Review Index:
Feedback

GIGABYTE Z87X-UD3H Motherboard Review

Subject: Motherboards
Manufacturer: GIGABYTE

Testing Configuration and Benchmarks Used

View Full Size

To verify that the motherboard works as advertised, the board was run through our standard benchmark suite. In most cases, the results are presented for the motherboard under review as well as a different similar-class motherboard for performance comparison purposes. The benchmark tests used should give you a good understanding of the board’s capabilities for both office and gaming use so that you, the reader, can make a more informed purchasing decision.

Test System Setup

CPU

Intel Core i7-4770K
(3.5GHz, 35 x 100MHz Base Clock)

Intel Core i5-3570K
(3.4GHz, 34 x 100MHz Base Clock)

Motherboards

GIGABYTE Z87X-UD3H
ASUS Maximus VI Extreme
GIGABYTE Z77X-UP7

Memory

Intel Z87 Testing:
Corsair Vengeance Pro 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-1866 modules
(1600MHz, 9-10-9-27-1T)

Intel Z77 Testing:
G.SKILL 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-2133 modules
(1600MHz, 11-11-11-30-1T)

Hard Drive

Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB SATA III HD

Sound Card

Onboard sound

Video Card

AMD Radeon HD 5870 1GB

CPU Cooling

Laing DDC pump with EK-DDC X-TOP Rev 2 Plexi
Swiftech MCR320-QP Radiator
Swiftech Apogee HD water block

Corsair H100i Extreme Performance Liquid CPU Cooler

Video Drivers

AMD ATI Catalyst 13.1

Power Supply

Corsair 650w

Operating System

Windows 7 Ultimate x64

Test Setup Explanation

The 64-bit Windows 7 based test bench used for Intel Z87 LGA1150 board testing includes an Intel Core i5-4770K CPU, 16GB of DDR3-1866 memory, an AMD Radeon 5870 1GB video card, and a Western Digital Black 1TB SATA hard drive. Using the selected components gives us the ability to demonstrate the motherboard’s capabilities rather than that of the components themselves.

The 64-bit Windows 7 based test bench used for Intel Z77 LGA1155 board testing includes an Intel Core i5-3570K CPU, 8GB of DDR3-2133 memory, an AMD Radeon 5870 1GB video card, and a Western Digital Black 1TB SATA hard drive. Using the selected components gives us the ability to demonstrate the motherboard’s capabilities rather than that of the components themselves. It was decided that the components used for the Intel Z77 testing originally were close enough for a valid comparison to the Intel Z87 platform performance.

Benchmark Tests used for evaluation:

  • SiSoft Sandra 2012
  • LinX Intel Linpack Benchmark v0.6.4
  • Handbrake video transcoder v0.9.8
  • Maxon Cinebench 11.5
  • FutureMark PCMark 7
June 17, 2013 | 01:28 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

"The board began to destabilize"
Abandon ship !
Man the life rafts !

June 17, 2013 | 02:32 PM - Posted by wizpig64 (not verified)

Typo on teh last page.

Just ordered this board on Saturday, glad there were no major hiccups in the review.

June 17, 2013 | 02:52 PM - Posted by Morry Teitelman

Thanks for pointing that out, its been corrected.  Its a solid board, just be careful with the BIOS and make sure to update to the latest version...

June 18, 2013 | 12:26 AM - Posted by Panta

Ultra Durable Meaning (for me.)
"Don't worry Our capacitors wont blow up on you, again."

I wonder if that is true & since Ultra Durable, are the capacitors good?

i head GB board capacitors swollen & 3 times blown
back at the AMD XP 1800+ days.

Morry, could pcper do in the future heat stress test for the motherboards reviews?

June 18, 2013 | 06:19 AM - Posted by Morry Teitelman

Good idea.  We'll see what we can do in our follow-up reviews.

Ultra-durable is the naming scheme GIGABYTE uses to collectively reference the board's power design which includes using solid Black capacitors rated for 10k hours, International Rectifier digital power circuitry, and enhanced PCB design.  You should not have any issues with blown caps on this board...

June 18, 2013 | 10:53 AM - Posted by Panta

Thank You.

June 18, 2013 | 07:39 AM - Posted by truk007

I'm glad you reviewed this board. I have been eyeing the UD5H lately and this review helped push me in the direction of a Gigabyte board. I'm glad they still have the legacy parts on the board as they were something I had been seeking.

June 25, 2013 | 09:39 AM - Posted by Walt1227

Would this be a good board to use building a Audio Production desktop PC? With a i7 intel processor and 16 gb of ram and 128 ssd to boot and run programs(main drive)plus two 7200 rpm 1tb or 2tb hhd drives for storing music and VST programs? Does it have wifi capability too?

July 1, 2013 | 07:01 AM - Posted by Lance Price (not verified)

Question,
Can anybody answer me on this? I have a Dell 8200 Tower I know I need all new components for this Motherboard but will it fit into this Dell 8200 case?

If anybody knows what is the biggest or type of new motherboard will fit in this tower or is it just Dell proprietary motherboard specific?

What I want is a new fast cpu as cheap as possible now it does not need to be blazing fast like this motherboard but what would anybody recommend? I will run Linux for free not Windows to save money. I am a CS BA just unfamiliar with building CPU hardware/configuring. Is it possible to get a decent CPU in this Dell 8200 Tower for < 300 $?

I really appreciate any help or links anything I need a CPU at home because work wont let me take home my sweet Mac Book Pro so I am stuck with no PC at home. I do have a Dell 24 inch monitor Flat panel and a small 15 flat panel so all I need to do is build a tower cheap.

I know Pricewatch.com is a good site but what to all buy to create a good PC. OK one more stupid question can I build a new CPU that will run OSX with a 64 bit chip?

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.