Review Index:
Feedback

Intel Core i5-3350P Ivy Bridge Processor Review - No Integrated Graphics

Author: Ryan Shrout
Subject: Processors
Manufacturer: Intel

Conclusions and Final Thoughts

Performance

The fact is that the Core i5-3350P is not going to win any performance awards but where this new processor does excel is in comparisons to similarly priced parts from the competition - and that is exactly its purpose in the market.  At $189 from Newegg the 3350P goes up directly against the AMD FX-8150 and also makes up the bottom of the Intel Ivy Bridge processor stack.

Without integrated graphics, the 3350P will obviously only work for consumers that are setup to use discrete graphics cards.  I built my new Windows 8 sytem using this exact CPU since I 100% knew I was going to be using a GPU for gaming and wouldn't need any of the features of the HD 4000 or HD 2500 graphics.  The 3350P is still "slow" by Ivy Bridge standards though, coming in behind the Core i5-3470 but a few percentage points and with fairly low Turbo Boost capability (200 MHz range).  In some cases difference between the high-end options like the Core i7-3770K and the Core i5-3350P can be as high as 35% though that tends to be in media transcoding and rendering applications. 

View Full Size

AMD finds itself in continued discomfort as a comparison between the Core i5-3350P and the FX-8150 (though that part is based on Bulldozer cores, not Piledriver) as the quad-core Intel part is able to outperform the 8 "core" AMD part in the majority of our tests.  Not only that, but if you look at performance per watt the Intel CPU is other-worldly dominant in that is uses 110 watts LESS POWER than the FX-8150 under a full load. 

Pricing and Availability

As with mid-range and low-end graphics cards, the same markets on the CPU front are very congested.  At $189, the Core i5-3550P has a lot of company.

Perhaps the most dangerous part to sales of the Core i5-3550P is the Core i5-3470.  Only $10 more, the 3470 runs at a 3.2 GHz base clock and a 3.6 GHz maximum Boost clock while also still including the option to utilize the HD 2500 graphics and QuickSync transcoding technology.  Both are quad-core, both lack HyperThreading, both have 6MB of cache; it's hard not to see the i5-3470 getting the nod here. 

Final Thoughts

Intel's Core i5-3350P is a fantastic processor that is able to compete with AMD's parts in terms of performance while vastly undercutting them on the power consumption side.  Without the inclusion of the integrated HD 4000 or HD 2500 graphics, this processor is aimed only at users that are looking to add a discrete card to their system for gaming, etc. 

View Full Size

Due to the current pricing though, the Core i5-3470 looks like a better choice as it DOES including integrated graphics while also running at higher clock rates.  If you happen to find the Core i5-3550P around the $170 mark then don't hesitate to pick one up for your next gaming system!

December 6, 2012 | 10:00 PM - Posted by ezjohny

Good article. but I want to know if a processor with HD Graphics is better than one without. I'm a hardcore PC gamer.
How many cores is good for gaming.

January 29, 2013 | 03:51 PM - Posted by Mad (not verified)

If you are using a extra graphics cart then it makes no difference. Because when you play a game the pc will automatically use the most powerful gpu.

July 31, 2014 | 09:31 AM - Posted by geraldtrudelpetwob (not verified)

My motto is "less is better" and as far as weight, I have to be able to carry it all in one tote bag. In doing so, you might consider a document found on the CTIA's web site, entitled "Safe - Driving - Talking - Points2" (created June 6, 2006) that states "But for some reason, legislative efforts to prevent driver distractions have been narrowly focused on wireless phone use. So, I kept his information, and phone number in case I decide to start another cool, or hot rather, business.

December 10, 2012 | 08:09 AM - Posted by indigo (not verified)

Multiplier 37 ? Is it possible ?

December 10, 2012 | 07:19 PM - Posted by DisasterArea (not verified)

What I take from this is that the only CPU improvement over my aginge i7-920 nahalem (which has HT) is that it will use a lot less power.

Seems no point to "upgrade" still from an "old" 920.

May 31, 2013 | 01:07 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

You nehalem quad is good for a few years yet!

December 30, 2012 | 06:06 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

What motherboard was used to overclock ?

January 11, 2013 | 09:22 AM - Posted by Anonymous 2 (not verified)

What motherboard was used to overclock ?
Thx in advance 4 reply.

February 17, 2013 | 12:09 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I done the same with a MSI Z77A-G41, just can't have a 37x multiplier in charge but 35x so i had 3675Mhz for nothing !

April 2, 2013 | 06:08 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I have that mobo too, and I wanted this proc.... but it was out of stock so I had to go with a i5-3470. I was not able to go past x36, but hey I'm fine with 3.6 Ghz.

June 2, 2013 | 09:54 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I have the Mobo Asrock z77 pro 3 and a i5 3350p, i set the Multi of 37, but he go no on 3,7 ghz. By 3,5 ghz for all cores ist the limit, i don´t understand it. i hope everywhere can help me, with the right setting, sorry for my bad Englisch

June 13, 2013 | 01:08 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Great procesor.Runs all new games at max settings.Paired with good graphic card its excellent gaming beast.No need for stronger.

June 26, 2013 | 10:57 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Will a GTX 670 graphic card run properly on this one? what about 2x670 SLI?

July 2, 2013 | 08:09 AM - Posted by Zarphos (not verified)

Will a Radeon 7850 or GeForce GTX 650 Ti work with it?

August 27, 2013 | 12:46 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

i have the i5-3350p paired with an evga gtx 660 sc and games run great at 1080p. crysis 3, tweaked with geforce experience, runs at 45-60 fps so a 650 ti should work just fine.

August 26, 2013 | 08:25 AM - Posted by Mathew (not verified)

Thanx a lot. Your review was very helpfull. ;)

October 6, 2013 | 04:54 PM - Posted by Tole (not verified)

How work i53350p with my gpu 6850Toxic?

November 3, 2013 | 04:16 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

3,7ghz stable on msi p67gd65 mobo.checked in games-metro ll and crysis 3.gpu hd 7870.

December 17, 2013 | 06:01 AM - Posted by Gruia (not verified)

1st of all - those voltages are way to high

here's what I do. Lover the Pll to 1550 > then ur CPu will idle <0.9 and will reach tops full load at 1.03

I have z77 GD65

My clocks are stable even with block overclock 104. SO i get over 3.8 easily on air <60degrees with auto voltage <1.1

Turbo rocks. Why have the clocks high all the time.
I'm pretty sure there can be improvements and tweaks but nobody investigated (maintained high clocks and such)

May 2, 2014 | 03:54 PM - Posted by Cos (not verified)

Hey Gruia.

Would you mind writing down your settings or maybe making a small tutorial on how exactly to get this 3350p CPU to that 3.8 you mentioned ?
I just got one such CPU and I'm interested in getting out of it all the juice it has, while still being stable for games and other software.
Thanks.

May 9, 2014 | 07:04 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

if you have msi mobo with oc genie its no problem.Set in bios cpu ratio in windows enabeled,its on oc menu.Save changes and restart pc.go to msi control center.Set cpu ratio on 35 and base clock on 104 mhz,thats it.Dont touch cpu voltage,leave it on auto.

July 20, 2014 | 10:33 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I bought one of these and have been using it for a year - before this build I was using a pentium 4 HT, so obviously I saw a massive performance boost, but I was still expecting worse than I got. This rocks for gaming, which is more GPU intensitive anyway, and it's solid specs make for an excellent speedy video encoder. FFmpeg works superbly for me, and since I upgraded from 2GiB to 6GiB of RAM, I've never once had a lock-up or hang (besides when I killed init in linux... my fault).

It can emulate gamecube and wii games at full-speed (60fps) in the dolphin emulator under linux, so I am confident that this CPU is plenty to handle anything you throw at it. While there are better CPU's out there, for the extra 20% speed boost I don't think it's worth an extra $300. This does everything you need.

My motherboard is an AsRock H77M, and my GPU is a cheap (~$65) Galaxy nvidia GT 630 card, 1GiB buffer, and because I already had some parts (case, hard disk, PSU) from my old pentium 4 HT pc, I only spent about $300 total on an awesome computer - totally functional (but it looks like crap, because it's in a dell dimension case). my sound card is a SoundBlaster Audigy 2 that i got free from a friend who threw out his old PC.

Didn't have to upgrade my PSU because the GT 630 and 3350p use such small amounts of power - 340w is plenty. off the top of my head, my graphics card uses 120 watts, and the CPU uses 88 - i only use around 208 watts and I get awesome performance - although my most demanding game is Super Smash Bros. Brawl in dolphin.
Still, i have plenty of room to get a more powerful card, and I still have a great PC for everything I do.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.