Review Index:
Feedback

EVGA Z77 Stinger mini-ITX Motherboard Review

Subject: Motherboards
Manufacturer: EVGA

BIOS Features

EVGA included an AMI-based UEFI (Unified Extensible Firmware Interface) style BIOS, heavily customized force use with the Z77 Stinger board. Unfortunately, the UEFI BIOS offers keyboard support only. The BIOS has a single view mode, from which all BIOS settings can be accessed via a series of tabs and submenus.

Other than the lack of mouse support, the EVGA BIOS implementation is straightforward and very sleek looking. They continued with the black and red theme used on the motherboard to great effect with all the normal utilities and options available for you tweaking pleasure.

View Full Size

Overview tab

View Full Size

Overview tab, continued

View Full Size

Advanced tab

View Full Size

Advanced tab, Onboard Device Configuration page

View Full Size

Advanced tab, SATA Configuration page

View Full Size

Advanced tab, Intel(R) Rapid Start Technology page

View Full Size

Advanced tab, USB Configuration page

View Full Size

Advanced tab, SMART Settings page

View Full Size

Advanced tab, PC Health Status page

View Full Size

Advanced tab, PC Health Status page, Temperature Monitor page

View Full Size

Advanced tab, PC Health Status page, Fan Speed Monitor page

View Full Size

Advanced tab, PC Health Status page, Voltage Monitor page

View Full Size

Advanced tab, Intel(R) Smart Connect Technology page

View Full Size

Chipset tab

View Full Size

Chipset tab, System Agent (SA) Configuration page

View Full Size

Chipset tab, System Agent (SA) Configuration page, Graphics Configuration page

View Full Size

Chipset tab, System Agent (SA) Configuration page, DMI Configuration page

View Full Size

Chipset tab, System Agent (SA) Configuration page, NB PCIe Configuration page

View Full Size

Chipset tab, ME Subsystem Configuration page

View Full Size

Overclocking tab in Auto configuration mode

View Full Size

Overclocking tab in Manual configuration mode

View Full Size

Overclocking tab, Memory Configuration page

View Full Size

Overclocking tab, Memory Configuration page continued

View Full Size

Overclocking tab, Memory Configuration page, Memory MISC Configuration page

View Full Size

Overclocking tab, CPU Configuration page

View Full Size

Overclocking tab, CPU Configuration page, CPU Information page

View Full Size

Overclocking tab, CPU Configuration page, CPU Power Management Configuration page

View Full Size

Overclocking tab, BCLK Setting page

View Full Size

Boot tab

View Full Size

Save/Exit tab

View Full Size

Save/Exit tab, BIOS Profile Setup

December 3, 2012 | 01:12 PM - Posted by Daniel Nielsen (not verified)

Will you ever do a Mini ITX round up sort of thing? By the looks of the recent ones that been featured on PCP'er i will strongly consider a Mini ITX Motherboard for my next upgrade.

December 3, 2012 | 06:38 PM - Posted by Kitten Masher (not verified)

This should have the "mini-itx" tag.

December 3, 2012 | 06:41 PM - Posted by Tim Verry

indeed, added

December 4, 2012 | 04:07 AM - Posted by Justin 150 (not verified)

NO MSata?

Having used Mini-Itx boards in a couple of builds the crucial area that MB makers need to consider is cable management - in most mini-itx cases it is a real pain. There is not a lot that can be done with the Sata cables, in an ideal world I would want a MSata 3 socket on back of board, but there is something that can be done for the 24 pin ATX and 4/8 pin Aux power sockets: it is not enough to have them on the edge of the board they need to be at right angles to current norm.

Personally I would go with the ASRock z77 e-itx board over the EVGA

December 18, 2012 | 04:49 PM - Posted by TheBoss (not verified)

If anyone goes Asus over EVGA you are either misinformed, have never dealt with Asus before, are filthy rich and do not care about throwing money away, are just an Asus fanboy, or possibly retarded.

I have built 100's of PC's this year alone. I bang them out like Rihanna gets hit. All the time. They have a higher than failure rate than EVGA, use inferior parts in most cases, and WORST of all you can not do an Asus RMA to save your freaking life.

ASUS = HEADACHES AND HASSLES

EVGA = GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE, SUPERIOR COMPONENTS, GREAT DESIGN, GREAT ENGINEERING

I sell more Asus stuff than EVGA, so don't count me a "Fanboy" by any means. But for someone to PREFER an Asus MoBo to this little stinger is just dumb. No offense inteded here btw.

TheBoss
BossRigs.com

December 31, 2012 | 11:01 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Strange, but I have had almost the exact opposite experience. I have had problems of bad capacitors leaking in a few EVGA products, and few construction problems with ASUS. I have had a dead MOBO or two from ASUS, and getting an RMA was not difficult (I do live close enough to drive down to ASUS and pick up the replacements). I'm happy with the quality of both EVGA and ASUS, in fact just installed a couple of the new ASUS ac routers.

February 27, 2013 | 01:28 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I believe he suggested an ASrock board... not ASUS. Seems like you blew a gasket about nothing

June 4, 2013 | 02:20 AM - Posted by Mason (not verified)

I really love your site.. Pleasant colors & theme.
Did you build this website yourself? Please reply back as I'm trying to create my very own blog and want to know where you got this from or just what the theme is named. Thanks!

Here is my website - his comment is here

December 4, 2012 | 10:13 AM - Posted by orvtrebor

This really should have been compared to the Asus P8Z77-I Deluxe (ITX) board. They are at the same price point and trying to accomplish the same level of performance.

But I understand you guys don't have an endless supply of hardware to compare with :)

Either way its great to see another high performance ITX board.

December 4, 2012 | 11:54 AM - Posted by Morry Teitelman

There will likely be more mini-ITX reviews in the future, along with the possibility of some type of comparison article as well.  Stay tuned...

December 9, 2012 | 04:28 PM - Posted by Rocco (not verified)

"It's [sic] performance both at stock settings and while overclocked were nothing short of astounding"

Astounding? 4.36GHZ is downright anemic compared to the other mini-itx boards and the vdroop issues and memory OC failure don't scream quality. Considering the price, I would give this board a 6/10.

December 10, 2012 | 10:47 AM - Posted by Morry Teitelman

While 4.36GHz may not seem high comparatively speaking, but for the 3570K CPU we use in testing, it is on par with what we've seen with other boards.  Also just in terms of base clock overclocking, aq 104MHz base clock is nice, since most won't go above 103MHz if you're lucky.

The memory o/c was a bit odd to me also, but it wasn't something to distract from an otherwise stellar board - on the Intel side, o/c'd memory does not buy you a huge performance gain for most things (read real-world gaming).

The VDroop issue can be controlled via careful BIOS tweaking, so that in my mind is a non-issue...

December 27, 2012 | 12:05 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

What about the power consumption numbers without an add-on video card?

January 7, 2013 | 03:43 PM - Posted by Morry Teitelman

Good point, something we'll consider adding in future m-atx and m-itx reviews...

January 7, 2013 | 07:10 PM - Posted by Luxferro (not verified)

Avoid EVGA at all cost. This board does not work correctly. The bios settings are all messed up, don't save, don't clear either optimized defaults or the clear CMOS button.

EVGA ignores all the problems related to this board on their forums. They don't even answer support tickets.

Save yourself a huge headache and just buy another brand. It's pretty clear they did no validation on this motherboard.

March 3, 2013 | 02:48 AM - Posted by Anonymal (not verified)

...no , it`s a pretty nice MB, some peoples or programers just made wrong stuff on BIOS or bad flash bios, that`s all... any brand have some trouble , i remember downloaded a Bios from ASUS for a ROG.mATX board...
Very bad thing...the worst is that they changed the bios update some days after...with the same name and denomination 1.xx ,i had 2 downloaded files with the same name , frome the same place at ASUS...but with diferent bios inside...thank you ASUS you crushed my very expensive ROG MB ^^

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.