Review Index:
Feedback

ASUS ROG Maximus VI Extreme Motherboard Review

Subject: Motherboards
Manufacturer: ASUS

Testing Configuration and Benchmarks Used

View Full Size

To verify that the motherboard works as advertised, the board was run through our standard benchmark suite. In most cases, the results are presented for the motherboard under review as well as a different similar-class motherboard for performance comparison purposes. The benchmark tests used should give you a good understanding of the board’s capabilities for both office and gaming use so that you, the reader, can make a more informed purchasing decision.

Test System Setup

CPU

Intel Core i7-4770K
(3.5GHz, 35 x 100MHz Base Clock)

Intel Core i5-3570K
(3.4GHz, 34 x 100MHz Base Clock)

Motherboards

ASUS Maximus VI Extreme
ASUS Gryphon Z87
GIGABYTE Z77X-UP7

Memory

Intel Z87 Testing:
Corsair Vengeance Pro 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-1866 modules
(1600MHz, 9-10-9-27-1T)

Intel Z77 Testing:
G.SKILL 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-2133 modules
(1600MHz, 11-11-11-30-1T)

Hard Drive

Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB SATA III HD

Sound Card

Onboard sound

Video Card

AMD Radeon HD 5870 1GB

CPU Cooling

Laing DDC pump with EK-DDC X-TOP Rev 2 Plexi
Swiftech MCR320-QP Radiator
Swiftech Apogee HD water block

Video Drivers

AMD ATI Catalyst 13.1

Power Supply

Corsair 650w

Operating System

Windows 7 Ultimate x64

Test Setup Explanation

The 64-bit Windows 7 based test bench used for Intel Z87 LGA1150 board testing includes an Intel Core i7-4770K CPU, 16GB of DDR3-1866 memory, an AMD Radeon 5870 1GB video card, and a Western Digital Black 1TB SATA hard drive. Using the selected components gives us the ability to demonstrate the motherboard’s capabilities rather than that of the components themselves.

The 64-bit Windows 7 based test bench used for Intel Z77 LGA1155 board testing includes an Intel Core i5-3570K CPU, 8GB of DDR3-2133 memory, an AMD Radeon 5870 1GB video card, and a Western Digital Black 1TB SATA hard drive. Using the selected components gives us the ability to demonstrate the motherboard’s capabilities rather than that of the components themselves. It was decided that the components used for the Intel Z77 testing originally were close enough for a valid comparison to the Intel Z87 platform performance.

Benchmark Tests used for evaluation:

  • SiSoft Sandra 2012
  • LinX Intel Linpack Benchmark v0.6.4
  • Handbrake video transcoder v0.9.8
  • Maxon Cinebench 11.5
  • FutureMark PCMark 7
June 1, 2013 | 11:25 AM - Posted by djGrrr

What is the point in having 10 SATA3 ports (theoretical 60Gbit) when the DMI 2.0 bus connecting the CPU and chipset is limited to 20Gbit?

June 1, 2013 | 06:16 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Because if you fill it up with drives they are not reading and writing all simulatenously, it just allows extra dives to be connected

June 2, 2013 | 01:38 PM - Posted by MarkT (not verified)

Wow I am a sucker for the The OC Panel!!!!

June 3, 2013 | 05:41 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Isn't the 4770k an i7?

June 3, 2013 | 09:43 AM - Posted by Morry Teitelman

Thank you for pointing this out.  References fixed...

June 3, 2013 | 12:34 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Where is the 4770k overclocking part of the review??

June 4, 2013 | 01:30 PM - Posted by Morry Teitelman

OC results as well as other areas will be covered in followup review...

June 3, 2013 | 04:30 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

So why should I upgrade from my current Asus Maximus V Extreme , 3770k and 32Gb Vengeance @2133MHZ ?
This MB should accommodate 64GB RAM.
The way I see it, is just lame marketing, no significant improvement.

June 5, 2013 | 07:43 PM - Posted by Watson S (not verified)

If you;ve got a 3770K you probably shouldn't you'll get 15% improvement at best. But this is a new socket and your current socket is basically discontinued now.

June 4, 2013 | 02:35 AM - Posted by irdmoose

Hey Morry, just a heads up, but you that MSI included port covers for this board on page 2. I blame Josh. Because reasons.

June 4, 2013 | 01:45 PM - Posted by Morry Teitelman

Thanks for the heads up, I blame too many motherboards and not enough sleep ;)

Its been fixed...

June 8, 2013 | 02:51 PM - Posted by kileysmith33

just before I saw the check of $6179, I be certain ...that...my friend could really taking home money part-time from there new laptop.. there neighbor had bean doing this for only 6 months and resently cleared the debts on their appartment and purchased Lotus Elise. this is where I went, Exit35.com

March 28, 2014 | 02:05 PM - Posted by TJ (not verified)

Can anyone give me an idea where to purchase the rog_ext cable and the metal drive bay adapter for normal mode? Any help would be really appreciated! I've got the panel with no accessory kit!!!!? PLEASE HELP!

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.