Review Index:
Feedback

ASUS Z77 Chipset Motherboard Preview: Formula, Gene, mini-ITX

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: ASUS

P8Z77-I Deluxe and P8Z77-V Pro and mATX

One of the most interesting boards was also the one with the least information provided at the meeting.  The P8Z77-I Deluxe is a mini-ITX Z77 motherboard that really shows us how small these new processors and platforms are going to be able to go.  

View Full Size

You can see here that the motherboard offers a single full length PCI Express slot, two DIMM slots, four SATA connections and quite a bit more.

View Full Size

There are plenty of USB and USB 3.0 ports, DP, HDMI, DVI (no VGA!), WiFi, Intel-controller Gigabit Ethernet, eSATA as wells as BIOS reset buttons.  From what we are told this board overclocks nearly as well as the full-size ATX offerings.

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

The board still has 8-phase power thanks to this riser card of sorts - an interesting engineering feat.

View Full Size

The P8Z77-V Pro and P8Z77-M Pro

These are more or less your typical Z77 options from ASUS with the complete host of features you'll find on the entire family.  The ATX model features three PCIe x16 slots, eight internal SATA connections and more.

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

The external connections for the Pro model here are actually pretty similar to the mini-ITX model above though without eSATA connections.

View Full Size

View Full Size

The mATX version is pretty similar while still including three full length PCIe slots, though obviously with much less spacing. 

March 6, 2012 | 03:31 AM - Posted by Mangix

that first mini itx board with the 90 degree 8 phase power is sexy. with it you can pack some serious power in a small case. this is just awesome.

March 6, 2012 | 09:21 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I hope Asus supplies those matched dust covers with their ROG offerings as well. I know a lot of people will be ready to pay little extra for dust protection.

March 6, 2012 | 09:31 AM - Posted by BigJayDogg3 (not verified)

The Sabertooth? Or the GENE? Decisions, decisions.

March 6, 2012 | 11:14 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

i think i like that z77 work sation board but only one pcie 3.0 slot? am i reading correctly? also does anyone know the form factor of the board? atx?

March 6, 2012 | 01:04 PM - Posted by AParsh335i (not verified)

You did not read it correctly. He said that the way that they have enough bandwidth to supply all 4 slots is using PCIe 3.0 PLX Chip. So its an actual chip rather than a slot.

March 6, 2012 | 12:01 PM - Posted by pdjblum

Probably in the minority, but wish the Pro model did not have PCI slots, or one at most.

March 6, 2012 | 01:08 PM - Posted by AParsh335i (not verified)

I really just can't justify to myself why I would ever want to spend $300 on a motherboard like the Maximus. I've done it before - I bought the very first EVGA X58 Classified board on the day it was released, but got rid of it about a month later (on ebay for $100 more than i paid!). To me $100 for a good board makes sense, but that $200 extra should be spent on other components, assuming there is a budget.

March 6, 2012 | 02:19 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

I think the Formula board we featured here will be more in the $200 range actually. The Extreme board might be much higher though.

March 6, 2012 | 09:23 PM - Posted by PapaDragon

Excellent preview!! Lots of goodies,especially The Maximus 4 Formula, OMG, that's a work of Art...and the Gene.

"The external configuration reveals the array of USB connections, eSATA, gold plated audio connections and an *odd thing standing up there on the left hand side*." LMFAO!!

@Ryan, excuse my noobness, but are those two optical out ports on the Maximus V Formula??
http://www.pcper.com/image/view/11511?return=node%2F53780

I know that the one on the right is a optical port, but what's the one on top of the HDMI port for?

Edit: Ok, Bios reset button!

March 11, 2012 | 07:38 PM - Posted by R (not verified)

P8Z77-I Deluxe mITX

My god that thing is pure sex.
Please let it be stable and not burn up after 6 mo.'s

I don't even care what it costs.

March 17, 2012 | 07:27 AM - Posted by Antillar (not verified)

Wow! If $200 is the correct price rance, there is no reason to buy anything else but the Maximus. I've owned the Maximus II Formula and it was the best board I have ever used. Looks like this continues the trend.

March 17, 2012 | 07:28 AM - Posted by Antillar (not verified)

range*

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.