Review Index:
Feedback

AMD FX-8350 and FX-6300 Processor Review: Vishera Breaks Cover

Author: Josh Walrath
Subject: Processors
Manufacturer: AMD

Models and Prices

 

AMD is releasing four products with this launch.  While the specifications of these products did not surprise me, the actual pricing of them is far lower than what I had been expecting.  AMD caught a lot of heat by offering up the FX-8150 at $280 at introduction, especially when the much better performing Intel 2600K was only around $30 more expensive.  The lower priced Intel 2500K was also faster overall than the FX-8150, except in heavily threaded applications.  AMD seems to have learned a lesson or two here, as these products are being offered at what I would consider to be value propositions as compared to what Intel has.

View Full Size

The top end model is the FX-8350.  This has a base clockspeed of 4 GHz with a max Turbo Core speed of 4.2 GHz.  This is a 125 watt TDP part comprised of four modules/eight cores and a full 8 MB of L3 cache.  The northbridge and L3 cache portions run at 2.2 GHz with a HyperTransport connection of 2200 MHz.  This is now AMD’s top performing part, and it comes in at a price of $195.  This is a far lower than the rumored $275 that AMD was going to offer this product at.  This product is also unlocked for her overclocking pleasure.

The next step down is the FX-8320.  This is again a four module/eight core part with 8 MB of L3 cache.    It is still a 125 watt TDP part, but the clockspeeds are down quite a bit from the top end.  It is sitting at a 3.5 GHz base clock and a max frequency of 4 GHz.  It again has the northbridge and L3 cache clocked at 2.2 GHz with a 2200 MHz HT connection.  This particular number is a pretty palatable $169, and it too is unlocked so overclockers can get as much bang for their buck as possible.

The FX-6300 is the first of the disabled chips to get attention from AMD.  This is a three module/six core affair that has one of the modules disabled.  It is a 95 watt TDP part, but it retains the 8 MB of L3 cache.  When the original FX-6100 was released, many budget enthusiasts thought that particular product would replace (and outperform) the older Phenom II X6 1100T.  That particular assumption was wrong.  The FX-6300 looks to overcome that stigma by being clocked at 3.5 GHz with a max frequency of 4.1 GHz.  With the improvements to IPC that AMD implemented with Vishera, this particular part should in fact perform better than the old 1100T.  This part is very budget oriented at $132 and remains unlocked for further tweaking.

View Full Size

A nice shot of the Vishera die.  It is very, very similar to Bulldozer's shot...

The last part is the FX-4300.  This is a bit of an oddball in the group.  It is a two module/4 core product clocked at 3.8 GHz base and goes to a max frequency of 4 GHz.  This product only features 4 MB of L3 cache rather than the full 8 MB of the other parts.  Even with a significant number of modules and 4 MB of L3 cache disabled, it is rated at 95 watts TDP.  To be fair though, it only is priced at $122.  It again retains the 2.2 GHz speed for L3 cache and northbridge, as well as the 2200 MHz HT connection.

In another disappointment from AMD, the chipsets supporting these new processors are unchanged.  They will still utilize the 990/970 series of northbridges as well as the SB950 southbridge.  These chips are in fact nearly identical to the 890/SB850 series of chips introduced quite a few years ago.  While AMD has introduced new chipset products for the latest APUs over the past two years, nothing has been done on the AM3/AM3+ platform for quite some time.  This means that we still have the same 6 SATA-6G ports, no USB 3.0 support, and no PCI-E 3.0 functionality.  This is not a deal killer, but AMD is not exactly cutting edge with their current chipsets for their new flagship processors.

So out of all of this what should we expect?  Well, there should be better thermals when comparing clockspeeds.  There should be some real increases in IPC.  With all of the tuning there should be an overall drop in latencies.  These should be better products overall.  At least we hope so as consumers.

October 22, 2012 | 10:24 PM - Posted by Humanitarian

" While Zambezi was not exactly stillborn, it was more than a tad under-cooked" Haha, oh Josh, I love your analogies.

Overall it was as expected, which is a shame because I never expected much from this. I don't think it's a big enough improvement for me to switch up from my zambezi but may pull some new people in with that price point.. Afterall, it's what AMD need if they want to have a financially viable business.

October 22, 2012 | 09:43 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

"Copious amounts of dust helps to simulate real world conditions."

LOL Josh is the best hardware reviewest on the interwebz.

October 22, 2012 | 09:53 PM - Posted by niteowler

No Cinebench R11.59 single core results? Move my 1100T up to 4 ghz just like the FX-8350 and it beats it in most situations easily. It's been two years and AMD can't even supply me with a worthy upgrade. Another year...... another dud.... sigh

October 22, 2012 | 09:57 PM - Posted by Josh Walrath

Move that 8350 up to 4.4 or 4.6 and then take another look.  Can't overclock one without the other.  Add in some NB/L3 overclocking and the processor really perks up.  Remember, these results were all stock clocks.

October 22, 2012 | 10:10 PM - Posted by niteowler

Their lack of performance gains is frustrating. Not trying to put a downer on your article but I've been AMD for a long time now and I'm tired of making excuses for them.... aren't you?

October 22, 2012 | 10:14 PM - Posted by Josh Walrath

I think my conclusion holds up well.  This is essentially a part that should have been released last year.  Only now do they have a competent next gen part that competes with what Intel has at that price range.  I do miss the days of competition where AMD had the original K7 and K8.  So, they have a good part that has finally reached market and will attract some buyers.  It doesn't beat up the competition in any meaningful way, but it is a good step forward for the company.  Hopefully Steamroller continues this trend.

October 22, 2012 | 10:32 PM - Posted by niteowler

With the money trouble that their in, Piledriver is not going to be the shot in the arm that they need. AMD could go away by Steamroller's arrival.

October 22, 2012 | 10:57 PM - Posted by Josh Walrath

Well, their financial situation is much more stable now and they actually have some money in the bank.  They will get through Steamroller, but beyond that is a big crap shoot.  While their ex-CFO did leave them in good financial shape, we have to wonder how much he undermined the foundation of the company with his policies.

October 22, 2012 | 11:08 PM - Posted by niteowler

Not to argue your point but AMD just announced quarter 3 results of a $157 million loss and well as hundreds of layoffs for employees planned. I wouldn't exactly call anything about that as "stable".

October 22, 2012 | 11:32 PM - Posted by Josh Walrath

Well, they consolidated debt, built up cash reserves, and paid down a lot of stuff all the while renegotiating contracts to be less financially binding.  They are in a better overall shape now then they have in years, and while this past quarter was a big negative... they are still ahead of where they were 2 years ago by a long shot.

October 29, 2012 | 04:03 PM - Posted by carinca (not verified)

1100T's limit is 4Ghz
8350's limit is 4.9-5Ghz
Let's compare them now.
And a 1100T at 4Ghz doesn't win in all scenarios against a 8350 a 4Ghz.

October 23, 2012 | 07:24 AM - Posted by brisa117

That's some fast "DDR-2" on the test page : P

Must have cost you an arm and a leg.

October 23, 2012 | 07:56 AM - Posted by Josh Walrath

Haha, you should see the hammer I had to use to get those damn DDR-2 modules to fit into the motherboard I used!

Thanks for the head's up... fixed.

October 23, 2012 | 07:40 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Lets see how it does at 5GHZ and nice NB speed....

October 23, 2012 | 07:57 AM - Posted by Josh Walrath

I'm requesting one of their LCS and will attempt to get there.

October 23, 2012 | 08:02 AM - Posted by Mr. Old School (not verified)

Perfect timing, i'm building a new rig and getting ready to purchase the mobo and CPU next month. I've been using AMD CPUs since 1994. I'll probably go with the 6300 and then upgrade further when they get around to releasing a new chipset, I also prefer sticking with the lower wattage parts.

October 23, 2012 | 11:03 AM - Posted by Nilbog

Great Article as always Josh!

Finally!
Its refreshing to see AMD with a competing part.
Unless i was reading wrong, it looks like they finally surpassed the X6. About damn time, way to go.
Geeze that i7 is freakin fast though.
Although it would be nice to see this vs an i5 to get a better idea of performance.
I am really happy for AMD.
Next CPU better have the 3.0s on the Mobo though. I want to see comparisons of Intels USB 3.0 and PCIE 3.0 vs AMDs

I am finally starting to understand where AMD is going with this architecture. I am really looking forward to seeing where they will go with this later on down the road.

October 23, 2012 | 11:38 AM - Posted by aparsh335i (not verified)

It's funny because i always want AMD to make some big comeback, we need to keep that competition stiff with Intel so they don't get lazy.

I was thinking in my head - this FX6300 is priced low and games fine, maybe i'll try it in my next build.

Then i remembered i5-2500k is only $159.99 @ microcenter....why the heck would i even use an FX6300? The i5-2500k will still be faster, overclock higher, and do all of this while using less power and putting out less heat.

Cmon AMD!!! Step it up!

October 29, 2012 | 04:07 PM - Posted by carinca (not verified)

the i5 2500k doesn't cost 159$
stop lying.

October 30, 2012 | 10:33 PM - Posted by mctigue1973 (not verified)

I'm going on my 8th gaming rig and I'm sticking with AMD. Intel cpu's dont't hold up as good is AMD. With out over clocking i had a FX 6200 walk all over a Intel I7 2700k. and then replaced it with my friends I7 3770k and no diffrents at all. same boards, same ram, same SSD size and brand. Even same MSI GTX 580 video card. So don't beleave every thing you read. Most people are not testing cpu's right OR they are being pay to talk down AMD. I have been working on computers long enuff to know whats up.

November 2, 2012 | 09:07 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

What a crock of shit! walk all over a 2700k! Blah Blah Blah.
there only just keeping up with the i5, are they not!. Would you be on you 8th gaming rig this year cos you keep blowing them up as you don`t have a clue what your doing?

January 23, 2013 | 06:48 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

FX 6300 "walk all over" a 2700k!!?? HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA\\

KOoL sToRy BrO!!!!!

I especially like the part where you swapped out AMD processors and Intel Processors "Using all the same motherboard and Ram"....Which is impossible

Time to get real here

October 23, 2012 | 11:39 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Josh, did you bench at min rez for comparison? I would like to see it vs an i7 would be cool.

October 23, 2012 | 11:57 AM - Posted by Oskars (not verified)

Could there be multi gpu tests in a seperate review, with hd 7870 and 7970, maybe even 7770 series performance level cards? To see at what point FX Vishera crossfire or sli is adequate. Games with old and new engines could be differentiated...

October 23, 2012 | 06:50 PM - Posted by Josh Walrath

Might take a while to do it (to-do list is rather long these days), but I think this would be an interesting aspect to test.

October 23, 2012 | 01:05 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Let's see an Interlagos 16-core version of this part. AMD is behind at single-threaded performance so they should emphasize their strength which is multiprocessing.

Also let's see a dual-CPU capable version of Vishera, and some cheap desktop motherboards with dual sockets. Multi-threading is here to stay.

November 14, 2012 | 05:26 PM - Posted by Lou (not verified)

Cheap dual socket opteron boards are not available. Our best price for dual socket is about $500-$600. Single socket 16 core may be interesting in some tests though.

October 23, 2012 | 09:45 PM - Posted by Wolvenmoon (not verified)

How much is it going to cost me to stick 16 cores worth of piledriver on one motherboard?

October 24, 2012 | 02:16 PM - Posted by razor512

Please if possible do another round of benchmarking with the 8350 at 4.8GHz, and the 1100T at 4GHz

Almost every review I have seen so far, shows the 8350 hitting 4.8GHz before the heat overpowers what most heatsinks can handle.

The average overclock for the 1100T is 4GHz (though some users are able to hit 4.4GHz on liquid cooling)

anyway, most of the people who are reading this article are most likely overclocking their CPU. If I build my own system targeted at performance, I am going to overclock.

The newer FX chips run at a significantly higher clock speed and even at those high clock speeds, struggles to beat the 3.3GHz 1100t.

For the users overclocking their Phenom II x6's to 4GHz, how viable will the 8350 be when overclocked to 4.8GHz as compared to the 1100t?

Remember, the Phenom II has a higher IPC so a 700MHz overclock will do a lot more for it than an extra 800MHz will do for the 8350.

October 29, 2012 | 04:10 PM - Posted by carinca (not verified)

The 8350 beats the 1100T in every scenario just fine and the difference is more than obvious.
The 8350 is AMD's fastest cpu in everything by a good margin.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.