Review Index:
Feedback

Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge LGA1155 Processor Review

Author: Ryan Shrout
Subject: Processors
Manufacturer: Intel

OpenCL Performance

 

Basemark CL


Rightware’s Basemark CL provides compelling feature set to coordinate parallel computation across heterogeneous processors utilizing OpenCL. Image manipulation tests run filters on image data and produce the filtered output on the screen. The image manipulation filters are applied to video streams as a separate test, which allows benchmarking of bandwidth limitations from moving data from CPU to GPU, providing a solid real-world case for benchmarking. Physic tests enable leveraging of extra computing power that OpenCL brings into different platforms. The feature tests provided by Basemark CL enable the testing of performance of single or several features on the hardware.

Physical simulations are good area for leveraging extra computing power which OpenCL brings. Physics simulations are already heavily used in PC-games, but not to a greater extent in mobile games or in applications doing heavy 3D physics simulation. With the help of good OpenCL performance it is possible for future mobile games and applications to include more physics based animations and game elements.


Basemark CL contains fluid and cloth simulations. Cloth simulations are widely used in games to add extra realism to cloths of characters, flags and other soft body items. Fluid simulations are used in games to simulate smoke, water and other materials. The realistic simulation adds possibility for player interaction with visuals, which is not possible with currently used artist made animations.

View Full Size

The Mandelbulb fractal is a type of 3D fractal. The fractal was recently discovered by Daniel White and Paul Nylander.


3D fractal is rendered using ray tracing. The ray tracing for the 3D fractal uses the basic ray tracing formula. For each point in the canvas a ray is casted towards to the object to be rendered. Nearest distance of a point to the surface of the Mandelbulb is calculated. The power of the Mandelbulb is changed constantly so the polynomial solution for power 8 Mandelbulb is not used, therefore this test benchmarks the performance of built-in mathematical functions in the same vein as Julia fractal benchmarks the raw ALU performance. If the point is within predefined distance of the fractal surface the ray tracing is stopped and lighting calculations are done, if not the point is moved along the ray forward until the surface is found or predefined maximum iteration count is exceeded.

View Full Size

Benchmarking image manipulation performance is useful due to fact that image manipulation filters are widely used in image processing and computer machine vision applications. Various image manipulation filters are used in machine vision to find out discontinuities and remove unwanted features from images. Image processing in embedded devices has been increasingly important since the advent of cheap digital cameras. OpenCL devices may allow fast image enhancement on a modern smartphone without degrading usability nor requiring application specific circuits to perform this task.


Image manipulation tests run filters on image data and produce the filtered output on the screen. The implemented filters are listed below in separate sub paragraphs. The images in the paragraphs demonstrate how the corresponding filters affect the image. In addition performance of some of the image processing filters produces a good indication towards performance of other signal processing tasks, such as audio processing.


The image manipulation filters are applied to video streams in a separate test. This allows benchmarking the bandwidth limitations from moving data from Host to OpenCL device (e.g from CPU to GPU) and provides a good real world use case. Time spent decoding the video is not taken into account when determining benchmark score.

View Full Size

View Full Size

In our first use of the new Basemark CL OpenCL benchmark suite, the Core i7-3960X continues its dominance followed by the Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge processor.  Compared to the Sandy Bridge Core i7-2600K, the new IVB part is 15% faster in the physics tests, 10% faster in the ray tracing test, 18% faster in image manipulation and 26% faster in video manipulation; pretty substantial gains. 

 

April 23, 2012 | 09:35 AM - Posted by Wolvenmoon (not verified)

Mind doing some power consumption tests on the overclocking tests you do over the next few days? I'd be interested to see how much more power it uses when OCed with those temperatures!

April 23, 2012 | 09:56 AM - Posted by BugSmashR

Very nice! Answered any question I might have had. Well worth the upgrade for me just in power savings alone for my Folding@Home rigs. And you're right, It is time to retire my P4 rigs/heaters. (Got three to melt down for the metals, not wishing these on anybody!)

See you at QuakeCon!

April 23, 2012 | 10:36 AM - Posted by Buyers

On the HD4000 Graphics page, the picture of the discreet GPU has an "Asus HD 5570 1GB" sticker on it, but all of the graphs state it as being a HD6570. Might wanna clarify that.

April 23, 2012 | 12:04 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Ah yes, will do. It is definitely a 5570.

April 23, 2012 | 10:37 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

like Sandy Bridge before Intel has screwed up virtualisation features on Ivy-Bridge as well. No Vt-D(or even vPro, TXT, and SIPP) on any of the 'k' wtf intel?

May 18, 2012 | 02:46 PM - Posted by Ben (not verified)

Those features are on the Xeon E3 v2 line, and the prices fit right in with the consumer Ivy Bridge processors.

What's missing is any chip that combines those features with an unlocked multiplier. But there isn't much overlap in customer base between overclockers and virtual machine servers.

April 23, 2012 | 11:31 AM - Posted by Hiwap (not verified)

Hello guys thx for the review!!

I goin to buy a new pc this week i cant deside

is 3930k worth the 200+ USD in performance?

the pc is for gaming and 3d software

April 23, 2012 | 12:25 PM - Posted by Alex Z (not verified)

Under power consumption, both graphs are labelled "Idle" even though the second one was tested under full load, right? Great to see these reviews, and I look forward to hearing about Ivy Bridge in the podcast this week.

April 24, 2012 | 11:41 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Doh, thanks!

April 23, 2012 | 01:04 PM - Posted by amadsilentthirst

Nice review, going to be a good upgrade from my E8400 C2D

@Corrections - "will you please save us all the early death of global warming and upgrade?"

You probably meant ...from global....

As an early death "of" global warming is something we all want.

April 23, 2012 | 12:58 PM - Posted by Zorkwiz

Hey Ryan,
For the idle/load power tests, was a GPU plugged into the board at all or are those numbers simply the MB/DIMMs/CPU power draw? Is your cooling solution factored into the power there as well? Since you seem to have used a couple of memory configurations, 560 Ti for some tests but not others, etc. it's hard for me to tell exactly what was being powered.

I'm trying to compare idle power to my current i7-920 + GTX 580 system to see just how much money I'd save per year, powered 24x7 if I upgraded to IVB + 680, as idle power draws are insanely lower these days.

April 24, 2012 | 11:42 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Yes, my power numbers were WITH the GTX 560 Ti installed.

April 23, 2012 | 02:19 PM - Posted by AParsh335i (not verified)

For a desktop gamer these numbers really show that the i5-2500k @ $180 (microcenter.com for the past year, price match at your local frys) is a great bang for the buck. Seems that the changes from SNB to IVB shows the most promise for notebook computers, not for desktop gamers/power users (better battery life and better integrated graphics).

April 23, 2012 | 02:39 PM - Posted by Nilbog

Great Review, thanks Ryan.
Glad to see that this new idea worked out. Even though the temps are a bit disappointing, it clearly compensates with power consumption. I'ts also kinda freaky that such a small part with such low power consumption can get so hot.

Due to the high temperatures even with the water cooling, it would be appreciated if you guys did a comparison review of various cooling solutions.
Did this come with the usual stock cooler?

I'm also curious to know how the benchmark automation is going?

April 24, 2012 | 11:43 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Intel did not include a cooler - we used the Corsair H80 for our testing.

Automation is going - but still requires a lot of hands on time.

April 23, 2012 | 02:52 PM - Posted by zakattak (not verified)

overall good review, but why didn't you put the heating problem in note for your conclusion? i would think if you,re going to get a cpu to overclock on air, then the 2600k would be the better route for longevity and performance wise.

April 24, 2012 | 11:46 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Well, I guess we could have, but I think we noted them pretty well in the OC page directly.

I don't think the typical user needs to worry about CPU longevity even with Ivy Bridge.

April 23, 2012 | 04:25 PM - Posted by rgraze

"It only falls behind the 3960X in raw performance but we would only recommend paying that price difference if you simply MUST have that added boost or have money falling out of your pockets."

What about the price difference on a 3930k which could be had for $499? With a Z77 v X79 build difference of $272.

April 24, 2012 | 11:48 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

For me, personally, I lean towards IVB still.

April 23, 2012 | 07:21 PM - Posted by psy2222

Why is the 3930K not part of the charts?

April 23, 2012 | 07:54 PM - Posted by Angryfuture (not verified)

Wow....I did know the 920's idled that high.
I need 1155....NOW.

Awesome review!

April 23, 2012 | 11:14 PM - Posted by cyow

Maybe time My i7 920 became my new sever the Core i7-3700K - $313 is looking real good to me at that price.

just need to work out which what MB too us and just get a load of RAM

April 23, 2012 | 11:41 PM - Posted by ThorAxe

Nothing for the enthusiast to see here, please move along to X79.

April 24, 2012 | 08:18 AM - Posted by Zorkwiz

Is an enthusiast now simply someone who goes for the max overclock possible with every CPU they run? Because if that's the case, I don't think I can call myself an enthusiast any longer.

You can still get a solid 4.5ghz overclock at 1.1V with Ivy and draw less power than SB, plus get the benefits of 5-10% performance per clock with the architecture tweaks, more PCI-E lanes, better quicksync performance etc. I don't see why this isn't an enthusiast part just because its max OC isn't quite as high.

Sure it's not a big leap forward, but it's a solid refresh IMO.

That being said I think I'll probably wait for Haswell to upgrade my 920, simply because I'm waiting for a chipset with thunderbolt standard and more integrated USB3 ports. Maybe with the second wave of 7 series motherboards and some maturity in the 22nm process we'll see some nicer IVB solutions in the 2nd half of the year though.

April 25, 2012 | 06:38 PM - Posted by ThorAxe

It's overclocking capabilities are not the issue.

When Z77 supports 40 PCI-e lanes, quad channel memory, 6 core CPUs and doesn't burn itself to a crisp at medium voltage then you can call it an enthusiast part.

April 24, 2012 | 07:33 AM - Posted by Joe (not verified)

I looked at all these reviews for this chip but non of them say when I can BUY it...

When can I buy a Core i7 3770 ???? The K version may have an unlocked mult but I am not going to overclock anyway. The K version also has lacking features that the non K versions have.. No Vt-D(or even vPro, TXT, and SIPP)

April 24, 2012 | 11:51 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Honestly I thought the answer would be Monday, but Tuesday is here and still no go. I'll check!

April 25, 2012 | 01:30 PM - Posted by Joe (not verified)

From what I just found out as of today. Sunday April 29th these processors will be available.

http://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/Core_i7/Intel-Core%20i7-3770K.html

April 24, 2012 | 10:56 AM - Posted by Karol (not verified)

Should I be sad, that I recently bought Lenovo X220 with i7-2640M?
Althought 4 Windows Server 2008R2 Virtual Machines can run at the same time without any hiccups, which is still impressive for that small 12" notebook, gaming performance could be much better.
Also note, that even with new Intel HD4000 graphics, their drivers are (gaming wise) are far behind AMD/NVidia ones.

April 24, 2012 | 12:45 PM - Posted by dragosmp (not verified)

Hey, great review. It does look like the CPU portion of IB isn't that much of a speedup over SB, but then again Intel didn't have to try any harder. Hope they manage to get the 22nm leakage issue sorted and cram even more transistors in the next generation! This makes me wonder what power consumption numbers they could achieve on 22nm with a single in-order Atom core.

The HD4000 iGPU seems to be pretty fast, fast enough to be taken seriously. Would it be possible to test the HD4000 like you would test a real GPU: performance, overclocking, image quality, game compatibility, maybe even a closer look at the underlying architecture.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.