Review Index:
Feedback

EVGA NVIDIA Tegra Note 7 Review - $199 Tegra 4 Tablet

Author: Ryan Shrout
Subject: Mobile
Manufacturer: EVGA

Performance Testing and Battery Life

The benchmarks and performance results should be predictable for us since the SoC on the Tegra Note 7 is basically the same as the SHIELD – the only difference is a 100 MHz clock speed advantage for the SHIELD.  Let’s look a few quick tests.

View Full Size

**Update: After speaking with NVIDIA they seem to believe that our SHIELD result for 3DMark Unlimited is lower than it should be. I ran these tests 3 times to verify results but once I return back to the office I'll be checking the SHIELD for discrepancies. 

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

Basemark X and Sunspider JS are showing exactly what I expected to see – very slight performance advantages to the SHIELD over the new Note 7 platform.  However, the 3DMark Ice Storm Unlimited result, which is supposed to take resolution and Vsync out of the equation, shows a sizeable advantage for the Tegra Note 7 for some reason.  This could be OS related, but we’ve put in a request to NVIDIA for clarification. 

BrowserMark also gives the nod to the Tegra Note 7 but by a much smaller delta.

View Full Size

Please excuse our battery life testing as we were only able to run it on the Nexus 7 and Note 7 as we recently changed things around on our setup for the test.  The results should be much more accurate though we didn’t have a chance to run it on more devices yet. 

The Tegra Note 7 definitely is at a disadvantage here pulling in nearly 8 hours of wireless browsing battery life, while the Nexus 7 was able to extend over 11 hours.

November 12, 2013 | 10:31 AM - Posted by willmore (not verified)

This looks pretty nice! The performance is well better than I was expecting. I don't know much about the tests that were run, but are they screen resolution independent?

For me, the improved audio isn't at all a feature as I almost always listen to my tablet over BT. But, I can see how that would be a nice feature--especially for a low end tablet.

But, the lower screen resolution is the largest downside. The screen of the N7/2013 is wonderful.

I'm still trying to figure out why anyone would buy the Samsung tablet.

November 12, 2013 | 01:40 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

But, the lower screen resolution is the largest downside. The screen of the N7/2013 is wonderful.

Again, it goes back to price. I wish people would stop harping on that.

December 3, 2013 | 10:11 AM - Posted by Frank Bales (not verified)

It's the same as last year's Nexus 7 which everyone raved about. No, it's not the best anymore, but still a good display.

November 12, 2013 | 07:02 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

One site in the U.S. with more details on the new Tegra Note is TabletSprint -- and they add in premium bonus games and free 4G monthly internet access with 500MB of data use.

November 12, 2013 | 11:14 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

This EVGA Nvidia Note 7 tablet is a killer!! Check out the full review right here!! http://goo.gl/mMaaiA

November 12, 2013 | 03:04 PM - Posted by Robert23655124 (not verified)

The built in stylus is a nice touch, price is solid too, I've already got 2 tablets, so I'm not in for this generation.

But if this is the angle they are taking I'll strongly consider it in the future :)

November 12, 2013 | 03:05 PM - Posted by Bill (not verified)

1280x800? This is a total non starter! Especially when the Nexus 7 (2013) is the same price. Then there's the rooted Kindle HDX option. Good luck Nvidia.

November 14, 2013 | 03:54 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Nexus 7 (2013) is $30 more than the Tegra note. But yes it would have been great if they included a higher res display. It beats the Nexus in all other categories (except for a few design flaws on the outside).

November 12, 2013 | 03:23 PM - Posted by pdjblum

The tegra 4 soc seems to be faster than other leading mobile soc's. Yes, the battery life suffers. Is this why we are not seeing the tegra 4 soc in more mobile devices?

November 12, 2013 | 03:34 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Are the test run at native resolution or fixed ?

The devices don't have same resolution so you might want to clarify how the test were run.

November 12, 2013 | 04:25 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Most are running at a fixed resolution.  For example, 3DMark Unlimited is running at a fixed resolution to make the results directly comparable.  

November 13, 2013 | 05:36 AM - Posted by Dr. Mouse (not verified)

I'm disappointed about the game streaming. While I appreciate that it may struggle with the lack of fast Wifi, it should still be possible (even if at a reduced resolution).

November 14, 2013 | 01:01 AM - Posted by freeloadr (not verified)

Tommy's Hardware says that this thing supports PC streaming, but I heard Mr. Shrout say otherwise on the live stream. Who's right here?

November 25, 2013 | 08:46 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

I am.  :)

No game streaming.  

November 15, 2013 | 12:15 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

The 1200x800 is an advantage for games since they will have a better frame rate than nexus 7. I prefer the lower res as I intend to use this for tegra 4 android gaming but it must output the games to hdmi at 720p for me to get it...

December 26, 2013 | 07:16 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Agree !

December 5, 2013 | 11:08 AM - Posted by Frank Bales (not verified)

I originally thought the cover was included, but it's not. Another $29.99. Seems a bit steep for a cover.

December 26, 2013 | 07:18 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

The stylus and the Tegra 4 did it for me !

December 30, 2013 | 01:29 PM - Posted by aparsh335i (not verified)

Hey Ryan,
If someone were to buy a USB Wifi dongle that supported 2x2 would it be able to stream?
Thanks.

February 21, 2014 | 12:43 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

http://www.androidpolice.com/2014/02/20/evgas-tegra-note-7-getting-4-4-2...

Tegra Note 7 users should update.

March 15, 2014 | 03:21 AM - Posted by martin clukey (not verified)

hello guys i love Sony Tablet and i have sony tablet now my friend want to buy new tablet but i am confused between Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 vs Archos 101 Platinum
and i compare both tablet http://tabletvs.net/compare/Samsung-Galaxy-Tab-2-7-0-vs-Archos-101-Platinum
but i am not tech geek someone please suggest which one is best

March 31, 2014 | 06:28 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

those two are simply BAD. tegra note 7 is the best. Other alternatives are nexus 7 and kindle fire hdx.

June 16, 2014 | 10:09 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Everyone shut up about the display. I have a 50$ no name tablet with 800*480(183ppi) display which is absolutely gorgeous for movies and gaming. 800P display on tegra note 7 should be KILLER for the price. The lower the resulation, the better the framerates in gaming.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.