Review Index:
Feedback

Intel Atom Z3000 Series Review - Bay Trail and Silvermont Arrive

Author: Ryan Shrout
Subject: Processors, Mobile
Manufacturer: Intel

3DMark Ice Storm and Cloud Gate

3DMark Ice Storm

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

Here we see the first results in which the AMD APUs have a potential advantage over Bay Trail thanks to the emphasis on the GPU compute capability of the A4-1250 and A4-5000.  Even though the physics score is higher, a bigger emphasis is placed on the graphics sub-test.

 

3DMark Cloud Gate

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

Clover Trail couldn’t run the Cloud Gate test on 3DMark, but we see a similar pattern for the new Atom Z3770.  While the physics test shows a big advantage for the Bay Trail CPU over Temash and is able to outperform Kabini, the graphics performance of AMD’s APU stands out and is able to nearly put the Temash APU on par with Intel’s new Bay Trail.

September 11, 2013 | 12:15 PM - Posted by brians (not verified)

What is the clock speed of the z3770 you are testing?

How could let Intel not talk about TDP... is it that bad?

September 11, 2013 | 12:25 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

It's not great.  The Z3770 bursts up to 2.4 GHz with a base clock of 1.8 GHz.

September 11, 2013 | 03:18 PM - Posted by Timex (not verified)

Given that all the reviewers are benching and testing what is top of the line Atom Z3770 (with dual channel mem and turbo of 2.4Ghz), it is reasonable to expect that the current OEMs using the Clovertrail Z2760 in pricey tablets/hybrids would utilize the new top line Baytrail in similar pricey products?

Another thing to consider is how well or not well Intel has supported the current Atom lineup with buggy crash prone drivers that has ticked off a large number of owners for the past few years.

To top it off, Intel claims that the new Atoms will be found in low priced tablets by the end of the year and if so, those Atoms will be very low spec low clock single channel CPUs.

As you say, the proof of viability of Intel's new Atoms will be in the price of their product pudding.

June 4, 2014 | 11:11 PM - Posted by how to watch the fat loss factor video (not verified)

And eat healthy food that will make you fit and fine.
Many nutritionists believe that the best time to eat food is when a person feels hungry since
this is arguably the body's natural way of signaling that our
energy supply needs replenishment. The cardinal sin committed by many endurance athletes is complete disregard of strength training for fear of slowing
them down by adding muscle.

September 11, 2013 | 12:38 PM - Posted by Thedarklord

Would be nice to see this on say a low power server system, perfect for File/Media Storage/Streaming as an option to a 35W TDP CPU.

September 11, 2013 | 03:45 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

maybe get rid of the h.264 encoder/decoder and make the GPU even smaller?

September 11, 2013 | 04:13 PM - Posted by EndTimeKeeper

Poor AMD it looks like they have lost this round already. :( Well if we look at the bright side, it at least appears that their new chips seem to be producing decent performance numbers in graphic intense applications.

September 12, 2013 | 07:42 AM - Posted by WantT100 (not verified)

This is a stunning upgrade from clovertrail .. Intel has finally arrived in this space.

September 12, 2013 | 08:21 AM - Posted by justme (not verified)

interesting to see the higher 3dmark performance on android!?

also, ST performance on cinebench looks equivalent to a A64 3000+ from 2003, but obviously 4x cores and the power efficiency can justify the 10 years difference.

December 8, 2013 | 03:46 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Considering that this isn't a desktop chip and has much lower power consumption, I think your comparison is a bit ridiculous.

September 12, 2013 | 06:41 PM - Posted by razor512

Is it possible to do a NAS benchmark for the CPU?

I currently use a DIY NAS and it can easily max out a gigabit connection, but it is using a a CPU (AMD APU) that pulls 65 watts. Handling NAS loads and media streaming, and VPN access does not put high load on the CPU.

I don't like premade NAS devices because there are many that cost $1000 with no hard drives and still perform worse than a $550 NAS including 6TB of storage.

It would be awesome if this CPU can work well in a low powered and near silent NAS build

September 12, 2013 | 08:44 PM - Posted by jmasta111 (not verified)

What he said. I am also very interested in the prospect of this technology being used in this way

September 13, 2013 | 07:17 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

What kind of test would you like? How could I get a benchmark that is relavant?

September 13, 2013 | 02:00 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Isn't the temash HP laptop based on HDD? Did you change the Temash to a SSD to compare against BayTrail?
Also, how about PCMark / Vantage results for comparison?

Thanks.

September 14, 2013 | 08:14 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

untill i dont know die size of this Atom and its max TDP I cannot apreciate it. Intel avoided to give those numbers, so something is strange.

lets consider that in this moment AMD Jaguar A4-5000 get a die schrink at 22 nm . Then will beat hard the ass of Intel in power, graphics, performance and whatever you want.

September 15, 2013 | 11:37 PM - Posted by drbaltazar (not verified)

Beat Intel?really?better hope Intel doesn't offer this with 3.5 w.if Intel does I'm pretty sure they could up GPU frequency.at 3.5 they would beat and in all but heavy gaming .nobody do hardcore gaming on tablet.

September 17, 2013 | 12:51 AM - Posted by Roman (not verified)

Are your benchmarks using a single core, or all available cores? This is very important, as you directly compare to AMD's competing Temash 1250, which is only a dual core part. You also fail to specify that it's dual core in the spec breakdown, though you give Clovertrail that privelege.

Not getting my tinfoil hat out or anything, and my point is moot if the benchmark only tests a single core, but you should probably highlight (and bold, and underline) core counts as they play a huge role in benchmark results if multithreaded...

September 17, 2013 | 12:53 AM - Posted by Roman (not verified)

Sorry, I should revise my comment to say this is only based on reading the first page - though the points are still valid for that page.

September 17, 2013 | 12:59 AM - Posted by Roman (not verified)

Wow, apologies. I meant the first page with benchmarks (SiSoft Sandra). On a roll tonight..

October 25, 2014 | 01:13 AM - Posted by Claudette (not verified)

Aw, this was an incredibly nice post. Finding the time and actual effort to generate a superb article… but what can I say… I hesitate a lot and don't manage to get anything done.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.