Review Index:
Feedback

Intel Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge Processor and HD 2500 Graphics Review

Author: Ryan Shrout
Subject: Processors
Manufacturer: Intel

Synthetic CPU and Memory

 

SiSoft Sandra 2012


The latest version of SiSoft Sandra offers up a lot of new features including GPU performance, OpenCL, etc. 

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

As expected the performance of the new Core i5-3470 is right on par with that of the Core i5-2500 Sandy Bridge CPU. Remember that not much changed from SNB to IVB in terms of CPU performance so our metrics here make sense. In these raw tests you can see that the lack of HyperThreading does cause a 40% perf drop in synthetic tests.

June 27, 2012 | 04:50 AM - Posted by HyperMinimalism

The most compelling use of the HD4000 graphics is in the mid to low end segment. OEM's may disagree but I think that Intel forgets that they can compete with AMD and Nvidia on the low end discreet GPU segment if they just put their best foot forward.

We are still waiting for their sub $200 chips. Now if they could just marry the great x86 performance with HD4000 (or better...).

June 27, 2012 | 10:19 AM - Posted by Tim Verry

If I had to guess, they won't pair their sub-$200 chips with the better HD400 graphics :(

June 29, 2012 | 09:34 PM - Posted by HyperMinimalism

That is a pretty good guess.

The decision to not do so makes me want to smash 300mm wafers over CEO's heads.

June 27, 2012 | 01:19 PM - Posted by Azuza001 (not verified)

I don't understand, is it just me or do most review sites always give awards now days. To me the simple fact that the 2600K is still avalible for about the same price would make this a no-award product.

Quote : "Still, the Core i5-3470 would make a solid low cost processor for users looking to build a reasonable cost machine for some mainstream gaming and general enthusiast computing."

If I'm buying a cpu for mainstream gaming and general enthusiast computing I'm not buying a processor with a locked multiplier.

Love the site, keep it up!

June 27, 2012 | 02:25 PM - Posted by jacob (not verified)

Comparison to Ivy i5 3570k in benchmarks, wrap-up?

July 3, 2012 | 02:56 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Why does Intel still sell HD2500 in their chips? Tired of Intel hashing up older GPU architecture just to satisfy price points.

July 16, 2012 | 04:18 PM - Posted by Brandon (not verified)

Does this chip matter that much when the i5-3550 already exists? Very small differences between the two chips, and only a $5 difference on Newegg. (A promo right now actually makes the 3550 even cheaper).

I was excited when I first heard about this chip... but now I think it's just another unnecessary SKU.

December 16, 2012 | 06:06 AM - Posted by hassan (not verified)

Is the intel core i3 cpu& intel hd graphic suitable for cfd code in fortran?
what about fluent 6.3?

July 22, 2014 | 02:38 PM - Posted by BossTek (not verified)

Eh man yo check it yo! I got this Intel stuff from Intel since I am a partner yo! And I can sale it at half price. I got i7's for $500 and Intel i5's for $400 and i3's for $350 yo! That's cheaper than you ever get it at old egg yo!

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.