Review Index:
Feedback

ASUS K53T Review: Mainstream Llano Offers Inexpensive Mobile Gaming

Author: Matt Smith
Subject: Mobile
Manufacturer: ASUS
Tagged: llano, k53, asus, amd, a6

User Interface, Display and Audio Quality

User Interface

View Full Size

Since this is a 15.6” laptop, there’s plenty of room for the keyboard. In this case ASUS has chosen to go with what is likely the company’s least attractive keyboard design, which features the flat keys you’d find on a chiclet keyboard without the expected gaps between each key. As a result, it’s too easy for your fingers to become lost if you’re a touch typist. I used this laptop to write several articles, and I found myself making mistakes more often than normal due to the lack of definition between keys. 

If you’re not a dedicated typist, however, this keyboard has its advantages. For one, there’s a lot of keyboard rolled out across this laptop. Only a half-inch on either side is wasted, and this means that keys are generally large (though the numpad keys are small). Below, there’s plenty of space for your palms, which means a comfortable typing position is not hard to find.

What isn’t available in excess is touchpad. The surface is a bit small, and this makes it difficult to use at times, particularly for multi-touch gestures like scrolling. However, ASUS does at least offer two individual touchpad buttons. Though they have little travel, it’s a better solution than the rocker-style button so often used by the company.

Display and Audio Quality

View Full Size

A look at the spec sheet tells a story that is typical for a 15.6” laptop. The resolution is 1366x768, and the display is coated in gloss, which carries over to the black display bezel. Reflections can be an annoyance as a result, and the backlight isn’t strong enough to overcome them when the laptop is used in a bright environment like a sunlit room. 

Test images revealed quality that is typical of inexpensive TN panels. Although the display technically was capable of displaying all but two of the Lagom black level test images, the final three appeared identical, which indicates the panel is cheating a bit by increasing the brightness of dark colors it normally could not display. Still, the quality is on par with any other laptop at this price point.  

View Full Size

Audio quality proved solid for a laptop. There is a tiny bit of bass available, but distortion is limited as well even at maximum volume. Music is tolerable, which is more than can be said of most laptops at any price, nevermind an inexpensive model such as this. However, quality remains a far cry from a nice pair of external speakers, and even at maximum volume the speakers aren’t loud. Additional audio equipment will be required if this laptop is to serve as a desktop replacement. 

 

December 29, 2011 | 03:15 PM - Posted by HSMagnet (not verified)

nice review

December 29, 2011 | 10:47 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I would suggest to anyone buying this laptop to turn off the crossfire feature. You actually loose performance in many games especially since there are no official regular driver updates for the gpu.

December 30, 2011 | 03:09 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Got a similar one with 4GB RAM for $450 at BB. At that price it was a no brainer though AMD could do a better job with crossfire and drivers though.

January 2, 2012 | 02:28 PM - Posted by Anoyingmouse (not verified)

If glossy screens and that fupid stawful ucking 1366 - 768 resolution (or all 16:9 resolutions) would just go away, these cheap, generic McNotebooks would be a lot more appealing.

Also, if Asus is going to give it discreet graphics anyway and harbor a pretense of gaming, would a faster clocked dual core A4 be a better fit.

January 6, 2012 | 02:28 PM - Posted by Matt Smith

"Also, if Asus is going to give it discreet graphics anyway and harbor a pretense of gaming, would a faster clocked dual core A4 be a better fit."

Maybe. The only potential problem is that the A4 has a less powerful IGP component. It's hard to say if the reduction in graphics performance from that would be made up for by a higher processor clock speed.

January 6, 2012 | 03:31 PM - Posted by Annoyingmouse (not verified)

"Maybe. The only potential problem is that the A4 has a less powerful IGP component. It's hard to say if the reduction in graphics performance from that would be made up for by a higher processor clock speed."

That's a good point. I guess I should be posing my question to AMD instead of ASUS as to why they are giving their higher clocked processors the worst GPUs,(160 or 240 SPs vs 400 for the A8) but I guess I already know the answer to that. The A4 is the binned processor that salvages any yield issues.

January 3, 2012 | 09:54 PM - Posted by Justin (not verified)

I Brought 10 of these laptops for use as rental laptops for my video production company and they have not faulted me yet.

January 18, 2012 | 01:02 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

This is a good computer I bought it for less than $500 at a local Best Buy Store. the one I have has the Same Processor but it came with a 1GB Video Card. Computer runs good but after 5 months of use the computer screen stopped working. I called the ASUS Customer service since they don't have help online. I explained them the problem and They asked me to take the computer to the Geek Squad for repairs. Geek Squad took care of fixing the screen, and now my computer runs like new once again and I'm happy of having purchased about 6 months ago for less than it costs now.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005OCBPX0/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&tag=...

April 13, 2012 | 09:04 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Uhh, you talk about the A6 yet use an e series cpu... That one's meant to compete with atom, of course it will be slow.

April 13, 2012 | 09:07 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

woops, re read. nevermind, my bad.

June 8, 2012 | 02:01 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

as far as the research iv dont including this page, it sounds like a decent laptop, im looking at one slightly used for $450

June 8, 2012 | 02:02 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

as far as the research iv done*

June 8, 2012 | 02:04 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Here are the specs:
Display: 15.6" 1366x768
CPU: AMD A6 - 3420M 2.2 Ghz
RAM: 6GB DDR3
Video cards: it has 2 videocards - one is Radeon 6520G , another one is Radeon 7670M with 1 Gb memory
Hard space: 750 GB

March 22, 2014 | 06:47 AM - Posted by Janice (not verified)

"What is the difference between DSL, IDSL, HDSL, SDSL, ADSL, CDSL, Ci - DSL, etc. I'm Roni"
( you might want to use your own name) off course, don't forget to look
directly into her "bridge" this will completely
create a subconscious breakdown in her mind.
I often equate the process of self-hypnosis as something that is as similar to driving a car.

December 18, 2012 | 07:37 PM - Posted by Deandrea Thoe (not verified)

Rattling nice design and wonderful articles , absolutely nothing else we want : D.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.