Review Index:
Feedback

ASUS Eee PC 1215N Review: Atom and Ion, Back Together Again

Author:
Subject: Mobile
Manufacturer: ASUS
Tagged: netbook, ion, eee pc, atom, asus

Introduction and Design

View Full Size

You don’t hear much about Atom these days. It’s still there, still kicking, still being stuffed inside an endless stream of netbooks. Yet it’s also not very exciting, and hasn’t created much buzz. This isn’t a case of a journalistic blind spot; Atom just hasn't been update. The original was released in 2008, but Intel hasn’t released a major performance upgrade since. By comparison, the performance of mainstream mobile laptop processors has, in some benchmarks, doubled over the same time-span.  The processor performance of Atom, measured relative to the power of an average $600 laptop with a Core i3 dual-core, is actually becoming worse over time. 

Yet Atom has still dominated the laptop market because of one reason; there was no other alternative. For the first time, however, that’s changing. AMD has released its Fusion APUs, and we recently reviewed two different laptops with two different versions of that technology – the single-core E-240 in the Toshiba Satellite C655D and the dual-core E-350 in the Sony Vaio Y.

 

View Full Size

Generally, we found that AMD’s Fusion was somewhat better than Intel’s Atom, with the primary advantage being graphics performance. However, we last received an Atom netbook for review just over a year ago, when we took a look at the ASUS Eee PC 1201N. Since then, Atom has received some clock speed increases and Nvidia has released a new generation of Ion technology. ASUS has harnessed these improvements to create the ASUS Eee PC 1215N, the successor to the laptop we reviewed a year ago. Let’s take a look at the guts of this machine.

View Full Size

The ASUS Eee PC 1215N was actually released into the wild a few months ago, but it remains at the cutting edge of Intel Atom netbooks. The Intel Atom D525 processor housed inside it is the most powerful Atom currently available, and is generally found in nettops and all-in-one PCs rather than netbooks (the “D” prefix ostensibly stands for Desktop).   Most Atom processors are still saddled with Intel’s GMA integrated graphics, which is grossly underpowered by today’s standards. The inclusion of Nvidia’s Ion is a big selling point, and one that puts the ASUS Eee PC 1215N light-years of ahead of the average Atom powered netbook – but with AMD’s Fusion APUs now available, the Atom+Ion combo has a fight on its hands.

While this will be an interesting review from a performance standpoint, the Atom processor isn’t the only product on trial here. When the Eee PC 1201N was reviewed a year ago, we praised its design and performance, but found it stuffed from an awkward position due its price of $470, just a stone’s throw away from budget ultraportables. The ASUS Eee PC 1215N is currently listed on Newegg for $489.99. Does this new model succumb to the same pricing issues as the original? 

Design

View Full Size

The ASUS Eee PC 1215N uses the company’s clamshell design language, which amounts to little more than the excessive use of rounded corners to make a netbook appear somewhat smaller and slicker than it really is. The Eee PC 1215N is worthy of such a treatment, as it measures 1.4 inches thick at the rear. The junk in this netbook’s trunk is a large battery that’s impossible to hide, but the clamshell design does its job; the Eee PC 1215N feels only slightly thicker than your average netbook. 

Most of the netbook is plastic, but the material quality is top notch. Despite a price that undercuts the previously reviewed Sony Vaio Y by over $50, the ASUS Eee PC 1215N is substantially nicer to touch. The lid and the palmrest of our review unit were coated in a matte maroon finish that seemed to change colors completely under different lighting. Out of the box it was dull red, but under brighter light it seems to turn pink, while dim lighting brought out a rusty orange hue. 

While certainly attractive, don’t make the mistake of thinking you won’t have to worry about fingerprints because of the matte finish. The material seems to absorb the oil from your hands quite readily, resulting is discolorations and dull spots that linger until buffed away. I do have to wonder how this netbook will look after a year of use. I suspect that the spaces most commonly occupied by your palms will become permanently discolored. 

View Full Size

Potential smudges aside, the Eee PC 1215N looks and feels like a netbook that is all grown up. The matte finish is professional, and the chassis itself is quite sturdy. The lid does not deform significantly under pressure, and the gaps between plastic panels are small. Upgrades could be better handled, however; while the plastic lid that covers the RAM is secured by just one screw and easy to remove, there is no easy access to the hard drive. 

 

 

April 25, 2011 | 10:13 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Really stayin' a head of the curve on this one. Good job beatin' the competition to it.

April 27, 2011 | 12:30 AM - Posted by Matt Smith

Hah, you card!

Yes, this model has been on the market for awhile. It's still relevant, however, and I think it is interesting to look at in light of our recent AMD Fusion coverage.

April 26, 2011 | 01:03 PM - Posted by klatch

I'm happy to see the E-350 doing well out there. I built a windows home server off of one of the ASUS boards and am very happy with it. I know they aren't meant for things like video encoding but I have been queueing up videos in handbrake for it to encode so I can turn my main computer off. The really sad part (for me) is that the E-350 is actually faster at video encoding than my main computer (an Athlon 64 3000+). I've done some comparisons and the E-350 is about 30% faster than my current main computer - how far we have come. As soon as Z68 drops though I will be upgrading. Can't wait.

April 26, 2011 | 02:33 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

That is pretty good praise for the E-350 indeed!

March 30, 2012 | 10:52 PM - Posted by MJohnson

Bought this netbook for my wife. It's a pretty good netbook. It runs all of her apps easily, including some internet java and flash games. Some games are too intensive for it, but that's somewhat expected on a netbook. One of the biggest advantages is the HDMI port. HDMI is very hard to find on a netbook right now, and this is one of the few that have it. We hook it up to our TV and play movies a lot, and it plays them just fine. I love the size and portability. The battery life isn't as great as advertised, but it's still tons more than I'm used to on my regular laptop. It usually lasts about 5-6 hours.

The big downside to this netbook is the trackpad. It's HORRIBLE! It works sometimes, other times it registers that im trying to zoom in or out of a screen and brings up a arrow diamond thing that is really unhelpful. Tried playing with the control panel functions, but it only helped slightly. It still bugs out real bad at times. Expect to buy a seperate mouse for this thing. I bought a small wireless mouse and it works well.

Pros:
Small size
Battery life
Powerful enough to do most tasks
HDMI port!!
Cost

Cons:
Trackpad is horrible; plan on buying a new mouse

December 18, 2012 | 07:38 PM - Posted by Shirely Nahas (not verified)

I like this web blog very much, Its a very nice post to read and incur information.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.