Review Index:
Feedback

AMD A10-4600M Trinity For Mobile Review: Trying To Cut The Ivy

Author: Matt Smith
Subject: Mobile
Manufacturer: AMD
Tagged: trinity, radeon, igp, gpu, APU, amd

Performance - Competition, Processor, General Applications

Performance – Competition

Let’s start looking at some performance figures. To provide context, we will be using performance results from other laptop reviews. Here are the systems we’re going to use as competition, along with the processor in each. Click on the links to find out more about them in our review of each system.

Performance – Processor

We always start off with SiSoft Sandra. It’s a good approximation of maximum processor performance in a scenario that is highly favorable towards multiple cores and multiple threads and perhaps the best at-a-glance reference for processor performance.

View Full Size

View Full Size

This both is and isn’t a promising start for Trinity. We can obviously see that AMD has made great strides in raw processor performance. Adding the Piledriver cores has significantly improved both SiSoft benchmark results relative to the Llano processor we tested last year. However, the raw potential of the AMD A10-4600M still looks to be hopelessly far behind Intel. Even a dual-core Sandy Bridge processor more than doubles the potential of Trinity’s best. The new Core i7-3720QM is in another league entirely.

Let’s gain some additional perspective with 7-Zip and Peacekeeper.

View Full Size

View Full Size

In 7-Zip we see Trinity perform better. It clearly beats the older Llano processor and is equal to the Core i5-2540M processor, though it still falls substantially behind the Intel quad-cores. This may seem like another serious defeat – after all, AMD is just able to match older Intel processors with half as many cores. But let’s not forget that AMD will be selling these processors in the $700 range, so this performance is competitive. At least until Ivy Bridge dual cores hit the market.

Peacekeeper, however, shows just how far behind AMD is in per-core performance. This benchmark gives Turbo Core the chance to stretch its legs, and its maximum clock is not far behind that of the Core i7-3720QM. Yet the A10-4600M just can’t keep up with Intel’s products. 

Performance – General

In these benchmarks we temper the synthetic performance data with some common tasks – batch photo editing and saving/encoding a movie for a 1080p display. We also use common free tools for these tasks. Let’s start with Windows Live Movie Maker.

View Full Size

This free application does a good job of utilizing multiple cores. Even among Intel’s latest processors there is a huge difference between the quickest and slowest. Unfortunately, AMD’s new A10-4600M isn’t up to snuff when compared to the others. It takes a much longer time to complete this task. In fact, the newest Intel Core i7-3720QM is four times quicker in this application.

What about batch processing? Let’s consider it using BatchBlitz, a simple freeware utility.

View Full Size

Once again the new Trinity process falls behind, though the Core i7-3720QM is only almost twice as quick and the mainstream Sandy Bridge Core i5 is only about twenty seconds faster. The AMD A10-4600M is on the same page as the others, but still clearly lacking. 

 

May 15, 2012 | 01:07 AM - Posted by Saumya (not verified)

http://liveoncampus.com/wire/show/3379815
Here is the AMD Demonstration of the Next Generation Trinity Fusion APU For Notebooks.
Further here is an Exclusive interview of the Prominent industry analyst Rob Enderle discussing the future of PC benchmarking in advance of AMD's Second-Generation A-Series APU launch.
With next DX11 capable integrated graphics, the new mobile CPU will still maintain a 17 Watt power envelope.

May 15, 2012 | 02:06 AM - Posted by Shashwat (not verified)

waiting for pcper awesome video series :)

Just like you did for LLano

Thanks for the review :)

May 15, 2012 | 02:14 AM - Posted by tbone (not verified)

good improvement over llano!

wow impressed with battery life against ivy bridge.

looking forward to the 17w version in retail

May 15, 2012 | 02:17 AM - Posted by Matt Smith

I agree. While the 17W part is going to have a fairly gimped GPU (compared to this 35W A10) it will be fast enough for on-the-road use and cheap. I'd really like to see a nice $500 Trinity ultraportable... preferably made by ASUS or Lenovo.

December 24, 2014 | 02:40 AM - Posted by Hassan (not verified)

I'm now not certain the place you are getting your information, however great topic.
I must spend some time studying more or working out more.
Thanks for wonderful information I used to be in search of this information for my
mission.

Feel free to surf to my web site :: tutorials for psn

May 15, 2012 | 06:00 AM - Posted by Prodeous (not verified)

Now all we need is for someone at PCPer to take an FX-4100 and downclock it to same speeds and lower voltage accordingly to have a direct (well nearly as the L3 cache difference) comparison between Piledriver and Bulldozer.

As for the review it self, well done Matt.

May 15, 2012 | 07:05 AM - Posted by iExcellero (not verified)

First of all, I want to say I'm a HUGE AMD fan, so this was not easy for me to write...

The Trinity is a BIG disapoitment! Why? Because they (AMD) fail to deliver strong graphics performace with usual lack of CPU power to follow that. Ok, A10-4600 has a decent iGPU BUT that is the fastest one! All others are significantly slower. So HD4000 will be faster over all :( And OMG every Trinity APU has its own iGPU specifications! That will not confuse ordinary customer (who only cares about performanse) at all... NOT! And why the 25W and 17W APUs have bigger model numbers?!
And question that was bothering me from release od Bulldozer, who is the genius, better say wizard, in AMD who thought that AMD should sell processors as 1 module = 2 cores? It is 1 module = 1 core with 2 threads, same as Intel. And if they sold them like that it would lower performanse expectations and actually gave AMD better fighting chance. It's not the same to say "8 core AMD can't compete with 4 core Intel i5" and say "ok, 4 core AMD is little bit slower than Intel's i5". Am I right?!
So, lose - lose situation for AMD. I hope that GCN and Steamroller will be step foward for AMD (GPU's FPU integration with CPU modul and real 1 modul = 2 cores performance).

May 15, 2012 | 09:52 AM - Posted by Daedric (not verified)

hi.
Am a bit confused over the results. Anandtech shows Intel HD4000 beating amd in skyrim ??? What driver was used here?
Just wondering ...

The price is what is going to sell this. though I expected better gaming performance , this is gonna get my cash (assuming I manage to avoid pos 1366x768 gloss)

May 15, 2012 | 11:42 AM - Posted by Matt Smith

I don't think our settings were exactly the same, since I used the straight medium detail presets, as they tweaked the AA settings a bit. If I have time I'll try running it again, and seeing if there is any change.

May 15, 2012 | 11:15 AM - Posted by Zanthis

Shout out to my fellow portlander, nice review matt.

May 15, 2012 | 01:30 PM - Posted by Uncle Bob (not verified)

Trinity works for me. It's better in every possible way - CPU/GPU performance and battery life.

Few people use their laptop all day long for number crunching. Unless that is all you do Trinity is by far the better platform and value than Intel even IB with HD 4000 graphics. If you want to pay more and get less, then Intel is the way to go. If you want to pay less and get much more of what typical laptop users need, then Trinity is spot on for the majority of consumers and that's where my paycheck is going.

May 15, 2012 | 01:39 PM - Posted by collie man (not verified)

So, what I take away from this review is if AMD can work this architecture down to a super low heat version {like 40c on full load} than the atom may finally be dead on the cheap silent system. That may be the only chance in hell they have left. Time will tell I supose

May 15, 2012 | 02:00 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

All is well, but the author of this review forgot about one thing... The iGPU is a standard Northern Islands part, and is going to be CrossFire'able with a discrete AMD GPU part. Why pay for an Ivy Bridge plus a low-to-middle end discrete GPU, if you can have a much stronger Trinity + discrete Radeon dual-GPU gaming rig - for a lower price! I agree it's not going to compete with Intel in raw CPU performance, but in games the Trinity + discrete Radeon combo will be the absolute budget-friendly gaming king. Just as it was with Llano.

May 15, 2012 | 02:52 PM - Posted by Matt Smith

I didn't forget about it. I just can't review what I don't have. I liked the old Llano+discrete system that ASUS K53T put out, and which we use for comparison in this review.

However, those systems are kind of hard to find. There's not much selection. Even the ASUS K53T I reviewed seemed like it was available at retail for a month or two. Then - poof! - gone. Now I can't find it anywhere.

January 31, 2014 | 11:11 PM - Posted by Sharyl (not verified)

In orɗеr to ցеt sоme fɑce time with a manager yyou will
want to mаke ѕure yoս don't show up duгing a rush.
Іt's ingrained, partіcularly if tɦey haѵe had, or ƙnoԝ someօne who haѕ haԀ a *bad* network marketiing experience.
Αlso you havе thе ability tօ watch videos tht ɦave bеeո categorized Ьy Featured, Μost Viewed,
Μost Receոt, аոd Ҭop Rated.

ʟoօk at mmy homepage; funny emails about friends

May 15, 2012 | 02:39 PM - Posted by ChrisB (not verified)

Typo: Trinity is still way behind Sandy Bridge, nevermind Ivy Bridge, in per-clock performance. It's not a stretch to say that Trinity is good enough for many users, but then again, why pay good "more" for less?

I think you want "money" there.

Solid review otherwise, was hoping for an improvement over K53T. (which is an awesome/cheap laptop btw)

May 15, 2012 | 05:04 PM - Posted by Zicoz (not verified)

Also isn't it supposed to be A10-4600M and not A6-4600M?

And anyone know when we can expect to see machines with the 17w part? And will we see computers that are as small as the ultrabooks "from Intel"?

May 15, 2012 | 09:32 PM - Posted by Matt Smith

Thanks, I have fixed this.

May 16, 2012 | 12:39 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

comparing the 35watt trinity to Ivy which has 45watts a 30% power advantage I'd say Trinity is a huge advancement for AMD

May 16, 2012 | 07:06 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

That ivy chip is priced at almost 400 bucks (for the cpu only) and its HD4000 is clocked at 1250Mhz, higher than most dual cores will be no doubt.

Joke of a comparison really. Not Pcper's fault, it's all that intel gave them for a reason.

May 16, 2012 | 03:41 PM - Posted by SEA (not verified)

35W 2 modules/4 threads AMD vs 45W 4 Cores/8 threads Intel is highly biased comparison. Particularly failing to show the 30% better battery live in AMDs notebooks

May 16, 2012 | 10:52 PM - Posted by Uncle Bob (not verified)

Tests have shown that Trinity is way ahead of IB HD 4000 graphics so IB is not going to save Intel in the laptop segment. Only a fool would pay hundreds more to get less performance from Intel.

http://www.legitreviews.com/article/1928/1/

June 5, 2012 | 06:54 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Review weak and biased, especially with regard to the gpu. amd drivers are beta / alpha (not sure) of the intel are definitive. llano means already in these reviews. I saw the difference between drivers in a4 330m in 3D Mark06 was 3500pts to 5800pts. learn to predict what will be and not what is pre releases.

February 12, 2013 | 05:46 AM - Posted by VZT (not verified)

Can any1 tell me, if there is a chance/place to buy the same exact laptop that was tested. Or in the worse case scenario the test laptop itself?

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.