Review Index:
Feedback

Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge LGA1155 Processor Review

Author: Ryan Shrout
Subject: Processors
Manufacturer: Intel

The Core i7-3770K and CPU Lineup

With all the gory details out of the way, let's dive into the actual products being announced in the Ivy Bridge family on the desktop side.  Our own Matt Smith will be taking readers through the mobile side of the picture, so be sure to check out his coverage from the PC Perspective home page for that.

View Full Size

The flagship Ivy Bridge processor, the Core i7-3770K, will have a base clock of 3.50 GHz and a top Turbo frequency of 3.90 GHz.  Both of these clocks are 100 MHz higher than that of the Core i7-2600K and match up with the Core i7-2700K.  The 3770K will of course have four cores and support HyperThreading for eight total addressable threads.  The L3 cache size sits at the top end of 8MB and it includes the highest end HD 4000 graphics as well.  The price is right as well with an MSRP of only $313.

Other notable processors in this table include the i5-3570K that does not include HyperThreading and runs at 100 MHz lower base and Turbo clocks, yet comes in at a $100 lower in price at $212.

Also keep an eye on that TDP value - even the highest end Core i7-3770K only runs at 77 watts!  22nm process technology at work!

View Full Size

The rest of the desktop lineup for launch looks good too with the low wattage parts going down to a 45 watt TDP with the Core i7-3770T.  It still has four cores and supports HyperThreading with a base clock of 2.50 GHz and a Turbo clock that is 1.2 GHz higher.  With a 45 watt limit though I won't expect the 3770T to hit that 3.7 GHz clock speed very often or for very long but it should make the best HTPC or ultra-quiet system builder's dream list.  

View Full Size

As you would expect with the continuation of the LGA1155 socket, the new Ivy Bridge processors look basically identical to the Sandy Bridge ones before to the naked eye.  If I didn't have my Sharpie with me at all times processor identification would be a full time position at PC Perspective. 

View Full Size

One thousand one hundred and fifty-five.  Count 'em!

April 23, 2012 | 09:35 AM - Posted by Wolvenmoon (not verified)

Mind doing some power consumption tests on the overclocking tests you do over the next few days? I'd be interested to see how much more power it uses when OCed with those temperatures!

April 23, 2012 | 09:56 AM - Posted by BugSmashR

Very nice! Answered any question I might have had. Well worth the upgrade for me just in power savings alone for my Folding@Home rigs. And you're right, It is time to retire my P4 rigs/heaters. (Got three to melt down for the metals, not wishing these on anybody!)

See you at QuakeCon!

April 23, 2012 | 10:36 AM - Posted by Buyers

On the HD4000 Graphics page, the picture of the discreet GPU has an "Asus HD 5570 1GB" sticker on it, but all of the graphs state it as being a HD6570. Might wanna clarify that.

April 23, 2012 | 12:04 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Ah yes, will do. It is definitely a 5570.

April 23, 2012 | 10:37 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

like Sandy Bridge before Intel has screwed up virtualisation features on Ivy-Bridge as well. No Vt-D(or even vPro, TXT, and SIPP) on any of the 'k' wtf intel?

May 18, 2012 | 02:46 PM - Posted by Ben (not verified)

Those features are on the Xeon E3 v2 line, and the prices fit right in with the consumer Ivy Bridge processors.

What's missing is any chip that combines those features with an unlocked multiplier. But there isn't much overlap in customer base between overclockers and virtual machine servers.

April 23, 2012 | 11:31 AM - Posted by Hiwap (not verified)

Hello guys thx for the review!!

I goin to buy a new pc this week i cant deside

is 3930k worth the 200+ USD in performance?

the pc is for gaming and 3d software

April 23, 2012 | 12:25 PM - Posted by Alex Z (not verified)

Under power consumption, both graphs are labelled "Idle" even though the second one was tested under full load, right? Great to see these reviews, and I look forward to hearing about Ivy Bridge in the podcast this week.

April 24, 2012 | 11:41 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Doh, thanks!

April 23, 2012 | 01:04 PM - Posted by amadsilentthirst

Nice review, going to be a good upgrade from my E8400 C2D

@Corrections - "will you please save us all the early death of global warming and upgrade?"

You probably meant ...from global....

As an early death "of" global warming is something we all want.

April 23, 2012 | 12:58 PM - Posted by Zorkwiz

Hey Ryan,
For the idle/load power tests, was a GPU plugged into the board at all or are those numbers simply the MB/DIMMs/CPU power draw? Is your cooling solution factored into the power there as well? Since you seem to have used a couple of memory configurations, 560 Ti for some tests but not others, etc. it's hard for me to tell exactly what was being powered.

I'm trying to compare idle power to my current i7-920 + GTX 580 system to see just how much money I'd save per year, powered 24x7 if I upgraded to IVB + 680, as idle power draws are insanely lower these days.

April 24, 2012 | 11:42 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Yes, my power numbers were WITH the GTX 560 Ti installed.

April 23, 2012 | 02:19 PM - Posted by AParsh335i (not verified)

For a desktop gamer these numbers really show that the i5-2500k @ $180 (microcenter.com for the past year, price match at your local frys) is a great bang for the buck. Seems that the changes from SNB to IVB shows the most promise for notebook computers, not for desktop gamers/power users (better battery life and better integrated graphics).

April 23, 2012 | 02:39 PM - Posted by Nilbog

Great Review, thanks Ryan.
Glad to see that this new idea worked out. Even though the temps are a bit disappointing, it clearly compensates with power consumption. I'ts also kinda freaky that such a small part with such low power consumption can get so hot.

Due to the high temperatures even with the water cooling, it would be appreciated if you guys did a comparison review of various cooling solutions.
Did this come with the usual stock cooler?

I'm also curious to know how the benchmark automation is going?

April 24, 2012 | 11:43 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Intel did not include a cooler - we used the Corsair H80 for our testing.

Automation is going - but still requires a lot of hands on time.

April 23, 2012 | 02:52 PM - Posted by zakattak (not verified)

overall good review, but why didn't you put the heating problem in note for your conclusion? i would think if you,re going to get a cpu to overclock on air, then the 2600k would be the better route for longevity and performance wise.

April 24, 2012 | 11:46 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Well, I guess we could have, but I think we noted them pretty well in the OC page directly.

I don't think the typical user needs to worry about CPU longevity even with Ivy Bridge.

April 23, 2012 | 04:25 PM - Posted by rgraze

"It only falls behind the 3960X in raw performance but we would only recommend paying that price difference if you simply MUST have that added boost or have money falling out of your pockets."

What about the price difference on a 3930k which could be had for $499? With a Z77 v X79 build difference of $272.

April 24, 2012 | 11:48 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

For me, personally, I lean towards IVB still.

April 23, 2012 | 07:21 PM - Posted by psy2222

Why is the 3930K not part of the charts?

April 23, 2012 | 07:54 PM - Posted by Angryfuture (not verified)

Wow....I did know the 920's idled that high.
I need 1155....NOW.

Awesome review!

April 23, 2012 | 11:14 PM - Posted by cyow

Maybe time My i7 920 became my new sever the Core i7-3700K - $313 is looking real good to me at that price.

just need to work out which what MB too us and just get a load of RAM

April 23, 2012 | 11:41 PM - Posted by ThorAxe

Nothing for the enthusiast to see here, please move along to X79.

April 24, 2012 | 08:18 AM - Posted by Zorkwiz

Is an enthusiast now simply someone who goes for the max overclock possible with every CPU they run? Because if that's the case, I don't think I can call myself an enthusiast any longer.

You can still get a solid 4.5ghz overclock at 1.1V with Ivy and draw less power than SB, plus get the benefits of 5-10% performance per clock with the architecture tweaks, more PCI-E lanes, better quicksync performance etc. I don't see why this isn't an enthusiast part just because its max OC isn't quite as high.

Sure it's not a big leap forward, but it's a solid refresh IMO.

That being said I think I'll probably wait for Haswell to upgrade my 920, simply because I'm waiting for a chipset with thunderbolt standard and more integrated USB3 ports. Maybe with the second wave of 7 series motherboards and some maturity in the 22nm process we'll see some nicer IVB solutions in the 2nd half of the year though.

April 25, 2012 | 06:38 PM - Posted by ThorAxe

It's overclocking capabilities are not the issue.

When Z77 supports 40 PCI-e lanes, quad channel memory, 6 core CPUs and doesn't burn itself to a crisp at medium voltage then you can call it an enthusiast part.

April 24, 2012 | 07:33 AM - Posted by Joe (not verified)

I looked at all these reviews for this chip but non of them say when I can BUY it...

When can I buy a Core i7 3770 ???? The K version may have an unlocked mult but I am not going to overclock anyway. The K version also has lacking features that the non K versions have.. No Vt-D(or even vPro, TXT, and SIPP)

April 24, 2012 | 11:51 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Honestly I thought the answer would be Monday, but Tuesday is here and still no go. I'll check!

April 25, 2012 | 01:30 PM - Posted by Joe (not verified)

From what I just found out as of today. Sunday April 29th these processors will be available.

http://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/Core_i7/Intel-Core%20i7-3770K.html

April 24, 2012 | 10:56 AM - Posted by Karol (not verified)

Should I be sad, that I recently bought Lenovo X220 with i7-2640M?
Althought 4 Windows Server 2008R2 Virtual Machines can run at the same time without any hiccups, which is still impressive for that small 12" notebook, gaming performance could be much better.
Also note, that even with new Intel HD4000 graphics, their drivers are (gaming wise) are far behind AMD/NVidia ones.

April 24, 2012 | 12:45 PM - Posted by dragosmp (not verified)

Hey, great review. It does look like the CPU portion of IB isn't that much of a speedup over SB, but then again Intel didn't have to try any harder. Hope they manage to get the 22nm leakage issue sorted and cram even more transistors in the next generation! This makes me wonder what power consumption numbers they could achieve on 22nm with a single in-order Atom core.

The HD4000 iGPU seems to be pretty fast, fast enough to be taken seriously. Would it be possible to test the HD4000 like you would test a real GPU: performance, overclocking, image quality, game compatibility, maybe even a closer look at the underlying architecture.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.