Review Index:
Feedback

An Upgrade Story: Can the GTX 750 Ti Convert OEMs PCs to Gaming PCs?

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: Various

Power Consumption Changes and Closing Thoughts

Obviously one concern when upgrading any off the shelf OEM PC is how much of a liability the included power supply is.  As we mentioned earlier in the article, the PSUs on these three systems ranged from 250 watts to 350 watts, which is rather small for modern desktops.  Also an issue for potential GPU upgrades, none of these computers had available 6-pin PCIE power connections required for many mainstream GPUs.  In fact, one of the systems (the Gateway surprisingly) didn't even have a spare 4-pin Molex connection!

The GTX 750 Ti, with a TDP of just 60 watts and not requiring an external power connection is a perfect fit.  

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

Even under a full gaming load, none of the three OEM PCs came close to hitting a safe level of power usage with the installed power supplies.  We saw increases of 60 watts, 67 watts and 48 watts respectively in the three computer which is within the expected results.  Keeping in mind that some cards that only require a single 6-pin power connections can use as much as 150 watts (adding another 90-100 watts of load on these units) and its easy to see how some upgrade scenarios would spell bad news for users.

 

A Upgrade Story Worth Sharing

In what started as just a fun 1-day experiment I actually feel that I learned a lot about the circumstances that a lot of PC users find themselves in every day.  It's easy to get jaded in this business, constantly looking at 300 watt, $600 video cards on a daily basis and forgetting that most of your readers, and most of the PC gaming community, is working with a lot less.

The performance advantages of installed the GeForce GTX 750 Ti discrete graphics card aren't subtle and won't require someone with an eye for gaming graphics to notice.  Going from frame rates of 16 FPS in Skyrim at 1920x1080 on the Low preset up to 126 FPS - that's a margin that each and every person that sits down at the machine will be able to feel.

  Gateway DX4885 ASUS M11BB Lenovo H520
Bioshock Infinite 6.2x 8.2x 10.2x
Crysis 3 5.2x 7.5x 9.5x
GRID 2 5.1x 5x 4.8x
Metro: Last Light 5.4x 5.1x 6.5x
Skyrim 8.3x 8.3x 7.9x
Power Increase 60.9 watts 67.9 watts 48 watts

Look at these numbers!  Usually when we compare graphics performance between different GPUs we are talking in the 5-10% range as being a big deal.  Take a look at our review of the GeForce GTX 750 Ti and how it compares to the Radeon R7 260X and you'll see that pattern of logic repeated over and over.  In our article today we saw increases as high as 10.2x - an order of magnitude increase in the average frame rate!!  Bioshock Infinite on the Lenovo H520 went from a completely unplayable mess to an ultra-smooth 1920x1080 title with plenty of room for image quality increases.

View Full Size

Click to Enlarge

View Full Size

Click to Enlarge

And that is another part of the story worth mentioning: even if you have acceptable frame rates in games like StarCraft II or Diablo III with your integrated graphics, installing a card like the GTX 750 Ti will allow you to increase image quality and enable features like anti-aliasing that would otherwise not be possible.  The images above comparing Skyrim in Low and Ultra presets demonstrate how that difference can affect your game play experiences.

As of today you can find the GeForce GTX 750 Ti cards on Amazon.com for around the $150 MSRP (and on Newegg.com as well).  For gamers and potential PC gamers that are sitting there with an OEM desktop computer this kind of investment can make a huge different in how you experience PC gaming. Considering the price of the three system we used in our project today, the $150 GTX 750 Ti is a substantial investment - 26% on the Gateway, 34% on the ASUS and 44% on the Lenovo - but with that simple upgrade you can take each from the doldrums of Peggle to the excitement of Titanfall.

February 19, 2014 | 04:44 PM - Posted by snook

these are results to crow about!
at ~$150 dollars people who want to play, but were limited
in budget/pc available can do so now. that is very good, add a steam library filled with sales and game on.

February 19, 2014 | 05:13 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Agreed 110%. I'm not too impressed with the card or Maxwell in the performance increase side of things, but this is a low-end card so judging it that way is completely wrong to begin with.

What this card does do is breath new life into the low-end gaming sector giving people with limited budgets HUGE breathing room. In the future it'll help pave the way for raising the minimum specs for PC's even higher than we thought and much faster if this continues. I long for the day we can go with high-end cards only requiring one 6-pin or one 8-pin adapter again. Low energy, low heat, high performance. Then again, I want it all as we all do.

For a Steam Machine or hell, just about anything down to a HTPC this will be tremendous! Really dig the low power consumption and if this is signs of things to come we are in for a treat in both the 800 and 900 Series cards. Hopefully both teams start to focus more on a connector-less high powered option in the future. This is exactly what the PC sector needs to affordably raise the bar.

February 19, 2014 | 05:14 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

[EDIT] Should clarify that first line in reference to the desktop/650/650Ti replacement side of things. The power consumption is still a huge deal even though it doesn't stack up well against those previous cards as well as expected.

February 19, 2014 | 05:53 PM - Posted by BattMarn (not verified)

I noticed a similar increase a year or so ago when I upgraded an old Compaq XP machine from being incapable of running any games to being able to run most at playable frame rates with an HD 7750. And that was with a single core CPU!

February 19, 2014 | 09:00 PM - Posted by Ben (not verified)

There's no way in hell id trust a crappy 250W PSU in summer gaming for extended periods. This to me is a recipe for disaster. Even nvidia recommend a 300W PSU at minimum, so the 250 - 280W PSU is poor advice.

The 250 - 280 W PSU has a 18A 12V rail, derate that by 1 - 4oC per degree above 25oC and you are going to be left with a PSU that is likely to be able to provide something between 10A - 16A (derated). Given that the GTX750 will probably be consuming its max 55W (4.6A) regularly (its a low end card), you looking at a PSU that only has between 6A and 12A (up to 144W) available for the rest of the system.

My view is that although possible, this is poor advice.

February 20, 2014 | 05:02 AM - Posted by dragosmp (not verified)

These PSUs are rarely crappy from my experience. It has low peak power, but it can probably work just fine. Maybe you haven't looked, but the total system power was a bit over 100W. Not even 40% load! How is that bad advice?

February 20, 2014 | 03:32 PM - Posted by SiliconDoc (not verified)

Ben is an inexperienced doofball playing a bigshot moneybag bling boy.

I've run HUNDREDS of low watt PSU's in scenarios far more taxing than presented with added 6pin pci-e power adapters.

Ben is a fool, a crybaby, and has no clue.

March 5, 2014 | 08:17 PM - Posted by Ben (not verified)

And SiliconDoc clearly has no idea as instead of showing in any way shape or form where i'm wrong, he's decided to play the man rather than the ball. You sir are a douche.

March 14, 2014 | 01:32 PM - Posted by Zkecher (not verified)

Just to let you know, the actual TDP limit set in the video bios for the GTX750Ti is 38.5W so the card wont be drawing more than that without a bios tweak. not 55W.
If anyone's confused to why these systems draw more than 38.5W with the card added, it's because the iGPU was bottlenecking the CPU.

February 19, 2014 | 09:25 PM - Posted by praack

in reality a kumquat would do better than integrated graphics

the real issue limiting the machines above is the power supply- so you really need a better power supply in all three , then you can jam any card in it.

but if you truly limited on price then you have to make the call- change the power supply, change the video card -change both?

you can find a servicable power supply for 40 bucks, add that to the 150 price. or drop the video card one level down to the 750 superclocked at 119 and then add the 40 for the power supply.

February 19, 2014 | 10:15 PM - Posted by Jim cherry (not verified)

power supplies are a lot harder to install than the 750ti.

February 19, 2014 | 11:45 PM - Posted by Eli (not verified)

Pretty sure that a power supply is pretty easy to install. If you can play "match the plug" and can remove and reinstall 4 screws you're just about set. The real problem is that the case size may be limited to how large of a PSU you can actually slap in it.

And let's not forget that a lot of the bottom of the barrel machines use components with wider tolerance. And that's just going to give you all kinds of problems with anything that's demanding of it.

February 20, 2014 | 06:03 PM - Posted by Sonic4Spuds

The problem is that most of these systems are so small that they require removing the whole mother board to replace the power supply.

February 20, 2014 | 05:31 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

But then, with the beefier PSU, the AMD option (R7 265) would be better at the same price point.

I'll have to agree that someone buying one of these systems would be less inclined to change both parts, and would balk at the idea.

February 20, 2014 | 05:42 AM - Posted by 64bit (not verified)

How much Nvidia payed you ? It sounds like propaganda...

February 20, 2014 | 06:45 AM - Posted by folksy (not verified)

PCPER.com didn't get a dime.

On the other hand, your mother offered. But PCPER.com respectfully declined.

February 20, 2014 | 08:33 AM - Posted by Folk (not verified)

How about your faggot father?

February 20, 2014 | 07:37 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Now try something more CPU intensive at it like Kerbal Space Program, Dwarf Fortress or i dunno any realistic flight simulator... FAIL!!!

February 20, 2014 | 02:23 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Nice article but I would suggest to recheck with 720p output. I think that a game with high settings in 720p will look better than a game with medium settings in 1080p.

Actual consoles can't even handle real 1080p so it would make sense. But that was just my 50 bucks!

February 22, 2014 | 02:53 AM - Posted by arbiter

PS4 can, xb1 is middle ground with some games yes others no.

February 20, 2014 | 03:44 PM - Posted by Tallmike (not verified)

To all of you who are suggesting the better route is to upgrade the power supply then I respectfully suggest that you don't have a lot of experience with these OEM machines. Gone are the days when Dell, HP or Gateway use off the shelf standard components. They build their products with custom engineered motherboards and power supplies with non-standard connectors.

My company uses Dell and HP computers and you can't upgrade the power supplies in theses computers. Believe me, we have tried.

Being able to install a moderate performing gaming video card into my existing computer is almost revolutionary. I can now play Skyrim at work!

February 20, 2014 | 05:41 PM - Posted by Ben (not verified)

I don't see any of the motherboards or PSUs with non standard ATX connectors?

February 22, 2014 | 02:46 AM - Posted by arbiter

Years ago that was the case but now days they don't do that anymore. Much cheaper just to stick with standards then pay for custom made boards with diff pin outs.

February 20, 2014 | 04:37 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

IDK... $150 seem a little too pricey to come away with just "low settings" (and ultra-low), that have these titles in most all cases looking pretty dismal. While working with less arduous titles might have better served what you hoped to put across.

I mean you can buy a R7 250 for $90 and still maintain "low setting"; though while not offering the higher average FSP the GTX750Ti provides, the novice would scarcely notice their "graphic experience" coming through the screen as any much dissimilar. I don't think the minimum would falter any from what we see.

If the GTX750Ti could achieve "medium" settings, while still provide FPS that don’t drop into noticeable dips in "graphic experience" then that could be worth the 70% cost increase. However just saying that that... such an "investment can make a huge different in how you experience PC gaming" doesn't provide any dividends in "graphic immersion" is pretty sad. What you give only offers a what really has a "2008 level of immersion"; for $150 the industry needs to be able to offer the contemporary 1080p standard, while providing at least visuals of say 2011 level "experience". I'm not saying it's a bad card, but that you waffled on taxing it with what at least should be present day expectations.

Like to see BF4 on this, and could the ASUS M11BB A10-6700 system been ran with Hybrid Cross-Fire from a 7750 that not got a 6-pin, and are like $75-80

February 20, 2014 | 05:55 PM - Posted by Bobby Woodacre (not verified)

Excellent and creative to do this article! I'm not even a gamer but follow hardware developments and do video capture/edit/ convert/ master on a modest APU equipped Lenovo desktop. I'm a real VALUE guy. As bang for the buck and relatively painless upgrade this is spectacular. I recently purchased for under $300 an HP refurb (p7-1414)equipped with A8-5500- seems like I should sell the HD6670 I haven't installed yet (idea being to try dual graphics feature as value play)and go for GTX 750ti. Comments (be gentle)?

February 20, 2014 | 08:31 PM - Posted by Veer (not verified)

From what I remember is the heavier the PSU typically the better the hardware.

Your average 500watt xtech psu, not worth a fart, but a 300 watt dell psu, well that may have more oomph than you might think.

In my experience you can strain an oem psu and it will actually give u 25 to 50 watts extra despite being spec'd for less.

That said, most modern videogames are not as cpu intensive as they use to be. Its more gpu reliant these days. Battlefield is proof of that.

So for those of you buying PC's for your kids, neices and nephews, you can get a budget 400 dolla pc with i3-i5, a decent discrete gpu and a steam account and make them very happy... Just saying :D

February 23, 2014 | 08:05 AM - Posted by Milli (not verified)

I think the Asus' IGP results are wrong. It's slower than the Gateway. Can't be right.

March 7, 2014 | 05:05 AM - Posted by pac (not verified)

I agree, the results shown here do seem unusual... And it isn't just Intel's integrated graphics beating the APU but that its performance seems somehow gimped. As a reference the 6700 is well documented as getting playable frame rates in a couple of these titles through slighly faster RAM/ overclocking. Granted, the OEM hardware might be holding the A10 back but I'd be surprised if Asus really did produce such a hideously optimized platform. This interests me personally as I do own a similar M11BB although I won't have access to it for a few weeks... Don't get me wrong, I certainly think this is a great experiment and I'm considering upgrading with the gtx 750 ti myself but its hard to trust the numbers, especially in the pressence of a few other details that make the review look sloppy. Like the power consumption charts, are these measured in frames per second? Also the description of the PSUs is a bit confusing, on the first page the Asus is described as the only one with a 4 pin molex connector, but the Gateway is singled out as the only one without a connection on page 3. Does this mean the lennovo's PSU is equipped with something like a modular connection but no cable?

I'm not trying to nitpick here, but some of us may be chosing what gpu to upgrade to based on this article.

February 23, 2014 | 11:51 AM - Posted by Stefenheif (not verified)

^^
I was wondering the same. They are using higher presets on the Asus Box instead of "low" of the Gateway.

The last box (Lenovo) was tested on ultra low. It may be representative or not (less elements to draw, draw distance ...) of the CPU's strength to support the load, I could not say.

But the point stands that with a low-grade prebuilt, add a 750Ti and you can play games. I think it would be still a higher cost than a console, but try to install Office on a console or load Steam games.

February 23, 2014 | 03:10 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I need help. I tried to upgrade from 750ti and now pc wont boot. I tried uninstalling the old gpu driver but it is still stuck on the acer logo on start up.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.