Review Index:
Feedback

Gigabyte GA-F2A85X-UP4 FM2 Motherboard Review: Overkill for Trinity?

Author: Josh Walrath
Subject: Motherboards
Manufacturer: Gigabyte

Results: Cinebench R11.529

 

This is a very CPU and memory intensive application, so it should theoretically show any minor differences between the two boards.

View Full Size

Yeah, pretty boring results.  They perform neck and neck.

February 15, 2013 | 05:55 PM - Posted by Sandy Bruce (not verified)

Nice board for FM2. One of the best I have seen. Good job Gigabyte. No AMD you need to make a monster chip for the FM2 socket. Maybe drop the Gpu part and pack more cores. a 6 core fm2 would be sweet

February 15, 2013 | 08:25 PM - Posted by orvtrebor

I think a Matx version with similar features and a slightly lower price tag would have made more sense.

Full Atx for an apu is hard to understand.

But I do like it overall, just too bad Trinity really can't take advantage of anything in the OC department.

February 16, 2013 | 02:01 AM - Posted by jedibeeftrix (not verified)

nice board, hopefully it will work with kaveri.

February 17, 2013 | 10:47 PM - Posted by theone2030

Looks like a good and solid motherboard but i lean more towards Asus plus if you get the F2A85-V PRO FM2 AMD A85X you also receive a bonus Razer Kraken pro headset ! id say thats a sweet deal :)http://event.asus.com/au/2013/FM2/

February 19, 2013 | 07:22 PM - Posted by gordenweb

This is what I plan on using on my next build. Love Gigabyte...
Gorden Web Design

March 8, 2013 | 04:03 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

No numbers? That makes this a sort of "general opinion" review?
Kind of like.. well...I like this one sort of better than that one?
Very strange.
I "kind of" wish I had the 5 minutes back.

March 8, 2013 | 06:04 PM - Posted by Josh Walrath

I see multiple benchmark pages in the review... are you not seeing them?

November 15, 2013 | 09:02 PM - Posted by howard (not verified)

I recently purchased one of these boards. The POST screen that is supposed to show on boot up is not visible. All we see is a black screen until the the message "Starting Windows" come on. After several attempts at entering the Bios program I did a bad thing. I tried to reset the bios using the bios reset button. The computer will not boot at all. So I wound up contacting the vendor. They sent me a new board. This one does the same thing. The screen that prompts to hit Del to enter setup never shows up.

Has anyone else experienced this ? If so what can I do?

December 13, 2013 | 07:53 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

as seen on a forum, just use a VGA cable to enter the bios, it appears that with hdmi the bios is not visible sometimes.

but i didn't test it myself.

a french guy trying to speak english ;)

December 20, 2013 | 03:31 PM - Posted by Mike D. (fadingbeleifs) (not verified)

I have this board with a A8 5600K APU, 3.6 GHz, 3.9GHz stock...im running rock solid stable @ 4.1GHz, 4.7GHz. i have a corsair H60 water cooler and 12GGB od corsair DDR3 1333MHz, radeon HD 7770 GHz edition, win7 HP x64, 1TB HDD, havent had any problems with it, been putting it thru the ringer for almost a year now, the board's bullet proof...the apu isnt bad either...awesome buy, and a new found love for gigabyte products

December 24, 2013 | 12:31 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Stopped by to check it out and found the aricle infomative enough for me to get the mb. Unfortunately some of the people commenting sound like they are as old as I am and quit learning a few years back. Thanks for rhe info.
David Leo Rice

January 5, 2014 | 09:25 AM - Posted by bgchip (not verified)

Just bought GA-F2A85X-UP4 mobo. What memory should I buy for it? Anybody recommend where I should buy it?

January 5, 2014 | 09:26 AM - Posted by bgchip (not verified)

Just bought GA-F2A85X-UP4 mobo. What memory should I buy for it? Anybody recommend where I should buy it? Thank you

January 10, 2014 | 04:01 AM - Posted by Esson (not verified)

@bgchip

use 2x4GB Kingston Memory with Clock of 1833Mhz

visit our Website at http://windoors.ph

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.