Review Index:
Feedback

AMD FX-8150 Processor Review - Can Bulldozer Unearth an AMD Victory?

Author: Ryan Shrout
Subject: Processors
Manufacturer: AMD

FX Memory Frequency Scaling and Testing Configurations

Finally, with AMD advertising the FX series of processors as having support for DDR3 memory speeds as high as 1866 MHz, I decided to see how much of an advantage you would get in terms of raw memory performance by simply turning that up.  I used some Corsair DDR3-1866 Vengeance DIMMs for the testing.

View Full Size

In my quick Sandra testing I saw a 13% boost in memory bandwidth by simply bumping the settings from DDR3-1333 to DDR3-1600 and then another 6% going to DDR3-1866.  I was also able to run the memory at DDR3-2133 settings and was able to cross the 20 GB/s mark!  

Testing Configuration

Our CPU testing configuration remains mostly unchanged from our AMD Llano APU review this past June.  For the new AMD FX processor testing our specs were as follows:

  • AMD FX-8150 processor
  • ASUS Crosshair V Formula 990FX motherboard
  • Corsair H100 water cooler
  • 2 x 2GB DDR-1866 Corsair Vengeance (running at DDR3-1333)
  • Intel X25-M G2 160 GB SSD
  • GeForce GTX 285 Graphics card
  • PC Power and Cooling 1200 watt PSU
  • Windows 7 SP1 64-bit

View Full Size

There are going to be a lot of numbers and graphs coming at at you on the following pages, but here are the keys to look for in my opinion:

  • AMD FX-8150 versus Phenom II X6 - Many users will be wondering if they should get the new 8-core Bulldozer based part or save some cash and maybe upgrade to the 6-core Phenom II X6.  What applications take advantage of the extra cores and frequency?
  • AMD FX-8150 versus the Intel Core i7-2600k - Both of these CPUs support 8 threads, but which can handle the very heavily threaded workloads the best?
  • AMD FX-8150 versus Intel Core i5-2500k - While the 2500k is the closest price competitor to the FX-8150, how does this four threaded CPU go up against eight thread competition?
  • Power and Efficiency - Does the AMD FX draw a lot of power and warrant the inclusion of a new water cooler option?

On to the tests!


October 12, 2011 | 01:07 AM - Posted by ZackJ (not verified)

Another great article Mr Shrout. I really appreciate the honesty you provide in your assessment of this processor. Hearing different things on the web I was very interested in this processor. Great new design for the future but it just doesnt seem to compete as well as I would like. I currently have a AMD Phenom II X4 965 and this review has me not really wanting to upgrade to it. I plan to get a new mobo and ddr3 ram so looks like that and a new vid card will be my only purchase in the near future. Although given this review would u recommend the FX-8150 or Phenom X6 1090T/1100T?

October 12, 2011 | 10:24 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

It is hard to deny the value of the X6 processors now based on their price. If money is kind of tight, I have no qualms recommend the 1100T.

November 8, 2011 | 07:55 AM - Posted by drbaltazar (not verified)

Ryan and his crew please stop doing bogus article on fx 8150.unless amd or someone at ms or linux has some benchmark that test with fx feature in mind all test will be irelevent.fma4 alone isnt supported and you try to compare actual fma proc .intel. vs fx.comparing a cpugpu vs a cpu?core parking activated?threading issue in window?mobo bios issue that wont be fixed in w8.come on just stop benchmarking this cpu give a call to mobo.ms.amd then when they have fixes you can revisit[about6 month worth]some silly test seams to forget one fact very important here in 2 year intel will have fma4.2 year.amd isso far ahead they cant even speak to any one for fear of copying.it isnt they dont want to.the techno is just plain further ahead then all expected.people wonder why fx is selling like hotcake.when was the last time you had a 2 year in the futurtechno avail today?it rarelly happen .this is huge new for corp in the software business be it gaming or anything else.i bet a lot are hard at work opimising .or trying.for fma4 and all other lessb highlighted feature.but like i mention this proc was released 6 month too early

October 12, 2011 | 01:18 AM - Posted by dreamer77dd

I wonder what Trinity will be like. hmmm

October 12, 2011 | 02:18 AM - Posted by player-x

Nice article only the tables are hard to readout :(

I understand the dilemma of sorting by name or rank.

But personally i really prefer ordering by rank, but that's me.

A great solution would be to have mouse-over change the ordering so everyone can pick whats best for them.

Next to that some color coding would be nice of competing products
Light Blue for i5 2400 blue for 2500K and dark blue for 2600K
next to that dark green for the FX green for the X6 light green for the X4.

To just suggest something.

Like a said, good read, so so tables

October 12, 2011 | 10:26 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Yeah, that's fair. We'll see what we can do to improve that in the future!

October 12, 2011 | 02:27 AM - Posted by Yangorang (not verified)

It's interesting to note that you guys came to a rather different conclusion than Anandtech did with regards to gaming performance with Bulldozer.

http://www.anandtech.com/show/4955/the-bulldozer-review-amd-fx8150-tested/8

I'd definitely like to see some more testing done on this.

October 12, 2011 | 10:30 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Notice they ran their games at resolutions like 1024x768 and at the highest, 1680x1050 while I ran my tests at 1080p. In truth, the higher the resolution the less important the CPU performance tends to be.

To some people, they just want to know the raw gaming power of the CPU so running at low resolutions, sometimes even lower than is likely to be run by the gamer (who plays games at 1024x768 anymore??) will show the biggest differences.

In my case I thought it more pertinent to show the most "real world" cases and 1080p seemed to be the way to go.

October 12, 2011 | 10:07 PM - Posted by Jeremy Hellstrom

You can't argue the Civ V findings, but [H]ard|OCP used similar resolutions and found similar results to Ryan's.

http://www.hardocp.com/article/2011/10/11/amd_bulldozer_fx8150_gameplay_...

October 12, 2011 | 03:36 AM - Posted by Bamstick (not verified)

I would to see more gaming benchmarks. Having only 2 games on there seems lazy to me. Where is Starcraft 2, Bad Company 2, Rage, The Witcher 2, and heck put World of Warcraft on there, you know games that people actually play. I don't anyone who plays Lost Planet 2.

October 12, 2011 | 03:37 AM - Posted by Bamstick (not verified)

Oh and of course Crysis, Crysis Warhead, Crysis 2. Come on!

October 12, 2011 | 08:28 AM - Posted by gwaland (not verified)

Did I miss in the article where you explained why you used a 1090t instead of the top of the line 1100t for most of your benchmarks?

October 12, 2011 | 10:34 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Ah, good point. We used the 1090T results from a previous article (Llano I think) and didn't have time to get in the 1100T to run the full allotment of tests before publication. Instead, with our time we had, I was able to run the 1100T through some our architectural analysis tests (core scaling, etc) and gaming.

October 12, 2011 | 08:55 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

So... how well does this CPU FOLD????

WOndering if it can handle bigadv folding...

October 12, 2011 | 10:09 PM - Posted by Jeremy Hellstrom

You ain't the only one! I suggested it to Ryan but he hasn't done it since the PS3. Mind you I'm a BOINCer myself.

October 12, 2011 | 09:24 AM - Posted by krankycheese

Based on this review, it's hard to justify upgrading from my Phenom II 955 especially when my PC is used mostly for gaming. I was hoping for better power consumption numbers when compared to what Sandybridge has.

The architecture is intriguing and has potential. It will be interesting to see what AMD comes out with the next iteration.

October 12, 2011 | 09:33 AM - Posted by bjv2370

ill wait for piledriver for improvements...

October 12, 2011 | 09:42 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I just finished reading all 3 reviews( Anand, Toms and PCPER) and just like Yangorang said, WTF?!

The test show some consistencies but there is still a rather big difference in attitude and benches towards the 8150FX.

I think there is a bit of Fanboy-ism being implemeneted by ANAND and TOMS ( you can see by the comments as well) review. Granted it may not be a 2600k but its gets pretty close between a i5 and the i7 so I feel that those 2 reviews excerted much more biased in their writing towards the intel chip, even when the BD came close.

There are some crazy things like the power usage, but really? Most of the people posting dont really care about their lightbill( multi gpu, plethora of fans and 1100watt PSUs) so why are people complaining that much?

I already bought me ASUS CH-V 990fx mobo yesterday, and my AMDHD5970 (2gb) so I think I will just push on through with the BD. My last build was a core 2 duo so I thing I will be good non the less.

October 12, 2011 | 10:37 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

I don't think it is a BAD processor necessarily, but I find it hard to recommend the FX-8150 over the Core i5-2500k or even the i7-2600k if you are building a new system from scratch.

You have a 990FX Bulldozer-ready motherboard and want to get rid of that older CPU? Sure, the AMD FX will improve your system somewhat.

As I mentioned in my conclusion page, the primary issue is AMD thinks its processors are worth more money they probably are for MOST work loads.

October 12, 2011 | 12:22 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Thanks for the review Ryan. I bought a Core i5-2500K and z68 mobo 2 weeks ago, and I'm not regretting my purchase one bit. We'll have to see if that sentiment persists thru to when Ivy Bridge comes out. :P

October 12, 2011 | 10:44 AM - Posted by Rion (not verified)

No wonder AMD is attempting to get pile-driver out as soon as possible, they probably knew bulldozer wasn't going to light the world on fire. Now the question is do you wait for Trinity/pile-driver and FM2. Somehow I think most people will wait, unless they already bought the AM3+ board. Isn't Pile-driver and FM2 by Q2 2012?

October 12, 2011 | 10:47 AM - Posted by Irishgamer01

OH Dear,
Doesn't even look as if its worth updating from an X6.
Hope the 7000 cards are good cause AMD could be in trouble.

October 12, 2011 | 10:57 AM - Posted by Nebulis01

Ryan,

Thanks for including an older intel proc (the Q9650) I have a QX9650 and I've been looking to upgrade and was hoping to head back to AMD with this Bulldozer release. Sadly I see a i7-2600 in my future.

Thank you as always for the great review!

October 12, 2011 | 12:46 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Thanks for reading!

October 12, 2011 | 11:58 AM - Posted by pdjblum

Thorough, comprehensive, objective, and very informative review. Well done.

October 12, 2011 | 12:51 PM - Posted by Steven (not verified)

Well this make me wish I hadn't already bought it, since I have an 1100t... So much anticipation, and I suppose I'm about to be let down.

October 12, 2011 | 01:47 PM - Posted by Bill (not verified)

I couldn't care less where AMD goes from here in their lineup. I'm done waiting for their next "fast" cpu, which is only going to be a pathetic 10-15% improvement anyway. I'll have a 2500k under my hood now, and AMD will unfortunately be in my rear view, broken down on the side of the road overheating.

October 12, 2011 | 02:16 PM - Posted by Oskars (not verified)

What is the deal with the performance?
Doesn't it look strange that a 2 billion transistor chip (fx-1850) is a tad slower than a 0.9 billion chip (i7 2600k) of witch 1/4 is a gpu.
There are a few major improvements, but still.
Is that just an unpopular code or a task sheduler comunication mishap? Some people speak of imprvements in windows 8.
Could that be it? That Bulldozer is a year early, and not late at all?

October 12, 2011 | 03:19 PM - Posted by hechacker1 (not verified)

Indeed. It seems ridiculous that 2 billion transistors nets them a slightly slower chip than even their last generation.

It doesn't make sense. I think AMD needs hyper threading bolted on to extract more performance or something. All those transistors are going wasted, or it's just insanely inefficient.

October 12, 2011 | 03:42 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

The module design was to be AMD's take on HyperThreading but better.

Yes, Windows 8 will help some, but even in AMD's best case scenarios we are talking 4-10% improvement there.

In reality, we are just as confused how 2 billion transistors loses to 1.16 billion transistors this regularly.

October 12, 2011 | 04:23 PM - Posted by Oskars (not verified)

The only other redeaming ansver could be that production techniques for bulldozer wafers must be dirt cheap and fast paced. Some Interlagos 16-core processors where mentioned to be around 85w on 1.6 ghz, so in some "lucky wafer" cases it could be considered an efficient chip. Hard to fathom if that is worth anything.
But really, if software wasn't ready for a propper Bulldozer computing scenarios, they could just have made an advanced 8-core thuban, that was based on Llano cores just with the additional L3 cache and already enlarged 1MB L1 cache per core. That shouldn't have taken more than 1.5 billion transistors. There's just the questione of production cost...

July 8, 2013 | 03:06 AM - Posted by Maybelle (not verified)

Of course at some point. But as I wrote in Sierra magazine at the time.
They also make small utility things like chairs, tables, desks,
Doll houses, dog houses, car ports, bird feeders, or even a woodworking
oregon artist might be able to move on to a little massive one.

As I landed in Asia after a nearly 24-hour flight from the United States to test new
X-ray technology that can see you earn really substantial amounts.

Visit my page :: woodworking classes denver (http://mywoodworkingtips.org/)

October 13, 2011 | 08:30 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

could it be because most of applications are compiled using intel compiler and therefore are optimized on that architecture?

i've read this before. removing something from intel's compiler boosted via cpu to almost 50% performance gain.

kindly explain ryan. tnx.

October 13, 2011 | 05:25 PM - Posted by mpiggott (not verified)

I was wondering the same, for a long time Intel was purposefully limiting SSE optimization to CPUs which returned Intel's manufacturer string. (Instead of using CPU flags as intended)

I believe Intel agreed to end this practice last year but depending on when they actually implemented released it and when affected benchmarks were released....

Unfortunately as end users may also be using software compiled with the bogus compilers the results shown may be representative (until people stop using old software)

October 13, 2011 | 10:07 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

No guys, that is not the issue here. And anyone that says the compiler is getting 50% perf advantage is probably lying.

October 13, 2011 | 05:13 PM - Posted by mpiggott (not verified)

I would imagine a large chunk of the transistor difference is from the difference in L2 cache sizes.

October 13, 2011 | 12:13 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I have a system with a GTX580 and an older Intel i5-750 processor. I can run all of the games that I've seen tested with almost exactly (within 4FPS(on games running 60FPS or less)) the same frame rate as systems with better processors. (Al-though, if you want SLi/Crossfire older processors like mine may not keep up)

If you are running a system just for gaming it seems to be more useful to have a beefy GPU. I think that the way the games where tested in this review are perfectly acceptable, because they show REAL WORLD gaming performance.

(I run all my games at 1080P. My i5-750 is clocked at 3.8Ghz with turbo on (air cooling)). I use an EVGA P55FTW motherboard. My GTX580 is running at stock clocks.)

Nice review, keep it up guys!

October 13, 2011 | 03:24 AM - Posted by Bill (not verified)

Not everyone is running 1080p monitors yet. I run at 1680x1050 and will do so for quite a while yet. So to me at least, the cpu performance in a game definitely matters. When I saw just how pathetic the 8150 did in these benchmarks I couldn't believe it.

October 13, 2011 | 09:39 AM - Posted by mike2977 (not verified)

Ok, so for my next computer, I have all the parts except the CPU and motherboard. I was planning to go Bulldozer instead of Sandy Bridge, but now I'm wondering if that's the best decision. All things being equal, and price not an issue, would one want to go top of the line FX or top of the line i7? All around machine; some games; some digital processing.

Then there's the SSD issue. About a year ago I put an SSD into an HP Core i7 desktop and reinstalled windows on 64gb with everything else on a 1tb drive. I was thinking of going the same way with the new computer (larger 3rd generation SSD), but now with the new Intel chipset and motherboards capable of caching with a small SSD, that enters into the equation of deciding between Intel and AMD. Again, which would be the 'better' machine? For gaming? For video processing?

Perhaps a good discussion topic for This week in Computer Hardware?

Mike Ungerman
Orlando, Fl

October 13, 2011 | 10:29 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I’m more interested in the performance with a virtual environment. How does it perform with VM, VirtualBox, Hyper-Visor, etc? From a cost point view will it handle my needs or should I spend the extra $$$$ for intel? Thanks

October 13, 2011 | 10:34 AM - Posted by KILLfactor

1st, thanks for testing and showing a Core2Quad in your review... many people still have the Core2Duo/Quads as they pretty much put Intel on the map again a few years ago and are still to this day very good CPU's.

I have a Q9550 @ 4Ghz on hair and its perfect.

2nd, but disappointed with the gaming benchmarks and reviewing.
Because you used very few games and you also used only 1x video card.
What the results show is a GPU limitation and are not really testing the CPU.

This kind of testing only shows 1 thing which is pretty damn obvious, that at high resolutions and settings in games even a single GTX580 is limited, the CPU is idling.

These tests do not show the strengths and weaknesses of a CPU as the CPU is not working hard at all (gpu limit).

You either need to lower resolution to show how well the various games use the cores and respond to different CPU's or use SLI/Crossfire cards/setups which DO often put A LOT more stress on the CPU and separate the sheep from the lions :)

Please do SLI or Crossfire testing and lets see how this CPU holds up!

October 14, 2011 | 11:22 AM - Posted by Prodeous (not verified)

Have you used the supplied ASUS motherboard that was supplied as part of a kit from AMD? If so there might be some issues related to the MB. Post below.

http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/315775-10-asus-crosshair-giving-bias...

There is some information that the Asus crosshair is not performing as well. Two sites used other motherboards, AsRock as well as Gigabyte Motherboards, and showed much different picture of performance.

I would really like to see a verification from my trusted site.

October 14, 2011 | 01:01 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

I guess I'll ask around, but I am about 99.99% sure that the motherboard isn't making a big difference here. If the large majority of sites saw the same results and none of us thought anything fishy was going on, chance are it wasn't.

But like I said, I can test another board from MSI or Gigabyte after the weekend when I return home.

October 14, 2011 | 03:58 PM - Posted by Craig (not verified)

I belive that AMD might be holding out a little here.

Think about it long term, AMD (unless I am misinformed) Have stopped production on everything that doesnt use the new bulldozer design. I think they did it a while ago.

Now they have these Bulldozers comming in equal to the Phenom 2 x6's. Piledriver is due out Q1 next year, I'm thinking that either-

Bulldozer is ment to replace all current AMD chips, This brings all AMD users upto the same platform (AM3+) And all there factories can focus on streamlining the manufacturing of these new FX models. And then Piledriver will come in, replacing the FX8150 as the flagship and be so far up intels smoke pipe, that they sit there and think WTF just happend here.

OR

AMD scrapped all previouse AM3/AM2+/AM2 munufacturing stated making these, then relized sommin was up and they were not performing, so to buy themselfs some time, they release these (witch arnt bad, there not great but not bad either)And are now working there asses off perfecting it with piledriver, letting intel snigger for the moment, As AMD Have another Athlon 64 up there sleave they just need to fix the kinks.

Or option 3

AMD cpu devision is now run by trained chimps and AMD cpu devision is about to sink.

October 14, 2011 | 07:29 PM - Posted by 3dbomb (not verified)

Option 4

AMD realise the real sustainable money is in servers. Everything about the Bulldozer points to AMD migrating slowly from client to server. You really think AMD's plan to bring out a great CPU for gamers was to go for an 8 core model when games just aren't that well threaded and that's likely to be the case for years to come?

The marketing spin from AMD is transparent to anyone that knows tech. They're trying to sell you A CPU that's transitioning over to being a full on server design. Massively threaded, just what the server world wants.

I think they have a good few years yet of trying to squeeze every last bit of profit out of the value market, the gamers and the enthusiasts but their plan appears to be simple. Slowly increase the clock speed of Bulldozer over the next x years and make a real play for the high end server market.

Think about it this way, AMD is a small company compared to Intel. It doesn't have the resources to develop CPU's that will win big in all the different markets CPU's play in. So why not try and sell server CPU's to the clueless, use the bad parts to sell to the value market and with all real resources focused on making the best server CPU's. They can beat Intel on price and Intel can do nothing but lower prices to compete, something they've never wanted to do in the server space.

It's interesting watching this play out. All this nonsense about compilers and Windows 8 unleashing the true power of Bulldozer. The real story for me here is how AMD has managed to convince at least two markets that its making CPU's for them with just a little spin when in reality its passing off its R&D to gamers and enthusiasts (AMD knew it would take several years to build up to really fast server class CPU's that are massively parallel, why not sell that research along the way as Bulldozer FX-8150, the 8 core super CPU for a new generation!) Finally using its failures at the factory to supply the value market with a few cores, they don't need more and its pretty much free money to keep the server machine fueled.

It's pure genius really if you stop and look at the big picture. Pretty crappy for the AMD fans that have supported then all these years but maybe the moral there is, don't think of huge corporations as your best friend, heh.

October 14, 2011 | 09:08 PM - Posted by drbaltazar (not verified)

http://www.hardwareheaven.com/reviews/1285/pg1/amd-fx-8150-black-edition...
these guy gained some!
asus board are am3 and fx are am3+
also cpugpu against cpu(i72600k vs fx-8150)
come on if there are not cpu then all website shouldnt do benchmark gees not compared a cpugpu vs a cpu.it doesnt make sense.
i cant enumerate all the stuff but sufice it say that most of the banchmark on the web are bogus,hardwareheaven didnt use the amd kit but they still compared it to the i7 2600k lol so in the end even if they got better number it is still useless data .
i sure hope website compare happle with apple gees like the i7 960 to 990 serie they are cpu no cpugpu!

October 17, 2011 | 11:43 AM - Posted by RickCain (not verified)

I suspect its a mere problem of the software having to catch up with the hardware. It took quite some time before the AMD64 even had 64-bit software to run, and initial tests had 32-bit equivalents spanking the 64-bit systems.

Bad hardware, no just bad programming.

AMD went out on a limb with a completely new architecture. intel is just squeezing what's left out of core2.

November 4, 2011 | 05:18 PM - Posted by Kenmore (not verified)

The way I look at it is this. Soon your pc will be gone and you will be running your monitors off of thin clients. So if amd can beef up their cpu's to run several thin clients even in a gaming way, then they will be way ahead and everyone will be looking back at them thinking, wow amd was right on the money with switching to 8+ core CPUs especially since most games get their speed from gpus anyway these days. Dunno just a thought.

I can just imagine everyone having a main server in their house. I am already in the process of setting that up as we speak. Still in the planning stage, but I think it only makes sense, outside of my gaming rig that is. Just need to figure out a few details. But I am thinking I may use the bulldozer as the CPU in the server unless something else comes out that's better by then. My house is already hardwired with cat5 in everyroom so it makes sense to me unless anyone else has a better suggestion.

November 21, 2011 | 02:18 PM - Posted by meshrakh (not verified)

Its just a matter of time when AMD will regain the king of the hill where Intel has already been since C2D. But will the water turns its tide if Intel has already washed every shore of opportunity with their vast amount of resources. Let's face it, even though this chip seems to be a failure, it had opened up a whole new thing on the computer world. Multi-threading is the thing of the past, "Multi-Core" functionality is soon to rise. Let us be thankful that a company such as AMD has the guts to restructure the processor, that we can see new insight coming out of it. Bulldozer may not compete with the SB i5 and i7 but it will give software developers specially Microsoft the idea to utilize those monstrous 8 core chip for a better performing computer. Remember "two is better than one", time will come when computers will recognize that 1 is not 2, more sensible.

January 11, 2012 | 09:04 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

But some thing we need to keep in mind 8 core will be only fully support by windows 8 right now amd and microsoft working hand in hand to place a patch for at least bost the 8 core in windows 7

March 6, 2012 | 10:47 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

There's a patch for all Windows out already its called Linux!

April 4, 2012 | 08:01 PM - Posted by Jeff (not verified)

Well I can say one thing after looking at how many programs are compiled, most are optimized with Intel's instrution set and not amd's AMD has it's own set of CPU instruction for the FX chip and as of yet no... programs or benchmarks writen with them compiled. with the ne MSVC 2011 the AMD instrutions will be avalible for DEV's but will take some time to get on the market.

April 4, 2012 | 08:03 PM - Posted by Jeff (not verified)

Need to correct myself windows 8 preview does have some of the AMD instrution precompiled.

May 8, 2012 | 06:30 PM - Posted by skeptic007 (not verified)

people bash on AMD to much, it really isn't that bad, its mainly for multi-purpose for doing many things all at once on one computer. AMD is so much better then intel in that section,
understand that intel has a set standard so its easy to work with. You can overclock but its not really meant for that,
Amd is meant for overclocking, i don't know a single AMD product that's not overclocked, and what I've notice when I've done test with an AMD product is that the more i have on my screen the fast it gets. AMD is a product that needs to be worked, while intel has that set standard, and my test with intel is that the more i have and do on my screen the slower it gets, but i do considered intel to have the advantage cause people want that set standard because if intel is working at 80% it'll stay there while AMD will be at 70% and needs to be worked to get there so if u want AMD to work faster open up a lot of pages and start working it
if your looking for just gaming intel is the way to go, but if your cool and do a bunch of other stuff AMD is for you
and i would recommend gtx graphics cards there best in my opinion but i haven't worked with AMD graphics cards so i cant give a comment on that its just what i us

June 15, 2012 | 01:25 AM - Posted by Madhavi (not verified)

Sir,
I want new PC for animation, graphics designing purpose. I am not that technically sound. Someone suggested me FX 8150. Can u help me?

July 4, 2012 | 11:11 AM - Posted by honestann (not verified)

Just to throw in a comment that is a bit special-case, but certainly matters to me. I've been writing a 3D game/simulation engine for a while now, and all of a sudden I notice my linux computer (with FX8150) was much faster than my windoze computer (with slightly older 4-core phenom2 CPU at same clock speed).

When I tracked down the reason, it was because the older phenom2 cannot execute the 256-bit AVX/FMA instructions. I have 32-bit and 64-bit versions of key SIMD assembly-language routines, and the 256-bit AVC/FMA versions are almost twice as fast! Since they are fairly key routines, this one advantage of the FX8150 (AVX/FMA), makes a huge difference to me!

I just bought a new motherboard and another FX8150 for my windoze computer, so it is on a level playing field with my linux system.

PS: From my perspective, 64-bit SIMD with 16 ymm registers and AVX/FMA instructions is a BIG deal. True, many people couldn't care less, and many application that could benefit - haven't been rewritten to take advantage of these new instructions.

Oh, and BTW, the speed comparison on these routines between my assembly-language routines and compiled C code with optimization turned up to maximum is hilarious --- as in 6 to 12 times faster!

July 15, 2012 | 02:17 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Comparisons are invalid unless you use 1866 memory with the 8150. The 1090 does not support 1866. Why would you dumb down for a comparison when you could show the 8150 with 1866 vs a 1090 with 1333... why not show the best they both can do?

A major advantage of the 8150 is the ability to run faster memory.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.