Review Index:
Feedback

ECS Z87H3-A2X Extreme GANK Machine Motherboard Review

Subject: Motherboards
Manufacturer: ECS

BIOS Features continued

The following screens detail settings on the Main, Advanced, Chipset, Boot, and Exits tabs.

View Full Size

Main tab

View Full Size

Advanced tab

View Full Size

Advanced tab, LAN Configuration page

View Full Size

Advanced tab, SATA Configuration page

View Full Size

Advanced tab, Intel(R) Rapid Start Technology page

View Full Size

Advanced tab,USB Configuration page

View Full Size

Advanced tab, Intel(R) Smart Connect Technology page

View Full Size

Chipset tab

View Full Size

Chipset tab, PCH Configuration page

View Full Size

Chipset tab, Management Engine Technology Configuration page

View Full Size

Boot tab

View Full Size

Exit tab

September 16, 2013 | 02:52 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Sounds like a pile of gank to me.

September 16, 2013 | 03:44 PM - Posted by Lance Ripplinger (not verified)

Great review Morry. I just wanted to point out an error in your article: GIGABYTE includes only the bare minimum needed to get the board functional. Shouldn't "Gigabyte" say "ECS"? LOL

September 16, 2013 | 03:46 PM - Posted by Morry Teitelman

Thanks for pointing that out...

September 16, 2013 | 06:42 PM - Posted by Daniel Masterson (not verified)

You just got *puts on sunglasses* ganked. YEEEOOOWWWW!

September 17, 2013 | 08:12 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I was really thinking this would be a good motherboard, until the picture showing the gfx card next to the cooler. This made me realise that the pcie slot is placed right at the top of the board.

Not only does this mean you can install some gfx cards with large backplates (think msi lightening with the addon board) but also it means on many cases you cant plug cables intot the gfx card as the space between the top of the cases surround of the expansion slots gets in the way (mainly due to thickness of cable connectors).

This will definately stop me from buying this, everything else seemed so great too. Oh dear.

September 17, 2013 | 01:07 PM - Posted by razor512

Whats with companies in putting nameplates on heatsinks designed for passive cooling. My old m4a78 plus got a 15c drop in temperature on the northbridge when I pried the name plate off.

The side panel fan then did a better job at cooling the motherboard.

Covering the top of a heatsinks only increases cooling performance when you have active airflow in the direction of the fins (eg taping some cardboard to the top of the xbox 360 heatsinks lowers the temperature)

But if airflow is coming from the top then it significantly reduces performance.

September 18, 2013 | 12:08 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Are you Ganking my chain...I thought they were out of business...my first build 13 yrs ago was an ECS.

September 18, 2013 | 12:11 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

AMD Athlon ! LOL

September 18, 2013 | 05:33 PM - Posted by Patrick3D (not verified)

What a terrible name for a motherboard, it should be a big hit with 12 year old pant saggers.

September 19, 2013 | 12:33 AM - Posted by Penterax (not verified)

Indeed; the name puts this in the "will not buy I don't care how good it is" category.

September 27, 2013 | 10:25 AM - Posted by Activate: AMD (not verified)

Good piece, but the watermarks in the photos are incredibly distracting. I know you want to protect your property, but they're too much.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.