Review Index:
Feedback

ASUS MeMO Pad 7 ME176C 7-in Atom Z3745 Tablet Review - Bay Trail Meets Android

Author:
Subject: Mobile
Manufacturer: ASUS

Tablet Specifications

In many ways, the Google Nexus 7 has long been the standard of near perfection for an Android tablet. With a modest 7-inch screen, solid performance and low cost, the ASUS-built hardware has stood through one major revision as our top selection. Today though, a new contender in the field makes its way to the front of the pack in the form of the ASUS MeMO Pad 7 (ME176C). At $150, this new 7-inch tablet has almost all the hallmarks to really make an impact in the Android ecosystem. Finally.

The MeMO Pad 7 is not a new product family, though. It has existed with Mediatek processors for quite some time with essentially the same form factor. This new ME176C model makes some decisions that help it break into a new level of performance while maintaining the budget pricing required to really take on the likes of Google. By coupling the MeMO Pad brand with the Intel Bay Trail Atom processor, the two companies firmly believe they have a winner; but do they?

I have to admit that my time with the ASUS MeMO Pad 7 (ME176C) has been short; shorter than I would have liked to offer a truly definitive take on this mobile platform. I prefer to take the time to work the tablet into my daily work and home routines. Reading, browsing, email, etc. This allows me to filter though any software intricacies that might make or break a purchasing decision. Still, I think the ASUS design is going to live up to my expectations and is worth every penny of the $150 price tag.

View Full Size

The ASUS MeMO Pad 7 has a 1280x800 resolution IPS screen. This 7-inch device is powered by the new Intel Atom Z3745 quad-core SoC with 1GB of memory and 16GB of on-board storage. The front facing camera is of the 2MP variety while the rear facing camera is 5MP - but you will likely be as disappointed in the image quality of the photos as I was. Connectivity options include the microUSB port for charging and data transfer along with 802.11b/g/n 2.4 GHz WiFi (sorry, no 5.0 GHz option here). Bluetooth 4.0 allows for low power data sync with other devices you might have and our model shipped with Android 4.4.2 already pre-installed. 

View Full Size

View Full Size

The rear of the ASUS MeMO Pad is a pseudo rubber/plastic type material that is easy to grip while not leaving fingerprints behind - a solid combination. The center mounted camera lens takes decent pictures - but I can't put any more praise on it than that. It was easy to find image quality issues with photos even in full daylight. It's hard to know how disappointed to be considering the price, but the Nexus 7 has better optical hardware.

Continue reading our review of the ASUS MeMO Pad 7 ME176C!!

View Full Size

The single speaker on the MeMO Pad 7 is decent and gets the job done for watching movies or getting the gist of music you might be listening to. I would put it on par with the speaker of the Nexus 7 but I still prefer the stereo configuration found on NVIDIA's Tegra Note 7.

View Full Size

The only buttons on the unit are the sleep/power button and the volume adjustments. I constantly get mixed up with the various tablets in use as to whether the sleep button is above or below the audio volume, but I don't consider that a mainstream consumer problem. 

View Full Size

An micro SD Card slot allows for expansion should the included 16GB of storage not be enough for your use. Keep in mind that you really only get about ~10GB of usable space with a brand new 16GB unit.

View Full Size

ASUS MeMO Pad 7 right, Google Nexus 7 left

From a physical size comparison, the ASUS MeMO Pad 7 and the Google Nexus 7 are pretty damn close. The Nexus 7 is taller than this new tablet but has the edge on thickness by a narrow margin. Both weight the same though (290g vs 295g) and I think you would be hard pressed to tell the difference in your bag or even while holding it.

View Full Size

Here are, in my opinion, the three major contenders in the 7-in Android tablet market. The ASUS MeMO Pad 7 with the Intel Atom Z3745 is interesting and solid enough to compare with the Google Nexus 7 and the NVIDIA Tegra Note 7.

The Intel Atom Z3745 SoC

If the idea of an x86 processor running Android in a tablet is still somewhat foreign to you, you aren't alone. Intel has been working diligently for years to attempt to shore up its power consumption and aid in the software development of Android to make this jump into the market. Intel had modest success with Clover Trail+ as an Android-ready piece of silicon, but Bay Trail becomes the SoC really designed for both Windows and Android from the ground up.

We slowly started learning about the architecture behind what would become Bay Trail back in May of 2013, code named Silvermont. Then in September we saw Bay Trail in its production form for both Windows and Android, with a lot of details about the specific implementation of Silvermont across an entire product stack. If you don't already understand the technology behind Bay Trail / Silvermont then I would highly recommend you read up on it to learn about the many important changes Intel has made to its silicon in preparation for today's release.

View Full Size

You might remember our first hands-on with Android and Bay Trail coming back in September of 2013 when I was in Intel's offices in Santa Clara. Back then, we were assured that Android tablets using the technology would be right around the corner but clearly it took longer than Intel expected to get the software and performance to acceptable levels. In that test we were look at the Intel Atom Z3770, the top end SKU (at the time at least). The ASUS MeMO Pad 7 takes a small step down in order to meet power and battery life requirements for the form factor.

View Full Size

The Atom Z3745 still runs on a true quad-core out of order design with a base clock speed of 1.33 GHz and the capability to Turbo as high as 1.86 GHz. The dual 64-bit memory channels can run at DDR3-1067 speeds in low power mode to provide 17.1 GB/s of memory bandwidth - more than double what Clover Trail+ could produce. 

It's also important to note that this marks Intel's move away from PowerVR graphics for the Android tablet market. Though we are still going to see PowerVR graphics technology in the Intel Merrifield SoCs (mainly for phones), the Intel HD graphics implementation allows the Bay Trail part to really improve performance in gaming and other GPGPU compute workloads. If there was an area where Intel was behind before, it was definitely in the graphics domain and as you'll see in our benchmarks on the following page, the Atom Z3745 is more than capable.

June 2, 2014 | 01:17 AM - Posted by renz (not verified)

Nexus 7 (2013) gpu is adreno 320 not 330. performance wise (gpu) adreno 320 < tegra 4 < adreno 330.

June 2, 2014 | 06:38 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Looks very nice. May have to grab one to replace my original nexus 7.

June 2, 2014 | 07:38 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

These benchmarks will be revisited once Tablets start shipping with the Tegra K1 parts, and does anyone Know when or if Nvidia Denver core K1s will make it into any tablets before 2015?

September 1, 2014 | 04:58 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

NVIDIA Sheild tablet has the denver 64 bit. LTE version is gonna be launched soon. Wifi version is already out

June 2, 2014 | 07:45 AM - Posted by willmore (not verified)

I can't find full specs on the ASUS tablet anywhere. Even ASUS doesn't admit knowledge of it on their web site and the Amazon link in the article says the CPU is a 1.3GHz Apple A4, so that's more than a bit suspect.

The photo showing the thickness of the MeMO vs the N7/2013 is labeled backwards, the MeMO is thicker.

The N7/2013 has very good stereo audio, are you sure the MeMO has comparable audio? The MeMO looks more like it would compare equal to the N7/2012, not the 2013.

Does the MeMO have NFC? I can't find anything to indicate that it does.

So, the list of differences between the N7/2013 and the MeMO is:
N7/2013 has
+larger memory (2GB vs 1GB)
+better screen (1920x1200 vs 1280x800)
+NFC
+Wireless charging
+Good backside camera
+thinner
+33% better battery life
+is a Nexus device
MeMO has
+faster CPU
+faster GPU
+slightly shorter
+costs less

June 2, 2014 | 07:52 AM - Posted by willmore (not verified)

I found the link, but it's pretty useless. It looks like ASUS and Motorola have the same web designer.
http://www.asus.com/Tablets/ASUS_MeMO_Pad_7_ME176C/

June 2, 2014 | 08:44 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Ryan: did you check app compatability for most common apparently? last I checked netflix is not available for x86 based android......

apparently are a big reason people get devices like this.

June 2, 2014 | 09:01 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Nope, just installed Netflix to it without an issue...

June 5, 2014 | 08:48 PM - Posted by TheBradyReport

Wow... $150? Thought I'd only find china knock offs for that range. May need to replace my dead ASUS Transformer (battery dead). Then again, I just upgraded to the HTC One M8 and my Samsung Note II is now my "mini tablet"...

Nice review

August 1, 2014 | 10:54 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Send it back to them (ASUS), they will repair it for nothing, no questions asked (they did mine T700)

June 7, 2014 | 01:57 PM - Posted by profee (not verified)

When can we expect extended review?

June 12, 2014 | 11:45 PM - Posted by fubarski (not verified)

The article states:
"The Nexus 7 is taller than this new tablet but has the edge on thickness by a narrow margin."

...but the caption under the photo states:
"ASUS MeMO Pad 7 right, Google Nexus 7 left"
...with the thinner tablet being on the right.

July 30, 2014 | 03:47 PM - Posted by Vladimir Putin's Lovechild (not verified)

Painfully dull article. Who cares about the chip? Only geeks. How does the product work? That's what people want to know.

July 30, 2014 | 03:48 PM - Posted by Kenny (not verified)

I know. Dull. This site is a replacement for Ambien.

August 3, 2014 | 10:25 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I have an ASUS Transformer 700 Tablet, I would advise everyone to avoid ASUS tablets and notebooks. They won't continue to support them with Android updates. The 700 had fantastic features and specs, but its very slow most of the time. Great screen, but the lagginess is very frustrating. I am amazed that ASUS support is so bad too.

September 14, 2014 | 04:09 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I concur, this is the tablet we purchased, it wan non functional in less than a year and they did not honor the warranty. We also have a computer from them... again, less than a year old with no warranty honor. NEVER buy Asus. It's not about needing technical hand holding... my husband is an IT guy. The products are faulty... good for about two months then trash.

August 3, 2014 | 11:56 AM - Posted by killthegreenrobot (not verified)

What a waste of a perfectly good x86 processor. Put Windows 8.1 on it instead of janky, glitchy Android Fail OS.

August 14, 2014 | 07:08 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

And which department of Microsoft do you work for?

August 16, 2014 | 08:33 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

It doesn't really matter witch tablet you use it is all still just Android.

August 16, 2014 | 10:53 AM - Posted by Samar (not verified)

I heard that Apple makes a decent tablet too. Has anyone tried one of those yet? I wonder why not reviewed?

August 17, 2014 | 06:12 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

We are talking about Asus not that high price good for status only apple tablet.

August 25, 2014 | 01:26 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Asus is horrible to deal with..I had problems with my tablet and they have terrible customer service...never again will I buy anything that deals with Asus...beware!!!

September 3, 2014 | 06:44 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

ASUS makes solid, affordable technology that does the job. If you're the kind that needs technical hand holding, buy Apple.

September 3, 2014 | 03:53 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I bought this tablet for my wife about a month ago. It replaced a Blackberry Playbook that I had gotten free from a friend. I have always liked the Nexus 7 and would have bought one of them if I had not found this tablet. I got it from Amazon for $129.00 and shipped to my door for under $150.00 after adding a nice magnetic case. My wife has been very happy with it. I will say that the front mounted stereo speakers on the Playbook were by far the best thing that it had going for it. The Asus does not have near the sound quality, but it is sufficient. I knew when I purchased the tablet that the cameras were on the lower end, but that did not concern me since my wife was really not going to use them much. I had read about the new Intel Atom processors and was happy to see one in this tablet. It performs very well and handles everything that my wife does on it with ease. The most impressive thing about this tablet is its size and feel. My wife uses it for hours on end with very little fatigue. I work in the tech industry and am not concerned with having to deal with Asus tech support. Even if I had to deal with them in the future, I doubt that they are as bad as what has been said. I can find horror stories on the web about any company or anything for that matter. Overall, I highly recommend this tablet.

September 4, 2014 | 08:04 AM - Posted by scifimat (not verified)

this is just another android product that forces more google products and services down your throat. for an OS that was open source this platform has increasingly become closed pushing you towards eveything google.
google has become too big and way too greedy!

September 14, 2014 | 06:26 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

You guys are knocking Asus, but keep in mind they are who manufactured the Nexus 7.

September 14, 2014 | 04:07 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I will NEVER buy another ASUS product again. They have lost my business. I recommended them to many people and am very sorry I did.

September 16, 2014 | 08:23 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Never buy a tablet based on specs. Specs are absolutely meaningless .The true worth of a a product is in its use. The ASUS transformer 700 is a classic case in point. I purchased this tablet based on specs which seemed excellent for the price. But oh what a mistake that was! The thing is a brick and was very irritating to use, even with simple web browsing or using simple apps.

September 16, 2014 | 11:43 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Right there with ya. I bout the Asus Transformer Infinity based on specs as well and it's a slow piece of crap.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.