Review Index:
Feedback

ASUS G75V Review: Gaming Goes Ivy

Author: Matt Smith
Subject: Mobile
Manufacturer: ASUS

Display and Audio Quality, Cooling, Portability, Software

Display And Audio Quality

View Full Size

Like most gaming laptops, the G75V has an annoying glossy fin-oh, wait. It doesn’t.

Yes, ASUS has gone matte with this version, an unusual choice for any multimedia laptop and particularly unusual for a dedicated gaming system. The border of the display – like the rest of the laptop – is matte black rather than glossy. This ensures that reflections are entirely banished. A backlight of moderate strength would have worked as a result, but instead the display is extremely bright at its maximum setting. You could actually use this laptop in sunlight – if you felt like dragging it outside. 

View Full Size

Matte coatings sometimes sap a display of its contrast, but that’s not the case here. Colors are brilliant and black levels are much better than average. The result is one of the best laptop displays we’ve ever tested. It’s much like the G74’s awesome 1080p panel, but with a matte coat instead of gloss. I’d need to see them side-by-side to judge which on is best but I doubt that anyone is going to be disappointed with either.

View Full Size

Sound quality is also excellent. Though thinner than the outgoing G74, this is still a big laptop with plenty of room for a sound system. The G75 is never as loud as you’d expect, but that has its advantages, as it ensures that distortion does not become a problem even when the laptop is turned up to 11. The only issue is a tendency for bass-heavy tracks to cause minor vibrations in the chassis itself, resulting in a distracting rattle at certain frequencies. 

Cooling

View Full Size

The G75’s massive cooling vents in the rear of the chassis hint at a beefy and noisy cooling system. As it turns out, only the former description is accurate. At idle this gaming laptop is a gentle giant, expelling little heat or noise. If you’re looking for a family desktop replacement that can also game this product just might fit the bill, as it easily blends in to a quiet office or living room environment.

Even gaming at times seems to barely stress the cooling capabilities of this laptop. During our benchmarking of 3D games it is common for a gaming laptop’s fans to go into crisis mode, spinning for all their worth and creating a torrent of noise in the process. That’s not often the case here. Gaming usually results in only moderate fan noise – noticeable, to be sure, but more than tolerable. 

Temperature readings were also moderate. Technically the chassis can become as hot as 130 degrees Celsius, but this was taken from the exhaust vents directly - an area which, due to their excellent location, will almost never be touched by the user. The bottom of the laptop never went higher than 98 degrees and the keyboard topped out at 94 degrees. So long as you keep the large rear exhausts free from obstruction the G75 is a cool customer.

Portability

As mentioned, this laptop is thin for a full-sized gaming laptop. This does not mean it is easy to move, however. It weighs in at 9.47 pounds, which means it is in the same ballpark as the outgoing G74. It’s also still a 17.3” laptop, so the footprint is huge. You won’t be able to fit this laptop into a standard messenger bag – you’ll need a large backpack to accommodate it.

Although battery life is rarely a priority for a gaming laptop, recent gaming laptops have proven to offer at least adequate time away from a wall socket. That’s a great development which, unfortunately, this particular G75 seems to reverse.

View Full Size

What’s the problem? 3D. Optimus is not compatible with 3D on any of its parts. As a result this laptop spends all of its time with the GTX 670 fully engaged, which absolutely murders battery life. It’s a return to the bad-old-days of gaming laptops.

You can solve the problem by not buying the 3D panel, a move that will save you money as well. The battery in this laptop is a massive 74Wh unit which, with Optimus available, is likely to result in four to five hours of real-world use. 

Software

ASUS has always done a decent job of keeping bloatware to a minimum, and the G75 is not exception. When we received it the desktop was clean with the exception of two widgets, one of which displays CPU clock speed when Turbo Boost is activated, while the other controls a “Smart Login” feature which assists with Intel Instant On. Neither is distracting.

The only problem is the typical one – the pre-installed anti-virus. ASUS ships this laptop with Trend Micro, one of my least favorite solutions, though it actually seems a bit less aggressive about promoting itself than McAfee or Norton. You’ll likely want to get rid of it and install the anti-virus of your choice, but that’s all the post-purchase cleaning that’s needed.

 

May 7, 2012 | 07:28 PM - Posted by Humanitarian

I love the design of this, the back reminds me of the lamborghini aventador interior. Very nice! If only I had a use for it!

May 7, 2012 | 11:35 PM - Posted by Justin (not verified)

I just purchased my ASUS G74SX in August 2011. Wonder if it is a good enough for me to upgrade?

May 8, 2012 | 12:28 AM - Posted by Matt Smith

Not unless you have a lot of money and not much to do with it. The G74 can still handle just about any game at reasonable settings.

May 8, 2012 | 01:09 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Asus should go all the way and put a gtx 675M in there.

May 8, 2012 | 10:45 AM - Posted by Berserker (not verified)

I would call that a desktop, because I wouldn't put that thing in my lap.

Neither would I plan on lugging it around town.

Maybe for LAN parties but that's about it.

July 17, 2012 | 04:46 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

yep, that's the definition of a desktop replacement, which is the G75's category go for the 15" if it scares your lil arms

May 8, 2012 | 12:10 PM - Posted by MSI (not verified)

MSI GT783 Is still better in terms of graphics .

Plus MSI GT783 is upgrade friendly for moderate users.

Upgrade cpu et c

May 10, 2012 | 08:32 AM - Posted by BigF (not verified)

Cool laptop, however I would consider the MSI GT60/70. Recently played on that one, it had dual SSDs which was extremely fast, other then that I was happily surprised about the speakers in it (dyaudio if I remember..)
The keyboard is from steelseries which was a dream typing on, rest of the specs is pretty comparable with the Asus one.

May 10, 2012 | 03:05 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

670m? For the price Asus charges? It has the hardware to go up against $2000 machines? Nonsense! Sager/Clevo with a AMD 7970m Will blow this out of the water and is well under $2000. Asus prays on the uninformed and best buy crowd and has been resting on the laurels of the G73jh.

May 10, 2012 | 03:06 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

It is a looker though

May 12, 2012 | 02:19 PM - Posted by Ben (not verified)

agreed, if you want pure performance you buy Alienware, if you want very similar performance for much less $ you buy Sager/Clevo

Asus/MSI/Toshiba are now just overpriced and underpowered choices, none of the last gen with the 560M would actually run games 1080p well let alone in 3D.

Author should try a P170xx with a top-range GPU and one of the good screen upgrades before telling people this is the "pick" of anything except bling

May 10, 2012 | 04:16 PM - Posted by KngtRider

And what is the Wi-Fi card in your review unit ?

May 22, 2012 | 03:21 PM - Posted by Hiker (not verified)

I wonder if this machine or others of this type is overkill for what I want to use it for, which is Autocad, Inventor and Solidworks? Has any of you used this machine for that purpose?

August 16, 2012 | 01:29 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I'm running Civil 3D on it right now and it is extremely smooth. It's a nice change from the crappy laptops they give me to use at work.

May 24, 2012 | 02:18 AM - Posted by Mhamouda (not verified)

I was wondering also if you can use the G75 for hardcore CAD work like Solid works and CATIA 3D modeling. The processor and ram are more than enough but i am not sure if the Nvidia 670M would handle the extreme CAD work. If this is possible, for the G75 price it will be a real victory on other CAD stations like the HP elite book and the Dell precision, since they both cost a fortune to buy ($3000 and above for a decant configuration). I tried checking if the Nvidia 670M can be replaced by a Nvidia quadro 3000M (which is specially made for CAD work) but they told me the the Nvidia card on the G74/75 is built in the motherboard. I would be glade if anyone who used this laptop for CAD modeling would give us an advise.

May 31, 2012 | 10:16 AM - Posted by chickgame (not verified)

I went out and got the lap top.it really wasnt that bad priced. it was only 500 more then my old comp witch was a cheese 700 dollar dell that i got for a quick fix at walmart. and trust me the this is alot better then the dell i had.

as for set up it really didn't take me to get it set up how i want, it got a very user friendly interface. the whole thing just has a really nice feel to it. and grafict are great on it as well.

It nice for long term play, with the dell i could maybe play 1 or hour befre having to shut it off to keep it from over heating (this is with a cooling pad and extra fan on the key bored also) But the Asus G75v i stayed up all night playing every game i owned and hte lap top didnt get hot at all.

It also like said in the review not as big as most gamer laptop. not as heavy (thought it still kinda heave compared to a reg. over the counter laptop) ether witch make it nice since my job makes it so i have to travel alot.

Also another thing i like is it look like it be easy to upgrade if i ever chouse to do so. witch i like because i wont have to buy a whole new laptop in a year or so to play game just do some part upgrades.

so everything about this laptop is great. i think i made a really good chose ingetting this laptop.

June 2, 2012 | 04:51 PM - Posted by nenad (not verified)

I tried this laptop for a few days, it is really nice, but graphic solutions are still far behind desktops, and 1080p on 17 inch means too small fonts and details for me, even with my 20-20 eyesight. A 400$ laptop with amd dual graphics is for me the only cost effective laptop gaming solution

June 15, 2012 | 12:20 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I bought this laptop two weeks ago on sale for 1,400.
I love it but it weighs a lot. I run skyrim at ultra high graphics, and have no problem at all.
I really is a great laptop.

June 19, 2012 | 02:19 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Wondering if it's worth upgrading my G73 series to get this? Do you guys think it will be a big improvement worth the cash?

June 24, 2012 | 08:39 PM - Posted by ... (not verified)

quem veio pelo monark ? KKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKK

June 24, 2012 | 10:16 PM - Posted by Trololo (not verified)

Monark LOL

June 26, 2012 | 08:54 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

An answer do Anonymous.

Sager, i checked up the computer and it cost about 1327 dollars witch is about 10 000 swedish kronor.

I bought my Asus G75V with same spec for 12 000 and that with the swedish tax.

The Sager would cost me around 15000 inc tax and chipping for a computer with a g-card half of mine has.

Sager for 1327 dollar with 3% discount has a gforce with 1,5g memory while my asus has 3g memory.

And the thing that Asus what they dont have is a much much better cooling system. I dont know if it weigh less.

And alienware is really overpriced are you freaking insane? I dont know about your country but in sweden if you want preformance for your money you keep ur ass away from that shit seriously.

I think you need to check ur shit up before talking bullshit.

I max Crysis 2 with max grafic and HD textures.
For a laptop thats insanely good. I dont need more.

And what you need to look for in a laptop is durability how much turbulance it can take before brakeing and the support as well. gee

June 26, 2012 | 01:06 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

ok so now ive looked up alienware, the price WITHOUT tax for a system equal to Asus is 14500 swedish kr, against Asus G75 12000 WITH Tax!!!!

Yeah Asus suck the money out of people, you gotta be employed by some company.

Only computer that ive found has slightly better price tag on their systems are MSI but, MSI is poorly built and dont have as good cooling systems as Asus have.

And for that 1-3 fps in games for a shorter lifetime, or not the possibility of clocking ur systems i say no thank you.

If you want to buy another system than Asus its ur choice but if you choose sager witch is pricetag higher, than its on you. But dont go around and spousing bshit.
Its a good solid laptop im very pleased and im not gonna pay 1000 dollars for the design mark of Alienware "fuckin joke that they are cheap, idiot".

Alienware M17x
Pris från 14616,00 kr
Exklusive moms och frakt

Exclusive of tax of deliver........ Almost exacly same spec as Asus.

June 28, 2012 | 12:36 PM - Posted by Theodor (not verified)

Don't buy this crap! A couple of years ago we bought an expensive Asus G71 gamer notebook and the screen was defect and went to repair and now it's already too slow for gaming. Now we - unfortunately - have bought this expensive new G75VW, got it today - and it is not it is not working properly! Never Asus again! Obviously Asus do not have sufficient quality control programs.

July 18, 2012 | 06:46 AM - Posted by Cucubau1018 (not verified)

calm down man, and tell us what is the problem with your laptop :)

July 20, 2012 | 12:55 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Hi, I just bought this model and on the first day the whole screen randomly flickers...it seems to stop when I reposition the computer, but I only use it on my desk so it's a flat surface always.

Also when watching youtube videos the sound seems to freeze up, or lag and make horrible noises.

Any solutions?

November 16, 2012 | 02:03 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I have the same issue, and I noticed that it happens when the flash app is present.

July 31, 2012 | 02:23 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I'm using the G75 since May now and also use it's "brother" from MSI. As far as I can tell both systems seem rather fine.

Performance of MSI is equal to the ASUS but there are other differences. The cooling of the MSI for instance is much louder and constantly spinning on a higher speed in 3D applications where the cooling in the ASUS turns very slowly. Even after hours of 3D-gaming the ASUS remains quiet. Both laptops stay cold so no difference in that. Keyboard of the ASUS is great, but the MSI steel series keyboard has a nicer key stroke.

Last but not least I work in a computer shop in Belgium for more than 12 years now and from my experience, I know we have ony a few defective asus laptops whithin the warranty period.Defective systems are always picked up the next day and returned within 3 working days. On the other hand we had quite some problems with msi over the past few years, mostly with their cheaper models that is.Also their repair service takes its time. Overall the built quality of both is much better than some of the HP and Packard Bell crap. Those companies really know how to steal people's money. And don't even think about their crappy repair service either.

As for the question if inventor works, we have a client who bought this machine for doing last modifications on the road to their technical drawings in inventor. They say it's not frustrating to work with it. The graphical performance is rather ok, but then again their desktop systems we produced for them in the past are a totally different. Raid array, Quadro FX 5800 video card and Intel Xeon Processor E5-2687 with 20Mb cache. Compare the price tags and you get what you pay for...

September 18, 2012 | 12:04 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

just pointing out how wrong this guy is im currently writing on my g75v and it has a 660m not 670m graphics card still awsome a 3610m quad i7 at 2.3 GHz and 12gigs of ram just sayin still a great laptop and i still love mine

October 9, 2012 | 12:11 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

i couldnt be happier with mine, i play battlefield 3 on high and WOW on ultra high and it runs smooth for hours. i couldnt afford an alienware but that will be my next laptop. the g75v model is nice and i would recommend it to anyone who wants a laptop unless they have money for a alienware. both of which are nice machines.

November 16, 2012 | 10:22 AM - Posted by Brian (not verified)

I will say that I have mixed feelings about this machine. It does good on playing World of Warcraft and excellent with Star Craft. But often times I have issues with programs crashing, mainly when I try to tell it to do more than one thing at a time. I frequently have to do a hard reboot because the system hangs up and freezes. I only have that problem wen opening multiple programs successively

I did a PC performance test of the subsystems and everything but the hard drive scored an average of 7.5 out of 7.9. The hard drive scored a measly 5.4 which was far below the rest of the system. I think Asus would be better to put a smaller solid state drive such as a 256-512gb. The current standard hard drive is simply too slow and I think is a major cause of the system hanging up so much.

I have yet to see the system take full advantage of the processing power of it's processors, so it's not like the computer can't handle any work load. I think I am going to try a different hard drive and possibly RAM to see if that makes a difference.

December 10, 2012 | 09:30 AM - Posted by Tomislav Matic (not verified)

I just bought Asus G75vx. This is my second Asus laptop. I also own a K93 (18,4 incher)... As for the G series, I must say it's well worth the money. Ok Alienware laptops are more powerful but they cost almost double. as for the asus g series, it is simply awesome. The build is phenomenal, ruberised finish aluminium, first time you touch it you can actually feel the quality. As for the performance the new i7 core processor is amazing, everything feels so smooth and nice...also the new nvida gpu gtx670mx is great for gaming and as it has Cuda it is also good for adobe apps like Photoshop ( cs 6 can now seriously benefit from your gpu). the only "flaw" is the hard drive, but as g75 has two hdd slots, i can always upgrade it later on with another ssd. also it has a lot of really cool details and features that are simply smart ( filter cleaning, back-lit keyboard and so on). Is it the fastest gaming laptop? Probably not. But the is it an awesome computer? Hell yeah. Btw asus gives you 2 years of warranty, and if your computer comes with a technical flaw, you can replace it for a brand new one for the first 8 days. PS- the sound is a-fucking-mazing!!!

June 10, 2013 | 03:43 AM - Posted by DC's California Connection (not verified)

I haven't yet evaluated my new G75VW-DS73 laptop yet, as Asus is in the process of sending it my way as I write this, but I'm hoping it's a big more reliable than my G73SW-3DE (2011) Asus top of the line ROG notebook computer. I just couldn't keep the 3DE *out* of the repair shop, as it traveled North from where I live to Fremont, CA's Asus repair facility and factory center there no less than 7 times in 23 months of use...a total of 116 days of my time with an out of service laptop! The video card system, and its peripheral components kept failing, over and over again in my 3DE, and that was an nVidia 460M 1.5GB DDR5 video board, supposedly one of the most reliable units nVidia ever put into the notebook arena...wrong!

I am glad that Asus finally admitted fault with my LEMON G73SW-3DE laptop, acknowledging only that "parts were not available to repair your computer, so we are offering you a replacement. Please view the specs of the G75VW-DS73 laptop below, and see if it is an appropriate choice for your replacement laptop"....et al.

I look forward to the new G75VW series top of the line laptop, and direly hope and pray that the significant issues my Asus G73SW-3DE was plagued with are simply old news and will not be repeated with this new, replacement laptop. The specs of the new one are fantastic for today's price point of $1799 at Amazon.com, while I paid almost $2000 for the G73 back in 2011, just $20 shy of the big 2K$'s mark to be exact. It appears that my G75SW has all the things mine had, with now 4 USB 3.0 ports, mini-display port+ HDMI on the chassis for multiple monitors vs a VGA or HDMI port on the G73SW.

I've read nothing but great reviews on the new 3rd generation Intel Core i7 notebook lineup of Ivy Bridge CPU's also, so expect the 2.3Ghz CPU to be exemplary for my purposes. The nVidia 670M looks to be a dazzler also, but for its shortcomings with 3D content by relying on nVidia's "N-Vision" setup with Vision II 3D glasses part of the works. 3GB DDR5 256-bit RAM in a laptop can't be a bad thang, now can it?

I do like the 1.5TB capacity HD system, which now legitimately supports RAID 0/1 without any hacks, a welcome change if you need RAID, and I prefer it over a static HD system using the System bus and antiquated AHCI or IDE controllers in the H77 Intel chassis. So that is more good news.

I always install twin high-end SSD's in laptops for speed, speed, speed and more of it if possible! But I'm willing to try the XT-Seagate brand of SSD+HD combination HD and it may prove adequate, the jury is out there just yet. It's all been upgraded vs my G73SW-series laptop, with BT 4.0. a 450Mbps factory BT/WiFi modem combo from Texas Instruments in the G75SW series high-end notebooks, if I can believe what I've read about the new WiFi/BT controller in the G75 series, that is. I can't see why they don't just use the Intel BT/WiFi controller instead, but $$'s talks.

I'll write an addendum to this "early appraisal" of the G75VW-DS73 notebook in a few weeks, after I've had a chance to really put it through its paces in both work and play modes, as right now all I can do is hope for the best. It was somewhat gratifying to read of the good reviews that the G75SW series is getting in this column so that has made my evening's reading a big plus plus deal tonight.

August 5, 2013 | 01:19 PM - Posted by RabidSquirrel (not verified)

If I could get it with windows 7, I would be ALL over it... but alas all I can find is windows 8 (booo).

August 21, 2013 | 10:57 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I bought the Asus g75v with GeForce gtx 670m and it didn't come with glasses. I bought some and have found that I can't play anything 3d on the computer screen. Is there any way to make it playable off the computer without having to buy a new computer?

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.