Review Index:
Feedback

Intel Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge Processor and HD 2500 Graphics Review

Author: Ryan Shrout
Subject: Processors
Manufacturer: Intel

Overclocking and Power Consumption

Because the CPU isn't an unlocked part, we were limited in our multiplier overclocking (maximum of 38 based on what we saw) and had to mix in a bit of bus clock increases as well. 

View Full Size

I was able to hit a clock speed of 4.0 GHz with all four cores (an 800 MHz increase over the base clock), completely stable, with a 38x multiplier and a 105 MHz base clock. 

View Full Size

The result is a score in Cinebench that is 18% faster than stock and within 8% of the performance of the much more expensive Core i7-3770K CPU. 

 

Also, if you want to see JJ Guerrero from ASUS demonstrate overclocking on the ASUS line of Z77 motherboards, check out the video from our live review below!

 

Power Consumption

All signs point to the new Ivy Bridge architecture as being impressively efficient on the new 22nm process technology. 

View Full Size

* Core i5-2500 scores are simulated, so no power measurements were taken

Idle power numbers stay right around 57 watts for the new Core i5-3470 – just a watt or two higher than the Sandy Bridge offerings. This might improve with some BIOS revisions but we're still happy with it. Just for fun, take a look at the oldest architecture on the block – Nehalem – to see how things used to be.  

View Full Size

* Core i5-2500 scores are simulated, so no power measurements were taken

Here is where Ivy Bridge really shines. Under a full load test of Cinebench 11.5, the Core i5-3470 complete system only pulls 100.1 watts! That is only 10 watts more than the dual-core i3-2105 from last generation and is a 17 watt drop from the Core i7-3770K.

June 27, 2012 | 04:50 AM - Posted by HyperMinimalism

The most compelling use of the HD4000 graphics is in the mid to low end segment. OEM's may disagree but I think that Intel forgets that they can compete with AMD and Nvidia on the low end discreet GPU segment if they just put their best foot forward.

We are still waiting for their sub $200 chips. Now if they could just marry the great x86 performance with HD4000 (or better...).

June 27, 2012 | 10:19 AM - Posted by Tim Verry

If I had to guess, they won't pair their sub-$200 chips with the better HD400 graphics :(

June 29, 2012 | 09:34 PM - Posted by HyperMinimalism

That is a pretty good guess.

The decision to not do so makes me want to smash 300mm wafers over CEO's heads.

June 27, 2012 | 01:19 PM - Posted by Azuza001 (not verified)

I don't understand, is it just me or do most review sites always give awards now days. To me the simple fact that the 2600K is still avalible for about the same price would make this a no-award product.

Quote : "Still, the Core i5-3470 would make a solid low cost processor for users looking to build a reasonable cost machine for some mainstream gaming and general enthusiast computing."

If I'm buying a cpu for mainstream gaming and general enthusiast computing I'm not buying a processor with a locked multiplier.

Love the site, keep it up!

June 27, 2012 | 02:25 PM - Posted by jacob (not verified)

Comparison to Ivy i5 3570k in benchmarks, wrap-up?

July 3, 2012 | 02:56 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Why does Intel still sell HD2500 in their chips? Tired of Intel hashing up older GPU architecture just to satisfy price points.

July 16, 2012 | 04:18 PM - Posted by Brandon (not verified)

Does this chip matter that much when the i5-3550 already exists? Very small differences between the two chips, and only a $5 difference on Newegg. (A promo right now actually makes the 3550 even cheaper).

I was excited when I first heard about this chip... but now I think it's just another unnecessary SKU.

December 16, 2012 | 06:06 AM - Posted by hassan (not verified)

Is the intel core i3 cpu& intel hd graphic suitable for cfd code in fortran?
what about fluent 6.3?

July 22, 2014 | 02:38 PM - Posted by BossTek (not verified)

Eh man yo check it yo! I got this Intel stuff from Intel since I am a partner yo! And I can sale it at half price. I got i7's for $500 and Intel i5's for $400 and i3's for $350 yo! That's cheaper than you ever get it at old egg yo!

September 1, 2014 | 08:48 PM - Posted by Blair (not verified)

If someone offered to trade me a i7 2600K for my i5 3470 I would say NO! I would rather have the new features such as PCIe 3.0 and ect. Yes the hyper threads may put the 2600K a little bit above my 3470, But those are just benchmark applications that have nothing to do with any real applications or with gaming. I was very happy to get this chip to replace my older but still lively i5 750, I only paid a total of $260 for the CPU and a Z77 motherboard, That is unbeatable price/performance. And I was surprised of how much cooler the i5 3470 runs compared to the i5 750 after hearing about Intel's mistake of using bad paste between the CPU and the thermal contact plate for the heatsink, But overclocked to 3.8ghz I get 28c-30c idle and 60c running the prime95 test, And this is just the stock cooler. However I have a thing I always do while installing a heatsink, When I place a pre-applied paste heatsink on a CPU I move it very very slightly left and right and up and down, (very slightly) When I do that it always seems to make a world of difference on the temps.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.