Review Index:
Feedback

NVIDIA GeForce GTX TITAN Preview - GK110, GPU Boost 2.0, Overclocking and GPGPU

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: NVIDIA

GeForce GTX TITAN - Focus on Cooling and Noise

View Full Size

The look and styling of the GeForce GTX TITAN design is very similar to that of the GeForce GTX 690 that launched in May of last year.  NVIDIA was less interested in talking about the make up of the materials this time around but it is obvious when looking at and holding the GTX TITAN that it is built to impress buyers.   Measuring only 10.5-in long the TITAN will be able to find its way into many more chassis and system designs than the GTX 690 could.

View Full Size

Powered by a single 8-pin and a single 6-pin connection, the GTX TITAN is actually quite power efficient with a TDP of 250 watts, matching the Radeon HD 7970. 

View Full Size

Not only is SLI supported but 3-Way configurations are supported (and encouraged) with TITAN.

View Full Size

Output configurations are identical to that of the GTX 680 cards including a pair of dual-link DVI connections, a full-size HDMI port and a DisplayPort.  You can utilize all four of the outputs at once as well for 3+1 monitor configurations.

View Full Size

The styling and design of TITAN (and the GTX 690) are really unmatched in my opinion and gamers that are very particular about looks and appearance will fall in love with the industrial design of this card.

View Full Size

Under the hood is a very effective cooler that is able to keep the 7.1 billion transistors of GK110 cool while also remaining incredibly quiet at the same time.  NVIDIA has utilized another vapor chamber design and a fin stack that basically runs the length of the graphics card, all cooled by the air displaced from the on-board fan. 

View Full Size

NVIDIA is so proud of the GTX TITAN cooler that they claim supremecy over not only over the Radeon HD 7970 in terms of noise levels but also the GTX 680!  NVIDIA's numbers differ a bit from ours (to be shown on Thursday) but I can verify that it beats the competition pretty easily.

View Full Size

When the company really tries, NVIDIA can create some truly beautiful products. 

Now, let's dive into the world of GPU Boost 2.0 and how it will affect the performance of the GeForce GTX TITAN.

February 19, 2013 | 04:46 PM - Posted by Wolvenmoon (not verified)

Damn, I wish I could afford it. :'(

February 19, 2013 | 05:31 PM - Posted by razor512

Can you try running Doom 1 on that system when you get the chance? :)

February 19, 2013 | 09:41 PM - Posted by razor512

(Weird, why did it double post)

February 19, 2013 | 09:06 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Man I hope they are readily available I would like to at least get two of these for SLI I'm kind of worried about the limited run comments..?? I am running three 680sc on three 27` for a 6000×1200 hmmmm.... guess well find out what u guys think.

February 19, 2013 | 09:14 PM - Posted by ftimster

By the way love the pcper podcast u guys are halarious :-)

February 19, 2013 | 11:25 PM - Posted by Mig (not verified)

+1 on the GPGPU benchmarks as well; I'd like to see octane render and blender test results....also if you guys can get your hands on a 4k display and see how much you can push the 690 SLI and Titan SLI to run crysis or 3dmark at the higher resolution.

February 20, 2013 | 12:57 AM - Posted by Mangix

Now I get why Nvidia locked the maximum Pixel Clock frequency starting around the ~304 series of drivers. It was all in preparation for this card.

For anyone who wishes to "overclock" their displays, see here: http://www.monitortests.com/forum/Thread-NVIDIA-Pixel-Clock-Patcher

February 20, 2013 | 05:01 AM - Posted by Skidmarks (not verified)

While many people desire it, few people will buy it. At it's projected price it will be redundant.

February 21, 2013 | 04:06 PM - Posted by TinkerToyTech

what's the name(s) of some of the ray tracing demo's that are out there? light the mirror orbs that you move around and things like that, one of the graphics card vendors has it all the time but I wasnt able ot write the names down

February 26, 2013 | 06:37 AM - Posted by Bpositive (not verified)

I would to see some Cuda performance test as well, in particular Vray RT.

May 14, 2013 | 04:53 PM - Posted by Mr. wtf (not verified)

Christ.. why wouldn't they enable this feature on the 600x series?!? At least up the throthle temperature to 80 from it's current 70 and call it 2.0 GPU boost.. The stock may get fried but.. people who have a reference card could easly handle 80deg.

August 27, 2013 | 12:13 PM - Posted by mohamed (not verified)

i want to ask aquestion
iam now go to buy acomputer for 3d max rendring an design
and I am very confused between asus geforce gtx 780 6gb titanum and gtx 690 4gb
please help me

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.