Review Index:
Feedback

Dell XPS 15z Review: Kinda Luxurious

Author: Matt Smith
Subject: Mobile
Manufacturer: Dell

Conclusion

Conclusion

View Full Size

Our Dell XPS 15z review unit offers excellent processor performance, and while the GT 525M GPU is not up to powering the 1080p display in today’s latest games, it does offer adequate performance at lower resolutions. These traits are enhanced by gobs of RAM and a large hard drive. On paper, it looks ahead of the pack.

Getting some on-hands time with the XPS 15z reels the laptop back in. This is not a poorly constructed laptop, but it’s not a beautiful one, either - and the competition in the $1000+ bracket is tough. The MacBook Pro isn't all Dell has to worry about. The new HP Envy 15 is exquisitely constructed, the Sony Vaio S 15.5” is a pound lighter and the Lenovo offers attractive IdeaPads and sturdy ThinkPads in this price range. 

The XPS 15z can’t hang with the design of such stiff competition, though that doesn’t mean it should be written off. There are always some buyers who will value hardware bang-for-the-buck above all else, and people with this mindset will want to give the XPS 15z a serious look. As mentioned earlier, an Envy 15 with similar equipment is several hundred more - and a base MacBook Pro 15" goes for $500 more than this Dell. Some consumers will find it difficulty to justify paying more for similar hardware.

View Full Size

April 19, 2012 | 05:20 PM - Posted by BC Hiker (not verified)

I haven't had a hands on with the the HP Envy, but they acutally have both the Dell XPS 15z and the Sony Vaio S 15.5 at Sam's Club. I like the look and the keyboard (plus number pad) on the Sony better than the dell, but the Sony screen is super flimsy. I don't remember another laptop with such screen flex.
The Dell is more solidly constructed, but the I really dislike the keyboard.
This is just an at a glance opinion, but I also like the Dell 1080 screen better than the Sony 1080 screen.

April 19, 2012 | 10:19 PM - Posted by Matt Smith

Yea, I don't know what Sony was thinking with the displays on their new laptops. They're all terribly constructed.

I've also heard that some Sony 1080p displays suffer from the same "red is orange" problem as the HP Envy.

My pick of the bunch is the HP Envy 15, as it has performance, a good user interface and solid construction.

April 20, 2012 | 12:29 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

someone might want to blur out the windows product key on the high resolution shot of the bottom of the laptop.

April 20, 2012 | 04:22 PM - Posted by Soulman83 (not verified)

Looks are purely subject. Saying looks weren't outdated then but is now just means you expected a radical re-design.
I see new laptops with new techy looks but my brain isn't fooled so easily anymore.
It's the hardware inside and how smooth the egronomics of the laptop are, and the XPS laptops have a good combination of this.
The keyboard needs to be placed differently and the keys are small, but the backlit ones make up for it.

THe XPS has a smooth, refined design and DELL want to keep it that way.

April 23, 2012 | 11:18 AM - Posted by Outsider (not verified)

I know the emphasis is on gaming performance, but there are screen comments here and I noticed some diversity of displays in the review. Perhaps you can have a review that addresses various displays- like a more current review of glossy, gamut matte and their various percentages, LED, etc, etc. Does it really make that much difference?

At any rate- thanks for doing these- as I'm in the market at about this ballpark.

July 15, 2012 | 12:45 AM - Posted by DIE.DELL.DIE (not verified)

Hey, I've had this laptop for a bit over a year, and the display itself is really nice, but the screen kinda annoys me. It's glossy (I didn't have any other options, they may have them now) and I use it on the plane so to conserve battery, I turn down the brightness, and all you can see then is the reflection. I could use it as a mirror! Haha =] It's a bit frustrating, I've just learned to live with it.

April 26, 2012 | 06:07 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Is the XPS i7 a good laptop for video editing? How does it stack up against a Mac Book Pro with an i7?

Do you prefer Mac to PC for video editing or is that not the case anymore since they use the same intel processors?

Thanks.

May 16, 2012 | 03:15 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I have had my Dell xps 15z for about a year and to be honest the video editing is awful compared to a mac. The dell software takes up so much ram that it is impossible to edit video because it constantly comes up with errors due to there not being enough memory. I finally gave up on making my short 2 minute video and used my mac.

July 15, 2012 | 12:39 AM - Posted by DIE.DELL.DIE (not verified)

This laptop has been the worst experience I've ever had with technology EVER! I mean the laptop is fine when it works fine, I actually like it, but I've had the hard drive replaced 3 times, the optical drive replaced, the mother board replaced, the screen and shell replaced, the microphone replaced and there was more that I can't remember. Not to mention, that this is the second laptop I've had of this model, BECAUSE A DELL TECHNICIAN BROKE THE FIRST ONE! None of this was caused by me, there was a faulty part in the laptop. And after all this, Dell refuses to give us an extended warranty. This laptop may work perfectly fine for you, but it and their service has caused me to HATE Dell and I will slander their name everywhere I can. I am so sick of this, I am just getting a Mac.

August 6, 2012 | 09:06 PM - Posted by puneeth (not verified)

I own Dell xps15z,I am not able to install designing software like assays,pore ,catia and even I was not able to install sum game also can any one help me

September 1, 2012 | 05:35 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

How much does it cost around...? nd how long can it hold the battery time..nd how about gaming ? :) pls reply..thank YOu :)

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.