Review Index:
Feedback

ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z Review: Cream of the Crop for AM3+

Author: Josh Walrath
Subject: Motherboards
Manufacturer: ASUS

HD Tach: USB 3.0

 

The same test was used on the ASMedia USB 3.0 controllers, since the SB950 does not natively support USB 3.0.

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

Here we see the FZ have a slightly lower burst, but better overall performance.  It does seem a bit more tuned overall in terms of throughput.  CPU usage also goes down with the latest implementation.

March 21, 2013 | 10:42 PM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

Who cares really?

I've sold my Crosshair 2 Formula and 980T ages ago and bought a Gibson double cutaway neck Pro, a Zakk Wylde overdrive pedal and an old Behringer tube amp from the money that came from them.

lol.

March 25, 2013 | 04:12 PM - Posted by meganerd (not verified)

"Who cares really?"

Pretty much sums up how I feel about this post.

March 27, 2013 | 02:18 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

The fact that you're a "nerd" tells me all I need to know about you.

March 23, 2013 | 01:17 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

There are numerous mistakes/conclusions in this review.

1. Asus CHV Formula-Z is not the best mobo though it's OK other than being very over-priced and with many useless gimmicks and BIOS adjustments

2. Vishera is not the last AM3+ model CPU

3. Asus is all about hype without much substance and their product QC issues confirm this

4. Asus customer service is nonexistent IME

5. The technically challenged are always impressed with pretty product boxes - especially with digital T&A

March 23, 2013 | 06:18 AM - Posted by Lachigan

The Formula-Z is the product of teamwork between Asus and AMD
How much R&D has been done,
And this is how they have executed using that experience...

March 26, 2013 | 02:50 AM - Posted by One (not verified)

I own a CH F-Z and a 8350 CPU oc'ed @ 5 GHz. What can I say: is blazing fast, stable, cool... in one word amazing ! Don't listen to John Doe's BS. He is an ex-AMD employee kicked out because he was too lazy and stupid.

March 27, 2013 | 02:19 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

lol.

Cool story bro.

June 26, 2013 | 03:06 PM - Posted by Webduelist (not verified)

Cool story brah, your Intel i7 is faster than something that is meant to compete with the i5s. Wow I wouldn't have guessed that.

And let me explain why it is meant to compete with the i5s, have you ever seen a bell curve of cpu sales for enthusiast gaming builds? The i3s, low, i5s high, i7s low. Now low doesn't mean they are not selling only that the i5 is out selling them.

Now your a company who is hurting pretty bad and you need to sell the most product, you could spend money in R&D put out a cpu faster than the Intel i7 but also more expensive and in that lower section of that bell curve. So you focus on where you are going to make the most money which is the i5 range.

Ok, now your going to come back with, "the 8350 doesn't beat the i5", when in reality they are about the same, the 8350 is even better when you are doing cpu heavy game streaming.

The only games I know of that the i5 pulls away is GW2, and Skyrim. Typically the i5 will get 1-5 fps better average, the minimum is typically the same.

Other than that right now the i5 and the 8350 are pretty much on par with each other. If cpus were cars your problem is your comparing, f1 cars (i7) to muscle cars (i5/8350)

June 26, 2013 | 03:06 PM - Posted by Webduelist (not verified)

Cool story brah, your Intel i7 is faster than something that is meant to compete with the i5s. Wow I wouldn't have guessed that.

And let me explain why it is meant to compete with the i5s, have you ever seen a bell curve of cpu sales for enthusiast gaming builds? The i3s, low, i5s high, i7s low. Now low doesn't mean they are not selling only that the i5 is out selling them.

Now your a company who is hurting pretty bad and you need to sell the most product, you could spend money in R&D put out a cpu faster than the Intel i7 but also more expensive and in that lower section of that bell curve. So you focus on where you are going to make the most money which is the i5 range.

Ok, now your going to come back with, "the 8350 doesn't beat the i5", when in reality they are about the same, the 8350 is even better when you are doing cpu heavy game streaming.

The only games I know of that the i5 pulls away is GW2, and Skyrim. Typically the i5 will get 1-5 fps better average, the minimum is typically the same.

Other than that right now the i5 and the 8350 are pretty much on par with each other. If cpus were cars your problem is your comparing, f1 cars (i7) to muscle cars (i5/8350)

June 26, 2013 | 03:07 PM - Posted by Webduelist (not verified)

Cool story brah, your Intel i7 is faster than something that is meant to compete with the i5s. Wow I wouldn't have guessed that.

And let me explain why it is meant to compete with the i5s, have you ever seen a bell curve of cpu sales for enthusiast gaming builds? The i3s, low, i5s high, i7s low. Now low doesn't mean they are not selling only that the i5 is out selling them.

Now your a company who is hurting pretty bad and you need to sell the most product, you could spend money in R&D put out a cpu faster than the Intel i7 but also more expensive and in that lower section of that bell curve. So you focus on where you are going to make the most money which is the i5

April 10, 2013 | 11:35 PM - Posted by yourmama (not verified)

sounds about right. he is awfully mad at amd for no apparent reason.disgruntled from the unlubricated butt fuckin

June 26, 2013 | 03:08 PM - Posted by Webduelist (not verified)

Cool story brah, your Intel i7 is faster than something that is meant to compete with the i5s. Wow I wouldn't have guessed that.

And let me explain why it is meant to compete with the i5s, have you ever seen a bell curve of cpu sales for enthusiast gaming builds? The i3s, low, i5s high, i7s low. Now low doesn't mean they are not selling only that the i5 is out selling them.

Now your a company who is hurting pretty bad and you need to sell the most product, you could spend money in R&D put out a cpu faster than the Intel i7 but also more expensive and in that lower section of that bell curve. So you focus on where you are going to make the most money which is the i5

September 18, 2013 | 04:11 PM - Posted by leester22 (not verified)

so if the AM3+ cpu line is dead how soon is it dying????? i was just watching the release of the new jackhammer processor the other day... like 3 months ago or so

September 28, 2013 | 07:54 PM - Posted by Hamzilla (not verified)

Great article Josh. I just bought one of these boards for a FX-9590 I just got for 299$ (600$ off one day sale)

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.