Review Index:
Feedback

GIGABYTE Z87X-UD3H Motherboard Review

Subject: Motherboards
Manufacturer: GIGABYTE

CPU Cooler Fit and Included Accessories

CPU Cooler Fit

To test the amount of space surrounding the CPU, we mounted the Noctua NH-D14 cooler to the CPU socket. This behemoth sports a dual fan construction and two huge vertical cooling towers.

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

The cooler fits the board without issue both on the front and sides of the socket area. Even memory modules with larger heat sinks attached do not seem to be problematic fit-wise.

Included Accessories

GIGABYTE includes only the bare minimum needed to get the board functional.

View Full Size

The manual included is suprisingly detailed, given the sparse nature of the included accessories with the standard install disk included as well.

View Full Size

The rear panel shield is a flat black color with color-coded port holes for easy port identification.

View Full Size

A total of four 6Gb/s rated SATA cables are included with integrated port locks and a mix of straight and 90 degree connectors.

View Full Size

GIGABYTE includes a single NVIDIA SLI cable for use with dual graphics cards in an SLI configuration.

June 17, 2013 | 01:28 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

"The board began to destabilize"
Abandon ship !
Man the life rafts !

June 17, 2013 | 02:32 PM - Posted by wizpig64 (not verified)

Typo on teh last page.

Just ordered this board on Saturday, glad there were no major hiccups in the review.

June 17, 2013 | 02:52 PM - Posted by Morry Teitelman

Thanks for pointing that out, its been corrected.  Its a solid board, just be careful with the BIOS and make sure to update to the latest version...

June 18, 2013 | 12:26 AM - Posted by Panta

Ultra Durable Meaning (for me.)
"Don't worry Our capacitors wont blow up on you, again."

I wonder if that is true & since Ultra Durable, are the capacitors good?

i head GB board capacitors swollen & 3 times blown
back at the AMD XP 1800+ days.

Morry, could pcper do in the future heat stress test for the motherboards reviews?

June 18, 2013 | 06:19 AM - Posted by Morry Teitelman

Good idea.  We'll see what we can do in our follow-up reviews.

Ultra-durable is the naming scheme GIGABYTE uses to collectively reference the board's power design which includes using solid Black capacitors rated for 10k hours, International Rectifier digital power circuitry, and enhanced PCB design.  You should not have any issues with blown caps on this board...

June 18, 2013 | 10:53 AM - Posted by Panta

Thank You.

June 18, 2013 | 07:39 AM - Posted by truk007

I'm glad you reviewed this board. I have been eyeing the UD5H lately and this review helped push me in the direction of a Gigabyte board. I'm glad they still have the legacy parts on the board as they were something I had been seeking.

June 25, 2013 | 09:39 AM - Posted by Walt1227

Would this be a good board to use building a Audio Production desktop PC? With a i7 intel processor and 16 gb of ram and 128 ssd to boot and run programs(main drive)plus two 7200 rpm 1tb or 2tb hhd drives for storing music and VST programs? Does it have wifi capability too?

July 1, 2013 | 07:01 AM - Posted by Lance Price (not verified)

Question,
Can anybody answer me on this? I have a Dell 8200 Tower I know I need all new components for this Motherboard but will it fit into this Dell 8200 case?

If anybody knows what is the biggest or type of new motherboard will fit in this tower or is it just Dell proprietary motherboard specific?

What I want is a new fast cpu as cheap as possible now it does not need to be blazing fast like this motherboard but what would anybody recommend? I will run Linux for free not Windows to save money. I am a CS BA just unfamiliar with building CPU hardware/configuring. Is it possible to get a decent CPU in this Dell 8200 Tower for < 300 $?

I really appreciate any help or links anything I need a CPU at home because work wont let me take home my sweet Mac Book Pro so I am stuck with no PC at home. I do have a Dell 24 inch monitor Flat panel and a small 15 flat panel so all I need to do is build a tower cheap.

I know Pricewatch.com is a good site but what to all buy to create a good PC. OK one more stupid question can I build a new CPU that will run OSX with a 64 bit chip?

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.