Review Index:
Feedback

NVIDIA GeForce GTX TITAN Preview - GK110, GPU Boost 2.0, Overclocking and GPGPU

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: NVIDIA

GeForce GTX TITAN - Focus on Cooling and Noise

View Full Size

The look and styling of the GeForce GTX TITAN design is very similar to that of the GeForce GTX 690 that launched in May of last year.  NVIDIA was less interested in talking about the make up of the materials this time around but it is obvious when looking at and holding the GTX TITAN that it is built to impress buyers.   Measuring only 10.5-in long the TITAN will be able to find its way into many more chassis and system designs than the GTX 690 could.

View Full Size

Powered by a single 8-pin and a single 6-pin connection, the GTX TITAN is actually quite power efficient with a TDP of 250 watts, matching the Radeon HD 7970. 

View Full Size

Not only is SLI supported but 3-Way configurations are supported (and encouraged) with TITAN.

View Full Size

Output configurations are identical to that of the GTX 680 cards including a pair of dual-link DVI connections, a full-size HDMI port and a DisplayPort.  You can utilize all four of the outputs at once as well for 3+1 monitor configurations.

View Full Size

The styling and design of TITAN (and the GTX 690) are really unmatched in my opinion and gamers that are very particular about looks and appearance will fall in love with the industrial design of this card.

View Full Size

Under the hood is a very effective cooler that is able to keep the 7.1 billion transistors of GK110 cool while also remaining incredibly quiet at the same time.  NVIDIA has utilized another vapor chamber design and a fin stack that basically runs the length of the graphics card, all cooled by the air displaced from the on-board fan. 

View Full Size

NVIDIA is so proud of the GTX TITAN cooler that they claim supremecy over not only over the Radeon HD 7970 in terms of noise levels but also the GTX 680!  NVIDIA's numbers differ a bit from ours (to be shown on Thursday) but I can verify that it beats the competition pretty easily.

View Full Size

When the company really tries, NVIDIA can create some truly beautiful products. 

Now, let's dive into the world of GPU Boost 2.0 and how it will affect the performance of the GeForce GTX TITAN.


February 19, 2013 | 09:57 AM - Posted by Kyle (not verified)

Yeah, but will it run Crysis?

February 19, 2013 | 10:01 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

We'll find out on Thursday.  :)

February 20, 2013 | 03:49 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

no

February 22, 2013 | 07:07 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Actually, the better question is: will it blend?

February 19, 2013 | 10:03 AM - Posted by I don't have a name. (not verified)

Crysis 3, more like. :) Can't wait to see the performance results!

February 19, 2013 | 10:05 AM - Posted by I don't have a name. (not verified)

Might the GTX Titan review be the first to use your new frame-rating performance metric? Can't wait! :)

February 19, 2013 | 10:06 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

I can tell you right now that it won't be the full version of our Frame Rating system, but we'll have some new inclusions in it for sure.

February 19, 2013 | 10:21 AM - Posted by stephenC (not verified)

I am really looking forward to seeing how this card will perform with crysis 3

February 19, 2013 | 10:40 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I think I'll get one. I have no need for it, but it looks cool. So, from someone who knows very little about computers or gaming, I take it this would be "overkill" to have my buddy build me a new system around this?

February 19, 2013 | 10:43 AM - Posted by Prodeous (not verified)

Hope to see some GPGPU testing and comparsion to 680. I can assist with Blender3D as it support GPGPU rendering on CUDA cards if you guys want.. Need to find out if I need to start putting coins away for another puchase ;)

February 19, 2013 | 11:31 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Point me in the right direction!

February 19, 2013 | 10:16 PM - Posted by Riley (not verified)

+1 for blender render times! Go to blender.org to download blender (looks like it is down as I post this, probably for v2.66 release).

blendswap.com could be used to find stuff to render. That way the files would be publicly available to anyone who wanted to compare your times to their own. Just make sure the files use the cycles rendering engine (not blender internal).

Instructions at http://www.blenderguru.com/4-easy-ways-to-speed-up-cycles/ can be followed to swap between CPU and GPU rendering.

February 20, 2013 | 05:22 PM - Posted by Gadgety

I'm looking to replacing three GTX580 3GB mainly for rendering. With 6GB memory and the massive amount of CUDA cores I'm really looking forward to Blender Cycles speeds, but also Octane, VRay-RT. This must be one of the usage scenarios for the Titan, rather than pure gaming.

February 21, 2013 | 05:49 PM - Posted by Prodeous (not verified)

Download blender from:
http://www.blender.org/download/get-blender/

Windows 64bit install is the simplest.

The most common test for GPGPU rendering is to use the link below. "The unofficial Blender Cycles benchmark"
http://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?239480-2-61-Cycles-render...

And then use the information provided by Riley:

http://www.blenderguru.com/4-easy-ways-to-speed-up-cycles/

February 19, 2013 | 11:12 AM - Posted by Jumangi (not verified)

*shrug* I guess its fun for the reviewer to get something new in the office but this might as well still be a myth as 99.99% of users will never even think about getting something this expensive.

Give us something new that regular people can actually afford...

February 19, 2013 | 11:18 AM - Posted by Rick (not verified)

i agree with above. one of these or two 670? i hope we see that comparison in your review.

February 19, 2013 | 11:32 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

670s are too cheap - you'll see two GTX 680s though.

February 19, 2013 | 01:12 PM - Posted by mAxius

ah the nvidiots will gladly put out $1000.00 for a graphics card that is nothing more than a 680 on roid rage... i know im not touching this card unless i win the lotto and get hit in the head with a brick making me mentally incapacitated.

February 19, 2013 | 01:38 PM - Posted by Oskars Apša (not verified)

If PcPer'll have the time and blessing of Nvidias highers and Geekbox Gods, make a review with a system comprised of these cards in sli and dual Intel Xeons and/or AMD Opterons.

February 19, 2013 | 01:52 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Sweet mother of GOD!

I want! I can't wait to see the benches. They outta make Titan version the norm for future generations to bring down the x80 series lol.

February 19, 2013 | 02:23 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

It would be nice is someone would test this card with blender 3d to see how it rates for rendering against the Quadro GPUs that cost way more! Does anyone know of websites that benchmark open source software using GPUs, as most of the benchmarking sites are using Maya and other high priced software, and little opensource free software for their tests.

February 19, 2013 | 02:30 PM - Posted by PapaDragon

ALL that POWER from one Card, shame about the price. This is is my Adobe Premiere Pro and After Effects dream card, plus gaming! Too bad for the price.

Anyhow, a lot of great features, cant wait for the review, great informative video Ryan!

February 19, 2013 | 03:23 PM - Posted by David (not verified)

I wish NVIDIA had been a little more aggressive on the price but I still couldn't have afforded it. Just upgraded both my and my wife's system to 7970 GHzs because the bundle deal was too good to pass up.

That said, for all the people who say cards like this are overkill, my current Skyrim install would give this card a run for its money even at 1080p60.

February 19, 2013 | 03:32 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Can I mount a 4-way Titan SLI?

February 19, 2013 | 06:44 PM - Posted by Josh Walrath

I don't know, that sounds uncomfortable.

February 19, 2013 | 05:53 PM - Posted by ezjohny

AMD here is your competition, What do you have in mind.
"NEXT GENERATION" gameplay AMD!
This graphic card is going to pack a punch people!!!

February 19, 2013 | 05:59 PM - Posted by Evan (not verified)

What is this? Lucky i got a ps3 last week! it looks better and pre ordered crysis 3 and it has blu ray so its better graphics!

February 19, 2013 | 07:32 PM - Posted by Scott Michaud

Lol... the sad part is there are some people who actually believe that.

February 19, 2013 | 08:20 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

The sad part is people who go from SD to HD and see no difference.

February 19, 2013 | 06:18 PM - Posted by papajohn

i will take out a loan to buy this card! :)

February 19, 2013 | 07:46 PM - Posted by Wolvenmoon (not verified)

Damn, I wish I could afford it. :'(

February 19, 2013 | 08:31 PM - Posted by razor512

Can you try running Doom 1 on that system when you get the chance? :)

February 20, 2013 | 12:41 AM - Posted by razor512

(Weird, why did it double post)

February 20, 2013 | 12:06 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Man I hope they are readily available I would like to at least get two of these for SLI I'm kind of worried about the limited run comments..?? I am running three 680sc on three 27` for a 6000×1200 hmmmm.... guess well find out what u guys think.

February 20, 2013 | 12:14 AM - Posted by ftimster

By the way love the pcper podcast u guys are halarious :-)

February 20, 2013 | 02:25 AM - Posted by Mig (not verified)

+1 on the GPGPU benchmarks as well; I'd like to see octane render and blender test results....also if you guys can get your hands on a 4k display and see how much you can push the 690 SLI and Titan SLI to run crysis or 3dmark at the higher resolution.

February 20, 2013 | 03:57 AM - Posted by Mangix

Now I get why Nvidia locked the maximum Pixel Clock frequency starting around the ~304 series of drivers. It was all in preparation for this card.

For anyone who wishes to "overclock" their displays, see here: http://www.monitortests.com/forum/Thread-NVIDIA-Pixel-Clock-Patcher

February 20, 2013 | 08:01 AM - Posted by Skidmarks (not verified)

While many people desire it, few people will buy it. At it's projected price it will be redundant.

February 21, 2013 | 07:06 PM - Posted by TinkerToyTech

what's the name(s) of some of the ray tracing demo's that are out there? light the mirror orbs that you move around and things like that, one of the graphics card vendors has it all the time but I wasnt able ot write the names down

February 26, 2013 | 09:37 AM - Posted by Bpositive (not verified)

I would to see some Cuda performance test as well, in particular Vray RT.

May 14, 2013 | 07:53 PM - Posted by Mr. wtf (not verified)

Christ.. why wouldn't they enable this feature on the 600x series?!? At least up the throthle temperature to 80 from it's current 70 and call it 2.0 GPU boost.. The stock may get fried but.. people who have a reference card could easly handle 80deg.

August 27, 2013 | 03:13 PM - Posted by mohamed (not verified)

i want to ask aquestion
iam now go to buy acomputer for 3d max rendring an design
and I am very confused between asus geforce gtx 780 6gb titanum and gtx 690 4gb
please help me

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.