Review Index:
Feedback

Gigabyte G1.Sniper M3 LGA 1155 Micro ATX Motherboard Review

Author: Steve Grever
Subject: Motherboards
Manufacturer: Gigabyte

Gaming Tests


 

3DMark11

3DMark11 measures your PC’s gaming performance and makes extensive use of all the new features in DirectX 11 including tessellation, compute shaders, and multi-threading.

 

View Full Size


 


 

3DMark Vantage

A reliable and popular benchmark, 3DMark Vantage can provide a good insight into the overall gaming performance of a system.

 

View Full Size


 

Dirt 3

Dirt 3 is a rallying video game and the third in the Dirt series of the Colin McRae Rally series, developed and published by Codemasters. The game was released in Europe and North America on May 24, 2011.

 

View Full Size


 

Crysis 2

Crysis 2 is a first-person shooter video game developed by Crytek and published by Electronic Arts in March 2011 for Microsoft Windows. The game is the second installment of the Crysis series and is the sequel to the 2007 video game Crysis and its expansion Crysis Warhead.

 

View Full Size

Gamers are the primary demographic Gigabyte is marketing the G1.Sniper M3 toward so we chose a few of our favorite PC titles like Crysis 2 and Dirt 3 as well as a couple synthetic benchmarks like 3DMark11 and 3DMark Vantage to evaluate how it handles gaming in general. Overall, the results less than stellar compared to the P8Z77-V Deluxe. The G1.Sniper M3's scores were 2.8 percent lower in 3DMark11 and about 4.6 percent in 3DMark Vantage. In real-world testing, the results were much more comparable as the G1.Sniper M3 averaged about two frames per second lower in Dirt 3 and averaged one FPS higher in Crysis 2. While the synthetic gaming benchmarks suggest a larger performance gap between these two boards, the real-world testing paints a better picture of how these boards perform in actual games. I typically put more stock into real-world testing as a better measurement, so I'm going to give the G1.Sniper M3 higher marks in our evaluation of its prowess as a gamer-focused motherboard.

July 3, 2012 | 01:09 PM - Posted by CoffeeKid

It would be nice if the comparison was against the ASUS Maximus V Gene. That way we can see two gaming z77 micro atx boards going head to head.

July 3, 2012 | 01:16 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

We are looking to have the board in very soon!!

July 3, 2012 | 01:53 PM - Posted by Chaitanya Shukla (not verified)

Did you notice any issues with the audio drivers? Creative is notorious for having a bad(unstable) drivers.

July 4, 2012 | 07:01 AM - Posted by rrr (not verified)

Great thing that mATX market seems to be thriving, and not just limited to ultra-low-end budget office mobos.

July 5, 2012 | 12:19 PM - Posted by chefbenito (not verified)

I definitely like this review and mATX z77. It would be great if we could push it a bit with a faster cpu/gpu config and then we can compare it to some other boards in its class. Not so sure a 5770 is uh, worthy?, either way good rev, def want to see what this board does with a fast kepler gpu and an IB part.

Thanks again!

July 15, 2012 | 06:19 PM - Posted by Steve Grever

I'd definitely like to use a higher-end GPU, but we try to evaluate the motherboard exclusively with mid-range hardware to differientate if the added performance comes from the mobo or the other hardware. =) 

July 9, 2012 | 07:02 PM - Posted by Branthog

I don't understand the market for mATX. Who is looking to make a high end gaming build -- possibly with multiple GPUs -- but has to make it in a very small form factor?!

July 15, 2012 | 06:06 PM - Posted by Steve Grever

My personal opinion is the micro ATX form factor caters mostly to LAN party gamers and HTPC builders because it is a smaller form factor that can be used in portable, lower-wattage PCs. They aren't typically used for "high end" gaming PCs, but more for gaming systems with single or dual graphics cards that aren't comparable to ATX-size boards with higher-end specs.

July 16, 2012 | 07:37 PM - Posted by Phillip Lee (not verified)

Steve - Was there contact between the CNPS12X cooler and video card? Is that why the 5770 was installed in the middle PCI express slot (x4) rather than the top PCI express x16 slot? I ask because I have this motherboard and am thinking of getting the same cooler. Any help would appreciated. Thanks

April 26, 2013 | 11:05 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

It says right on the motherboard PCIEX16, 4 and 8 - not 2x16 and 1x8.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.