Review Index:
Feedback

ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z Review: Cream of the Crop for AM3+

Author: Josh Walrath
Subject: Motherboards
Manufacturer: ASUS

Conclusion

 

Asus certainly has the market for top end AMD boards cornered.  While other manufacturers have high end AMD boards, none seem to compare well against what Asus brings with their ROG products.  The price is not all that bad, considering.  $225 US will get you this board at most retailers, but some would argue if it is really worth it to buy this board at this price when the top end CPU for AM3+ is the FX-8350 being sold for $199 US.  CPUs are obviously not under their control at Asus, but even so they make an impressive product.

View Full Size

The back is utilized by Asus for extra space when it comes to the VRMs for the CPU.

The Formula-Z takes all that was good about the Crosshair V and then supercharges it.  It really is a totally new design from the ground up.  There really is no part that Asus left untouched and it truly is a fantastic board.  The feature set matches that of the latest Intel boards that easily cost $100 more.  The aesthetics of the board follow that of other ROG products, and the red/black motif works very well.

View Full Size

Here we see the Formula-Z compared to the earlier Sabertooth 990FX.

If there was one problem with the board, it is the overall weakness of the chipset as compared to other recent offerings.  I honestly wonder why the A85X chipset for FM2 is not used with the 990FX northbridge?  The SB950 utilizes the same 4 x PCI-E connections to go to the northbridge as the A85X does to connect to the northbridge portion of the FM2 processor.  Theoretically these should be interchangeable.  It would be great to see manufacturers given the option of using this, but I am afraid that it will never happen.  AM3+ looks to be a dying platform.  The 1090FX chipset was cancelled long ago and it will never see the light of day.  FM2+ with Kaveri looks to be the next enthusiast platform for AMD and current Vishera processors look to be the last AM3+ products to be released.

View Full Size

The Redline is really a red line.  The board has some real curb appeal.

Having said that, Asus is sending AM3+ out with a bang.  The Crosshair V Formula-Z is one of the best motherboards I have ever tested.  Stability, feature set, quality, design, and overall appeal are tops.  The Redline audio is very interesting and very clean.  Connectivity options are outstanding as well.  I really cannot think of where Asus could have improved the design, other than squeezing in the A85X as a southbridge.

AMD enthusiasts will want to take a long, hard look at this board.  It offers a compelling package for the price.  The issue is again the seeming dead end socket that it embraces.  Vishera looks about as good as it will get.  I am not entirely certain that there will be a significant refresh of Vishera parts (eg. FX-8450 or the like).  Still, it is hard to ignore this product.

View Full Size

March 17, 2013 | 10:51 PM - Posted by Holyneo (not verified)

Im still using the Crosshair III. Best investment ever. Very good read. Thank you for the review.

March 17, 2013 | 11:15 PM - Posted by PapaDragon

I had the Crosshair IV Extreme with the 970, It was a great board and a good chip. The CHV-Z is definitely awesome. What I like most is the amount of native Sata III ports, the audio and the great design. A lot of great features aswell. Also, the 8350 sometimes is on sale for $179 which is cool.

Good read, Great review Josh!

March 17, 2013 | 11:26 PM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

Don't spend any money on ANY AMD boards or AMD CPU's. They're complete and total garbage.

Even if you are going to, get the Gigabyte with the UEFI. It is a better board than this.

March 17, 2013 | 11:43 PM - Posted by Josh Walrath

So, compare and contrast the Asus UEFI implementation vs. the Gigabyte one.  I have worked with both, and I have my opinions about what seems to work better for me.

March 18, 2013 | 12:27 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

ASUS UEFI is EASILY better however the Gigabyte is a better board.

The 990FX-UD7 packs much more PCI-E slots, has a more capable mem power phase section, and and overall more robustly put built.

This board is made by ECS. The old Asus factory, Pegatron is now owned my AsRock, which is why AsRock boards are so good and Asus boards are not as much as they used to be.

That said, this indeed is a very nice board however, I WOULD NOT spend ANY money on an AMD setup period.

As far as gaming is concerned, you can just get ANY 2500K with a P67 Fatal1ty and it WILL blow the snort out of ANY AMD setup out of the water once you start pushing it.

March 18, 2013 | 12:57 AM - Posted by Josh Walrath

I had seen that the UD7 had some serious growing pains, I'm glad they figured out those issues.  I see it uses the DrMOS setup for the PWMs.  Not a whole lot different from MSI, but the actual differences between implementations seem pretty minimal.  The latest Gigabyte board I tested with the IR PowIRstage chips was impressive from an efficiency standpoint.  Still, lots of interesting features between both boards to differentiate.

March 18, 2013 | 01:15 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

Asus still use those old Taiwanese TRIO chokes. Just painted or different models. They aren't as good as the high current chokes used on the MSI boards, also, the caps are also STILL made by Apaq. Sub par Chinese-Taiwanese caps.

The Giga boards use high quality Japanese Nippon Chemi-Con's. The MSI's even go as far as donating the CPU area ENTIRELY to TANTALUMs and NO old cylindirical caps.

As far as built quality is concerned, the 990FX GD-80 and the Giga are easily better built.

Besides, this board looks like it came out of some pre-school project.

Nothing alike the proper, no-BS looks of say Asus WS boards.

March 18, 2013 | 08:37 AM - Posted by Josh Walrath

That's reasonable reasoning.  Tantalum has always been an interesting topic since the old Tom's Hardware/Tyan/tantalum days.  I think for the power that we are talking for most boards, tantalum is overkill.  The "all Japanese" caps is again reasonable, especially considering the track record of the Chinese/Taiwanese companies.

When I tested the GD80 I had my fair share of issues with it, but I think a lot of those were fixed by updated BIOS releases.  I would be interested in the UD7, I guess we shall see.  Not entirely sold on all the full length PCI-E slots, as more than half of them are either x8, x4, or x1 electrically.

At least we have some interesting choices and variety there.  Just wish we had better CPUs to drop in them.

June 5, 2013 | 06:14 PM - Posted by Watson S (not verified)

I had a Gigabyte 990FX-UD7. The cheap Realtek Ethernet controller quit, and the Power Management died to the point that it would not properly shutdown (you had to switch the power off on the PSU). It was a great board up to that point, but I have never had an ASUS board die after only a year. I got it switched for free to a Crosshair V- Formula Z. So far so good.

I did prefer the PCI-Express layout...but not worth it given the issues.

March 19, 2013 | 09:44 AM - Posted by 63jax

dumb troll! you know nothing...

March 19, 2013 | 09:46 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

Who the fuck are you talking about and what the fuck are you referring to?

April 19, 2013 | 10:59 PM - Posted by Devildog83 (not verified)

He is talking about you. There is no way on earth a 2500k beats an FX 8350 on any board mostly not this board. I think you need to do some more research. If you don't like AMD that's OK but good lord you could not be more wrong. The caps are 5k japs, look it up. Any Gigagyte is a budget board compared to this board. AMD never said it was going to beat the 3770k or the 3900 series from intel. I fyou want to spend that $ then fine but don't let your bias lead you to beleive that you can even compare any gigabyte board to this. The Asrock is a good board but still takes a big back seat to this, that's why it's way cheaper. From the audio to the OCability this board is the best AMD board made. Since you are not an AMD fan maybe you should stick to what you know.

July 12, 2013 | 10:39 PM - Posted by teiva (not verified)

Nicely put devildog83. I'm in the process of buying the ASUS CROSSHAIR V-FORMULA-Z, 8350, 256GB Samsung 840 Pro and 16GB 2133 DDR3 11C to replace my aging Phenom setup. I think JD just blankedly saying don't buy AMD anything etc. is very single minded. I like both Intel and AMD, just as I like both NVidia and AMD. The AMD setup I'm getting will suit my gaming requirements just fine.

March 18, 2013 | 12:22 AM - Posted by derz

Ahh, I'm happy to see Asus giving AMD users some love.

March 18, 2013 | 08:42 AM - Posted by Prodeous (not verified)

I'm really happy with my Sabertooth, and will most likely be the last AM3+ motherboard. R2 is not worth it as USB3 is not that important to me.

If AMD released 4 module FM2 CPU, then I would switch to FM2 platform, but that is quite doubtful untill AM3+ exists.

Unless you Josh have heard some rumours of FM2 with 4 modules? ;) And if you didn't any speculations about the fusion of AM3+ and FM2 platforms into one? Or do you think AM3+ will simply die of and FM2 will take its place?

March 18, 2013 | 09:34 AM - Posted by Josh Walrath

I think I saw some AMD slides that mentioned Kaveri will feature up to 3 modules on the APU.  6 cores + GCN at faster speeds and better single threaded perf than current Piledriver CPUs... yeah, I'm pretty certain AM3+ is a dead end right now.  An AMD exec at CES let slip FM2+, so I am assuming that will mean Kaveri will finally enable PCI-E 3.0.  Trinity has that functionality, but they never went for certification and stayed with PCI-E 2.0.  Apparently saved some time and money to skip that.

March 24, 2013 | 11:11 PM - Posted by meds (not verified)

Recently got annoyed with my Sabertooth 990fx when I was buying some new memory. Sure its really great overall, pushing my unlocked Phenom II 560 slightly over 4ghz on 4 core's which my previous board couldn't do. However there's no OC'ing the Memory above the 1866mhz controllers of the CPU's, somehow manged to squeeze and extra 60mhz out of them, even though they are rated at 2000mhz. Atleast I could tighten the timings quite a lot, an oversight of mine when I bought the board, and somewhat of a slight disappointment from a top-end 990fx board. Even the Rev 2.0 Gen 3 Sabertooth about to be released has the same limitation!

March 18, 2013 | 11:25 AM - Posted by Prodeous (not verified)

3 module APU.. that starts to sound interesting, if they also keep the 100W or lower TDP.

Though I am still hopeful to see a FM2 APUless 4 module unit for the work I do.

As for FM2+, totally expected this based on AMD history.

Either way, well done on the article.

March 19, 2013 | 05:33 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

Get a 2600K with a good board.

HT does wonders for multi threaded apps.

A 32M WPrime on a QX9650 OC'ed to 3.6 takes 15 secs at least, while an i7 960 at 3.3 with it's Turbo at 3.45 pulls the same thing in A FEW SECONDS.

March 19, 2013 | 07:09 AM - Posted by Howie Doohan (not verified)

Looks like a decent price but really what is the point of this board this late in the game?

Seems kind of redundant at this point, much like AMD's "high end" CPU offerings which have been redundant for years.

AMD need to ditch the hapless AM3+ socket ASAP.

March 20, 2013 | 02:53 PM - Posted by L'Achigan (not verified)

Seems to me this poor Company is under criticism
Simply because its processors aren't built under a 22nm
Jig...

March 20, 2013 | 04:37 PM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

IDK WTF you are smoking but AMD isn't under criticism "simply because their processors aren't built under 22nm".

They're under critcism because their offerings are BIG TIME INFERIOR and INEFFICIENT and their board offerings also mostly suck.

It has little to do with the lithography of the chips.

March 20, 2013 | 07:50 PM - Posted by Brett from Australia (not verified)

Good write up Josh, this board really is an exciting product for enthusiasts, gamers alike with a plethora of great features. Its a shame that AM3+ socket is dying out but as you pointed out FM2+ looks like the track the are taking. FYI that board here is around $285 AUD and worth every cent.

March 20, 2013 | 10:11 PM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

Bullshit.

Let me see? How in the hell is this thing worth 285 Australian dollars?

http://www.pccasegear.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=138_803...

http://www.pccasegear.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=187_345...

Damn that stupid red AMD FX logo really gets me twitchy knowing how much of a piece of that that CPU is. That's your Australian AMD setup, for 450 bucks.

Let's try an Intel setup from the same site now.

http://www.pccasegear.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=187_346...

http://www.pccasegear.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=138_118...

$404.

Do I really need to explain how much better the second setup is over the first one?

You tell me.

March 21, 2013 | 05:49 AM - Posted by Line 1 (not verified)

Fucktard !

September 28, 2013 | 07:52 PM - Posted by Hamzilla (not verified)

John Doe (name alone makes me know your just as dumb as your posts)

So what if intel is better then AMD not everyone has richy rich parents to buy them a gold mine of a computer like you seem to have. and because your a intel freak that means you dont even know how good AMD really is. Instead of typing garbage on a site like this use your fingers and research stuff before you post crap. or use your fingers on your boyfriend instead ya knobb.

March 21, 2013 | 07:45 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

LOL.

Guess I touched a bit too HARD on your AMD fanboyism? Here ya go, this one's especially for ya...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nW8S58CYQqs

ole uncle Nuge always shreds that shit that AMD fanboys leave on your ear with his machine gun guitar...

March 21, 2013 | 10:28 PM - Posted by MykSilentShadow (not verified)

Isn't SteamRoller(released next year)supposed to be the EOL CPU for AM3+?

March 21, 2013 | 11:41 PM - Posted by Josh Walrath

Not according to publicly released roadmaps from AMD.  Vishera looks to be the last for AM3+.  Steamroller is introduced on FM2+.

March 22, 2013 | 01:46 AM - Posted by MykSilentShadow (not verified)

Thanks, was wondering what they were doing. i've looked at roadmaps and info on SR had been missing, the roadmaps were official ones released at CES in Jan :/ lol

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.