Review Index:
Feedback

Intel Core i5-3350P Ivy Bridge Processor Review - No Integrated Graphics

Author: Ryan Shrout
Subject: Processors
Manufacturer: Intel

Synthetic CPU and Memory

SiSoft Sandra 2012


The latest version of SiSoft Sandra offers up a lot of new features including GPU performance, OpenCL, etc. 

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

The Core i5-3550P does just fine here but doesn't really stand out in any way.  The Core i5-3470 stays just a bit ahead in all of our Sandra tests and even the AMD Bulldozer-based FX-8150 takes advantage.

December 6, 2012 | 10:00 PM - Posted by ezjohny

Good article. but I want to know if a processor with HD Graphics is better than one without. I'm a hardcore PC gamer.
How many cores is good for gaming.

January 29, 2013 | 03:51 PM - Posted by Mad (not verified)

If you are using a extra graphics cart then it makes no difference. Because when you play a game the pc will automatically use the most powerful gpu.

December 10, 2012 | 08:09 AM - Posted by indigo (not verified)

Multiplier 37 ? Is it possible ?

December 10, 2012 | 07:19 PM - Posted by DisasterArea (not verified)

What I take from this is that the only CPU improvement over my aginge i7-920 nahalem (which has HT) is that it will use a lot less power.

Seems no point to "upgrade" still from an "old" 920.

May 31, 2013 | 01:07 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

You nehalem quad is good for a few years yet!

December 30, 2012 | 06:06 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

What motherboard was used to overclock ?

January 11, 2013 | 09:22 AM - Posted by Anonymous 2 (not verified)

What motherboard was used to overclock ?
Thx in advance 4 reply.

February 17, 2013 | 12:09 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I done the same with a MSI Z77A-G41, just can't have a 37x multiplier in charge but 35x so i had 3675Mhz for nothing !

April 2, 2013 | 06:08 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I have that mobo too, and I wanted this proc.... but it was out of stock so I had to go with a i5-3470. I was not able to go past x36, but hey I'm fine with 3.6 Ghz.

June 2, 2013 | 09:54 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I have the Mobo Asrock z77 pro 3 and a i5 3350p, i set the Multi of 37, but he go no on 3,7 ghz. By 3,5 ghz for all cores ist the limit, i don´t understand it. i hope everywhere can help me, with the right setting, sorry for my bad Englisch

June 13, 2013 | 01:08 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Great procesor.Runs all new games at max settings.Paired with good graphic card its excellent gaming beast.No need for stronger.

June 26, 2013 | 10:57 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Will a GTX 670 graphic card run properly on this one? what about 2x670 SLI?

July 2, 2013 | 08:09 AM - Posted by Zarphos (not verified)

Will a Radeon 7850 or GeForce GTX 650 Ti work with it?

August 27, 2013 | 12:46 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

i have the i5-3350p paired with an evga gtx 660 sc and games run great at 1080p. crysis 3, tweaked with geforce experience, runs at 45-60 fps so a 650 ti should work just fine.

August 26, 2013 | 08:25 AM - Posted by Mathew (not verified)

Thanx a lot. Your review was very helpfull. ;)

October 6, 2013 | 04:54 PM - Posted by Tole (not verified)

How work i53350p with my gpu 6850Toxic?

November 3, 2013 | 04:16 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

3,7ghz stable on msi p67gd65 mobo.checked in games-metro ll and crysis 3.gpu hd 7870.

December 17, 2013 | 06:01 AM - Posted by Gruia (not verified)

1st of all - those voltages are way to high

here's what I do. Lover the Pll to 1550 > then ur CPu will idle <0.9 and will reach tops full load at 1.03

I have z77 GD65

My clocks are stable even with block overclock 104. SO i get over 3.8 easily on air <60degrees with auto voltage <1.1

Turbo rocks. Why have the clocks high all the time.
I'm pretty sure there can be improvements and tweaks but nobody investigated (maintained high clocks and such)

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.