Review Index:
Feedback

Toshiba Satellite C655D AMD E-240 Fusion APU Notebook Review

Author: Matt Smith
Subject: Mobile
Manufacturer: Toshiba
Tagged:

Performance

Ah, finally, the performance section. Since this is the first laptop we’ve reviewed with AMD’s new Zacate APU, and AMD has so far only let us play with the dual-core variant, it’s hard to know what should be expected. Seeing that this is the single-core version, and it is shipping in budget laptops such as this $349 Toshiba Satellite C655, Intel’s Atom is the natural target. The E-240 processor in this model is clocked at 1.5 GHz – slightly slower than your typical Atom. However, the Atom has been around for some time, so this new AMD processor could easily make up for its clock speed deficit with a quicker architecture. We know, for example, that the E-240 is uses out-of-order execution, which should give it a per-clock performance advantage over the strictly in-order Atom.

But enough talk – let’s get to the benchmarks. As usual, the SiSoft synthetic benchmarks come first.

As you can see, the E-240 scores far lower than most laptops we’ve reviewed including the Atom powered Eee PC 1201N. But here’s the catch; the Eee PC 1201N was packing a dual-core Atom processor. The performance of the E-240 is similar to what you’d expect from a modern single-core Atom such as the 1.66 GHz N450.

Frankly, I was a bit disappointed with these results. It’s not as if Atom is a cutting edge architecture – it hasn’t been significantly changed since it debuted a few years ago, and the changes that have occurred mostly focused on improving battery life rather than performance. If you’ve never been happy with the processor performance of Atom in the past, you’re unlikely to be happy with the E-240, either.

There’s more to the E-240 than this, however. It’s time to examine some more general performance benchmarks.

Unfortunately, the ASUS Eee PC 1201 came around before we changed our benchmark suite to include an expanded lineup of general performance tests, so it isn’t to be found in anything besides PCMark Vantage. With that said, the E-240 in the C655 came surprisingly close to the score of that dual-core Atom netbook, which is a very positive result. The Peacekeeper benchmark also placed the E-240 surprisingly close to the Intel Core i3-UM processor in the recently tested Lenovo U260.

On the other hand, the E-240 scores very poorly in the 7-zip benchmark and the Truecrypt benchmark, both of which lean on the performance of the processor and not at all on the performance of the integrated graphics. This suggests that the overall performance of this APU is biased more towards graphics, which isn’t surprising.

June 12, 2011 | 11:49 PM - Posted by liconta (not verified)

i need drives toshiba c655d-s5130

June 28, 2011 | 11:26 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

what is the expected battery time when fist used? im at 92% battery life and have 3hours and 30 min left is that bad???

November 10, 2011 | 09:17 AM - Posted by Tudor (not verified)

This is the exact model that I have.It works great;the only thing I would exchange it for is a toshiba satellite a215.
I recommend both models to everyone.They're great laptops.

May 5, 2012 | 07:09 AM - Posted by cleangreen (not verified)

My 8 month old Toshiba C665 has got a loose left hinge, similar to your right hinge, and when I try closing it it is reluctant to close.
I am a certified electrician and electronic technician, (40yrs) NZ, and believe this type with the new deep set hinges have an error in manufacture, where I am told the brass seat that is moulded into the base plastic cover works loose with use, and I have always been very careful when using this model as from new it feels very unstable around the hinge are, when you open it up, it feels floppy and bends, so much I believe it it not rigidly fastened, and the movement loosens the plastic around the brass insert that the holding screws for the hinge eventually come loose or tear away.
Toshiba should recall these models as the earlier models with straight hinges like the Tecra M9 had no such problems.
Software works fine.

July 8, 2012 | 01:39 PM - Posted by nithin (not verified)

sir my laptop is TOSHIBA C665-P5010 ...I GOT SAME PROBLEM THE PLATIC BASE FOR SCREW IS BROKEN AND THE LEFT HINGE IS DAMAGED WHAT SHOULD I DO NOW...HOW MUCH IT WILL COST? OR SHALL I TAKE IT TO A SERVICE CENTRE WHERE HE WILL FIX A SMALL PLATIC HOLDING BASE AND THEN THE SCREW CAN BE FITTED INTO IT..IS THIS FINE....PLEASE REPLY ME FAST SIR..

September 5, 2012 | 06:22 PM - Posted by bryan (not verified)

I have the same laptop and after about 8 months the right side of the bottom base cover screw base broke from hinge stress. i think there should be more support screws in that area.

April 9, 2014 | 10:24 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

You are so right!

July 8, 2012 | 01:40 PM - Posted by nithin (not verified)

THE HINGE IS NOT AT ALL FITTING INTO THE PLASTIC BASE...I THINK THE PLASTIC SCREW COVER IS BROKEN AND THERE IS NOTHING TO HOLD...PLEASE HELP ME

September 5, 2012 | 06:23 PM - Posted by bryan (not verified)

have to replace bottom base cover

February 28, 2013 | 05:34 PM - Posted by Ozijohn (not verified)

Same model satellite c665 left hinge plastic mount broken after 13 months. We have four other toshiba laptops and I will stop buying Toshiba as there is no customer service contact or care.

September 10, 2013 | 10:08 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

hello my laptop recently stopped turning on, i plug in the charger but the charging light on the laptop doesnt turn on or charge and my laptop doesnt turn on at all any ideas on what is wrong

April 9, 2014 | 10:22 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I have a similar problem with the hinges on my C655D-S513,and I am in total agreement with the comment by the certified technician. Don't think I will be recommending this product to anyone.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.