Review Index:
Feedback

Lenovo Thinkpad Twist Convertible Ultrabook Review

Subject: Mobile
Manufacturer: Lenovo

Testing Configuration and Benchmarks Used

View Full Size

To verify that the motherboard works as advertised, the system was run through our standard benchmark suite. In all cases, the results are presented for the system under review only. The benchmark tests used should give you a good understanding of the system’s capabilities for both office and gaming use so that you, the reader, can make a more informed purchasing decision.

Test System Setup

CPU

Intel Core i5-3317U
(1.7GHz base speed, 2.6GHz Turbo)

Memory

4GB (1 x 4GB) DDR3-1333 modules
(1333MHz, 9-9-9-24-1T)

Hard Drive

Hitachi Z7K500 500GB 7200RPM hard drive
24GB SSD cache drive

Sound Card

On-board sound

Video Card

Intel HD Graphics 4000

Video Drivers

9.17.10.2867

Operating System

Windows 8

Benchmark Tests used for evaluation:

  • SoftPerfect Research NetWorx Speed Test
  • ATTO Disk Benchmark v2.47
  • LinX Intel Linpack Benchmark v0.6.4
  • SiSoft Sandra 2012
  • Handbrake video transcoder v0.9.8
  • FutureMark PCMark 7
  • FutureMark Peacekeeper in Firefox browser
  • 7-Zip v9.20
  • Maxon Cinebench 11.5
  • Tech ARP's x264 HD Benchmark v5.01
  • Batman: Arkham City
  • Hard Reset
  • FutureMark 3DMark 11

Laptop specific Benchmark Tests used for evaluation:

  • Battery Eater Pro v2.70
  • PCPerspective Battery Test
  • FutureMark Peacekeeper battery test
  • Unigine Heaven DX11 Benchmark v3.0
December 26, 2012 | 03:37 PM - Posted by Patrick546

Wow nice ultrabook!!

December 26, 2012 | 03:43 PM - Posted by DusanVarga

Never been a big fan of IBM, but this i liked.
Powerful and classy

December 27, 2012 | 11:32 PM - Posted by v81 (not verified)

Just a comment on the trend of displays, not a fan of the low res on a lot of portables lately.
At a time when smartphones are pushing 1280x720 and 1920x1080 on 4 and 5 inch displays, we still have netbooks and notebooks sporting resolutions like 1024x600 and 1366x768.
Isn't it time we started expecting 1080p as a minimum on these displays 10 inches and upward?

December 28, 2012 | 04:14 AM - Posted by Ship (not verified)

@v81 - I totally, totally agree.

Lenovo's Thinkpad Twist Convertible Ultrabook is looking machine but I refuse point-blank to buy such a low resolution machine.

December 28, 2012 | 08:30 AM - Posted by Ship (not verified)

P.S. This low resolution thing on Windows 8 tablets/convertibles is starting to feel a bit like a "Conspiracy of Uselessness" !

My strong suspicion is that the Windows operating system itself is deeply screwed when it comes to displaying things at higher resolution, due partly to the way applications have been coded.

If a Windows application has defined its layouts in sizes that are fixed by using pixels (rather than as percentages etc), then on a very high resolution screens everything starts to become too small to read. And if the user increases text size so as to make text large enough to read, then if a box is of fixed height and width number of pixels, then the text can disappear off the bottom of the visible area in question. Worse, it can take the Submit button with it! Thereby making the application unusable!

I understand that Apple applications/apps do not suffer from this problem - at least not so badly. Which sounds like extremely bad news for those of us who have invested heavily in Windows software. :^(

December 28, 2012 | 01:24 PM - Posted by Gordon (not verified)

Get the Lenovo IdeaPad Yoga 13.3 inch convertible Ultrabook instead of the Lenovo ThinkPad Twist 12.5 inch convertible Ultrabook computer/tablet PC!

December 29, 2012 | 07:42 PM - Posted by Morry Teitelman

The one thing the Twist has over the Yoga (and the big reason I got this one for my wife over the Yoga) is that the display folds over the keyboard on the Twist while in Tablet mode.  On the Yoga, the keyboard sits behind the display on the devices bottom while in Tablet mode. 

IMHO, more chance of having keyboard related issues if you use it as a tablet a lot and put it down on a hard surface...

December 31, 2012 | 08:08 AM - Posted by orvtrebor

Damn nice design, the twist/fold display is perfect.

Being able to slap in an SSD of my choice is a nice touch as well.

The battery situation will keep me from buying this, but if they revise it with the next generation I'm in.

Low res doesn't bother me at this screen size, My vision is too crappy.

February 18, 2013 | 12:21 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Get an extended life battery with the regular one it comes with. Worth the extra expense - over 12 hours of lovely battery life. I live in kenya.

January 3, 2013 | 06:21 PM - Posted by Max (not verified)

Such awesome display should be standard, except for resolution. That and the hidden hardware feel like dealbreakers.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.