Review Index:
Feedback

NVIDIA GeForce GTX TITAN Performance Review and Frame Rating Update

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: NVIDIA

Sleeping Dogs - Single Card

Sleeping Dogs (DirectX 11)


 

Welcome to Hong Kong, a vibrant neon city teeming with life, whose exotic locations and busy streets hide one of the most powerful and dangerous criminal organizations in the world: the Triads. In this open world game, you play the role of Wei Shen, an undercover cop trying to take down the Triads from the inside out. You'll have to prove yourself worthy as you fight your way up the organization, taking part in brutal criminal activities without blowing your cover. Torn between your loyalty to the badge and a criminal code of honor, you will risk everything as the lines between truth, loyalty and justice become permanently blurred

Our settings for Sleeping Dogs

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

Click to Enlarge

View Full Size

Sleeping Dogs is a new title for us but the visuals were so impressive that I thought it deserved a spot in our new testing suite.  Right away you can see the GTX TITAN is 52% faster than the GTX 680 but falls behind the GTX 690 by 20%.  TITAN's edge over the Radeon HD 7970 is just under 20%.

Frametimes are pretty consistent on all cards with the GTX 690 giving us a little more trouble.

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

Click to Enlarge

View Full Size

When we increase the resolution to 2560x1440, the TITAN is 35% faster than the GTX 680 but still we see the GTX 690 is 30% faster than TITAN.  We see little to no frametime issues here.

February 25, 2013 | 07:21 AM - Posted by Elvis (not verified)

Great Article. Nice to see original thought and work in a tech Blog (instead of more useless fps number) .
The Titan has impressive performance, too bad the price is outta my reach :'(
BTW Anyone else notice that 7970GE is starting to kick 680 butt. AMD driver team is on a roll! However CF looks bad and they need to correct it, seeing as they have no single chip competitor to Titan.
@Ryan : To make things interesting, why not benchmark some games which are not as "popular", i.e driver optimized.
Also, in my (humble?) opinion your articles would be more professional(better) if you avoided superlatives and words like beast (so clichéd). They make refutation of bias harder.
Once again, great work.

February 25, 2013 | 07:24 AM - Posted by Elvis (not verified)

@Ryan could you please block the ip of the rabid fan-atic. Really spoils the whole comments section...
@Anonymous : obvious troll. Not gonna bother replying. Sod off!

February 25, 2013 | 07:44 AM - Posted by Trey Long (not verified)

This business of runt frames significantly padding Crossfire's fps numbers is a huge story in the GPU world. There needs to be a major effort to expose the truth of this, whatever it is.

February 25, 2013 | 02:56 PM - Posted by Epoq (not verified)

I agree wholeheartedly. If this is true in it's entirety it would destroy AMD's credibility in the multi-GPU realm. Before this, most people were in agreeance that for high res and multi-display configurations, AMD is the way to go. This would change everything.

March 2, 2013 | 03:19 AM - Posted by Max Klar (not verified)

I doubt that the new 3dMark is reliable. Maybe it's just created to boost Titan.
I did the benchies with GTX680SLI/i7-3930K/X79. In 3dMark11 I get about nearly P16000 @stock and +P18000 occed.
But in Firestrike:
GTX680 single: 6300
GTX680SLI: 4200 (!)

And it's not only my system, you can find these biased or faulty results easily.

So the 3dMark benchmark is a joke at the actual state and should not be used in a professional environment.

March 2, 2013 | 10:06 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Little bumed with your test???? this is a 2d surround card I am running 3 evga 680`s sc at 6000×1200 please let's see the real meat and potatoes people buying this card ( me) want to see ....well let's say three 680`s at 6000×1200 and two titans sli at same res that I think is all that really matters here rite? the 680 only having 2gb men must fail hard against two Titans with its 6gb the titan card is very specifically a hi-res surround gaming card I know you need to test everything but I think you should have started the other way around IMO..

March 3, 2013 | 12:02 PM - Posted by KansasCityTom (not verified)

I just spent a little over $1100 on 3 x 7970's and against my friends new Titan, I basically walk over him in all benchmarks.

March 4, 2013 | 04:55 PM - Posted by Trey Long (not verified)

Except that Crossfire is a sham. You get no better performance than one card. Read the article before spouting. And Tech Report and Hardocp. Runt frames a real disaster for Crossfire as they can be seen, measured, and exposed, unlike the fraps number which includes totally degraded frames in their fps number you rely on. Latencies have long been an issue with AMD cards and this clarifies in Crossfire.

April 2, 2013 | 10:49 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Great work Ryan keep up the great work...by the way how do we support your site make donations !!!!! p.s I'm loving my tri sli titans this is the card I have been waiting for my hole life... been builbing systems starting back in the voodoo days finally 6000×1200 plays like butter nvidia is really something eh!!

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.