Review Index:
Feedback

ASUS G75V Review: Gaming Goes Ivy

Author: Matt Smith
Subject: Mobile
Manufacturer: ASUS

Performance - Competitors, Processor, General, Hard Drive

Performance – Competition

The ASUS G75 is the second laptop we’ve looked at with an Ivy Bridge processor. The first was the ASUS N56VM, which was provided as the reference platform. Both products have the same processor, a Core i7-3720QM, but the G75 is closer to final production form. The ASUS N56VM we looked at for the Ivy Bridge mobile review is a production chassis, but ASUS told us it may be a bit before that exact configuration is available in North America.

Because of the similarities in the processor we are not going to include the ASUS N56VM as a competitor in this review. Instead we’re going to go with a number of high-end multimedia and gaming systems such as the Dell XPS 15z, the Alienware M14x, and the Alienware M17x. We’re also going to include the ASUS G74 in those benchmarks we can to provide insight into how the G75 has improved on it.

Here are the specification tables for the competition.

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

Processor Performance

SiSoft Sandra is a great benchmark for examining the maximum overall performance of a processor. Let’s have a look at how the new G75 performs here.

View Full Size

View Full Size

The results here are not unexpected. Ivy Bridge dominates, easily outpacing the previous generation Core i7-QMs in the older gaming laptops. While this difference probably won’t result in better performance in most games, CPU-bound titles will benefit from the extra muscle.

Now let’s have a look at 7-Zip and Peacekeeper.

View Full Size

View Full Size

In 7-Zip the 3720QM once again stands out, offering performance that’s about 25% better than the outgoing Sandy Bridge quads. It’s not an entirely fair competition, as the 3720QM is a relatively more expensive part than the 2630QM in these older laptops. Still, it’s obvious that the new processor offers a nice boost in performance.

This remains true in Peacekeeper, where the G75 scores an excellent 2311, beating even the Sandy Bridge Core i7 dual-core found in the Dell XPS 15z. The 3.6 GHz Turbo Boost maximum of the 3720QM clearly helps the processor perform well even when multiple threads are not being properly utilized. 

General Performance

We like to temper our results with performance from a couple real-world applications that can be used to accomplish useful tasks. For starters we’ll like at Windows Live Movie Maker, the freeware tool from Microsoft that can be used to accomplish various basic video editing tasks. 

View Full Size

As you can see, the new processor is extremely quick in this test, blowing away the other competitors we’ve ran it on. It’s also nearly 40 second quicker than the ASUS N56VM with the same processor, for those who are keeping score.

Why is that? I think it’s because of the Power4Gear custom performance profiles on the G75. The N56VM came with no custom performance profiles of any sort, and the Power4Gear High Performance profile seems to do a particularly good job of keeping Turbo Boost engaged in certain conditions. It's also possible that the solid state hard drive is helping, as well.

Now let’s have a look at Sunlit BatchBlitz, a freeware batch photo editing program.

View Full Size

BatchBlitz does not do a great job of pegging multiple threads but, despite that, the Core i7-3720QM easily defeats the older Sandy Bridge parts. This is due to a Turbo Boost feature that seems more aggressive than that found in outgoing laptops. 

Finally, let’s have a look at boot and resume times. 

View Full Size

The ASUS G75 is easily the quickest here, but it is also the only one with a solid state hard drive, so that’s not surprising. As with many SSD equipped systems, this computer can actually boot just as quickly as it can resume from hibernation.

Hard Drive Performance

A system’s hard drive has a major impact on how quick it feels. In the past, solid state drive systems have managed to feel snappy even when they have so-so processor performance. Of course, this  computer has both an SSD and a fast processor. Let’s see how it stacks up in ATTO.

View Full Size

Uh…well. That’s not much of a competition, is it? We really shouldn’t expect anything less from a system that has a solid state drive dedicated to its operating system, though these results are particularly good even for an SSD. These results are born out in application load times and file transfer times. Everything moves quickly. 

Now let’s see if the SSD offers similar results in HDTune.

View Full Size

Yes, the G75 once again dominates. It’s super-quick access times contribute to the feeling of performance. This is a really quick hard drive.

Although these results are great, they are damaged somewhat by the fact the drive’s capacity which, after overhead, adds up to only 95GB. That’s not much room considering the size of modern games, so you’ll only be able to enjoy lightening quick loads in two or three titles.

 

May 7, 2012 | 07:28 PM - Posted by Humanitarian

I love the design of this, the back reminds me of the lamborghini aventador interior. Very nice! If only I had a use for it!

May 7, 2012 | 11:35 PM - Posted by Justin (not verified)

I just purchased my ASUS G74SX in August 2011. Wonder if it is a good enough for me to upgrade?

May 8, 2012 | 12:28 AM - Posted by Matt Smith

Not unless you have a lot of money and not much to do with it. The G74 can still handle just about any game at reasonable settings.

May 8, 2012 | 01:09 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Asus should go all the way and put a gtx 675M in there.

May 8, 2012 | 10:45 AM - Posted by Berserker (not verified)

I would call that a desktop, because I wouldn't put that thing in my lap.

Neither would I plan on lugging it around town.

Maybe for LAN parties but that's about it.

July 17, 2012 | 04:46 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

yep, that's the definition of a desktop replacement, which is the G75's category go for the 15" if it scares your lil arms

May 8, 2012 | 12:10 PM - Posted by MSI (not verified)

MSI GT783 Is still better in terms of graphics .

Plus MSI GT783 is upgrade friendly for moderate users.

Upgrade cpu et c

May 10, 2012 | 08:32 AM - Posted by BigF (not verified)

Cool laptop, however I would consider the MSI GT60/70. Recently played on that one, it had dual SSDs which was extremely fast, other then that I was happily surprised about the speakers in it (dyaudio if I remember..)
The keyboard is from steelseries which was a dream typing on, rest of the specs is pretty comparable with the Asus one.

May 10, 2012 | 03:05 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

670m? For the price Asus charges? It has the hardware to go up against $2000 machines? Nonsense! Sager/Clevo with a AMD 7970m Will blow this out of the water and is well under $2000. Asus prays on the uninformed and best buy crowd and has been resting on the laurels of the G73jh.

May 10, 2012 | 03:06 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

It is a looker though

May 12, 2012 | 02:19 PM - Posted by Ben (not verified)

agreed, if you want pure performance you buy Alienware, if you want very similar performance for much less $ you buy Sager/Clevo

Asus/MSI/Toshiba are now just overpriced and underpowered choices, none of the last gen with the 560M would actually run games 1080p well let alone in 3D.

Author should try a P170xx with a top-range GPU and one of the good screen upgrades before telling people this is the "pick" of anything except bling

May 10, 2012 | 04:16 PM - Posted by KngtRider

And what is the Wi-Fi card in your review unit ?

May 22, 2012 | 03:21 PM - Posted by Hiker (not verified)

I wonder if this machine or others of this type is overkill for what I want to use it for, which is Autocad, Inventor and Solidworks? Has any of you used this machine for that purpose?

August 16, 2012 | 01:29 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I'm running Civil 3D on it right now and it is extremely smooth. It's a nice change from the crappy laptops they give me to use at work.

May 24, 2012 | 02:18 AM - Posted by Mhamouda (not verified)

I was wondering also if you can use the G75 for hardcore CAD work like Solid works and CATIA 3D modeling. The processor and ram are more than enough but i am not sure if the Nvidia 670M would handle the extreme CAD work. If this is possible, for the G75 price it will be a real victory on other CAD stations like the HP elite book and the Dell precision, since they both cost a fortune to buy ($3000 and above for a decant configuration). I tried checking if the Nvidia 670M can be replaced by a Nvidia quadro 3000M (which is specially made for CAD work) but they told me the the Nvidia card on the G74/75 is built in the motherboard. I would be glade if anyone who used this laptop for CAD modeling would give us an advise.

May 31, 2012 | 10:16 AM - Posted by chickgame (not verified)

I went out and got the lap top.it really wasnt that bad priced. it was only 500 more then my old comp witch was a cheese 700 dollar dell that i got for a quick fix at walmart. and trust me the this is alot better then the dell i had.

as for set up it really didn't take me to get it set up how i want, it got a very user friendly interface. the whole thing just has a really nice feel to it. and grafict are great on it as well.

It nice for long term play, with the dell i could maybe play 1 or hour befre having to shut it off to keep it from over heating (this is with a cooling pad and extra fan on the key bored also) But the Asus G75v i stayed up all night playing every game i owned and hte lap top didnt get hot at all.

It also like said in the review not as big as most gamer laptop. not as heavy (thought it still kinda heave compared to a reg. over the counter laptop) ether witch make it nice since my job makes it so i have to travel alot.

Also another thing i like is it look like it be easy to upgrade if i ever chouse to do so. witch i like because i wont have to buy a whole new laptop in a year or so to play game just do some part upgrades.

so everything about this laptop is great. i think i made a really good chose ingetting this laptop.

June 2, 2012 | 04:51 PM - Posted by nenad (not verified)

I tried this laptop for a few days, it is really nice, but graphic solutions are still far behind desktops, and 1080p on 17 inch means too small fonts and details for me, even with my 20-20 eyesight. A 400$ laptop with amd dual graphics is for me the only cost effective laptop gaming solution

June 15, 2012 | 12:20 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I bought this laptop two weeks ago on sale for 1,400.
I love it but it weighs a lot. I run skyrim at ultra high graphics, and have no problem at all.
I really is a great laptop.

June 19, 2012 | 02:19 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Wondering if it's worth upgrading my G73 series to get this? Do you guys think it will be a big improvement worth the cash?

June 24, 2012 | 08:39 PM - Posted by ... (not verified)

quem veio pelo monark ? KKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKK

June 24, 2012 | 10:16 PM - Posted by Trololo (not verified)

Monark LOL

June 26, 2012 | 08:54 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

An answer do Anonymous.

Sager, i checked up the computer and it cost about 1327 dollars witch is about 10 000 swedish kronor.

I bought my Asus G75V with same spec for 12 000 and that with the swedish tax.

The Sager would cost me around 15000 inc tax and chipping for a computer with a g-card half of mine has.

Sager for 1327 dollar with 3% discount has a gforce with 1,5g memory while my asus has 3g memory.

And the thing that Asus what they dont have is a much much better cooling system. I dont know if it weigh less.

And alienware is really overpriced are you freaking insane? I dont know about your country but in sweden if you want preformance for your money you keep ur ass away from that shit seriously.

I think you need to check ur shit up before talking bullshit.

I max Crysis 2 with max grafic and HD textures.
For a laptop thats insanely good. I dont need more.

And what you need to look for in a laptop is durability how much turbulance it can take before brakeing and the support as well. gee

June 26, 2012 | 01:06 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

ok so now ive looked up alienware, the price WITHOUT tax for a system equal to Asus is 14500 swedish kr, against Asus G75 12000 WITH Tax!!!!

Yeah Asus suck the money out of people, you gotta be employed by some company.

Only computer that ive found has slightly better price tag on their systems are MSI but, MSI is poorly built and dont have as good cooling systems as Asus have.

And for that 1-3 fps in games for a shorter lifetime, or not the possibility of clocking ur systems i say no thank you.

If you want to buy another system than Asus its ur choice but if you choose sager witch is pricetag higher, than its on you. But dont go around and spousing bshit.
Its a good solid laptop im very pleased and im not gonna pay 1000 dollars for the design mark of Alienware "fuckin joke that they are cheap, idiot".

Alienware M17x
Pris från 14616,00 kr
Exklusive moms och frakt

Exclusive of tax of deliver........ Almost exacly same spec as Asus.

June 28, 2012 | 12:36 PM - Posted by Theodor (not verified)

Don't buy this crap! A couple of years ago we bought an expensive Asus G71 gamer notebook and the screen was defect and went to repair and now it's already too slow for gaming. Now we - unfortunately - have bought this expensive new G75VW, got it today - and it is not it is not working properly! Never Asus again! Obviously Asus do not have sufficient quality control programs.

July 18, 2012 | 06:46 AM - Posted by Cucubau1018 (not verified)

calm down man, and tell us what is the problem with your laptop :)

July 20, 2012 | 12:55 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Hi, I just bought this model and on the first day the whole screen randomly flickers...it seems to stop when I reposition the computer, but I only use it on my desk so it's a flat surface always.

Also when watching youtube videos the sound seems to freeze up, or lag and make horrible noises.

Any solutions?

November 16, 2012 | 02:03 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I have the same issue, and I noticed that it happens when the flash app is present.

July 31, 2012 | 02:23 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I'm using the G75 since May now and also use it's "brother" from MSI. As far as I can tell both systems seem rather fine.

Performance of MSI is equal to the ASUS but there are other differences. The cooling of the MSI for instance is much louder and constantly spinning on a higher speed in 3D applications where the cooling in the ASUS turns very slowly. Even after hours of 3D-gaming the ASUS remains quiet. Both laptops stay cold so no difference in that. Keyboard of the ASUS is great, but the MSI steel series keyboard has a nicer key stroke.

Last but not least I work in a computer shop in Belgium for more than 12 years now and from my experience, I know we have ony a few defective asus laptops whithin the warranty period.Defective systems are always picked up the next day and returned within 3 working days. On the other hand we had quite some problems with msi over the past few years, mostly with their cheaper models that is.Also their repair service takes its time. Overall the built quality of both is much better than some of the HP and Packard Bell crap. Those companies really know how to steal people's money. And don't even think about their crappy repair service either.

As for the question if inventor works, we have a client who bought this machine for doing last modifications on the road to their technical drawings in inventor. They say it's not frustrating to work with it. The graphical performance is rather ok, but then again their desktop systems we produced for them in the past are a totally different. Raid array, Quadro FX 5800 video card and Intel Xeon Processor E5-2687 with 20Mb cache. Compare the price tags and you get what you pay for...

September 18, 2012 | 12:04 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

just pointing out how wrong this guy is im currently writing on my g75v and it has a 660m not 670m graphics card still awsome a 3610m quad i7 at 2.3 GHz and 12gigs of ram just sayin still a great laptop and i still love mine

October 9, 2012 | 12:11 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

i couldnt be happier with mine, i play battlefield 3 on high and WOW on ultra high and it runs smooth for hours. i couldnt afford an alienware but that will be my next laptop. the g75v model is nice and i would recommend it to anyone who wants a laptop unless they have money for a alienware. both of which are nice machines.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.