Review Index:
Feedback

Gigabyte G1.Sniper M3 LGA 1155 Micro ATX Motherboard Review

Author: Steve Grever
Subject: Motherboards
Manufacturer: Gigabyte

PCMark Vantage

Futuremark's benchmark suite, PCMark Vantage, was released in 2010 we published an initial article on the new software that looked at some CPU performance as well as providing overviews for all the individual testing suites it uses and what kind of applications they emulate.  The new Vantage software takes a much more real-world user-scenario approach to testing that previous PCMark software and as such deserves more time our benchmark analysis. 


 

View Full Size

 

View Full Size

 

View Full Size

 

View Full Size

 

View Full Size

 

View Full Size

 

View Full Size

 

View Full Size

Our final synthetic benchmark is PCMark Vantage because it gives us a comprehensive outlook at how motherboards handle a variety of PC tasks that normal users do on a daily basis. The G1.Sniper M3 scored about six percent lower than the P8Z77-V Deluxe for this benchmark's overall score, but it did have a few highlights in the individual benchmark categories. The main categories it excelled in over the P8Z77-V Deluxe was hard drive (14 percent increase), music (2 percent increase), productivity (2 percent increase), and TV and movies (11.8 percent increase). One of the key reasons I believe it performed well in these specific categories is the addition of the Creative CA0132 chip instead of using other typical audio solutions from companies like Realtek. Overall, the G1.Sniper M3 is showcasing that is performs well for users who prefer high-definition gaming and multimedia performance enhancements that will ultimately give them a better gaming experience.

July 3, 2012 | 01:09 PM - Posted by CoffeeKid

It would be nice if the comparison was against the ASUS Maximus V Gene. That way we can see two gaming z77 micro atx boards going head to head.

July 3, 2012 | 01:16 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

We are looking to have the board in very soon!!

July 3, 2012 | 01:53 PM - Posted by Chaitanya Shukla (not verified)

Did you notice any issues with the audio drivers? Creative is notorious for having a bad(unstable) drivers.

July 4, 2012 | 07:01 AM - Posted by rrr (not verified)

Great thing that mATX market seems to be thriving, and not just limited to ultra-low-end budget office mobos.

July 5, 2012 | 12:19 PM - Posted by chefbenito (not verified)

I definitely like this review and mATX z77. It would be great if we could push it a bit with a faster cpu/gpu config and then we can compare it to some other boards in its class. Not so sure a 5770 is uh, worthy?, either way good rev, def want to see what this board does with a fast kepler gpu and an IB part.

Thanks again!

July 15, 2012 | 06:19 PM - Posted by Steve Grever

I'd definitely like to use a higher-end GPU, but we try to evaluate the motherboard exclusively with mid-range hardware to differientate if the added performance comes from the mobo or the other hardware. =) 

July 9, 2012 | 07:02 PM - Posted by Branthog

I don't understand the market for mATX. Who is looking to make a high end gaming build -- possibly with multiple GPUs -- but has to make it in a very small form factor?!

July 15, 2012 | 06:06 PM - Posted by Steve Grever

My personal opinion is the micro ATX form factor caters mostly to LAN party gamers and HTPC builders because it is a smaller form factor that can be used in portable, lower-wattage PCs. They aren't typically used for "high end" gaming PCs, but more for gaming systems with single or dual graphics cards that aren't comparable to ATX-size boards with higher-end specs.

July 16, 2012 | 07:37 PM - Posted by Phillip Lee (not verified)

Steve - Was there contact between the CNPS12X cooler and video card? Is that why the 5770 was installed in the middle PCI express slot (x4) rather than the top PCI express x16 slot? I ask because I have this motherboard and am thinking of getting the same cooler. Any help would appreciated. Thanks

April 26, 2013 | 11:05 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

It says right on the motherboard PCIEX16, 4 and 8 - not 2x16 and 1x8.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.