Review Index:
Feedback

AMD A10-6800K and A10-6700 Review: Richland Finally Lands

Author: Josh Walrath
Subject: Processors
Manufacturer: AMD

Results: Skyrim, DiRT 3, and Battlefield 3

Skyrim

This title is CPU bound when using a relatively high end GPU, but is more GPU bound when using an APU.  A manual runthrough was captured with FRAPS.  Settings are put to 1280x960 with Ultra level graphics, 8X AA, and 16X AF.  Ryan was unable to replicate this run with the 4670K, so it again is not represented here.

View Full Size

We see a small bump in both average and minimum frame rates, but it is not nearly as impressive as we had hoped.  Still, it is an improvement, though around the 7% mark rather than 10 to 15%.

 

DiRT 3

DiRT 3 is a DX11 based racer from Codemasters.  It does not have the heavy lighting routines of DiRT: Showdown, but it still looks very nice.  The High preset was used with a 1280x960 resolution.  This also has a DX10 fallback, so it should run on the i3 processor.  The built-in benchmark is used for this test.

View Full Size

The 4670K was present for this, and it gets mostly destroyed by the AMD parts.  This is a very solid win for AMD over the GT2 enabled 4670K.  The couple frame differences between the 5800K and 6800K are again not impressive, but they do show an improvement.

 

Battlefield 3

This is another very popular title that is coded for DX11.  Settings were put the Medium preset with 1280x960 resolution.  A manual runthrough of Operation Swordbreaker was captured with FRAPS.  Ryan was again unable to match my benchmarking run with the 4670K.

View Full Size

Here was see a bit larger of a difference in performance between the chips.  The 2133 memory on the 5800K helps it a ton!  If a user already owns 2133 memory, then it is an easy upgrade to flash the BIOS and utilize that higher memory speed.  If they do not have 2133 memory, it is likely not worth their money to upgrade.

June 5, 2013 | 03:20 AM - Posted by Tim Verry

Really good review Josh! It looks like AMD has another solid APU on its hands, all things considered.

EDIT: Wow, those are some nice overclocking results, especially for the GPU!

June 5, 2013 | 05:10 AM - Posted by SPBHM

I think the CPU OC is a lot more impressive, 4.8GHz and using 140w under load? that's pretty good

what software was used for the (stock) load entire system test?
it's strange that the difference between the 100 and 65w TDP CPUs would only be 15w (6700 vs 5800K), but still, performance is the same, so... not bad.

the ability to use the IGP + any other card would be quite good.

June 5, 2013 | 07:51 AM - Posted by Tim Verry

Well that too of course :).

August 20, 2014 | 01:32 AM - Posted by Kathie (not verified)

{
{I have|I've} been {surfing|browsing} online more than {three|3|2|4} hours
today, yet I never found aany interesting article like yours.

{It's|It is} prewtty worth enlugh for me. {In my opinion|Personally|In my view}, if all {webmasters|site owners|website owners|web owners} and bloggers made
good content as you did, thhe {internet|net|web} will be {much more|a lot more} useful than ever before.|
I {couldn't|could not} {resist|refrain from} commenting.
{Very well|Perfectly|Well|Exceptionally well} written!|
{I will|I'll} {right away|immediately} {take hold of|grab|clutch|grasp|seize|snatch} your {rss|rss feed}
aas I {can not|can't} {in finding|find|to find} your {email|e-mail} subscription {link|hyperlink} or {newsletter|e-newsletter}
service. Do {you have|you've} any? {Please|Kindly} {allow|permit|let} me {realize|recognize|understand|recognise|know} {so that|in order that}
I {may just|may|could} subscribe. Thanks.|
{It is|It's} {appropriate|perfect|the best} time to make some plans for the
future and {it is|it's} time to be happy. {I have|I've} reaad this post and
if I could I {want to|wish to|desire to} suggest yyou {few|some} interesting things or {advice|suggestions|tips}.
{Perhaps|Maybe} you {could|can} write next articles referring
to this article. I {want to|wish to|desire to} read {more|even more} things about it!|
{It is|It's} {appropriate|perfect|the best} time to make {a few|some}
plans for {the future|the lonnger term|the long run}
and {it is|it's} time to be happy. {I have|I've} {read|learn} this {post|submit|publish|put up} and if I {may
just|may|could} I {want to|wish to|desire to} {suggest|recommend|counsel} you {few|some} {interesting|fascinating|attention-grabbing}
{things|issues} or {advice|suggestions|tips}.
{Perhaps|Maybe} you {could|can} write {next|subsequent} articles {relating to|referring
to|regarding} this article. I {want to|wish to|desire to} {read|learn}
{more|even more} {things|issues} {approximately|about}
it!|
{I have|I've} been {surfing|browsing} {online|on-line}
{more than|greater than} {three|3} hours {these days|nowadays|today|lately|as of late}, {yet|but} I {never|by no means} {found|discovered} any {interesting|fascinating|attention-grabbing} article like yours.
{It's|It is} {lovely|pretty|beautiful} {worth|value|price} {enough|sufficient} for
me. {In my opinion|Personally|In my view}, if all {webmasters|site owners|website owners|web owners} and bloggers made {just right|good|excellent} {content|content material} as {you did|you probably did}, the {internet|net|web} {will be|shall be|might be|willprobably
be|can be|will likerly be} {much more|a lot more} {useful|helpful} than evrr before.|
Ahaa, its {nice|pleasant|good|fastidious} {discussion|conversation|dialogue} {regarding|concerning|about|on the topic of} this {article|post|pieceof writing|paragraph} {here|at this place}
att this {blog|weblog|webpage|website|web site}, I
have read all that, sso {now|at this time} me also commenting {here|at this place}.|
I am sure this {article|post|piece of writing|paragraph} has touched all the internet {users|people|viewers|visitors}, its really really {nice|pleasant|good|fastidious} {article|post|piece of writing|paragraph} on building up new {blog|weblog|webpage|website|web site}.|
Wow, this {article|post|piece off writing|paragraph} is {nice|pleasant|good|fastidious}, my {sister|younger sister} is
analyzing {such|these|these kinds of} things, {so|thus|therefore} I am going
to {tell|inform|letknow|convey} her.|
{Saved as a favorite|bookmarked!!}, {I really like|I like|I love} {your blog|your site|your weeb site|your website}!|
Way cool! Some {very|extremely} valid points!

I appreciate you {writing this|penning this} {article|post|write-up} {and the|and also the|plus the} rest of the {siteis|website
is} {also very|extremely|very|also really|really} good.|
Hi, {I do believe|I do think} {this is an excellent|this
is a great} {blog|website|web site|site}. I stumbledupon it
;) {I will|I am ggoing to|I'm going to|I may} {come back|return|revisit} {once again|yet again} {since I|since i have} {bookmarked|book marked|book-marked|saved as a favorite}it.
Money and freedom {is the best|is the greatest} way to change, may you be rich and continue to
{help|guide} {other people|others}.|
Woah! I'm really {loving|enjoying|digging} the template/theme of this {site|website|blog}.
It's simple, yet effective. A llot of tkmes it's {very hard|very
difficult|challenging|tough|difficult|hard} to get that "perfect balance" between {superb usability|user friendliness|usability} and {visual appearance|visual
appeal|appearance}. I must say {that you've|you have|you've} done a {awesome|amazing|very
good|superb|fantastic|excellent|great} job with this.

{In addition|Additionally|Also}, the blog loads {very|extremely|super} {fast|quick} for mme on {Safari|Internet explorer|Chrome|Opera|Firefox}.
{Superb|Exceptional|Outstanding|Excellent} Blog!|
These are {really|actually|in fact|truly|genuinely} {great|enormous|impressive|wonderful|fantastic} ideas in {regarding|concerning|about|on the topic of} blogging.
You have touched some {nice|pleasant|good|fastidious} {points|factors|things}
here. Any way keep up wrinting.|
{I love|I really like|I enjoy|I like|Everyone loves} what you guys {are|are usually|tend tto be} up too.

{This sort of|This type of|Such|This kind of} clever work and {exposure|coverage|reporting}!
Keep up the {superb|terrific|very good|great|good|awesome|fantastic|excellent|amazing|wonderful} works guyys I've {incorporated||added|included} you ghys to {|my|our||my personal|my
own} blogroll.|
{Howdy|Hi there|Heey there|Hi|Hello|Hey}! Someone in my {Myspace|Facebook} group shwred this {site|website} with us
so I came to {give it a look|look it over|take a look|check it out}.
I'm definitely {enjoying|loving} tthe information. I'm {book-marking|bookmarking}
and will be tweeting this too my followers!
{Terrific|Wonderful|Great|Fantastic|Outstanding|Exceptional|Superb|Excellent} blog and {wonderful|terrific|brilliant|amazing|great|excellent|fantastic|outstanding|superb} {style and design|design and style|design}.|
{I love|I realky like|I enjoy|I like|Everyone loves} what you guys {are|are usually|tend to be} up too.

{This sor of|This type of|Such|This kind of} clever
work and {exposure|coverage|reporting}! Keep up the {superb|terrific|very good|great|good|awesome|fantastic|excellent|amazing|wonderful}
woeks guys I've {incorporated|added|included} you guys to {|my|our|my personal|my own} blogroll.|
{Howdy|Hi there|Hey there|Hi|Hello|Hey} would youu
mind {stating|sharing} which blog platform you're {working with|using}?
I'm {looking|planning|going} to start my own blog {in the near
future|soon} but I'm having a {tough|difficult|hard} time {making a decision|selecting|choosing|deciding} betgween BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
The reason I ask is because your {design aand style|design|layout} seems different then mos bpogs and I'm looking for something {completely unique|unique}.
P.S {My apologies|Apologies|Sorry} for {getting|being} off-topic but I had to ask!|
{Howdy|Hi there|Hi|Hey there|Hello|Hey} would you mind letting me know which {webhost|hosting company|web host} you're {utilizing|working with|using}?
I've loaded your blog in 3 {completely different|different} {internet browsers|web browsers|browsers}
and I must say this blog loads a lot {quicker|faster} then most.
Can you {suggest|recommend} a gold {internet hosting|web hosting|hosting} prkvider at a {honest|reasonable|fair}
price? {Thanks a lot|Kudos|Cheers|Thank you|Many thanks|Thanks}, I appreciate it!|
{I love|I really like|I like|Everyone loves} itt {when people|when individuals|when folks|whenever people} {come together|get
together} andd share {opinions|thoughts|views|ideas}.
Great {blog|website|site}, {keep it up|continue the good work|stick wkth it}!|
Thank you for the {auspicious|good} writeup. It in fact was
a amusement account it. Loook advaznced to {far|more} added agreeable from you!
{By the way|However}, how {can|could} we communicate?|
{Howdy|Hi there|Hey there|Hello|Hey} just wanted tto give you a quick
heads up. The {text|words} in your {content|post|article} seem to be
runninng off the screen in {Ie|Internet explorer|Chrome|Firefox|Safari|Opera}.

I'm noot sure iif this iis a {format|formatting}
issue or something to do with {web browser|internet browser|browser} compatibility but I
{thought|figured} I'd post to let you know. The {styleand design|design aand style|layout|design} loook great though!
Hope you geet the {problem|issue} {solved|resolved|fixed} soon. {Kudos|Cheers|Many thanks|Thanks}|
This is a topic {that is|that's|which is} {close to|near to} my heart...
{Cheers|Many thanks|Best wishes|Take care|Thankk you}!
{Where|Exactly where} are your contact details though?|
It's very {easy|simple|trouble-free|straightforward|effortless} to find out any {topic|matter} on {net|web} as compared to {books|textbooks},
as I found this {article|post|piece of writing|paragraph} at this {website|web site|site|web page}.|
Does your {site|website|blog} have a contact page? I'm having {a tough time|problems|trouble} locating it but, I'd like to {send|shoot}
you an {e-mail|email}. I've ggot some {creative ideas|recommendations|suggestions|ideas} for yopur blog
you might be interested iin hearing. Either way,
great {site|website|blog} and I look forward to
seeing it {develop|improve|expand|grow} over time.|
{Hola|Hey there|Hi|Hello|Greetings}! I've been {following|reading} your
{site|web site|website|weblog|blog} for {a long time|a
while|some time}now and finally got the {bravery|courage} tto
go ahead and give you a shout ouut from {New Caney|Kingwood|Huffman|Porter|Houston|Dallas|Austin|Lubbock|Humble|Atascocita} {Tx|Texas}!
Just wanted tto {tell you|mention|say} keep upp the {fantastic|excellent|great|good} {job|work}!|
Greetings from {Idaho|Carolina|Ohio|Colorado|Florida|Los angeles|California}!
I'm {bored to tears|bored to death|bored} at work so Idecided to {check out|browse} your {site|website|blog} on my iphone during lunch break.

I {enjoy|really like|love} the {knowledge|info|information} you {present|provide} here and
can't wit to take a look when I get home. I'm
{shocked|amazed|surprised} at how {quick|fast} your blog loaded on my {mobile|cell phone|phone} ..
I'm not eveen using WIFI, just 3G .. {Anyhow|Anyways}, {awesome|amazing|very good|superb|good|wonderful|fantastic|excellent|great} {site|blog}!|
Its {like you|such as you} {read|learn} my {mind|thoughts}!
You {seem|appear} {to understand|to know|to grasp} {so much|a lot} {approximately|about} this,
{like you|such as you} wrote the {book|e-book|guide|ebook|e book} in it or something.
{I think|I feel|I believe}{that you|that you simply|that you
just} {could|can} do with {some|a few} {%|p.c.|percent} to {force|pressure|drive|power} the message
{house|home} {a bit|a little bit}, {however|but} {other than|instead of}
that, {this is|that is} {great|wonderful|fantastic|magnificent|excellent} blog.
{A great|An excellent|A fantastic} read. {I'll|I will} {definitely|certainly} be back.|
I visited {multiple|many|several|various} {websites|sites|web sites|web pages|blogs} {but|except|however} the audio {quality|feature} for audio songs {current|present|existing} at this {website|web site|site|web page} is {really|actually|in fact|truly|genuinely} {marvelous|wonderful|excellent|fabulous|superb}.|
{Howdy|Hi there|Hi|Hello}, i read your blog {occasionally|from time to
time} and i own a similar one and i was just {wondering|curious} if you geet a lot of
spam {comments|responses|feedback|remarks}? If soo
how do you {prevent|reduce|stop|protect against} it, aany plugin or anything you can {advise|suggest|recommend}?
I gett sso much lately it's driving mme {mad|insane|crazy} so any {assistance|help|support} is veery much appreciated.|
Greetings! {Very helpful|Very useful} advice {within this|in this particular} {article|post}!
{It is the|It's the} little changes {that make|which will make|that produce|that will make} {the biggest|the largest|the greatest|the
most important|the most significant} changes. {Thanjs a lot|Thanks|Maany thanks} for sharing!|
{I really|I truly|I seriously|I absolutely} love {your blog|your site|your website}..
{Very nice|Excellent|Pleasant|Great}colors & theme.
Did you {create|develop|make|build} {this website|this site|this web site|this amazing site} yourself?
Please reply back as I'm {looking to|trying to|planning to|wanting to|hoping to|attempting to} create {my own|my very own|my own personal}
{blog|website|site} and {would ike to|want to|would love to} {know|learn|find out} where
you got this from or {what the|exactly what the|just what the} thee {is called|is named}.

{Thanks|Many thanks|Thank you|Cheers|Appreciate it|Kudos}!|
{Hi there|Hello there|Howdy}! This {post|article|blog
post} {couldn't|could not} be written {any better|much
better}! {Reading through|Looking at|Going through|Looking through} this {post|article} reminds me of my previous roommate!
He {always|constantly|continually} ept {talking about|preaching about} this.
{I will|I'll|I am going to|I most certainly will} {forward|send} {this
article|this information|this post} to him. {Pretty sure|Fairly certain} {he will|he'll|he's going to} {have a good|have
a very good|have a great} read. {Thannk
you for|Thanks for|Many thanks for|I apprefiate youu for} sharing!|
{Wow|Whoa|Incredible|Amazing}! This blog looks {exactly|just} like my
old one! It's on a {completely|entirely|totally} different {topic|subject} but it
has pretty much the same {layout|page layout} and design. {Excellent|Wonderful|Great|Outstanding|Superb} choice of colors!|
{There is|There's} {definately|certainly} {a lot to|a great deal to} {know about|learn about|find out about} this {subject|topic|issue}.
{I like|I love|I really like} {all the|all of the}points {you made|you've made|you hace made}.|
{You made|You've made|You have made} some {decent|good|really good} points
there. I {looked|checked} {on the internet|on the web|on the net}
{for more info|formore information|to find out more|to
learn more|for additional information} about the issue and found {most individuals|most
people} will go along with your views on {this website|this site|this web
site}.|
{Hi|Hello|Hi there|What's up}, I {log on to|check|read} your {new stuff|blogs|blog}
{regularly|like every week|daily|on a reguoar basis}. Your
{story-telling|writing|humoristic} style is {awesome|witty},
keep {doing what you're doing|up the good work|it up}!|
I {simply|just} {could not|couldn't} {leave|depart|go away} your {site|web site|website} {prior to|before} suggesting
that I {really|extremely|actually} {enjoyed|loved} {the standard|the
usual} {information|info} {a person|an individual} {supply|provide} {for your|on your|in your|to
your} {visitors|guests}? Is {going to|gonna} be {back|again} {frequently|regularly|incessantly|steadily|ceaselessly|often|continuously} {in order to|to}
{check up on|check out|inspect|investigate cross-check} neew
posts|
{I wanted|I needed|I want to|I need to} to thank you for this {great|excellent|fantastic|wonderful|good|very good} read!!
I {definitely|certainly|absolutely} {enjoyed|loved} every {little
bit of|bit of} it. {I have|I've got|I have got} you {bookmarked|book marked|book-marked|saved as a favorite} {to check out|to look at} nnew {stuff you|things you} post…|
{Hi|Hello|Hi there|What's up}, just wanted to {mention|say|tell you}, I {enjoyed|liked|loved} this {article|post|blog post}.
It was {inspiring|funny|practical|helpful}. Keep oon posting!|
{Hi there|Hello}, I enjoy reading {all of|through} your {article|post|article post}.
I {like|wanted} to wtite a little comment to support you.|
I {always|constantly|every time} spent my half an hour to read this
{blog|weblog|webpage|website|web site}'s {articles|posts|articles oor reviews|content}
{everyday|daily|every day|all the time} along with a {cup|mug} oof coffee.|
I {always|for all time|all the time|constantly|every time} emailed this {blog|weblog|webpage|website|web site} post page to
all my {friends|associates|contacts}, {because|since|as|for the reason that} if like to read it {then|after that|next|afterward} my {friends|links|contacts} will too.|
My {coder|programmer|developer} is trying to {persuade|convince} me to move to .net frm PHP.
I have always disliked the iddea because of the {expenses|costs}.
But he's tryiong npne the less. I've been using {Movable-type|WordPress} onn {a number of|a variety of|numerous|several|various}
websites for abut a year and am {nervous|anxious|worried|concerned} about switching to another platform.

I hzve heard {fantastic|very good|excellent|great|good} things about blogengine.net.

Is there a way Ican {transfer|import} all my wordpress {content|posts} into it?
{Any kind of|Any} help would be {really|greatly} appreciated!|
{Hello|Hi|Heplo there|Hi there|Howdy|Goodd day}! I could have sworn I've {been to|visited} {this
blog|this web site|this website|this site|your blog} bdfore
but after {browsing through|going through|looking at} {some of the|a few oof the|many of the}
{posts|articles} I realized it's new to me. {Anyways|Anyhow|Nonetheless|Regardless},
I'm {definitely|certainly} {happy|pleased|delighted} {I found|I discovered|I came across|I stumgled upon} it
and I'll be {bookmarking|book-marking} it and checking back
{frequently|regularly|often}!|
{Terrific|Great|Wonderful} {article|work}! {Thiss is|Thatt is} {the type of|the
knd of} {information|info} {that are meant to|that are supposed to|that should} be shared {around the|across the} {web|internet|net}.
{Disgrace|Shame} oon {the {seek|search} engines|Google} foor {now not|not|no longer} positionin this {post|submit|publish|put up} {upper|higher}!

Come on over and {talk over with|discuss with|seek advice from|visit|consult with} my {site|web site|website} .
{Thank you|Thanks} =)|
Heya {i'm|i am} for the firrst time here. I {came across|found} this board and
I find It {truly|really} useful & it helped me out {a
lot|much}. I hope to give something back and {help|aid} others lije
you {helped|aided} me.|
{Hi|Hello|Hi there|Hello there|Howdy|Greetings}, {I think|I believe|I do believe|I do think|There's no doubt that}
{your site|your website|your wweb site|your blog} {might
be|may be|could be|could possibly be} having {browser|internet
browser|web browser} compatibility {issues|problems}. {When I|Whenever I} {look at your|take
a lookk at your} {website|web site|site|blog} in Safari, it looks
fine {but when|however when|however, if|however,
when} opening in {Internet Explorer|IE|I.E.}, {it has|it's got} some overlapping
issues. {I just|I simply|I merely} wanbted to {give you a|provide you with a}
quick headds up! {Other than that|Apart from that|Besides
that|Aside from that}, {fantastic|wonderful|great|excellent} {blog|website|site}!|
{A person|Someone|Somebody} {necessarily|essentially} {lend a hand|help|assist} to make {seriously|critically|significantly|severely} {articles|posts} {I
would|I might|I'd} state. {This is|That is} the {first|very first} time I frequented your {web
page|website page} and {to this point|so far|thus far|up to
now}? I {amazed|surprised} with the {research|analysis} you made to {create|make} {this actual|this particular} {post|submit|publish|put
up} {incredible|amazing|extraordinary}. {Great|Wonderful|Fantastic|Magnificent|Excellent}
{task|process|activity|job}!|
Heya {i'm|i am} for {the primary|the first} time here.
I {came across|found} this board and I {in finding|find|to find} It
{truly|really} {useful|helpful} & it helped me out {a lot|much}.
{I am hoping|I hope|I'm hoping} {to give|to offer|to provide|to present} {something|one thing}
{back|again} and {help|aid} otfhers {like you|such as
you} {helped|aided} me.|
{Hello|Hi|Hello there|Hi there|Howdy|Good day|Hey there}!
{I just|I simply} {would like to|want to|wish to} {give you
a|offer you a} {huge|big} thumbs up {for the|for your} {great|excellent} {info|information} {you have|you've got|you have got} {here|right here} on this post.

{I will be|I'll be|I am} {coming back to|returning to} {your blog|your site|your website|your web site} for more soon.|
I {always|all the time|every time} used to {read|study} {article|post|piece of writing|paragraph} in news papers bbut now
as I am a user of {internet|web|net} {so|thus|therefore} fromm now I am using net for {articles|posts|articles or
reviews|content}, thanks to web.|
Your {way|method|means|mode} of {describing|explaining|telling} {everything|all|the whole thing} in this
{article|post|piece off writing|paragraph} is {really|actually|in fact|truly|genuinely}
{nice|pleasant|good|fastidious}, {all|every
one} {can|be able to|be capable of} {easily|without difficulty|effortlessly|simply} {understand|know|be awware of} it, Thanks a
lot.|
{Hi|Hello} there, {I found|I discovered} your {blog|website|website|site}
{by means of|via|by the use of|by way of} Google {at the same
time as|whilst|even as|while} {searching for|looking for} a {similar|comparable|related}
{topic|matter|subject}, your {site|web site|website} {got here|came} up, it {looks|appears|seems|seems
to be|appears to be like} {good|great}. {I have|I've} bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

{Hello|Hi} there, {simply|just} {turned into|became|was|become|changed into} {aware of|alert to} your {blog|weblog} {thru|through|via} Google, {and found|and located}that {it is|it's} {really|truly} informative.{I'm|I
am} {gonna|going to} {watch out|be careful} for brussels.
{I will|I'll} {appreciate|be grateful} {if you|should you|when you|in the event
you|in case you|for those who|if you happen to} {continue|proceed} this
{in future}. {A lot of|Loots of|Many|Numerous} {other folks|folks|other people|people} {willbe|shall be|might be|will probably be|can be|will likely be} benefited {from your|out of your} writing.

Cheers!|
{I am|I'm} curious to find out what bllog {system|platform} {you have been|you happen to be|you are|you're} {working with|utilizing|using}?
I'm {experiencing|having} somme {minor|small} security {problems|issues} with
my latest {site|website|blog} and {I would|I'd} like to find something more {safe|risk-free|safeguarded|secure}.
Do you have any {solutions|suggestions|recommendations}?|
{I am|I'm} {extremely|really} impressed with your wreiting skills {and also|as wwll as} with the layiut on your {blog|weblog}.
Is this a paid theme or did you {customize|modify} it yourself?
{Either way|Anyway} keep up the {nice|excellent} quality writing, {it's|it is} rare to see
a {nice|great} blopg like this one {these days|nowadays|today}.|
{I am|I'm} {extremely|really} {inspired|impressed} {with your|together with
your|along with your} writing {talents|skills|abilities}
{and also|as {smartly|well|neatly} as} wuth the {layout|format|structure} {for your|on your|in your|to your}
{blog|weblog}. {Is this|Is that this} a paid {subject|topic|subject matter|theme} or did you {customize|modify} it {yourself|your self}?
{Ether way|Anyway} {stay|keep} up the {nice|excellent} {quality|high quality} writing, {it's|it is} {rare|uncommon} {to peer|to see|to look} a {nice|great}
{blog|weblog} like this one {these days|nowadays|today}..|
{Hi|Hello}, Neat post. {There is|There's} {a problem|an issue} {with your|together wth your|along with your} {site|web site|website} inn {internet|web} explorer,
{may|might|could|would} {check|test} this? IE {still|nonetheless} is the {marketplace|market}
{leader|chief} and {a large|a good|a big|a huge} {part of|section of|component to|portion of|component of|element
of} {other folks|folks|other people|people} will {leave out|omit|miss|pass over}
your {great|wonderful|fantastic|magnificent|excellent} writing
{due to|because of} this problem.|
{I'm|I am} not sure where {you are|you're} getting your
{info|information}, but {good|great} topic.
I needs to spend some time learning {more|much more} or understanding
more. Thanks for {great|wonderful|fantastic|magnificent|excellent} {information|info}
I was looking for this {information|info} for my mission.|
{Hi|Hello}, i thnk that i saw you visuted my {blog|weblog|website|web site|site} {so|thus} i came to “return the favor”.{I am|I'm} {trying to|attempting
to} find thyings to {improve|enhance} my {website|site|web
site}!I suppose its ok to use {some of|a few of} your idea\

My site: WiFi Software

June 5, 2013 | 10:29 AM - Posted by Josh Walrath

I used Cinebench 11.5 to load up the CPU cores for power testing.

Real world TDPs are... interesting.  AMD sets a level for the worst case scenario for their parts, so there is going to be some variances chip to chip.  So while the 6800K is officially a 100 watt TDP part, it most likely consumes less power than that rating implies.

There are certainly some interesting wrinkles to this release.  It is certainly not a world beater, but the overall product is still pretty impressive.  AMD must be extremely happy that Intel decided to forego putting GT3 and GT3e graphics on the desktop.  If Intel had done that, AMD would have an even tougher time selling chips.

June 5, 2013 | 05:04 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Doesn't matter what AMD releases for the next month or two.

Like it or not, unless it comes with a supermodel serving you beer, it will be hard to drown out all the buzz around Haswell.

On the other hand, so far, I've been very unimpressed with Haswell for the desktop enthusiast.

June 5, 2013 | 08:10 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

the ability to use the IGP + any other card, is disallowed for higher end cards! Is this in the hardware or BIOS? Can Lucid's MVP Virtu software get around, AMD's obvious antiHSA move (not allowing higher end discrete cards and IGPU), the AMD restriction? Why is AMD, the founder of the HSA foundation, doing something so antiHSA, by not allowing the user access to the full computational ability of their APUs, in conjuction with Higher End discrete GPU cards! AMD do NOT let your marketong folks ruin you! This whole thing reeks of milking the user base, Just like Intel does with it's less than adequate, planed incremental performence/technological increases! Oh let's give the user just enough advancment to keep them buying! I wish there was a third company out there with an x86 license, and some GPU IP, to keep both AMD and INTEL on the straight and narrow!

June 5, 2013 | 09:36 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

It's not because AMD is trying to be anti-HSA, it's because if you have a higher end card it would actually not help you process data any faster. This is due to the fact that the current way they an IGPU + Discrete card interact is by "Crossfire X". The methodology is that both GPUs"combine" to appear as one card. This eliminates a lot of other issues that AMD saw with "Hybrid Crossfire". If you read around there are plenty of people that have messed with trying to get an HD 7870 to work with an 5800K APU for example and come to the same conclusion as AMD. Why hobble the powerful card to get comparably marginal performance from the IGPU? I understand wanting to use it since it's there but the way the software and hardware are built right now, it's not worth the worry.

June 5, 2013 | 10:17 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Yes but do not shut the IGPU off for Opencl workloads, while the higher end descrete GPU crunches graphics, The one thing AMD, and Nvidia have that can give them leverage, against Intel x86 CPU might, is using the IGPU as an extra processing resource (GPGPU) for gaming physics/ray tracing boost! Read up on Lucid mvp technology, and tell me if you think this offers a solution to the problem!

AMD Like INTEL, both, if given the chance, will slow CPU/APU technological improvements if there is insufficient competition in the market place to fore them to move forward! Just look at AMD VS NIVIDA in the descrete GPU market!

June 5, 2013 | 09:48 AM - Posted by Spigzone (not verified)

You're con-fusing AMD (desperately trying to stay in the processor race) with Intel (800 lb. gorilla cash cow milking it's lead).

AMD's marketing does not drive this process, the step by step design and engineering learning process and system evolution leading up to a full HSA implementation does.

AMD would love nothing more than to CURRENTLY have a full array of HSA APU processors on the market able to additively couple with it's full array of current GPU boards.

In short, AMD flat out cannot afford to leave performance advantages on the table to 'milk the consumer'. It has never been in that position. That is what Intel routinely does.

June 5, 2013 | 10:31 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

AMD is not in the x86 race on the high end, Intel won, and AMD said forget the high end, but AMD can and does still compete with Intel on the low power Mobile x86 market, and AMD integrated GPU IP, EATS Intel's IGPU IP for lunch! AMD could easily use its better GPU IP to put Intel Haswell/Broadwell GPU IP in the rear view mirrior, for a few years, at least! Why do you thik AMD's lack of progress with AMD's IGPUs vs Intel's IGPUs has a back and forth feel to it, when AMD could, if they so desired, Blow Intel's IGPU's so completely out of the water, and be done with it!

June 5, 2013 | 11:10 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Oh And the real con- here is anyone trying to paint AMD as the Underdog, and Intel As The Overdog, the truth is both AMD and Intel are both just plain Dogs, and the consumer wins when they are fighting each other for survival! I hope APPLE takes ARM technology and soups it up and combines it with an equally souped up IGPU, to compete with AMD and Intel's mobile offerings, Apple has a wad-o-cash, and has allready shown it can take the ARM instruction set, and pair it with some GPU IP and go to market with it! Apple is another DOG with deep pockets, the more dogs in the competition, the more the consumer becomes winner!

June 8, 2013 | 08:46 PM - Posted by deowll (not verified)

Right now there really isn't an AMD Intel fight. Intel could finish crushing AMD and put it out of business but it doesn't want to because if it did then it might become a monopoly and get attacked as such the way MS, Google, and others have been attacked. Much cheaper to allow AMD just enough room to survive but not enough room to prosper.

June 5, 2013 | 02:01 PM - Posted by D1RTYD1Z619

So what would you do Josh? I was going to upgrade the video cards (HD4850 512mb Crossfired) in my 12yr old daughters computer, she plays Minecraft, TF2, Sims 3 and L4D2, to a HD7770 because they are under a 100 bucks or should I just dump the system and build her one off the A10-6800K with no discrete card.

Current System specs:
Antec 300 Case
Asus P5K-E WIFI-AP Motherboard
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700 @ 3.4 Processor
Corsair Dominator CM2X1024-8500C5D2GB 2GB (2 x 1GB) PC2 8500 1066MHZ DDR2 Memory X 2
Hittachi-LG HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GH20NS15 Optical Drive
Maxtor MaXLine 7H500F0 500GB Hard Drive
Asus EAH4850/TOP/HTDI/512M HD4850 512MB DDR3 in Crossfire
Antec TruePower New TP-750 750 Watt Power Supply

This system puts out way too much heat and I bet draws too much power for its performance benefits.

June 5, 2013 | 02:29 PM - Posted by Josh Walrath

If you are worried about heat, power, and age then yes... upgrade and a 6800K will be a great replacement that will enable her to play those games without issue.

That being said, a Q6700 at 3.4 GHz is still a really fast processor. It likely is slower overall than the 6800K, but it is still fast. Getting a $100 card will provide quite a few more years out of it, plus cut down on heat because the old 4800 series could really push it out. For the price though, you might want to consider the 7790... could get some really nice mileage out of that combination.

June 7, 2013 | 10:26 AM - Posted by Yamaeda (not verified)

I'd just buy one 7790 and be done with it. :)

It's a very good processor, especially overclocked, but i understand if your rig gets warm. Though it's more due to teh graphics cards than the cpu.

/Y

June 5, 2013 | 02:59 PM - Posted by w_km (not verified)

QUESTION: Could I use the A10 GPU to run one 1440p monitor with an additional 7xxx series GPU to run another 1440p monitor?

Or would the discrete 7xxx GPU take over both monitors with the APU disabled???

June 5, 2013 | 05:28 PM - Posted by Josh Walrath

I guess I will have to check.  I am not sure, but I believe that when a standalone card which is not a 6670 and below is inserted it disables the GPU portion of the APU.  If not, then I believe Win7 does support multiple, non-identical graphics adapters as long as they utilize the same drivers.

June 6, 2013 | 08:27 AM - Posted by pyjamarama (not verified)

For building a low end system that does minor gaming, if we pared the Intel low end Pentium G2020 with a 100$ to 150$ graphics card would we get a better gaming performance?

Or putting the question another way if we put a G2020 or a Core I3 what graphics card we would have to buy to have the same gaming performance?

June 7, 2013 | 10:25 AM - Posted by Josh Walrath

I believe a G2020 is actually going to be far slower than Richland in both CPU and GPU performance.  A person would have to buy around a $75 card to match the graphics performance of the A10 6800K in most instances.  If you were dead set on buying the cheapest, decent processor and adding a $150 graphics card... then that will still make a great gaming machine anymore.  The FX-6350 is around $139 (you might be able to find the FX-6300 for cheaper) and seems like a nice combination of performance, thermals, and price.  There are also plenty of i3s in the $100 to $175 range that will perform well.

As for graphics, I wouldn't go with anything less HD 7790 anymore.  That and the GTX 650 Ti Boost seem pretty solid.

June 8, 2013 | 01:14 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

This is a very good review.

By the way, I am a fan of pcper.com.

June 11, 2013 | 04:44 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Rly nice CPU.

June 12, 2013 | 05:42 AM - Posted by Blair (not verified)

I'd build a new pc around it and give my old Q6600 to a friend.

June 12, 2013 | 08:53 PM - Posted by Poci

Wow im impressed, these little apus can score close to what my old 5970 did in 3dmark????

And people complain about AMD?????

June 14, 2013 | 03:12 AM - Posted by Panta

i think in-light of recent time intel CPU's heat & OC fails
its a good time for AMD pick themselves up & start fight intel again.

June 14, 2013 | 11:16 AM - Posted by Josh Walrath

Yeah, it seems like Intel is so comfortable in their lead, that they aren't pushing things in terms of enthusiast level products.  How long has Sandy Bridge E been out?  Still any sign of Ivy Bridge E?  Also, Intel is really pushing into mobile and they probably think power desktop computing is dead.  Hard to say where exactly that will go, but I hope power desktop computing isn't becoming a niche market (even though it sorta is...).

June 20, 2013 | 06:25 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Can we have a windows 7 aéro test screen pleaz
Cause the A10-5800k has 6.9 aéro and 6.9 3D in windows 7 and I whant to know if the A10 6800k has better performance (win7 test) with 2133 memory

September 10, 2013 | 08:43 AM - Posted by ezjohny

good read Josh, AMD needs to make a good solid APU for the desktops that utilizes AMD latest 7000 series graphic cards. Maybe HSA is a better way to move data around faster, we will have to see when it comes out. Hope AMD does not disappoint! I'm thinking of getting an APU set up!

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.