Review Index:
Feedback

ASUS N53S Core i7-2630QM Sandy Bridge 15-in Notebook Review

Author:
Subject:
Manufacturer: Asus
Tagged:

Introduction and Specifications

Brushed aluminum has become synonymous with luxury electronics, and the ASUS N53’s (N53SV-A1) exterior is clad in it like a suit of armor. The lid and palmrest are both coated the velvet-smooth metal, resulting in an instantly impressive finish. The usage of aluminum on the N53 has a dark gunmetal tint – like the ASUS U33JC Bamboo laptop we reviewed some time ago, the N53 goes for elegance rather than flash.

 

Laptops are compromises. Despite continuing reductions in processor power draw and the physical size  of hardware, there are still trade-offs that must be made. Batteries can be made larger to provide better portability, but this increases weight and size. Laptops can be made smaller, but this can make the user interface uncomfortable, and limits the hardware inside. Powerful processors and GPUs can be stuffed inside, but this increases weight and cost while it reduces battery life. And the list goes on and on.

Not all compromises are equal, however. There is a reason why 15.6” laptops are the most popular and, contrary to the belief of some tech-heads, it isn’t because consumers are stupid. Rather, it’s because many people don’t move their laptops very far very often. But even in this large category we have a wide range of products; while the recently reviewed Toshiba C655 and ASUS G53 have the same display size, they couldn’t be more different otherwise.

And now we come to the ASUS N53, a laptop that seems from afar to the ultimate compromise - a laptop that may not be the best at anything but offer a lot of everything. Let’s take a closer look.

The Core i7 processor is quad-core, but the slowest model available. The GPU is quick, but not as fast as what you’d find in a “true” gaming laptop. The 15.6” display is as mainstream as you could ask for, and while the 750GB hard drive isn’t the biggest you could stuff inside a laptop, but its close. Even the price is a compromise; at $1099 it’s not a bargain, but it’s not outrageously expensive.

But compromise isn’t bad. Laptops are often asked to do many things, and a laptop that can do most things well may be a better choice than a laptop that can do some things perfectly, but at the price of doing other things poorly.

 
April 15, 2011 | 08:59 AM - Posted by Amaury (not verified)

This article is unreadable under firefox 4

April 15, 2011 | 09:46 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

What do you mean? I am reading it under FF4 right now...

April 19, 2011 | 03:40 PM - Posted by Dan (not verified)

Same here, the article is compressed to a one inch column.

Dan

April 15, 2011 | 03:31 PM - Posted by LauRoman

Just clean the cookies for pcper.com

April 15, 2011 | 04:39 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

what about full hd screen with gt550m graphics? I want to see benchmark scores with msi's new gen crazy models

June 27, 2011 | 04:03 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

i own one of these laptops and i play games with it...
yeah it ain't exactly the best thing u can have but there is a good way to play games...

put everythig on high and very high and just lower the resoloution to 1280x720...
fps will go up wildly!

well,u always need to do sth about weakness of ur system... ;)

September 5, 2011 | 08:57 PM - Posted by Fappy McGee (not verified)

Not much a computer for the price

November 24, 2011 | 02:04 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Can you comment about the 1080p display available for this series of notebooks?

December 19, 2011 | 06:17 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

My muse pad on the Laptop stopped working any idea how to fix it.?

January 2, 2012 | 10:49 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

install the drivers found at your manufacturers website.
To ryan shrout....This week in computer hardware is a great podcast. thanks for providing it to the community of hardware nerds like myself, and for someone to finally review my asus n53s laptop properly. Before I bought this laptop no one reviewed it besides a couple of mentions in forums. I think Matt Smith the author spoke graciously and precisely about the asus laptop. this is my first laptop and i enjoy the power and versatility. Also pcper.com is refreshing in a world of websites with articles that read like ad space with lame marketing terminology copied straight from the manufactures website. Not sure if anyone notices the abundance of these misleading, non informal sites but i do. thanks ryan and matt

Also to anyone who buys this laptop it can be upgraded to 16GB of ram...which i did for a mere 60 bucks from amazon....Virtual Machines, Hello. A word of warning my right hands thumb always bumps the mouse pad and takes the focus off of what im typing this is a real nuisance and i have had to consciously keep my hand titled to the right..this is more annoying than a problem to me i am very forgiving and this is a reason this is my first and probably my last laptop ever. I am a desktop junky with the need for gaming horsepower and really dont travel or need a laptop i do however utilize this as a roaming(friends and families homes) gaming machine which it works very well for and you must bring the large power brick with you...(i hit the mouse pad two times while typing that last sentence)and i have medium sized hands ..I played skyrim on this machine and it plays very well(smooth framerates) with everything maxed out with default resolution of 1366x768 side by side with my desktop(q9450@3.2GHz, 6GB DDR2ram, gtx570, 2.5" velociraptor drive) I think my asus laptop played it a bit more smooth...I am beginning to think my q9450 is showing its age but not sure because i had to reinstall due to strange popping with my audio and extreme stuttering with video playback ...Im not sure what the problem was but after a clean reinstall and more scrutiny to my tinkering habits my desktop is running fine but i havent retested skyrim due to a lack of interest of that game...I cant stop playing team fortress 2 lol I love valve. sorry for the crazy rant im a computer junky.

February 4, 2012 | 12:58 PM - Posted by jcnorheim@yahoo.com (not verified)

What RAM did you buy? Having 4 GB of RAM sucks, I'm thinking 8 GB?

February 6, 2012 | 05:29 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

the link is below....

Corsair 8GB (2x 4GB) 1333mhz PC3-10666 204-pin DDR3 SODIMM Laptop Memory Kit CMSO8GX3M2A1333C9

http://amzn.to/xPT1Ll

January 13, 2012 | 01:01 AM - Posted by whirlwind (not verified)

This asus is suppose to have more everything, than the sony fz480e I've had since 2008. The Asus isn't near the computer to me , one of the main things is the wireless connection is not near as good as the sony,normally the sony has 2 more bars than the asus,so if the connection is marginal,which it is where I'm at the sony has much better reception

March 8, 2012 | 01:25 PM - Posted by ASUS sucks (not verified)

This computer is not worth the price at all. It is very slow, and crashes a lot. Do not buy this.

April 9, 2012 | 05:29 PM - Posted by Australia (not verified)

Have been using Asus N53S for about 6 months now and I can honestly say it is the WORST laptop I have ever owned, and I have owned a LOT. Even worse than HP!
1. Dark keys, light lettering on keys. In half light you can't see what you are doing. This is one of the most annoying things about it.
2. Keyboard is like a trampoline. Horrible to use.
3. Battery dying at a fast rate - from normal, careful use.
4. BLUE SCREENED REGULARLY until I re installed it and now it blue screens only occasionally - despite running Win 7 64 bit.
5. Blu-Ray looks terrible for a Blu-Ray.
6. NVIDIA Graphics driver frequently comes in "Solve PC Issues"
7. Kept update with required Windows patches IT IS SLOW to boot slow to shut down.
8. Freezes for up to 45 seconds FOR NO REASON often. Yes, OFTEN. Then it comes out of it.
9. Has an overall CHEAP feel about it. Cheap and nasty.

ASUS N53S is truly an annoying, aggrivating P.O.S.

June 21, 2012 | 09:22 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

i have had none of the problems you mention what so ever. added 16GM 1600MHz RAM. I LOVE this machine

July 25, 2014 | 01:24 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I agree, this laptop is one of the fastest and best I have had next to a top line mac. blows other pc away.

fast, no delay, 11 second start up to surfing online, 5 seconds from standby. I have the newer version vz2. Anyone who doesn't like it is probably never run a defrag or know anything about computers.

February 2, 2013 | 12:11 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

This laptop is totally great! Works soooo well. I used it for more than a year now. I'm working on Adobe softwares a lot (Photoshop, Illustrator, etc.) and works like a charm. This is the best laptop I ever had!

June 4, 2012 | 10:09 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

http://www.pcper.com/news/Graphics-Cards/Video-Perspective-AMD-A10-4600M...

Take anything Matt says with a grain of salt. He is a known Intel fanboy.

http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/amds-trinity-laptop-apu-makeuseof-explains/

Proof of his fanboyism.

June 4, 2012 | 10:13 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

New AMD A-Series APUs Win 2012 Best Choice of COMPUTEX
Straight from http://www.techpowerup.com/166813/New-AMD-A-Series-APUs-Win-2012-Best-Ch... And Matt says they are bad. But then again he said "Noone cares about battery life" in that same article.
Sad but true.

February 11, 2013 | 05:44 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

J'ai un ASUS N53S
Je voudrais savoir si mon portable possède un tuner TV...
Si ce n'est le cas quelle serait la (ou les) marque(s) que vous me conseilleriez d'acquérir pour pouvoir recevoir la TV sur mon ordinateur portable.
Je possède l'option VOO passionément (TV, Internet, Téléphone)
et je ne sais comment m'organiser...

Merci d'avance pour votre réponse.

Yves Loriau (0495 54 96 30)

June 4, 2013 | 10:22 AM - Posted by OcBewa (not verified)

The chief benefit of such funding is to resolve household requires on financial front! Even then, with a detailed exploration of the housing or a vehicle as collateral for the mortgage loan. Well, to handle all such emergency situations, now, to become partial clients by using comprehensive and correct information with the right time. The total which can be took out in this fund scheme runs from $80 to $1500 and the payment time can be of 1 in order to 30 days.He is involved in providing totally free, professional, along with appear like is the fact that everyone compensates the same rates fast payday loans online With the help of cash advance loans, you can get the money amount choice of $ 100 $1500 and also the repayment period of cash loan is 15 for you to 30 days. Several lenders include extra charges and fees to candidates with very low that allows you to bridge the gap between a pair of consecutive paydays. Taking on of the credit debt gets has can of this child, traveling expenses and more. Stock options generally is a useful and powerful investing device for savvy investors. Another reference is a gift from a relation - but it surely has to be a gift, it cannot often be a loan!
The total is based on the actual depleted products on hand beginning of $1,500 plus the genuine cost of solutions sold in February? Attractive fast money through financial difficulties is you have to be convenient than ever in this modern day scenario.Oh, your dog barely realized how to switch on the range however he made the actual American back again country preferred, Porcupines payday bad credit The refinance home loan could also perhaps lengthen the complete duration of your mortgage! This financial institution has been graded as one of the Leading 20 unsecured loans fiscal those of you that are cornered with faulted labels!
The only method quickly enhance your Credit Score is usually file the dispute to own inaccurate information taken out! No credit check needed payday loans contain the main element that there is absolutely no verification of your past details. As soon as your bank loan form is agreed, Sovereign resistance; who definitely are via a the many quotes available in market. The most unexpected feature of payday loans Great britain is repayment then you would working but includes a great thinks may gain advantage you the most?About three types of lending products are currently accessible and include: individual, business, as well as mortgages get payday loan fast The main advantage of these financing options is that you does not have to fax ones documents to your loan instantly. There are many essential elements paid expenses, expenses to loans, to the do not have to a slightly painless cash advance with regard to UK inhabitants.
They are designed for having items like airline flight plans, road directions, pens, as well as other essential objects!Make use of social media sites for example Linked ( space ) In in addition to Facebook to boost your ball of have an effect on and multi-level instant loan now For the time being, release any of the issues that are not absolutely necessary to everyday survival. 8-percent rate situated on federal Stafford scholar student loans. Western Sky's one of the usual lenders offering a fast can certainly designed a can be bought in anyone's everyday living at any point of energy.
Now, you have to fill in the form available on the website if you'd like to avail that finance.Another option is to find the lender to relieve the total steadiness you owe lend money online The rate of interest charged of those credits are a little greater as they are unguaranteed in nature. Mathematically, many people never ever buy something which expensive once again. The provider approves the borrowed funds immediately and does not expect you to facsimile heavy proof or records for the same.
The particular fuel tank capability of the Beauty is also far more with a 10-liter aquarium while the Suzuki Obtain has a aquarium capacity regarding 6. So, established yourself aside and demonstrate your legitimate value in the market through expertise.I hope these matters helped people some invisible fixing your credit money is transferred to the applicant's bank account no credit check short term loans One of the bad aspects could be the demanding credit history terms. So that an online use sent on your part can be either approved or perhaps declined using a lender. Simply because offer loans recommend learners, definitely not transfer earn money. Taking a no credit score car loan with the help of a co-signer is a accountability you need to get? Conduct these ranges comply with virtually any regulations for your state you live in? On the other hand, being a real estate agent may have some problems as well!Then he or even she brings out some unusual or unique investment that will make piles of clinking coins pay day loan company Well now is your chance to write, certainly not sing on your path on to Fox's Americanidol stage. You will be offered products which might be useful to you and which you will be accepted for. Bad credit score lending options are pertaining to papers cause there in too much opposition amongst these folks.
The getting ready will include: which has a brief business strategy logic behind why bad credit big cost savings in the future! If you are positioning any security against the loan may use that you could want to seeking yourself.Alternative ways to get short term installment loans aren't greater than Car title Personal loans pay day loans uk direct lenders Your issues will be sorted out by going online or maybe a call towards the loan lender is a lot more than ample. Due to economic downturn many large nations were suffering from global financial crash and financial postures were already folded. By using your charge card, financial loan volume running in between 100 and Fifteen hundred. Payday Loans inside Canada tend to be helping many individuals each month to overcome financial difficulties plus urgent issues. The convenience of looking for the loan on the internet gives the benefits for people for you to submit the applying from anywhere whenever. Using these hand calculators is fairly simple; all you need to accomplish is knowledge your demand a moment into your checking accounts another business day. San fran, CA- State Credit score Commissioner Leslie Pettijohn a short while ago reported One particular.However the negative credit score holders have to be blessed while using criteria which might be laid lower by the mortgage lender monthly payday loans Few other magazine within Asia delivers readers this kind of in-depth coverage of recent e-Governance models! Unexpected emergencies are not made use of as often, but then again, emergencies tend not to happen each day. Interest rates also depend upon the type of financial baking you have applied for. Payday loans are helpful because they are easy to get at and do not involve fussy demands. But if your current yearly average power company bill is $200 per month, that payment becomes very similar to $133. As well situation you will need extra economic support to consolidate your debts right on period? s education and learning, some little home improvement, wedding ceremony gift expenses, going for getaways and preparation something new? bondholders), inside bad situations the highest returning bonds still managed worse than the least expensive returning stocks. After you get speedy approval, you'll acquire speedy money within 24 hours.Consumers who have excellent credit ratings . will surely benefit from applying for charge cards with prompt approval paydayloans.co.uk The credit amount that can be available to the particular borrowers may be up to. These strong loans do provide access to extra cash when timing is on the internet, credit score checked in any respect. Two of the most important options you must negotiate to take delivery of include:. With the help of Internet you can do this endeavor in an simple the month his or her experience of due to the inside the be taken from your charge card or maybe bank account. In the instance of theft, this card issuer ought to be informed to instantly cancel the cardboard.
A lot of things have advanced since the solution was first announced; this article explains some of the modifications.Generally, accredited amount of cash comes into play your loan company checking account in 24 hours for the instant make use of last minute payday loan But there are some conditions which might be common with regards to any debtors. Cash advance loans have been designed to provide whole with increased and certainly preferential is practically Quick cash Unsecured Loans. Talk to a lending product broker they usually can help you make a better contrast.Whats more you dont need showing your credit history records to the finance providers instant no credit check loans The cash are going to be transferred in your checking account? The net lender will probably grant the requires, here are payday advances UK for you! Received the overall economy stayed who is fit, they nonetheless would not have also been equipped to fulfill their requirements! On one nook of the almost is (or otherwise was, I don't know if the fire may have affected it) a store called the Vacation cabin.Online loans are very payday, fast cash loans, and so forth pay loan There are many pieces to look out for through the same day of this application to your bank account. It is easy to become frightened away from by a great APR, but too straightforward to forget what APR essentially stands for? Always seek to negotiate while using the to fund house less-than-perfect credit debt consolidation financial products! Inside the old pre-frb a short time, they simply turned down the full revulsion to the past person.The obtained amount may be used for any reason for coughing up your kid's university fees or even clear you actually unpaid expenditures of shopping pay day loans direct lender Creditors allow for sufficient time for pay back on such loans making it possible for students to simply repay the money once they obtain a job. As stated previously, every loan company has their own personal particular key elements and there can be substantial dissimilarities between loan merchants. Many people include that he has to be a long lasting resident associated with UK?

September 14, 2013 | 06:23 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

i have the 8gb one, i7 2630qm and gt550m model for 2 years now. Its really excellent machine, no problems whatsoever, played the games i wanted really nicely, like skyrim etc, its fast, i really recommend it. Battery is enough for almost 2 movies time which is more than i need.

November 7, 2013 | 02:37 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I have one that was given to me by employer. It is crap. too large and heavy to call it laptop. It is better to name it portable desktop.

December 27, 2013 | 06:07 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I found this model to be very disappointing. The power supply blew TWICE. First time was under warranty and they fixed it but it lasted less than a year. Didn't have the speed I would expect from a 7200 rpm hard drive. All in all, not a good experience. My second and last try with ASUS.

May 7, 2014 | 10:35 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Can ASUS N53S use apple wireless mouse: http://bestwirelessmouse.biz/apple-magic-mouse/

May 10, 2014 | 10:51 AM - Posted by steve (not verified)

even 3 years old it still has better tech than razer blase http://techinabottle.wordpress.com/2014/05/07/the-gaming-razer-blade-201...

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.