Review Index:
Feedback

Intel Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge Processor and HD 2500 Graphics Review

Author: Ryan Shrout
Subject: Processors
Manufacturer: Intel

New CPU Test Bed

For our Ivy Bridge review we tore up our previous CPU test bed and completely rebuilt it from both a hardware and software perspective. With that in mind, we wanted to make sure you were completely up to date on what hardware and testing methods we are using for the review today (and going forward).

View Full Size

Just in time for the review, Corsair sent us a 16GB kit of four DIMMs capable of running at 2400 MHz at 1.65v. With support for higher memory clocks and the potential to see some interesting motherboard metric scaling with faster memory, we wanted to make sure we had some of the best modules from our partners available. Also sent in were four Kingston HyperX DDR3-2400 modules in a 4 x 2GB configuration so we are sure we always have the right memory for the job.

View Full Size

Having previously used the PC Power and Cooling Turbo Cool 1200 watt power supply for CPU testing, I was eager to gain my hearing again and upgrade to a quieter unit. Corsair sent over the Professional Series AX 650 watt power supply for our CPU test bed and the unit was able to provide completely stable power while also operating at a nearly silent sound level.

View Full Size

To keep our CPUs at low temperatures with reasonable sound levels, Corsair supplied us with a Hydro Series H80 cooler. We further decided to use only one of the two 120mm fans it comes with. Even in our overclocking testing, the H80 was able to keep things running stable!

Our GPU of choice for this newly upgraded GPU test bed is the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 Ti.

Included in our results today are the following CPUs:

  • Core i5-3470 - Ivy Bridge
  • Core i7-3770K - Ivy Bridge
  • Core i5-3570 - Ivy Bridge (simulated)
  • Core i7-2600K - Sandy Bridge
  • Core i5-2500 - Sandy Bridge (simulated)
  • Core i3-2105 - Sandy Bridge
  • Core i7-3960X - Sandy Bridge-E
  • Core i7-3820 - Sandy Bridge-E
  • Core i7-920 - Nehalem
  • AMD FX-8150 - Bulldozer
  • AMD Phenom II X6 1100T - Thuban

View Full Size

View Full Size

With this change in hardware comes a revamp of the software used for our testing as well. Here is the new suite:

Let's see what these processors can do!

June 27, 2012 | 04:50 AM - Posted by HyperMinimalism

The most compelling use of the HD4000 graphics is in the mid to low end segment. OEM's may disagree but I think that Intel forgets that they can compete with AMD and Nvidia on the low end discreet GPU segment if they just put their best foot forward.

We are still waiting for their sub $200 chips. Now if they could just marry the great x86 performance with HD4000 (or better...).

June 27, 2012 | 10:19 AM - Posted by Tim Verry

If I had to guess, they won't pair their sub-$200 chips with the better HD400 graphics :(

June 29, 2012 | 09:34 PM - Posted by HyperMinimalism

That is a pretty good guess.

The decision to not do so makes me want to smash 300mm wafers over CEO's heads.

June 27, 2012 | 01:19 PM - Posted by Azuza001 (not verified)

I don't understand, is it just me or do most review sites always give awards now days. To me the simple fact that the 2600K is still avalible for about the same price would make this a no-award product.

Quote : "Still, the Core i5-3470 would make a solid low cost processor for users looking to build a reasonable cost machine for some mainstream gaming and general enthusiast computing."

If I'm buying a cpu for mainstream gaming and general enthusiast computing I'm not buying a processor with a locked multiplier.

Love the site, keep it up!

June 27, 2012 | 02:25 PM - Posted by jacob (not verified)

Comparison to Ivy i5 3570k in benchmarks, wrap-up?

July 3, 2012 | 02:56 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Why does Intel still sell HD2500 in their chips? Tired of Intel hashing up older GPU architecture just to satisfy price points.

July 16, 2012 | 04:18 PM - Posted by Brandon (not verified)

Does this chip matter that much when the i5-3550 already exists? Very small differences between the two chips, and only a $5 difference on Newegg. (A promo right now actually makes the 3550 even cheaper).

I was excited when I first heard about this chip... but now I think it's just another unnecessary SKU.

December 16, 2012 | 06:06 AM - Posted by hassan (not verified)

Is the intel core i3 cpu& intel hd graphic suitable for cfd code in fortran?
what about fluent 6.3?

July 22, 2014 | 02:38 PM - Posted by BossTek (not verified)

Eh man yo check it yo! I got this Intel stuff from Intel since I am a partner yo! And I can sale it at half price. I got i7's for $500 and Intel i5's for $400 and i3's for $350 yo! That's cheaper than you ever get it at old egg yo!

September 1, 2014 | 08:48 PM - Posted by Blair (not verified)

If someone offered to trade me a i7 2600K for my i5 3470 I would say NO! I would rather have the new features such as PCIe 3.0 and ect. Yes the hyper threads may put the 2600K a little bit above my 3470, But those are just benchmark applications that have nothing to do with any real applications or with gaming. I was very happy to get this chip to replace my older but still lively i5 750, I only paid a total of $260 for the CPU and a Z77 motherboard, That is unbeatable price/performance. And I was surprised of how much cooler the i5 3470 runs compared to the i5 750 after hearing about Intel's mistake of using bad paste between the CPU and the thermal contact plate for the heatsink, But overclocked to 3.8ghz I get 28c-30c idle and 60c running the prime95 test, And this is just the stock cooler. However I have a thing I always do while installing a heatsink, When I place a pre-applied paste heatsink on a CPU I move it very very slightly left and right and up and down, (very slightly) When I do that it always seems to make a world of difference on the temps.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.