Review Index:
Feedback

Gigabyte G1.Sniper M3 LGA 1155 Micro ATX Motherboard Review

Author: Steve Grever
Subject: Motherboards
Manufacturer: Gigabyte

Synthetic CPU and Memory Tests

SiSoft Sandra 2012

The latest version of SiSoft Sandra offers up a lot of new features including compatibility updates for Sandy Bridge processors, media transcoding enhancements, Blu-Ray, and expanded GPGPU support. 


View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

We typically lead off our synthetic benchmarks with SiSoft Sandra 2012 that measures native processor and memory performance as well as other PC components. The Gigabyte G1.Sniper M3 was outperformed a bit by the P8Z77-V Deluxe in every category. The P8Z77-V scored over two percent higher than the G1.Sniper M3 in every SiSandra 2012 benchmark and the P8Z77-V's scores are consistent with other SiSandra benchmarks we ran with other motherboards sporting Z68 chipsets and i5-2500K. I'm not sure if there is an issue with the maturity of the G1.Sniper M3's drivers or BIOS, but it is lagging behind a bit in this benchmark.

July 3, 2012 | 10:09 AM - Posted by CoffeeKid

It would be nice if the comparison was against the ASUS Maximus V Gene. That way we can see two gaming z77 micro atx boards going head to head.

July 3, 2012 | 10:16 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

We are looking to have the board in very soon!!

July 3, 2012 | 10:53 AM - Posted by Chaitanya Shukla (not verified)

Did you notice any issues with the audio drivers? Creative is notorious for having a bad(unstable) drivers.

July 4, 2012 | 04:01 AM - Posted by rrr (not verified)

Great thing that mATX market seems to be thriving, and not just limited to ultra-low-end budget office mobos.

July 5, 2012 | 09:19 AM - Posted by chefbenito (not verified)

I definitely like this review and mATX z77. It would be great if we could push it a bit with a faster cpu/gpu config and then we can compare it to some other boards in its class. Not so sure a 5770 is uh, worthy?, either way good rev, def want to see what this board does with a fast kepler gpu and an IB part.

Thanks again!

July 15, 2012 | 03:19 PM - Posted by Steve Grever

I'd definitely like to use a higher-end GPU, but we try to evaluate the motherboard exclusively with mid-range hardware to differientate if the added performance comes from the mobo or the other hardware. =) 

July 9, 2012 | 04:02 PM - Posted by Branthog

I don't understand the market for mATX. Who is looking to make a high end gaming build -- possibly with multiple GPUs -- but has to make it in a very small form factor?!

July 15, 2012 | 03:06 PM - Posted by Steve Grever

My personal opinion is the micro ATX form factor caters mostly to LAN party gamers and HTPC builders because it is a smaller form factor that can be used in portable, lower-wattage PCs. They aren't typically used for "high end" gaming PCs, but more for gaming systems with single or dual graphics cards that aren't comparable to ATX-size boards with higher-end specs.

July 16, 2012 | 04:37 PM - Posted by Phillip Lee (not verified)

Steve - Was there contact between the CNPS12X cooler and video card? Is that why the 5770 was installed in the middle PCI express slot (x4) rather than the top PCI express x16 slot? I ask because I have this motherboard and am thinking of getting the same cooler. Any help would appreciated. Thanks

April 26, 2013 | 08:05 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

It says right on the motherboard PCIEX16, 4 and 8 - not 2x16 and 1x8.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.