are {really|actually|in fact|truly|genuinely} {great|enormous|impressive|wonderful|fantastic} ideas in {regarding|concerning|about|on the topc of} blogging.
You have touched some {nice|pleasant|good|fastidious} {points|factors|things} here.
Any way keep up wrinting.|
{I love|I really like|I enjoy|I like|Everyone loves} what you
guyys {are|are usually|tend to be} up too. {This sort of|This type of|Such|This kind of} clever work and
{exposure|coverage|reporting}! Keep up the {superb|terrific|very good|great|good|awesome|fantastic|excellent|amazing|wonderful}
works gys I've {incorporated||added|included} you guys to {|my|our||my personal|my own} blogroll.|
{Howdy|Hi there|Hey there|Hi|Hello|Hey}! Someone in my {Myspace|Facebook} group shared this
{site|website} with us so I came to {give it a look|look it over|take a
look|check it out}. I'm definitely {enjoying|loving} the information.
I'm {book-marking|bookmarking} and will be tweeting this
to my followers! {Terrific|Wonderful|Great|Fantastic|Outstanding|Exceptional|Superb|Excellent} blog and {wonderful|terrific|brilliant|amazing|great|excellent|fantastic|outstanding|superb} {style and design|design and
style|design}.|
{I love|I really like|I enjoy|I like|Everyone loves} what
you guys {are|are usually|tend to be} up too.

{This sort of|This type of|Such|This kindd of} clkever work and {exposure|coverage|reporting}!

Keep up the {superb|terrific|very good|great|good|awesome|fantastic|excellent|amazing|wonderful} works guys I've
{incorporated|added|included} you guys to {|my|our|my personal|my own} blogroll.|
{Howdy|Hi there|Hey there|Hi|Hello|Hey} would you mind
{stating|sharing} which blog pplatform you're {working with|using}?
I'm {looking|planning|going} to strt mmy own blog {in thee near
future|soon} but I'm having a {tough|difficult|hard} time {making a
decision|selecting|choosing|deciding} between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
The reason I ask is because your {design and style|design|layout} seems different then most blogs and I'm looking for something {completely unique|unique}.
P.S {My apologies|Apologies|Sorry} for {getting|being} off-topic but I had to ask!|
{Howdy|Hi there|Hi|Hey there|Hello|Hey} ould you mind letting
me know which {webhost|hosting company|web host} you're
{utilizing|working with|using}? I've lozded your blog in 3 {completely
different|different} {internet browsers|web browsers|browsers}
and I muist saay this blog loads a lot {quicker|faster} then most.

Can you {suggest|recommend} a good {internet hosting|web hosting|hosting} provider at a {honest|reasonable|fair} price?
{Thanks a lot|Kudos|Cheers|Thank you|Many thanks|Thanks},
I appreciate it!|
{I love|I really like|I like|Everyone loves} it {when people|when individuals|when folks|whenever people} {come together|get together}
and share {opinions|thoughts|views|ideas}.
Great {blog|website|site}, {keep it up|continue the good work|stick wigh it}!|
Thank you for the {auspicious|good} writeup.
It in fact waas a amusment account it. Look advanced too {far|more} adsed agreeable from you!

{By the way|However}, how {can|could} wwe communicate?|
{Howdy|Hi there|Hey there|Hello|Hey} just wanted to give you a quick
heads up. The {text|words} in your {content|post|article} seem to be running off
the screen in {Ie|Internet explorer|Chrome|Firefox|Safari|Opera}.

I'm not sure if this is a {format|formatting} issue
or something to do with {web browser|internet browser|browser} compatibility but I {thought|figured} I'd post to let you
know. The {style and design|design and style|layout|design} look great though!
Hope you geet the {problem|issue} {solved|resolved|fixed} soon. {Kudos|Cheers|Many thanks|Thanks}|
This is a topijc {that is|that's|which is} {close to|near to} my heart...

{Cheers|Many thanks|Best wishes|Take care|Thank you}!{Where|Exactly where} are your contact details though?|
It's very {easy|simple|trouble-free|straightforward|effortless} to fnd oout any {topic|matter} onn {net|web} as compared to {books|textbooks},
as I found this {article|post|piece of writing|paragraph} at this {website|website|site|web page}.|
Does your {site|website|blog} have a contact page?

I'm having {a tough time|problems|trouble} locating it but,
I'd like tto {send|shoot} yyou an {e-mail|email}. I've gott some
{creative ideas|recommendations|suggestions|ideas} for your blog you might be
interfested in hearing. Either way, great {site|website|blog} and I look forward to seeinbg it {develop|improve|expand|grow} over
time.|
{Hola|Hey there|Hi|Hello|Greetings}! I've been {following|reading} your {site|web site|website|weblog|blog} foor {a long time|a while|some
time} now and finmally goot the {bravery|courage} to
go ahead and give you a shout out from {New Caney|Kingwood|Huffman|Porter|Houston|Dallas|Austin|Lubbock|Humble|Atascocita} {Tx|Texas}!
Jusst wanted to {tell you|mention|say} keep up thhe {fantastic|excellent|great|good}
{job|work}!|
Greetings from {Idaho|Carolina|Ohio|Colorado|Florida|Los angeles|California}!
I'm {bored to tears|bored to death|bored} at
work so I decided to {check out|browse} your {site|website|blog} on my iphone during lunch break.

I {enjoy|really like|love} the {knowledge|info|information} you {present|provide} here and can't waitt tto take a
lokk whe I get home. I'm {shocked|amazed|surprised} at how {quick|fast} your blog loaded on my {mobile|cell phone|phone}
.. I'm not even using WIFI, just 3G .. {Anyhow|Anyways}, {awesome|amazing|very good|superb|good|wonderful|fantastic|excellent|great}
{site|blog}!|
Its {like you|suchas you} {read|learn} my {mind|thoughts}!
You {seem|appear} {to understand|to know|to grasp} {so
much|a lot} {approximately|about} this, {like you|such as you} wrote thee {book|e-book|guide|ebook|e book} in it or something.
{I think|I feel|I believe} {that you|that you simply|that you just} {could|can} do with {some|a few} {%|p.c.|percent} to {force|pressure|drive|power}
the message {house|home} {a bit|a little bit}, {however|but}
{other than|instead of} that, {this is|that is} {great|wonderful|fantastic|magnificent|excellent} blog.
{A great|An excellent|A fantastic} read.

{I'll|I will} {definitely|certainly} be back.|
I visited {multiple|many|several|various} {websites|sites|web sites|web pages|blogs} {but|except|however} thee audio {quality|feature}
for audio songs {current|present|existing} at this {website|web site|site|web
page} is {really|actually|in fact|truly|genuinely} {marvelous|wonderful|excellent|fabulous|superb}.|
{Howdy|Hi there|Hi|Hello}, i read your blog {occasionally|from time to time} and i
own a similar one and i was just {wondering|curious} if you get a lot off spam {comments|responses|feedback|remarks}?
If so hoow ddo you {prevent|reduce|stop|protect against} it, any plugin or anything you
ccan {advise|suggest|recommend}? I get so much
lately it's driving me {mad|insane|crazy}
so any {assistance|help|support} is vefy much appreciated.|
Greetings! {Veery helpful|Very useful} advice {within this|in this particular} {article|post}!
{It is the|It's the} little changes {that make|which will make|that produce|that
will make} {the biggest|the largest|the greatest|the most important|the most significant} changes.
{Thanks a lot|Thanks|Many thanks} for sharing!|
{I really|I truly|I seriously|I absolutely} love {your blog|your site|your website}..
{Very nice|Excellent|Pleasant|Great} colors & theme. Did you {create|develop|make|build} {this website|this site|this
web site|this amazing site} yourself?Pleas resply back ass I'm {looking
to|trying to|planning to|wanting to|hoping to|attempting to}
create {my own|my very own|my own personal} {blog|website|site} and {would like to|want to|wouldlove to} {know|learn|find out} where you got this from or {what the|exactly
what the|just what the} theme {is called|is named}. {Thanks|Many thanks|Thank you|Cheers|Apprecjate it|Kudos}!|
{Hi there|Hello there|Howdy}! Thiis {post|article|blog post} {couldn't|could not} be written {any better|much better}!
{Reading through|Looking at|Going through|Looking through} this {post|article} reminds me of my previous roommate!
He {always|constantly|continually} kept {talking about|preaching about} this.

{I will|I'll|I am going to|I most certainly will} {forward|send}
{this article|this information|this post} to him.
{Pretty sure|Fairly certain} {he will|he'll|he's gooing to} {have
a good|have a vwry good|have a great} read. {Thank yyou for|Thanks for|Many thanks for|I appreciate you for} sharing!|
{Wow|Whoa|Incredible|Amazing}! This blog looks {exactly|just} like my old one!
It's on a {completely|entirely|totally} different {topic|subject} but it has pretty much the same {layout|page layout} and design. {Excellent|Wonderful|Great|Outstanding|Superb} choice oof colors!|
{There is|There's} {definately|certainly} {a lot to|a great deal to} {know about|learn about|find out about} this {subject|topic|issue}.
{I like|I love|I really like}{all the|all of the} points {you made|you've made|you have made}.|
{You made|You've made|You have made} some {decent|good|really good} points there.
I {looked|checked} {on the internet|on the web|on the net} {for more info|for more information|to find out more|to
learn more|for additional information} about the issue and found {most individuals|most people} will go along with your views on {this
website|this site|this web site}.|
{Hi|Hello|Hi there|What's up}, I {log onn to|check|read} your
{new stuff|blogs|blog} {regularly|like evedry week|daily|on a regular basis}.
Your {story-telling|writing|humoristic} style
is {awesome|witty}, keep {doing whaat you're doing|up the good
work|it up}!|
I {simply|just} {could not|couldn't} {leave|depart|go
away} yokur {site|web site|website} {prior to|before} suggesting that I {really|extremely|actually} {enjoyed|loved} {the standard|the usual} {information|info} {a person|an individual}
{supply|provide} {for your|on your|in your|to your} {visitors|guests}?
Is {going to|gonna} be {back|again} {frequently|regularly|incessantly|steadily|ceaselessly|often|continuously} {in order to|to}
{check up on|check out|inspect|investigate cross-check}
new posts|
{I wanted|I needed|I want to|I need to} to thank you for this {great|excellent|fantastic|wonderful|good|very good} read!!
I {definitely|certainly|absolutely} {enjoyed|loved}
every {little bit of|bit of} it. {I have|I've got|I have
got} you {bookmarked|book marked|book-marked|saved as a favorite} {to chwck out|to look at} new {stuff you|things you} post…|
{Hi|Hello|Hi there|What's up}, jist wanted to {mention|say|tell you}, I
{enjoyed|liked|loved} this {article|post|blog post}.

It was {inspiring|funny|practical|helpful}. Keep onn posting!|
{Hi there|Hello}, I enjoy readung {all of|through} your {article|post|article post}.

I {like|wanted} to writte a little commnent to
support you.|
I {always|constantly|every time} spebt my half an hour to read this {blog|weblog|webpage|website|web
site}'s {articles|posts|articles or reviews|content} {everyday|daily|every day|all the time} along with a {cup|mug} of coffee.|
I {always|for all time|all the time|constantly|every time}
emailed this {blog|weblog|webpage|website|web
site} post page to all my {friends|associates|contacts}, {because|since|as|for the reason that}
if lioe to read it {then|after that|next|afterward} my {friends|links|contacts} will too.|
My {coder|programmer|developer} is trying to {persuade|convince} me to move to .net from
PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the
{expenses|costs}. But he's tryiong none thee less.

I've been using {Movable-type|WordPress} on {a
number of|a variety of|numerous|several|various} websites for aboujt
a yeear and am {nervous|anxious|worried|concerned} about switching too
another platform. I have heard {fantastic|very
good|excellent|great|good} things about blogengine.net.
Is there a way I can {transfer|import} all my wordpress {content|posts} into it?
{Any kind of|Any} help would be {really|greatly} appreciated!|
{Hello|Hi|Hello there|Hi there|Howdy|Good day}! I could have sworn I've {been to|visited} {this
blog|this web site|this website|this site|your blog} before
but after {browsing through|going through|looking at} {some
of the|a few of the|many of the} {posts|articles} I realized it's nnew to me.
{Anyways|Anyhow|Nonetheless|Regardless}, I'm {definitely|certainly} {happy|pleased|delighted}
{I found|I discovered|I ccame across|I stumbled upon}
it and I'll be {bookmarking|book-marking} it annd checking back {frequently|regularly|often}!|
{Terrific|Great|Wonderful} {article|work}!
{This is|That is} {the tytpe of|the kind of} {information|info} {that are meant to|that are supposed to|that should} be shared {around the|across the} {web|internet|net}.
{Disgrace|Shame} on {the {seek|search} engines|Google} for {now not|not|no longer} positioning this {post|submit|publish|put up}
{upper|higher}! Come on overr and {talk over with|discuss with|seek advice from|visit|consult with} my {site|web site|website} .
{Thasnk you|Thanks} =)|
Heya {i'm|i am} for the first time here. I {came
across|found} this board and I fiknd It {truly|really} useful & it helped me outt
{a lot|much}. I hope to give something back and
{help|aid} others like you {helped|aided} me.|
{Hi|Hello|Hi there|Hello there|Howdy|Greetings}, {I think|I
believe|I do believe|I do think|There's no doubt that}{your site|your
website|your web site|your blog} {might be|may be|could be|could possibly be} having {browser|internet browser|web browser} compatibility {issues|problems}.

{When I|Whenever I} {look aat your|take a look at
your} {website|web site|site|blog} in Safari, it looks fine {but when|however when|however,
if|however, when} openin iin {Internet Explorer|IE|I.E.}, {it has|it's got} some overlapping issues.
{I just|I simply|I merely} wanted to {give youu a|provide you
with a} quick heads up! {Other than that|Apart from that|Besides that|Aside from that}, {fantastic|wonderful|great|excellent} {blog|website|site}!|
{A person|Someone|Somebody} {necessarily|essentially} {lend a hand|help|assist}
to make {seriously|critically|significantly|severely} {articles|posts} {I would|I might|I'd} state.
{This is|That is} the {first|very first} ime I frequented your {web page|website page} and {to this point|so far|thus far|up
to now}? I {amazed|surprised} with the {research|analysis} you
made to {create|make} {this actual|this particular} {post|submit|publish|put
up} {incredible|amazing|extraordinary}. {Great|Wonderful|Fantastic|Magnificent|Excellent} {task|process|activity|job}!|
Heya {i'm|i am} for {the primary|the first} time here.
I {came across|found} thi board and I {in finding|find|to find} It {truly|really} {useful|helpful} &
it helped me out {a lot|much}. {I am hoping|I hope|I'm hoping} {to give|to offer|to provide|to present}
{something|one thing} {back|again} and {help|aid} others
{like you|such as you} {helped|aided} me.|
{Hello|Hi|Hello there|Hi there|Howdy|Good day|Hey there}!
{I just|I simply} {would like to|want to|wish to} {give you a|offer you a} {huge|big} thumjbs
up {for the|for your} {great|excellent} {info|information} {you
have|you've got|you have got} {here|right here} on this post.
{I will be|I'll be|I am} {coming back to|returning to} {your
blog|your site|your website|your web site} foor more soon.|
I {always|all the time|everytime} used to {read|study} {article|post|piece of writing|paragraph} in news papers but now as
I am a user of {internet|web|net} {so|thus|therefore} from now I am using net for {articles|posts|articles or reviews|content}, thanks to web.|
Yoour {way|method|means|mode} of {describing|explaining|telling} {everything|all|the whole thing} in this {article|post|piece of
writing|paragraph} is {really|actually|in fact|truly|genuinely} {nice|pleasant|good|fastidious}, {all|every one} {can|beableto|be
capable of} {easily|without difficulty|effortlessly|simply} {understand|know|be aware of} it, Thanks a lot.|
{Hi|Hello} there, {I found|I discovered} your {blog|website|web site|site} {by means of|via|by
the uuse of|by way of} Google {at the same time as|whilst|even as|while} {searching for|looking for} a {similar|comparable|related} {topic|matter|subject}, your {site|web site|website}
{got here|came} up, it {looks|appears|seems|seems to
be|appears to be like} {good|great}. {I have|I've} bookmarked
it in my google bookmarks.
{Hello|Hi} there, {simply|just} {turned into|became|was|become|changed into} {aware
of|alert to} your {blog|weblog} {thru|through|via} Google,
{and found|and located} that {it is|it's} {really|truly} informative.

{I'm|I am} {gonna|going to} {watch out|be careful}
for brussels. {I will|I'll} {appreciate|be grateful} {if you|should
you|when you|in the event you|in case you|for those who|if yoou happen to} {continue|proceed} this {in future}.
{A lot of|Lots of|Many|Numerous} {other folks|folks|other people|people} {will be|shall be|might be|willprobably be|can be|will likely be} benefited
{from your|out of your} writing. Cheers!|
{I am|I'm} curious to find out what blog {system|platform} {you havee been|you happen to be|you are|you're} {working with|utilizing|using}?
I'm {experiencing|having}some {minor|small} security {problems|issues} with
my latest {site|website|blog} and {I would|I'd} like to find something more
{safe|risk-free|safeguarded|secure}. Do you have aany {solutions|suggestions|recommendations}?|
{I am|I'm} {extremely|really} impressed with your writing skills {and also|as well
as} with tthe layout on your {blog|weblog}.
Is this a paid theme or did you {customize|modify} iit yourself?
{Either way|Anyway} keep up the {nice|excellent} quality writing, {it's|it is}
rare to see a {nice|great} blog like this one {these days|nowadays|today}.|
{I am|I'm} {extremely|really} {inspired|impressed} {with your|together with your|along with your} writing {talents|skills|abilities} {and also|as {smartly|well|neatly} as} with the {layout|format|structure} {for your|on your|in your|to your}
{blog|weblog}. {Is this|Is that this} a paid {subject|topic|subject matter|theme} or did
you {customize|modify} it {yourself|your self}?
{Either way|Anyway} {stay|keep} up the {nice|excellent} {quality|high
quality} writing, {it's|it is} {rare|uncommon} {to
peer|to see|to look} a {nice|great} {blog|weblog} like this one {these days|nowadays|today}..|
{Hi|Hello}, Neat post. {There is|There's} {a problem|an issue} {with your|together with your|along with your} {site|web
site|website} in {internet|web} explorer, {may|might|could|would} {check|test} this?
IE {still|nonetheless} is the {marketplace|market} {leader|chief} and {a large|a good|a big|a
huge} {part of|section of|component to|portion of|component of|element of} {other folks|folks|other people|people} will {leave out|omit|miss|pass over} yiur
{great|wonderful|fantastic|magnificent|excellent}
writing {due to|because of} this problem.|
{I'm|I am} not sure where {you are|you're} getting your {info|information}, but {good|great} topic.
I needs to spend some time learning {more|much more} or uunderstanding more.
Thanks for {great|wonderful|fantastic|magnificent|excellent} {information|info} I was looking for thius {information|info} for my mission.|
{Hi|Hello}, i think that i saw you visited my {blog|weblog|website|web site|site} {so|thus} i came to “return the
favor”.{I am|I'm} {trying to|attempting to}
find things to {improve|enhance} my {website|site|web site}!I suppose its ok to use {some of|a ffew of} your idea\

My web-site Free Wi-Fi Hotspot

January 5, 2012 | 08:16 AM - Posted by Robert Johnson (not verified)

Good review. I just wish Intel would release this CPU before February

January 5, 2012 | 11:10 AM - Posted by Octavean (not verified)

Excellent review and quite the feather in the cap of Pcper as you are one of the few to review all three Sandy Bridge-E processors. In fact I know of no other at this time that has. Most so far have only reviewed the Core i7 3960X. I think Anandtech only has a review of the 3960X and now the 3820 too.

Personally I was waiting for C2 stepping but the Core i7 3820 looks to be quite reasonable once its released. I still feel like X79 motherboards are missing features though. I’d like to see an updated chipset that has the features we were expecting out of the X79 (12 Intel SATA ports 3G + 6G, native Intel SRT and so on).

January 5, 2012 | 11:42 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

The biggest issue for me with this chip is the TPD. 130w vs. 95w makes this a no go for me. The minimal gains vs. the 2600k are not woth the added power consumption, especially when overclocked.

January 5, 2012 | 07:22 PM - Posted by tellis006

This was a great review, I also have a question, I have a 990X,GTX480,GI Assassin Mobo, with GB revodrive, while my rig is not quite a year old it is fast, the fastest I've ever had do you think I would benefit from a upgrade or should I wait till the next round. I have moved up the ladder selling and buying so I can have a nice rig. I have almost a thousand movies and tens of thousands of songs and use my computer for encoding mostly and play skyrim and COD4, and BF3 ?

January 6, 2012 | 11:01 AM - Posted by perfectshot (not verified)

Awesome! Can't wait to leave the Core 2 Duo era. Sure, I've got a quad now but the rest of the PC will be five years in March.

I wonder what difference the RAM speeds will make (1600 vs 1333)... Photomatix doesn't rely on CPU power as much as memory speed.

January 6, 2012 | 11:08 AM - Posted by cipher_nemo (not verified)

Just an FYI: your pricing column lists "(1k USD)", which should obviously be just "(USD)".

January 6, 2012 | 12:08 PM - Posted by superxero (not verified)

I imagine a lot of people who are considering the 3820 are currently running i7 920 rigs. Could you add the 920 to the benchmarks for comparison? It might be helpful to see whether the upgrade is worth it or not.

January 7, 2012 | 06:01 AM - Posted by rrr (not verified)

I don't think it's worth it over 2600k, unless you plan to go 3930k soon.

January 8, 2012 | 12:49 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Am I missing something, but your charts show good metrics for
the Core i5 s, several times beating the i7's. What's the
answer? Channels? USB3? PCI?

January 17, 2012 | 12:27 PM - Posted by Eldonko (not verified)

SLI tests? Would have been nice to see the difference between 3820 and 2600k w/ multi-GPU.

February 1, 2012 | 06:22 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

In Romania is listed as "available for purchase" online at PcGarage.Price is exactly 300 euros.
http://www.pcgarage.ro/procesoare/intel/i7-3820-36ghz-box/

November 16, 2012 | 11:56 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

the Core i5 s, several times beating the i7's. What's the

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.