Review Index:
Feedback

iPad 3 (2012) vs. Transformer Prime: Tablet Titan Showdown

Author: Matt Smith
Subject: Mobile
Manufacturer: Apple, ASUS

Display and Audio Quality, Camera Quality

Display And Audio Quality

View Full Size

When I reviewed the Prime I was very pleased with its display. It is bright and colorful and does a particularly good job of handling media content.

Yet it has no hope of competing. The new iPad 3 has three times as many pixels as the Transformer Prime (3,145,728 vs. 1,024,000) which translates to about 100 more pixels per inch. The sharpness of the iPad 3’s display in comparison to the Transformer Prime is evident when browsing the web. 

Consider the images below. These are photographs of the PC Perspective website as it appears when you initially load the page on each tablet (in portrait orientation). As you can see, text is not clearly visible when it loads on the Transformer Prime due to its lower pixel density. You have to zoom in to read it. That’s not necessary on the iPad 3, which easily resolves the text. 

View Full Size

View Full Size

 

 

This advantage does not apply to all websites. Some use larger fonts and others have different formatting. But there are are a number of pages where this difference is noticeable. 

It’s not just the pixel count that favors the iPad 3. Though both tablets offer enjoyable image quality, the iPad 3 offers richer colors. Testing of the new display’s color space confirms that it is significantly better than the iPad 2 and any other tablet on the market today. 

View Full Size

The importance of the additional pixels is difficult to overstate. Having used the iPad 3 it is my belief that all future tablets must have a resolution that is similar. Any which fail to do this will automatically exclude themselves from competition (unless the tablet is remarkably inexpensive, of course). 

Although the display is a landslide in favor or the iPad, there is one area where the Prime wins - brightness. Its Super IPS mode is clearly brighter than anything the iPad can manage. In most situations this is a moot point, but it does become an advantage if you are using the tablets outdoors or in front of a window during a sunny day. 

Audio quality usually isn’t a make-or-break point for tablets, and there’s not much difference to note between these competitors. Both have their speakers located to one side and both have them placed in an area that makes it possible to cover up the speaker during normal use, significantly decreasing quality and volume. Bring a pair of headphones if you want to listen to music or watch movies in anything besides a perfectly silent room. 

Camera Quality - Rear Facing

 

The camera is an area where the Prime has a significant on-paper advantage. It includes an 8MP rear-facing camera (as opposed to 5MP on the iPad 3). 

Does this translate to a better photography experience? Let’s find out starting with an interior macro shot. This demonstrates how each tablet handles photography in poor lighting conditions. 

View Full Size

View Full Size

Neither tablet performs well in this setting, but the Transformer Prime does seem to have a slight advantage. There seems to be less noise and more color in the image shot with the Prime. Perhaps the sensor in that tablet’s camera is better able to deal with low-light conditons.

Let’s see what happens when we take the same book and put it in full sunlight. 

View Full Size

View Full Size

Both tablets perform much better when light is readily available. Noise is essentially eliminated and the resulting picture is sharp. However, the iPad 3 seems to do a better job of reproducing color. While the Prime’s photo is a bit washed out the iPad’s photo offers vibrant reds and does a much better job of picking up color from background objects, such as the deck floor and the stool the book is sitting on.

Let’s go to a landscape photograph on a sunlit day.

View Full Size

View Full Size

Bright sunlight clearly causes some trouble for both tablets, but the Prime is the clear loser. it simply can’t handle the amount of light available and bright portions of the image appear washed out as a result. In addition, there is a bit of lens flare occurring in the photograph. Reproducing this on the iPad 3 is possible, but it’s more resistant to it - you almost have to point the tablet directly at the sun to induce it.

Let’s round up the test of the rear-facing camera with a shot of a object in bright light that is about five feet away from the tablet.

View Full Size

View Full Size

The Prime had real trouble with this photograph. It had difficulty deciding where to focus, which results in a somewhat blurry image. Problems with handling bright light continue, resulting in a washed-out appearance and some flare off the bike’s chrome.

While the Prime seems to be slightly better in low-light conditions it loses badly in photographs taken in brighter light. Overall, the performance of the iPad 3 is better, but you might prefer the Prime if you’re more likely to take photos while indoors. The presence of a flash on the Prime means that it automatically wins in dark lighting, as well.

Camera Quality - Front Facing

Once again the Prime has an on-paper advantage. Its 1.2MP forward facing camera far exceeds the measly .3MP unit on the iPad 3. However, the rear facing camera on Apple’s tablet managed a win despite fewer mega-pixels. Can it repeat that performance?

View Full Size

View Full Size

Not quite. In this comparison the poor pixel count is simply too much for the new iPad to overcome. Its small, noisy image is only acceptable even when lighting conditions are favorable. 

That’s not to say the Prime is excellent. It also introduces significant noise. Color reproduction is another problem - the camera on the Prime has a tendency to overboost red, which results in a darker image and causes the subject’s face to appear unnaturally rosey. 

Neither of these tablets can serve as a replacement for a high-resolution desktop webcam, but they are on par with the image quality you’ll receive from most laptops. 

 

April 6, 2012 | 02:17 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

This review is incorrect. It IS in fact a single piece of metal. I have torn mine apart at least 15 times.

April 6, 2012 | 07:58 PM - Posted by JSL

Confirming.

Matt, you're mistaking the Asus Eee Pad Transformer (TF101) for the Transformer Prime(TF201).

Might want to check out tear down video's if you're not going to take apart your own. Its a single piece for the aluminum housing of the TF-201 Transformer Prime.

April 8, 2012 | 01:21 AM - Posted by Matt Smith

Sorry for the mistake, then.

It's a little beside the point, though - what I was trying to get across is that, for some reason, ASUS decided to make it appear as if there are two pieces of trim on the back of the Prime.

That seems strange and unattractive. If it's just one piece, then that's actually even more unusual. I don't know why ASUS would go out of its way to introduce an additional (perceived) seam to the device.

November 24, 2014 | 01:19 AM - Posted by Drusilla (not verified)

A tour to South East Asia is like a sumptuous feast of multiple cuisines.
Now, when one thinks of Thailand tourism, an exhaustive list of tourist destinations starts to look at.
Evening we tethered next to the stadium and the airship still plodded around declining leaflets.

My web blog - จังหวัดระยอง สถานที่ท่องเที่ยว

April 6, 2012 | 02:27 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Also.. setting these screens at a percent based brightness puts the prime hugely at a disadvantage. It is WAY brighter than the Ipad. Also, the prime has a cpu clock of 1.4ghz MAX, 1.6ghz is only availible through overclocking (it is technically in ther kernel, but disabled.) This review is riddled with misinformation. I expected better from PCPER.COM.

April 6, 2012 | 02:41 PM - Posted by Matt Smith

"That puts it at a severe on-paper disadvantage against Tegra 3, which offers four cores running at up to 1.6 GHz (though they run at between 1 GHz and 1.4 GHz in the Transformer Prime)."

...

April 7, 2012 | 10:26 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Show me one device running at 1.6ghz. Tegra3 will never run that high. Tegra t33 will.

April 6, 2012 | 10:57 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

There is not much of a brightness difference between the iPad 3 and the Prime and the iPad is lighting many, many more pixels, which gives it a huge disadvantage too...

April 14, 2012 | 05:05 AM - Posted by Brett (not verified)

More pixels does not mean more power. the iPad has more pixels but each pixel uses much more power. Brightness has a far greater effect on power consumption.

The point being made is the Transformer Prime at 30% brightness will be FAR brighter than the iPad 3 and therefore use far more power. Equal brightness test would be far more useful comparison

April 6, 2012 | 02:37 PM - Posted by pdjblum

You are comparing crapple to oranges. There has never been a large market for tablets. MS tried selling tablets ten years ago, and failed miserably. There is, however, a large market for iPad's; the reasons for this I will leave to those who want to delve into the psyches of the people buying iPads.

The vast majority of people buying iPads are not interested in how they match up against competing products: in their minds there are no competing products. To them, they are not buying a tablet, they are buying an iPad. And the vast majority of people buying iPads would not be interested in what tech sites have to say about them. They are an impulse purchase. The people that buy them do not think about why they need them or what they will use them for. They find this out after they buy them.

The vast majority of enthusiasts are not interested in gadget reviews or comparisons between gadgets. Those that are, can find plenty of them on theVerge.com and many similar sites.

Not only is the market for android tablets minuscule when compared to the market for iPads, but Android is obviously flawed, as you love to reiterate every time you have a chance. What enthusiast cares anyway. Most get much more excited about video cards and psu's and even fans.

I am sure the Windows 8 tablet experience will be terrific, but once again, people are not interested in tablets. They want there iPads. I say, let them have them and stop making them a fixture on this world class enthusiast site.

April 6, 2012 | 03:07 PM - Posted by Matt Smith

The amount of content that PC Perspective offers for traditional PC enthusiasts isn't decreasing, and we think it'd be foolhardy to ignore other devices. The tablet is developing into a very small PC - and we review laptops. So why ignore them?

April 6, 2012 | 04:57 PM - Posted by AParsh335i (not verified)

I'm a computer enthusiast, gamer, and I spend about $8m a year at my company on computers and electronics. I read the entire review and thought it was great. This guy that is flaming your review is simply a troll.

April 6, 2012 | 10:22 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Agree, anyone that thinks the iPad is not the overall winner here has not used one.

April 6, 2012 | 04:54 PM - Posted by AParsh335i (not verified)

"There has never been a large market for tablets"
Not sure where you get your information, but there is a HUGE market for tablets including iPads, Nice android tablets like Prime/Iconia/streak/playbook/etc, and crap android tablets that are made by companies in China you have never heard of.
Wake up.

April 7, 2012 | 06:59 PM - Posted by Bill (not verified)

I have to agree. It's a sad day when on the home page of a PC hardware site there's yet another also ran review of yet another new Ipad, which technically isn't even called the Ipad 3 anyway. Ipad people as you say couldn't care less about the specs on the unit, how sharp the screen is, or it's storage capacity. They want it because they are sheep that want to buy what everyone else they know buys. Most Android users won't switch to Apple because of the mess that is Itunes, and the fact that if you have a decent size MP3 collection you'll need to shell out a King's ransom for the 32 or 64gb Ipad. Notice I said most users though, as Android users are far more open minded when it comes to the idea of switching tablets. To Apple users it's a religion and anyone else is to be shunned as a non-believer!

April 6, 2012 | 03:03 PM - Posted by jameskelsey

I think a big part of the choice between the two has to be whether you want to be locked into the Apple ecosystem,it's a walled garden.Or have more choice with Android,also if you use the dock it doubles your battery life.

April 6, 2012 | 04:32 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Ditto. I think it has less to do with hardware details and more to do with this so-called "Eco-system". I personally started out as a devout iOS user, and as I became more adept with mobile devices, I was drawn to Android. I started to feel like I was a prisoner with Apple and iTunes. Android on the other hand is a tinkerers paradise. It was so easy to root my tab... took about 5 minutes. Installing a custom ROM was also a snap. I still have an iPhone, but it will probably be my last. I just don't do well with authority I guess.

April 6, 2012 | 10:40 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Only thing is, as far as tablets are concerned, Apple's "walled garden" is far superior to Android's open ecosystem. The quality and quantity of apps optimized for Android Tablets is simply pitiful, and most phone apps look like crap blown up on a larger screen..

April 6, 2012 | 04:26 PM - Posted by Vasu (not verified)

For me it doesn't matter if the OS is a walled garden or a public garden. What matters to me is whether the device works without an issue every time. I switched from iPhone to Samsung Galaxy II and after my initial honeymoon, I am praying to God how soon my current contract ends so that I can switch back to iPhone. Android although is very promising, is not quite stable. Period.

April 6, 2012 | 04:40 PM - Posted by JSL

you might want to update your rom/firmware ;)

April 6, 2012 | 05:55 PM - Posted by jameskelsey

I hear that the Apple OS's are more stable than Android and Windows all the time but have seen quite a bit of the opposite.I watch a lot of the shows on TWIT.TV including IPad Today and MacBreak Weekly.Most of production is done with Macs and most of the hosts use Mac and IOS.If you watch live you'll see them have problems quite often with apps, software and the OS that get cut out of the shows downloads.Apple,Microsoft and Android all have pro's and con's and all have their own problems, most of which I think are due to the software or drivers installed on them.A lot of Apple users seem to wear blinders when it comes to seeing any flaws in the Apple environment,I don't really understand why,it's just a device not a child or a puppy.I use Windows and probably only get a couple lockups and reboots a year,and I use a lot of alpha and beta software.I also have a HP Touchpad that I paid $99 for and put Android Ice Cream Sandwich CM9 alpha on it.This is a device that was designed to run WebOS and has Android on it.Not all the functions are working yet but it is a Alpha release,I find it very stable and enjoy all it's options.

April 6, 2012 | 04:54 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

The problem with the iPad is that you need an adapter for EVERYTHING. The Prime has a micro SD slot (which every mobile device should have) and well as micro hdmi. On top of that, there is no good dock for the iPad, while the Prime's dock is far and away the best tablet dock in existence, giving you usb 2.0, full size SD, a good keyboard, and much greater battery life. This is the big separator, making the iPad more of a toy for most people, while the Prime has serious potential to be a productivity tool without poorly designed productivity add-ons. Also, 4:3 displays are a joke and the fact that the iPad is still vertically oriented by default is silly. And the Prime gives you more bang for your buck: take the 2 base models. The Prime comes with 32gb storage on board and expandibility and micro hdmi, while the iPad of the same price comes with half the storage and no expansion options built in. The iPad legitimately only has a display advantage, which will be irrelevant when the TF700 launches in summer.

April 6, 2012 | 11:07 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Dude, your an idiot. Show me any Android "productivity" apps that compare to iPhoto, iMovie and GarageBand. The primes battery life is only greater when you use the keyboard dock, which you have to buy separately. A4:3 ratio display is much better for use in portrait and landscape than a 16:9 display than can be best used only in landscape -- hell just get a $399 windows laptop at Offfice Depot.

October 13, 2012 | 04:05 AM - Posted by Brian Eargle (not verified)

A 16:9 display of text rotated 90° is really sweet for reading while lying down.

April 6, 2012 | 11:52 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I completely agree. Just the keyboard dock by itself totally sold me on the Transformer. Add to that the USB Host which is a H U G E plus. I can connect my camera to it and view photos, download them, re-arrange them into albums .... With the iPad, I had to buy a $40 dongle (which wouldn't work with the iPod Touch!) and could not be used as a universal host! Then, I couldn't create albums from the photos that I could re-arrange. I had to sync with iTunes, upload the photos, rearrange them and resync them back to the iPad. So much for a post PC device! It's the extensibility of the Prime that sets it notches better from a hardware perspective than the iPad. I haven't seen the iPad 3, but I can easily believe that it has a better display. However I have never seen any page look as bad on the TP as the one in the review. I did go to the PC Perspective site and some of the fonts do look bad. But it's a very inconsistent site. Some pages (like this review) looks very good and some like the sections ("Latest ...") of the home page are using a font that doesn't look that hot on my desktop either.

I'm not sure why the default browser is being used on the Transformer Prime instead of the Chrome browser which is noticeably faster than the default browser.

I have noticed that the default exposure on the TP camera has to be dropped by 0.5 to 1 stop when shooting in bright sunlight or mixed light. But the photos while not comparable to my DSLR are still fairly decent. I still haven't found a reason for having a camera on a tablet though. I use it very rarely and it made no part of my buying decision. The front facing camera is useful for meetings though.

April 6, 2012 | 05:13 PM - Posted by John Crane (not verified)

You said this comparison was not going to be subjective, but every judgment you made was subjective, presented without factual evidence other than your personal preferences.

You said measurements. Measurements are expressed as NUMBERS. Where are your numbers? Where are the specs?

Do most consumers prefer luxury over fun? If that;s true, how come there are more Android smart phones in the market than there are Apple phones?

I'm trying to decide whether this is a puff piece on Apple, or a hit piece on everybody else. I am sorry that I wasted my time reading this because I REALLY would like to know what's Apple got that nobody else has got? Maybe they just have more shills in the media, and that's all.

Prove me wrong. Write a decent, OBJECTIVE article with facts and numbers.

April 6, 2012 | 06:43 PM - Posted by Matt Smith

The new iPad has:

Better battery life.
Better GPU performance.
Far better absolute display resolution and pixels-per-inch.

April 6, 2012 | 07:00 PM - Posted by JSL

as long as you still enjoy 4:3 aspect ratio. :|
and one can argue about battery life...

April 6, 2012 | 09:56 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

What is wrong with 4:3 on a tablet? Webpages, ebooks, emagazines, many games, etc.. look great in portrait AND landscape mode. Maybe if you watch a lot Widescreen video--but the iPads hi res display shows every pixel of a 1080p video anyway.

April 7, 2012 | 10:32 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

...and a lot of negative space while doing so.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.