Review Index:
Feedback

ASUS Sabertooth X79 LGA 2011 Motherboard Review

Author: Steve Grever
Manufacturer: ASUS

Power Consumption and Conclusion

Power Consumption

View Full Size

View Full Size

The ASUS X79 Sabertooth motherboard seemed to pull a few more watts under idle and load conditions than the MSI X79A-GD65 (8D) and Gigabyte X79-UD5. A couple accessories that could have contributed to a small spike in power were the two small fans ASUS included over the chipset and back I/O ports to help exhaust heat out the back of the chassis. The rest of the board is pretty standard in comparison to the other platforms we pitted the X79 Sabertooth against in our benchmarks.

 

Performance

View Full Size

This is the first TUF series motherboard I've reviewed from ASUS, and the X79 Sabertooth backed up its tough and edgy appearance with solid performance results. It posted excellent scores in 3DMark11 and 3DMark Vantage, which indicates ASUS put a lot of stock in ensuring the X79 Sabertooth would meet the stringent requirements of gamers and enthusiasts alike. 

 

View Full Size

What really impressed me about the X79 Sabertooth was the bundled accessories and software that ASUS included. The additional fan over the back I/O ports will keep those components cool during operation. The AI Suite II application has really matured over the years and I found the Thermal Radar to be extremely useful and accurate in monitoring the board's temps and system voltages. The user interface was also organized and streamlined to be used on a daily basis. I encourage new ASUS board users to load it and see if some of the overclocking and monitoring options work with their individual preferences.

 

Pricing

View Full Size

As of May 31, the ASUS X79 Sabertooth motherboard was available at Newegg for $319.99. This board is also available at Amazon for $327.41 and Fry's Electronics for $314.99.

 

Conclusion

View Full Size

We'd like to thank our friends at ASUS for providing the X79 Sabertooth motherboard for our review today. The X79 Sabertooth lives up to its "TUF" name in both looks and performance. The integrated UEFI BIOS gave us plenty of options for configuring everything on our system and did it with a user friendly interface. The board's support for quad GPU graphics configurations from both NVIDIA SLI and AMD CrossfireX is a huge plus and expected for high-end motherboards in this class. The X79 Sabertooth's bundled software was very stable and useful during testing and increased the overall value that consumers look for in all their PC hardware upgrades. Overall, the ASUS X79 Sabertooth has earned PC Perspective's Gold Award for original design, outstanding bundled software, and detailed overclocking features.

View Full Size

Strengths

  • Excellent overclocking motherboard
  • User friendly UEFI BIOS
  • SLI/CrossfireX Quad GPU support
  • Great bundled software and accessories

Weaknesses

  • Power usage was a few watts higher than counterparts during testing
June 5, 2012 | 09:29 AM - Posted by Olternaut (not verified)

I think I like the p9x79 deluxe better. The i/o ports on the sabertooth version is too limited for me.

June 5, 2012 | 09:36 AM - Posted by deowll (not verified)

Looks like this was written by the company rather than being a review but it was interesting.

June 5, 2012 | 10:28 AM - Posted by Tim Verry

did you read the whole thing? ;)

June 5, 2012 | 10:30 AM - Posted by mc (not verified)

Why does this review keep repeating "SLI/CrossfireX Quad GPU support" when I only see THREE pcie x16 slots?

PCPer usually gets it's reviews right, but I agree with deowll, this review reads like an ASUS press release...

I ended up going with the P9X79 Pro for my lga2011 build. I didn't want the noise of those two little fans and I liked the layout/ports of the pro better than the sabertooth.

June 5, 2012 | 11:11 AM - Posted by Thedarklord

Because Quad SLI/CrossfireX support means 4 GPU linking, not 4 cards with 1 GPU each. So support for 2 GTX 690's or 2 HD 7990 (Whenever they do come out).

Just my guess, because it is technically accurate. ;)

But obviously if you want 4 PCI-E slots Asus (and others) have options there.

BTW-side note, I do own a X79 Sabertooth and the PCH fan is 100% silent, I didnt install the optional fan (over the VRM area).

June 5, 2012 | 01:59 PM - Posted by Tim Verry

Yup, what Thedarklord said. These boards can do 4WaySLI and CrossFireX using two dual GPU NV cards or two dual GPU AMD cards.

June 5, 2012 | 11:01 AM - Posted by dreamer77dd

I dont know about this review.
The features like the Bios and easy update etc seem nice.
But the other boards seem to do better over all in performance?
So i dont know if the board should get Gold?
Not saying it is a bad board but maybe price comes into play here to give it a Gold Award.
I think i would be a harder marker.

June 5, 2012 | 12:57 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

I think in the world of motherboards these days performance really means very little, and features and usability are now king.

Thoughts?

June 5, 2012 | 02:32 PM - Posted by Thedarklord

Yeah I agree, with how the motherboard arena has become a "set in stone" approach thats dependant on your choice of CPU. Ex: You want a Sandy Bridge-E which means, X79. Or the Sandy Bridge / Ivy Bridge gives you more choices but performance isnt really the difference in those chipsets (ignoreing overclocking "K" series CPU's, obviously).

So with how the CPU to Motherboard Chipset has changed, and how it is now, performance from a motherboard is not really there, meaning there is no real difference.

The difference has become about the user experience. So things like features, overclocking, built in audio, expansion slots, customer support, design (how good it looks), these are things that motherboards are all about these days. (Really ever since Intel's Nahalem, and AMD's Phenom II).

June 5, 2012 | 11:03 AM - Posted by Thedarklord

I got this board back in march to be the platform for my Core i7-3930K and I am loving this board, I have this in my primary system (where I do OC, but I much prefer stability over performance, this board delivers with both).

I also did not install the optional fans (didnt need to, board runs cool in my Corsair Obsidian 800D). I was worried the PCH fan would be loud, but nope, and it has a 5 year warrenty (fan included) so should last me a long time. :)

Great review PCPer, good read.

October 26, 2012 | 09:56 PM - Posted by Prasannan Krishnan (not verified)

Your explanation is very informative. I like the way you present it. I appreciate your hard work. A big hai for this. Please continue these sort of nice work.

Kind reards
Krish

November 26, 2012 | 03:35 AM - Posted by zizo (not verified)

how to connect an extenvtion firewire IEEE ON MOTHERBOARD asus sabertooth x79 because i have one on the foront of my Cooler Master Case HAF932

December 24, 2012 | 01:14 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I have bought a SABERTOOTH X79 with 16G Kit 1866(8Gx2) Patriot Viper Memory and i7-3930K.... i bring it from out side of my country. those r not available in our Bangladesh.
now i need some advice.
First of all which power supply is good for this system?.....
in our country Thermal Take is available.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.