Review Index:
Feedback

GIGABYTE Z87X-OC Force Motherboard Second Look Review

Subject: Motherboards
Manufacturer: GIGABYTE

Overclocking Results

BIOS Overclocking

The BIOS Performance page offers many avenues for overclocking, including two options for BIOS-managed overclocking. Both the Performance Upgrade and CPU Upgrade settings allow for a BIOS-configured CPU overclock up to 4.7GHz in .1GHz steps. However, it was found in testing that the BIOS set the CPU Vcore voltage much too high to utilize those settings. With the Performance Upgrade option set to 100% (resulting in a 4.7GHz CPU speed), the resulting Vcore voltage setting was 1.4V. In testing, the CPU was found to need no more than 1.20-1.25V for a stable overclock at 4.6GHz. Until GIGABYTE can get the voltage levels under better control, you are much better off manually configuring settings for overclocking your precious Haswell CPU.

View Full Size

Manual Overclocking

Using manual settings in the GIGABYTE UEFI BIOS via the Performance page, I was able to get the board running stable at a 175MHz base close setting with a 4.54GHz CPU speed and an 1866MHz memory speed. System stability was tested over a 10 hour period running the AIDA64 stability test in conjunction with FurMark running at 1280x1024 resolution and 2x MSAA in stress test mode.

View Full Size

View Full Size

Performance tab, Frequency page

  • CPU Base Clock - 175.00MHz
  • Host/PCIe Clock Frequency - 104.99MHz
  • Processor Base Clock(Gear Ratio) - 1.66x
  • CPU Clock Ratio - 26
  • System Memory Multiplier - 10.66

Performance tab, Frequency page, Advanced CPU Core Settings page

  • CPU PLL Selection - SBPLL
  • Filter PLL Level - High
  • Uncore Ratio - 23
  • Intel(R) Turbo Boost Technology - Disabled

Performance tab, Voltage page, Advanced Power Settings page

  • CPU VRIN Loadline Calibration - Extreme
  • PWM Phase Control - eXm Perf

Performance tab, Voltage page, CPU Core Voltage Control page

  • CPU VRIN External Override - 1.900V
  • CPU Vcore - 1.225V
  • CPU RING Voltage - 1.100V
  • CPU System Agent Voltage - +0.100V
  • CPU I/O Analog Voltage - +0.100V
  • CPU I/O Digital Voltage - +0.100V

Performance tab, Voltage page, Chipset Voltage Control page

  • PCH Core - 1.175V
  • PCH IO - 1.750V

Performance tab, Voltage page, DRAM Voltage Control page

  • DRAM Voltage (CH A/B) - 1.550V

Performance tab, Memory page, Memory Timing settings

  • CAS Latency - 10
  • tRCD - 10
  • tRP - 10
  • tRAS - 30
  • Command Rate - 1
August 14, 2013 | 12:27 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I bet those little fans will go before the board...are they easily sourced ?
I prefer to just have big case fans turning slow as possible.

August 14, 2013 | 12:28 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Does having "ultra durable" being plastered on it actually mean anything ?

August 14, 2013 | 05:54 PM - Posted by Morry Teitelman

Ultra Durable is just the GIGABYTE branding for the power circuitry and PCB design used.  They're current iteration is dubbed Ultra Durable 5....

August 14, 2013 | 12:33 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

For that price it should come with a real audio card...sheesh.

August 16, 2013 | 04:56 PM - Posted by Panta

I think you know im a Huge PcPer Fan.
i used to watch live when i could staying until 5-6AM not to miss when i could, and your reviews are industry FACTS.

I also admit to you, that when ever i reach this part in a review "we would like to thank our friends at XYZ"
it bugs me.

it shouldn't I know, & i know
readers interest is in your mind first & Co-operations last.(as it should)

This days PCper is significant and important enough to the hardware world so you don't have to display this public symbolic bow down in thank to the conglomerate.
(it should be the opposite, as you market what they sell)

i would wish PCper to consider the option to Omit that small yet Symbolic enough line.

i know its really not what is important
but Symbolism has its powers..

your fan
Panta

October 26, 2013 | 12:39 PM - Posted by klepp0906 (not verified)

Not sure how many samples you have tested. However in regard to the disapproval regarding the BIOS assisted overclocks assigned voltages being off, I not only think the opposite (they are literally SPOT ON) but have hard data to back that up.

I have experienced with my own cpu, and read posts time and time again... where people have cited being able to increase voltages by xx and get stable up to 4.6, however anything past 4.6 takes HUGE jumps and some cant get stable past 4.6 no matter what.

I personally use the board you reviewed (which is why I was here) but wish I had waited for the next round of 1150 chips to launch as haswell isn't all it cracked up to be imo.

to get stable at 4.6 It takes me 1.28 (which is considered above average, and not too far off from your 1.20-1.25 however that I would consider FAR above average) and for 4.7 it takes me an additional .15v to get stable. HUGE jump. 1.43v to be exact. Now my temps don't even hit 70c via IBT at that voltage (water) and the bios assigned 1.4v with the 4.7 auto overclock setting that you cited as having too high of a voltage, wouldn't even have me stable.

Before tossing tossing that out there as fact and deter'ing a bunch of people.... see the numbers it takes a few cpu's to make those last few jumps. Depending on cooling it may not even be possible (god forbid the people that wont or cant delid, haswell is complete garbage then. Atleast on an enthusiast level). Or atleast read around, and remember until there is a hard-line agreement on what is "stable" you have the people with a brain that realize most people assume/use Prime95 and that by calling their pc/numbers stable via whatever other benchmark they decide only harms others and the community as a whole.

that is all.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.