Review Index:
Feedback

ASUS Intel Z87 Motherboard Lineup Preview

Subject: Motherboards
Manufacturer: ASUS

More Motherboards

Workstation Motherboards

View Full Size

ASUS Z87 WS
Courtesy of ASUS

The ASUS Workstation line includes Z87 WS and the P8D WS. The Workstation line includes the same great features of previous generations, including BIOS Flashback support, dual server-class Intel NICs, and a USB 2.0 port integrated into the surface of the board.

ASUS Mainstream Motherboards

View Full Size

ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Courtesy of ASUS

The ASUS mainstream line of boards includes the Z87 Deluxe, Z87 Expert, Z87 Pro, Z87 Plus, Z87I Deluxe, Z87 A, and Z87 C models. The Z87I Deluxe is a mini-ITX form-factor board. The Z87 Expert line replaces the EVO line from previous generations and the Z87 Plus line replaces the V line from previous generations. All boards include the Dual Intelligent Processors 4 technology. This technology offers 4-way optimization through the TPU performance tuning chip, the EPU energy consumption manager, the DIGI+ Power Control, and the Fan Xpert2 module. includes Z87 WS and the P8D WS. The Workstation line includes the same great features of previous generations, including BIOS Flashback support, dual server-class Intel NICs, and a USB 2.0 port integrated into the surface of the board.

View Full Size

ASUS 802.11ac dual cable antennae
Courtesy of ASUS

The Z87 Deluxe comes standard with 802.11ac wireless support and includes an ASUS developed dual-cable antennae for optimal reception and access point use.

View Full Size

ASUS Z87 Plus
Courtesy of ASUS

View Full Size

ASUS Z87 Pro
Courtesy of ASUS

View Full Size

ASUS Z87 A
Courtesy of ASUS

View Full Size

ASUS Z87 C
Courtesy of ASUS

The Z87 A and Z87 C boards are ASUS' budget boards in their Z87 lineup. The boards include the same black and gold color scheme, but offer more basic header and rear panel port support. The board's power circuitry and power phases are also reduced compared with the other boards in the lineup.

About ASUS

ASUS is a worldwide top-three consumer notebook vendor and maker of the world’s best-selling and most award-winning motherboards. A leading enterprise in the new digital era, ASUS designs and manufactures products that perfectly meet the needs of today’s digital home and office, with a broad portfolio that includes motherboards, graphics cards, optical drives, displays, desktop and all-in-one PCs, notebooks, netbooks, servers, multimedia devices, wireless solutions, networking devices, tablets and smartphones. Driven by innovation and committed to quality, ASUS won 4,168 awards in 2012 and is widely credited with revolutionizing the PC industry with its Eee PC™. ASUS has more than 12,500 employees around the globe with a world-class R&D team of 3,800 engineers. Company revenue for 2012 was approximately US$14 billion.

May 16, 2013 | 02:51 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Been upgrading to a new Sabertooth every 2nd year. Love them so much, will continue the trend this year! Will look fantastic in my Corsair C70 Green case.

May 16, 2013 | 07:17 AM - Posted by Justin 150 (not verified)

z87 black and gold is very nice. I like ASUS boards generally so if they bring out a MATX version would definitely consider it

May 16, 2013 | 08:10 AM - Posted by Alexw585

I'm considering selling my current i7-3770K with a P8Z77-V board to upgrade to Haskell. I know the difference isn't huge but the additional SATA6 support, Wireless 802.11ac, and what looks like Thunderbolt to me, this new line up from Asus may be reason enough.

May 16, 2013 | 08:14 AM - Posted by raxx (not verified)

I could be wrong, but I don't think there is a Maximus VI Formula. I think the Hero replaces that board. I don't see a picture of that board on any site.

"Their ROG line will include the Maximus VI Extreme, the Maximus VI Formula, the Maximus VI Gene, and the Maximus VI Hero."

May 16, 2013 | 09:08 AM - Posted by Morry Teitelman

There is a Maximus VI Formula as part of the line-up, ASUS did not provide pre-release photos of the board at this time though.  The Hero board is not meant to replace any of the existing ROG products (SKUs) but is an additional entry to better compete with the MSI MPOWER line of boards...

May 16, 2013 | 10:36 AM - Posted by raxx (not verified)

Oh ok! Damn you, Asus!

May 16, 2013 | 09:48 AM - Posted by grommet

I am currently using a 3770K on a Z77 Sabertooth which I have been very happy with. If I were going to upgrade to Haswell (which I haven't decided on yet) I would likely continue with the Sabertooth line.

May 16, 2013 | 05:15 PM - Posted by Ss3trnks2

Anyone know if there are any rumors or speculation about an ROG Mini-ITX board?

May 16, 2013 | 10:34 PM - Posted by Morry Teitelman

I can neither confirm nor deny that rumor.  You will have to wait and see...

May 16, 2013 | 07:08 PM - Posted by HottyRat (not verified)

ASUS said that there would be more than four ROG-series motherboards, so a mini-ITX board is likely to come.

May 17, 2013 | 09:50 AM - Posted by OctaveanActually (not verified)

Some of these Asus Z87 motherboards have what look like Thunderbolt "TB_Header".

Since Asus never released support via their ThunderboltEX add-in card to their supported Z77 motherboards with Thunderbolt "TB_Header" why are they bothering with it on Z87 boards now,...?

I heard that Asus couldn't get Intel certification for their ThunderboltEX card / "TB_Header" implementation which is why the add-in cards never went up for sale.

What on earth would be different now?

The Asus ThunderboltEX add-in card was supposed to be available at or near the release date of Ivy Bridge desktop processors. We are now on the cusp of Haswell release,....

May 17, 2013 | 11:43 PM - Posted by John Blanton (not verified)

On the Asus ROG site they have pictures of a black and gold Z87 mini itx motherboard that still has the VRM riser card. It's coming and I can't wait, guess my next build is going to be Haswell. :)

June 24, 2013 | 07:42 PM - Posted by 55aaa (not verified)

I like all your reviews
my question is
can I purchase a ASUS Z87-A Z87 and still use a 3770
processor
thk you

July 2, 2013 | 08:44 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Only Haswell processor on z87. Its a different socket.

July 3, 2013 | 05:48 AM - Posted by DRiVER_helsinki (not verified)

unfortunately when something else is doin the work for the player,
its like cheat.
Manufacturers invent and build what looks cools and sells.
Asus sure sense this has risk to get ban -but before such happens it has sold a lot.
Luckily they didnt (yet) make external version out of this -which is plugged in between your headphone wire and computer. -because those cant be detected by punkbuster,
like many such recoil-removing mouses where scripts are uploaded onto mouse, and dont use/ need any software/process inside the operating system.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.