Review Index:
Feedback

ASUS P8Z77-I Deluxe Mini-ITX Motherboard Review

Subject: Motherboards
Manufacturer: ASUS

Overclocking Results

ASUS OC Tuner

After clicking the OC Tuner link from the Ai Tweaker page in the BIOS, the system booted into Windows at a 4.2GHz CPU clockspeed with a 103MHz base clock setting and memory running at 1922MHz. Memory timings were auto-set to 11-11-11-30-2T by the system. System stability was tested by running a combination of LinX and FurMark over with LinX running for 500 loops with Memory set to All and FurMark running at 1280x1024 resolution and 2x MSAA in stress test mode. System settings for the automated overclocking session are shown below.

View Full Size

View Full Size

Manual Overclocking

Using manual settings in the ASUS UEFI BIOS via the Ai Tweaker page, I was able stabilize the system at an impressive 105MHz base clock with a 4.5GHz CPU speed and memory running at 1960MHz. Unfortunately, the system would not boot at any higher memory speed. System stability was tested over a 10 hour period with LinX running for 500 loops with Memory set to All and FurMark running at 1280x1024 resolution and 2x MSAA in stress test mode.

View Full Size

View Full Size

Ai Tweaker page

  • BCLK/PEG Frequency - 105.0
  • Turbo Ratio (all cores) - 43
  • Internal PLL Overvoltage - Enabled
  • Memory Frequency - DDR3-1959MHz
  • CPU Manual Voltage - 1.285
  • DRAM Voltage - 1.550
  • VCCSA Voltage - 0.995
  • PCH Voltage - 1.150
  • CPU PLL Voltage - Auto

Dram Timing Control sub-menu

  • DRAM CAS# Latency - 11
  • DRAM RAS# to CAS# Delay - 11
  • DRAM RAS# PRE Time - 11
  • DRAM RAS# ACT Time - 30
  • DRAM COMMAND Mode - 1

CPU Power Management sub-menu

  • CPU Ratio - 43
  • Enhanced Intel SpeedStep Technology – Enabled
  • Turbo Mode - Enabled

DIGI+ VRM sub-menu

  • CPU Loadline Calibration - Extreme
  • CPU Power Phase Control - Extreme
  • CPU Power Duty Control - Extreme
  • CPU Current Capability - 130%
April 5, 2013 | 02:17 PM - Posted by pdjblum

Well done. It is so rare that a reviewer actually lists all the bios settings used to attain a stable overclock. Thanks so much for that.

April 7, 2013 | 06:45 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

More Sata ports and I would have been sold!

April 7, 2013 | 09:02 PM - Posted by onehourleft (not verified)

Good work Morry! I have this motherboard and I have to agree with your assessment. I'll be water cooling it this summer including the VRM daughter board. I'm excited to see what the overclock will be and I think your review will be helpful.

April 9, 2013 | 12:50 AM - Posted by hoxlund

Love the review. Solid performer. What I think is the most feature packed mini-itx mobo. Looking to throw together this motherboard inside a prodigy case.

April 9, 2013 | 01:15 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Does this have clearance for a Noctua DH14 heatsink? It's the big air cooler.

I'm considering a mini-itx gaming build and would love to stick with this cooler :).

April 9, 2013 | 03:12 PM - Posted by Morry Teitelman

You should not have a problem with the Noctua coolers and that board - the socket has a massive amount of space around it (the pictures don't do that justice unfortunately).

Also, more information about the fit of the Noctua cooler in this thread:

http://www.overclock.net/t/1281628/plan-on-new-rig

April 9, 2013 | 08:12 PM - Posted by icebug

Nice review, I am planning on getting this to use with my NCASE M1 case when it launches this summer!

May 1, 2013 | 12:36 PM - Posted by AbSoluTc (not verified)

Lol. I ran across this review while searching for mATX reviews. This seems to be the best MOBO in the class. I too am watching the NCASE M1 develop and will be buying it when it releases. Such a sleek case. Really can't wait to get my hands on it.

June 23, 2013 | 02:14 AM - Posted by castl3bravo (not verified)

The ASUS BIOS process, from my experience, isn't rock solid. It has a tendancy to get corrupted which, in my case, caused the on board Intel GPU to disappear and the CPU ratio to get stuck at 42.

Here is some of the drama people are going through.

http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=2314371&page=1

If your ASUS BIOS starts going sideways you'll want to start google someone named Coderush.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.