Review Index:
Feedback

MSI A88X-G45 Gaming Assassin's Creed Edition Review

Author: Josh Walrath
Subject: Motherboards
Manufacturer: MSI

Test Setup and Errata

This is only the second FM2+ board that I have reviewed, so the results will be compared using only the A10-7850K and the Gigabyte G1.Sniper.A88X.  I am still using Win7 64 bit for these tests, but in the near future I will be transitioning my testing environment to Win 8.1.  Differences in performance between the two operating systems should not impact the overall performance of these boards as compared to each other.

View Full Size

Navigating the UEFI is easy with a keyboard and mouse.  Every major setting can be found under... settings.  Overclocking is done through, you guessed it, the OC Tab!

I previously covered running the A10-7850K fully enabled with a standalone NVIDIA based video card, but those results were not included here.  If you are curious how that combination works, then look it up here.  In my testing the 7850K has no problem running with a standalone video card, though users should be careful with the order of installation and firmware settings.

View Full Size

Programmable fan control is a must for power users.  MSI offers such support in the UEFI.

I only tested the MSI A88X-G45 with the A10-7850K.  As a rule of thumb, the A10-6800K was slightly faster in CPU applications, but the integrated GPU performance is far lower than what the 7850K offers.  The G1.Sniper.A88X was tested with both the 7850K and 6800K.

 

Testing Components

AMD A10-7850K

AMD A10-6800K

2 x 4 GB AMD Radeon DDR-3 2133 Memory

WD Caviar 1 TB Black HD OS Drive

Samsung 840 Pro 256 GB SSD (SATA 6G and USB 3.0 Tests)

Sharkoon USB 3.0 SATA 6G Dock

Lite-On BD-ROM

Coolermaster CM 690 II Advanced Case

Corsair TX-750W Power Supply

Win7 Pro

Catalyst 14.6 RC Drivers

July 23, 2014 | 05:06 PM - Posted by RedShirt (not verified)

I think what everyone wants to know is... where is the CMOS battery located?

:)

July 23, 2014 | 05:25 PM - Posted by Josh Walrath

If you bothered to read... it is in the optimal position for a cmos battery.  Excellent placement, solid holder, and easy to access.  What more could one want from a cmos battery?

July 24, 2014 | 08:24 AM - Posted by RedShirt (not verified)

Well I clearly fail at comprehension!

Also failed at 'CTRL-F'ing CMOS just incase I failed at reading.

I suppose if you're going to fail you may as well do it right!

July 24, 2014 | 09:29 AM - Posted by Josh Walrath

Hey, only 1 in 10 knows what ctrl-f does!  Hell, I didn't!  Talk about a f-up...

July 23, 2014 | 05:56 PM - Posted by Sean Sinha (not verified)

By the Southbridge heatsink. Just look at the board for a minute next time...

July 23, 2014 | 05:58 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Can you calm down please?

July 23, 2014 | 06:02 PM - Posted by JxcelDolghmQ (not verified)

First page, second to last paragraph: "Hippon Chemi-con". Did you mean Nippon or is this some new startup I've never heard of?

1.288v for the maximum overclock seems a bit low, people were regularly giving Piledriver chips 1.5v, even on air. Is this just the standard voltage range for Steamroller? What cooler did you use? How is the power consumption when overclocked?

Good review and motherboard, 4.7ghz on a 4 phase board is certainly impressive.

July 25, 2014 | 11:22 AM - Posted by Josh Walrath

I believe it is in fact Nippon Chemi-con... mistyped that.

AMD scales the voltage up and down, so that screenshot of the overclock had the voltage down.  I believe that the actual peak voltage was around 1.45 (I used an offset of around 0.15v in the firmware).  I used one of the larger AMD stock coolers for the FX-8350.  Temps never got higher than 55C on a warm day and overclocked.  Power consumption did increase by about 30 watts.

July 23, 2014 | 11:08 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Got a bulldog in my Learjet
Gonna teach him how to fly!
By myself...

July 23, 2014 | 11:11 PM - Posted by dave (not verified)

Does it have a Discharge Button?

July 24, 2014 | 12:01 AM - Posted by Josh Walrath

Sadly... it does not.

July 24, 2014 | 05:36 PM - Posted by David Kollar (not verified)

Sorry Josh...but why you even bother write review, if this board dosn't have such essential futures like discharge button...i just dont get it...((-:LOL...very nice review BTW.

July 24, 2014 | 02:33 AM - Posted by AbhishekS (not verified)

How unfortunate thet this will never be launched in India.:(

July 24, 2014 | 06:22 PM - Posted by SHRAPNOL (not verified)

HEY CAN I USE MY FX-6300 ON THIS BOARD I HAVE A MSI R9 270X
BUT IN A ASUS BOARD WANT A MSI BOARDANY COMMENTS WOULD HELP

July 24, 2014 | 06:38 PM - Posted by Josh Walrath

Nope, FX-6300 is AM3+ while this is a FM2+ motherboard.  Totally different sockets, so the AM3+ FX chips will not run in it.

July 25, 2014 | 02:51 AM - Posted by abhishek

The MSI 970 Gaming mitherboard will be out soon, it will run the FX-6300 like a charm.

July 26, 2014 | 08:51 AM - Posted by sixstringrick

but where is the discharge button?

July 27, 2014 | 09:48 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I expect that MSI ensures the box contents .. no insurance req.
Where the m-itx beef? amd + m-itx ??

July 28, 2014 | 12:37 PM - Posted by Josh Walrath

Heh, insure/ensure can be somewhat interchangeable... depending on usage.  I guaruntee it?

Gigabyte has a nice m-itx A88X board.  I'm using it for an upcoming review this week.  Not sure if other manufacturers see m-itx boards for AMD as a profitable endeavor.

August 3, 2014 | 02:00 PM - Posted by Bruce Keegan (not verified)

Josh, I just completed a ASROCK A88X-itx build with a A10-7870K. 2400Mhz Team memory. When the APU is bumped up to 4.2Ghz I was amazed how responsive this thing was. I had 6 video streams open and 2 music files playing while I opened 10 more web pages, smooth as silk.

August 5, 2014 | 04:58 PM - Posted by Josh Walrath

Very nice!  I just wish AMD would start pumping up the clockspeed on these Kaveri parts, but alas... they have yet to do so.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.